

CHARLES D. BAKER GOVERNOR KARYN E. POLITO LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

PHILIP T. ROBERTS DIRECTOR THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR RELATIONS 19 STANIFORD STREET, 1ST FLOOR BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS 02114 Telephone: (617) 626-7158 FAX: (617) 626-5467 www.mass.gov/jlmc

JOINT LABOR-MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR MUNICIPAL POLICE AND FIRE

> JOHN W. HANSON CHAIR

JOINT LABOR MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR MUNICIPAL POLICE AND FIRE

MEETING MINUTES FOR August 13, 2020

DATE: August 13, 2020

TIME: 11:00 a.m. - Full Committee Meeting

LOCATION: This meeting was conducted via Webex videoconference pursuant to the "Order Suspending Certain Provisions of the Open Meeting Law, G.L. c. 30A, s. 20" issued by Governor Baker dated March 12, 2020, persons wishing to participate in or gaining public access to this meeting can do so via making use of WebEx meeting software https://www.webex.com/downloads.html.

Meeting link:

https://eolwdma.webex.com/eolwdma/j.php?MTID=m4857be50e2e13ed845f0804 592653410

Meeting number (access code): 129 267 1849

Meeting password: FwPKmXhm472

Additional ways to join:

By phone by dialing 1-408-418-9388 using the access code: 129 267 1849

By dialing 1292671849@eolwdma.webex.com

By dialing 173.243.2.68 and entering meeting number 129 267 1849

Committee Members Present: Chairman Hanson; <u>Police</u>: Andrews, Perreira; <u>Management</u>: Goldsmith, Ansaldi, Johnson, Mazzarella. <u>Fire</u>: M.Reddy, Cabral.

Alternates Present: <u>Fire</u>: Cross, Keene; <u>Police</u>: Nelson, Calderone, DeMille, T. Reddy, Pedrini; <u>Management</u>: Bain, Hayes, Francis, Frederickson, McCall, Mazzucco, Petrin, Aicardi.

Staff Present: Cummings, Driscoll, Hubley, Morgado

Others: Philip Roberts (DLR), Jill Bertrand (DLR), John Robertson (MMA), Elizabeth Valerio, Esq., (Valerio, Dominello & Hillman), Jane Friedman, Esq. (City of New Bedford).

OPEN SESSION

Chairman Hanson called the meeting to order at 11:08 A.M.

• Administrative Updates

Meeting Minutes:

• Vote to accept meeting minutes from July 16, 2020.

Motion by Cross, second by Goldsmith: to approve the minutes of the July 16, 2020, full Committee meeting.

The Motion passed unanimously.

- Chairman's Report
 - Chairman Hanson addressed the Massachusetts Municipal Association (MMA) letter dated July 16, 2020, to the Legislature regarding police reform which, among other things, suggested revisions to the JLMC statute. Chairman Hanson reported that he has met with both labor and management members of the committee on this subject and that he is in the process of putting together a letter in response the MMA's letter. Mr. M. Reddy indicated his support for the draft letter and also suggested that the JLMC send a letter to the MMA highlighting the accomplishments of the JLMC.

Review and action on NEW BEDFORD POLICE UNION'S MOTION FOR THE RECUSAL OF JLMC CHAIRMAN JOHN HANSON filed in the case of New Bedford Police Union and the City of New Bedford, JLM-19-7091

 Chairman Hanson introduced the Motion to the Committee. Mr. Andrews moved to have further discussion as this motion is unprecedented. Mr. Hanson and the Committee further discussed the motion.

The following motion was made.

Motion by Andrews, second by M. Reddy: to reject the New Bedford Police Union's motion.

Chairman Hanson discussed the lengthy process of nominating a vice chair for the Committee and getting that person appointed by the Governor. The Chairman stated that recusal would therefore result in lack of a quorum and the case would go into limbo.

After some discussion of the propriety of the Fire Chair seconding a motion involving police, Mr. M. Reddy withdrew his second to Mr. Andrews's motion. Ms. Goldsmith then seconded Mr. Andrews's motion.

The Committee acted as follows:

Motion by Andrews, second by Goldsmith: to reject the New Bedford Police Union's Motion.

Mr. Andrews and Ms. Goldsmith voted in the affirmative. Chairman Hanson abstained.

The Motion carried by a 2-0 vote.

Mr. Perreira interjected and suggested no action on the Motion but the Committee had already voted and no further action was taken by the Committee on this subject matter.

• Review and Act on the following Petition, Jurisdiction and Awaiting Funding List (AFL) Cases:

Case No.	Organization	Mediator/Sr. Staff	Topic/Vote/Action
JLM-20-8064	Norton Fire	GD, JOEH	Vote on Jurisdiction

Mr. Driscoll briefed the Committee.

1.

Motion by Cross, second by Goldsmith: to take jurisdiction in the case of Norton Fire Fighters, Local 2678 IAFF and the Town of Norton, JLM-20-8064.

The Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Cross, second by Goldsmith: to assign the following Committee members to the case of Norton Fire Fighters, Local 2678 IAFF and the Town of Norton, JLM-20-8064: Keene for Fire and Mazzucco for Management.

The Motion passed unanimously.

2. JLM-20-8080 Fall River Fire DJM, JOEH Vote on Jurisdiction

Mr. Morgado briefed the Committee.

Motion by Cross, second by Goldsmith: to take jurisdiction in the case of Fall River Firefighters, Local 1314 IAFF and the City of Fall River, JLM-20-8080.

The Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Cross, second by Goldsmith: to assign the following Committee members to the case of Fall River Firefighters, Local 1314 IAFF and the City of Fall River, JLM-20-8080: Keene for Fire and Mazzarella for Management.

The Motion passed unanimously.

3. JLM-20-7968 New Bedford Fire DJM, JOEH Vote to 3(a) Hearing

Mr. Cabral left the meeting and took no part in the discussion of this case.

Mr. Morgado briefed the Committee.

Motion by Cross, second by Goldsmith: that the Committee find that in the matter of the New Bedford Fire Fighters, Local 841 IAFF and the City of New Bedford, JLM-20-7968, the issues

have remained unresolved for an unreasonable period of time resulting in the apparent exhaustion of the process of collective bargaining, and that the Committee vote to hold a hearing pursuant to Section 1, subsection 3(a), as set forth in Chapter 589 of the Acts of 1987, with the panel members consisting of Matt Reddy (Labor) and Dean Mazzarella (Management), or other Committee members and/or senior staff that may be substituted as necessary by the respective Labor and/or Management Chairs pursuant to the rules, policies, and procedures of the Committee, and any other applicable provisions of law, with said panel to be chaired by John Hanson.

The Motion passed unanimously.

• Other Business

Chairman Hanson congratulated Committee Member, Michael McCall on his appointment as Southbridge Town Manager.

Adjournment

Motion by Cross, second by Goldsmith: to adjourn the Committee meeting.

The Motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Hanson adjourned the meeting at 11:45 A.M.

Minutes drafted by George Driscoll, Senior Staff Representative.

Minutes approved by the Committee on September 10, 2020.