

CHARLES D. BAKER GOVERNOR KARYN E. POLITO LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR RELATIONS 19 STANIFORD STREET, 1<sup>ST</sup> FLOOR BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS 02114 Telephone: (617) 626-7158 FAX: (617) 626-5467 www.mass.gov/jlmc

> JOINT LABOR-MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR MUNICIPAL POLICE AND FIRE JOHN W. HANSON CHAIR

# MEETING MINUTES FOR September 26, 2019

DATE: September 26, 2019

TIME: 10:00 A.M. - Full Committee Meeting

LOCATION: Shrewsbury Municipal Office Building, Selectmen's Meeting Room, 100 Maple Avenue, Shrewsbury, MA 01545

<u>Committee Members Present</u>: Chairman Hanson; <u>Management</u>; Goldsmith, Tranfaglia; <u>Police</u>: Andrews, Perreira.

<u>Alternates Present</u>: <u>Police</u>: Pedrini, Nelson. <u>Management</u>; Frederickson, McCall, Clarkson, Johnson, Craver, Mahoney, Bain, Yanakakis, Aicardi. <u>Fire</u>: Cross, Keene

Staff Present: Senior Staff Representatives; Driscoll, Hubley, Cummings, Morgado

Department of Labor Relations: Mediators Gookin, Dickson; Philip Roberts, Executive Director

Others Present: Lisa Adams (MMA);

Chairman Hanson called the meeting to order at 11:15 AM.

## • Administrative update:

Meeting minutes from September 12, 2019 – No Action Minutes will be ready for approval at next meeting.

# • Chairman's Report:

The Chairman outlined the upcoming Special Topics Program following the Committee Meeting.

• <u>Petition, Jurisdiction, Awaiting Funding List (AFL) and Other Cases:</u>

	Case Number	r Organization	Mediator/Sr. Staff	Topic/Vote/Action
•	19-7242	Plymouth Patrol	DC, GD	Jurisdiction Vote to 3(a) Hearing

Mr. Cummings briefed the Committee.

Motion by Perreira, second by Goldsmith: to take jurisdiction in the case of the Plymouth Police Brotherhood and the Town of Plymouth, JLM-19-7242.

The Motion passed unanimously.

•

Motion by Perreira, second by Goldsmith: to assign the following Committee members to the case of the Plymouth Police Brotherhood and the Town of Plymouth, JLM-19-7242: Mike Perreira for Police and Frank Frederickson for Management as so designated and approved by the Police and Management Chairs respectively.

The Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Perreira, second by Goldsmith: to find that in the matter of the Plymouth Police Brotherhood and the Town of Plymouth, JLM-19-7242, the issues have remained unresolved for an unreasonable period of time resulting in the apparent exhaustion of the process of collective bargaining, and that the Committee vote to hold a hearing pursuant to Section 1, subsection 3(a), as set forth in Chapter 589 of the Acts of 1987, with the panel members consisting of Mike Perreira (Labor) and Frank Frederickson (Management), or other Committee members and/or senior staff that may be substituted as necessary by the respective Labor and/or Management Chairs pursuant to the rules, policies, and procedures of the Committee, and any other applicable provisions of law, with said panel to be chaired by John Hanson.

The Motion passed unanimously.

• 19-7283 Foxborough Police JG, DC, DJM Move to Awaiting Funding

Mr. Morgado briefed the Committee.

Motion by Perriera, second by Goldsmith: to move the case to the Awaiting Funding List.

The Motion passed unanimously.

• 19-7428 Duxbury Police Superiors JG Move to Awaiting Funding

Motion by Perriera, second by Goldsmith: to move the case to the Awaiting Funding List.

The Motion passed unanimously.

19-7433 <u>Chelmsford Fire</u> CG Funded Remove

Ms. Gookin briefed the Committee.

Motion by Cross, second by Goldsmith: to take jurisdiction in the case of the Chelmsford Firefighters, Local 1839 and the Town of Chelmsford, JLM-19-7433.

The Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Cross, second by Goldsmith: to assign the following Committee members to the case of the Chelmsford Firefighters, Local 1839 and the Town of Chelmsford, JLM-19-7433: M. Reddy for Fire and John Petrin for Management as so designated and approved by the Fire and Management Chairs respectively.

### The Motion passed unanimously.

• 19-7469 <u>Gardner Fire</u> RD, JOEH, DJM Correct Mgmt. Comm. Mbr. Assign't

Mr. Dickson and Mr. Hubley briefed the Committee on the status of the case.

Ms. Goldsmith designated Kathleen Johnson in place of Dean Mazzarella as the management committee member in this case.

### • Adjournment:

#### Motion by Cross, second by Goldsmith; to adjourn the regular meeting of the Committee

#### The Motion passed unanimously

Chairman Hanson adjourned the regular meeting of the Committee at 10:30 A.M..

Special Topics Program

## Discussion #1 - Committee Members as Mediators

Chairman Hanson facilitated a roundtable discussion among the attendees about mediation technique and the observations of committee members, staff and mediators in the mediation process.

<u>Update on the State of Municipal Finances – Sean Cronin, Senior Deputy Commissioner of Local</u> <u>Services</u>

Mr. Cronin made a presentation on the sources, methods and status of municipal finance in the Commonwealth.

### Discussion #2 – Committee Members as Arbitrators

Arbitrators Mayberry, McSpiritt, and Cooper engaged in a panel discussion with attendees about the tripartite arbitration process.

Minutes recorded by George Driscoll, Senior Staff Representative

Minutes Approved by the Committee on 10/24/2019