

THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND SECURITY

Department of Criminal Justice Information Services

200 Arlington Street, Suite 2200, Chelsea, Massachusetts 02150, MASS.GOV/CJIS TEL: 617-660-4600 · TTY: 617-660-4606 · FAX: 617-660-4613

Charles D. Baker Karyn E. Polito

Polito Deniel Bennett James F. Slat out Governor Secretary of Public Safety and Security Commissione

Criminal Record Review Board (CRRB) TO:

FROM: **Board Counsel**

RE: Open Session Minutes of the July 26, 2018 CRRB Meeting

DATE: October 18, 2018

A meeting of the Criminal Record Review Board (CRRB) was held on Thursday, July 26, 2018 at 10:00 a.m., in the second floor conference room of the Massachusetts Information Technology Center, located at 200 Arlington Street, Chelsea, Massachusetts.

Board Member Attendees:

Agapi Koulouris – Acting Chairperson, Secretary of Public Safety Designee

Peter Cheverie – Personal Privacy Representative

Thomas Capasso – Office of the Commissioner of Probation Representative

Gloriann Moroney - Massachusetts Parole Board, General Counsel

Jen Romeo-Porcaro – Victim of Crime Representative

Captain Deborah Rebeiro – Massachusetts State Police Representative

Carmen Gomez – Ex-Offender Rehabilitation Representative

Maura Dupray – Committee for Public Counsel Services (CPCS) Representative

Stephanie Ross – Secretary of Labor and Workforce Development Representative

Les Gosule – Personal Privacy Representative

George Klier – Massachusetts Sheriffs Association Representative

Susanne Reardon – Attorney General Designee

Board Members unable to attend:

Chief Terence Delehanty – MA Chiefs of Police Association Representative Dr. Rhiana Kohl – MA Department of Correction Representative Lee Kavanagh – Massachusetts Sentencing Commission Representative Tara Maguire – Massachusetts District Attorney's Association Representative Secretary Daniel Bennett – Chairperson and Secretary of Public Safety Matthew Moran – Secretary of Public Safety Designee Cecely Reardon – Massachusetts Department of Youth Services Representative

DCJIS Staff Attendees:

Agapi Koulouris – General Counsel/Acting Chairperson Sophia Davis – Program Coordinator

Daniel Maltzman – Staff Attorney John Montgomery – Law Clerk

Board Business:

At approximately 10:00 a.m., a quorum was present. Acting Chairperson Koulouris called the meeting of the CRRB to order.

Approval of April 26, 2018 CRRB Meeting Open Session Minutes:

After reviewing the open meeting minutes from the April 26, 2018 CRRB meeting, George Klier made a motion to accept the minutes. Captain Rebeiro seconded the motion. The motion passed by a majority vote of 6-0, with Les Gosule, Maura Dupray, Stephanie Ross, Gloria Moroney, and Jen Romeo-Porcaro abstaining from voting.

<u>Update on Criminal Justice Reform Bill</u>

Acting Chairperson Koulouris gave the Board an update on Chapter 69 of the Acts of 2018, the Criminal Justice Reform Bill and its impact on the Board and DCJIS regulations. Acting Chairperson Koulouris advised the Board that the amendments discussed at the previous meeting were not finalized but, would likely be delivered to Board members within the next few months. The proposed amendments would be discussed at another meeting.

Executive Session:

At this point in the meeting, Acting Chairperson Koulouris indicated the Board would be entering into Executive Session to review CORI complaints whose subject matter is protected pursuant to M.G.L. c. 30A, § 21(a)(7) and M.G.L. c. 6, §172. A motion to enter executive session was made by George Klier and seconded by Stephanie Ross. A roll-call vote was taken, and the motion passed 11-0 with Acting Chairperson Koulouris abstaining from voting. The Board entered executive session at 10:10 a.m.

At the end of all discussion, Acting Chairperson Koulouris indicated that the Board should exit Executive Session. George Klier made a motion to exit executive session. Maura Dupray seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed unanimously 11-0. The executive session ended at approximately 11:45 a.m. Thomas Capasso then made a motion to adjourn. Les Gosule seconded the motion and it passed unanimously 11-0. The meeting adjourned at approximately 11:50 a.m.