

MAURA HEALEY Attorney General

THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL ONE ASHBURTON PLACE BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS 02108

(617) 727-2200 (617) 727-4765 TTY www.mass.gov/ago

Attorney General Reminds the Public that Vehicle Inspection Stations are Now Open and Consumers who Purchased Cars on or After March 23, 2021, Have Additional Time to Exercise their Rights Under Massachusetts' Lemon Aid Law

Massachusetts' <u>Lemon Aid Law</u> allows consumers to return and obtain a refund for a vehicle they purchased if it fails inspection within seven days from the date of sale and the cost of repairs exceeds 10% of the purchase price. Consumers who exercise their rights under this law have fourteen days from the date of sale to notify the seller of their intent to return the vehicle, actually return the vehicle to the seller, and provide the seller with a statement documenting the reason(s) why the vehicle failed to pass the inspection and an estimate of the cost of the necessary repairs.

On March 30, 2021, Applus Technologies, a vendor that facilitates vehicle inspections in several states, was subject to a malware attack that shut down all Massachusetts vehicle inspection stations. The RMV and Applus worked diligently to address the malware attack and get most vehicle inspections stations back online on Saturday, April 17, 2021. However, consumers who purchased vehicles around or during the outage were unable to have their vehicle inspected within the seven-day time period set out in the Lemon Aid Law.

The AG's Office reminds the public that the RMV issued a <u>statement</u> that outlines grace periods for vehicle inspections impacted by the inspection station outage. Specifically, consumers who purchased a vehicle that was registered between Tuesday, March 23, 2021, and Friday, April 16, 2021, should be given until April 30, 2021, to obtain an inspection. Now that inspection stations are operational, consumers who purchased cars that have yet to be inspected should get their vehicles inspected as soon as possible.

The AG's Office further advises that consumers impacted by the inspection station outage have 14 days from the date of their inspection, so long as the inspection occurred on or before April 30, 2021, to exercise their rights under the Lemon Aid Law. Consumers who wish to exercise their rights under the Lemon Aid Law should take the necessary steps as quickly as possible following the failed inspection. The AG Office is empowered to enforce Massachusetts' consumer protection laws, see G. L. c. 93A, <u>940 Code Mass. Regs §</u> 5.00, and <u>940 Code Mass. Regs § 3.00</u>, and expects Massachusetts auto dealerships to honor these grace periods given that it was impossible for consumers to obtain vehicle inspections, and therefore exercise their rights under the lemon aid law, between March 30, 2021, and April 17, 2021.

In addition to a grace period for newly purchased vehicles, the RMV has also set out the following grace periods:

• Consumers with inspection stickers expiring in March 2021 and April 2021 have until **May 31, 2021**, to obtain a new inspection sticker.

• Consumers who recently had an inspection rejection and are in the 60-day free retest window will be allowed 18 additional days to retest (one extra day for each day vehicle inspection stations were offline), but should plan to have their retest done as soon as possible now that the system is back online.

For more information about the outage and the RMV's grace periods for vehicle inspections please see its <u>press</u> release and <u>vehicle check webpage</u>.

The AG's Office urges those with concerns about their lemon aid law rights to contact the office's consumer hotline at (617) 727-8400 or file a complaint online.