IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT RENEWING YOUR LSP LICENSE

Part I. Renewal Requirements and Deadlines

A Licensed Site Professional must renew his or her license every three years. Our records indicate that your license will expire on **April 30**, **2023**, unless it is renewed. To renew your license, you must pay your Renewal Fee (\$100); and demonstrate that you have obtained the number and type of continuing education credits that are required by 309 CMR 3.09.

Whether you are filing a complete renewal application, or requesting a 90-day extension, you submit the following items:

- 1. Completed and signed Renewal Application Form;
- 2. Check or money order in the amount of \$100 along with the stub from your Invoice;
- 3. Completed Continuing Education Course Summary Form; and
- 4. Copies of your LSP Board Continuing Education Attendance Certification Forms.

Part II. Renewal Fee

To submit your Renewal Fee, please follow the instructions below:

- Make check or money order payable to "Commonwealth of Massachusetts" and be sure that your name and LSP number appear on the check. Do not send cash. The Renewal Fee is \$100. Before mailing the check, you are strongly advised to make a photocopy. Retain this copy until your cancelled check is returned;
- Detach the top portion of the enclosed Renewal Fee invoice and return it with your payment; and
- Mail your payment to:

Commonwealth of Massachusetts LSP Board Commonwealth Master Lockbox P.O. Box 3982 Boston, MA 02241-3982

DO NOT SEND BY CERTIFIED MAIL--SEND BY REGULAR MAIL ONLY

Part III. Renewal Application

To submit documentation that you have obtained the required number and kind of credits to renew your license or to obtain a 90-day extension, please follow the instructions below:

- Complete the enclosed Renewal Application Form;
- Complete the enclosed Continuing Education Course Summary Form and attach a copy of your official LSP Board Continuing Education Attendance Certification Form for each course listed; and

• Mail the Renewal Application Form; Continuing Education Course Summary Form; and copies of the Attendance Certification Forms to the following address:

Board of Registration of Hazardous Waste Site Cleanup Professionals 100 Cambridge Street, 9th Floor Boston, MA 02114

Please note that to renew your license you must have earned forty-eight (48) credits of continuing education. Of the forty eight (48) total credits you are required to earn, eight (8) must be classified as "Regulatory" credits. Additionally, at least twelve (12) of the forty-eight (48) credits must have been earned by taking "DEP Courses."

Part IV. Ninety-Day Extension

LSPs who have earned all but twelve (12) or fewer of the continuing education credits necessary to renew their license, may apply for a 90-day extension. To receive this extension, you must pay your Renewal Fee (\$100) by **April 30, 2023** and submit your Renewal Application; Course Summary Form; and copies of the LSP Board Attendance Certification Forms that demonstrate you have earned all but 12 or fewer of the credits needed to renew your license. Once the Board verifies that you have met these requirements, you will be notified that a 90-day extension was granted, and we will give you instructions regarding how to submit evidence that you have obtained the additional credits. There is an additional fee of \$100 for processing your submission of the additional required credits. The additional fee is payable when you submit proof that you have obtained the additional credits. Please check the designated boxes on both the Renewal Application and the Course Summary Form to apply for a 90-day extension.

Part V. Failure to Renew

If you fail to renew your license or obtain a 90-day extension, your LSP license lapses at the close of business on **April 30, 2023**. A person whose license has lapsed shall not act as, advertise as, or hold himself or herself out to be, or represent himself or herself as being, a Licensed Site Professional. A person whose license has lapsed may renew his or her license at any time during the following year by meeting all the renewal requirements set forth in 309 CMR 3.06(2), including the payment of the \$100 Renewal Fee. A LSP who fails to renew his or her license within one year of the date of expiration may reapply for licensure by submitting a Limited Licensure Application, paying the \$245 Application Fee, and, if the application is approved, passing the licensing examination.

If a Licensed Site Professional who was granted a 90-day extension fails to earn the additional required credits or fails to submit evidence thereof by the end of the extension period, his or her license will lapse at the close of business on the last day of the extension period, and the late renewal and reapplication provisions described in the preceding paragraph will apply. The one-year period to renew a license will run from the original renewal date, not the last day of the 90-day extension period.

Part VI. Questions or Additional Information

If you have questions or need additional information about the license renewal process please contact the LSP Board staff at 617-556-1091 or lsp.board@mass.gov