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The Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, an affirmative action employer, is 
committed to ensuring that all of its programs and facilities are accessible to all members of the public. We do not 
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Inquiries regarding the Department’s compliance with Title IX and other civil rights laws may be 
directed to The Human Resources Director, 75 Pleasant Street, Malden, MA 02148, Phone: 781-338-
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Dear Applicant,  

 Thank you for choosing to become 
an educator in Massachusetts. Our 
students routinely lead the nation in 
national assessments of educational 
progress, in large measure due to the 
commitment, dedication and high quality 
of our educators.  

 Few professions offer the 
opportunities that educators have to 
make a difference in children's lives every day, and no other 
profession has a greater impact on our state or our nation's 
future. Whether you are applying for your first license, seeking to 
advance an existing license, or applying to add another license to 
your educational credentials, please be assured that your 
commitment to high-quality instruction and our Commonwealth's 
students is both commendable and deeply appreciated.  

 This is an exciting time for education in the Commonwealth. 
With the impetus of the federal Race to the Top program, 
Massachusetts is placing unprecedented resources and focus on 
educational improvement and strengthening teaching, learning, and 
educator development. The Department of Elementary and 
Secondary Education is committed to supporting and assisting you 
as you begin your teaching journey, and throughout your career 
as an educator in Massachusetts.  

  Best wishes for success in all your efforts. 

  Sincerely,  

Mitchell D. Chester, Ed.D 
Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education 
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GENERAL QUESTIONS & ANSWERS 

FEES 

1. Q: What is the cost to apply for a license?  
A: First time applicants must pay a $100 fee for the 
first license area/level applied for.  Any additional 
license areas/levels will cost $25 each. 
Example 1: Appling for the first time license in 
Mathematics (8-12) and English (8-12) = $100.00 + 
$25.00 = $125.00. 
Example 2: Applying to add an additional license in 
History (5-8), General Science (5-8), and History (8-
12) = $25.00 + $25.00 + $25.00 = $75.00. 

2. Q: Will my fee be refunded if I do not yet 
qualify for the license? 
A: No. The fee is non-refundable and non-
transferable once the evaluation service has been 
provided.  If you do not qualify, you will receive a 
detailed evaluation letter from the Department that 
outlines any remaining requirements and how they 
can be satisfied. Upon completion of these 
requirements, simply mail in the necessary 
documentation, labeled with your social security 
number or MEPID number, and the application will be 
re-evaluated. You will not need to pay another 
application fee to have an existing application re-
evaluated. The application will remain on file until all 
requirements have been satisfied. 

3. Q: May I pay the fee with cash or personal 
check? 
A: No.  Certified bank check, money order, or credit 
card payments are the options available. We accept 
MasterCard and Visa. 

4. Q: How should I make out my certified bank 
check/money order? 
A: You should make your certified bank check/money 
order payable to the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts. Also, please write your social security 
number or MEPID number on the certified bank 
check or money order. 

TESTS 

5. Q: How can I get more information about the 
Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure 
(MTEL)? 
A: You can find current information on test 
registration, objectives for each test, and test 
preparation, including examples of types of items to 
expect, as well as other test-related information at 
www.doe.mass.edu/mtel 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

6. Q: Can I apply for a license if I haven’t 
completed all of the requirements yet? 
A: Yes. Candidates are encouraged to submit 
licensure applications as soon as they know that they 
would like to obtain a particular license.  Since 
applications are reviewed in the order they are 
received, applying earlier means your application gets 
evaluated earlier.  If you have not completely satisfied 
all requirements at the time of the evaluation, you will 
receive a detailed correspondence from the 

Department that outlines any remaining 
requirements, and how they can be satisfied. 

7. Q: How long will it take for the Department to 
process my application? 
A: It is not possible to say exactly how long it will 
take.  The answer depends on several factors, such as 
the type of license, the volume of applications being 
processed at the time, and whether the application 
was filled out correctly and completely.  Applicants 
can call the Licensure Call Center at 781-338-6600 to 
hear a general progress report of which applicants are 
currently being reviewed by the Department. 

8. Q: How can I ensure my application will be 
processed as quickly as possible?   
A: Visit http://www.mass.gov/ese/licensure and click 
on ELAR to apply online.  Applying and paying online 
does expedite processing.  Make sure you have 
uploaded or mailed all college transcripts and other 
required documentation to the Licensure Office to be 
added to your file, and be sure to write your social 
security number, MEPID number, or Massachusetts 
Educator License number on each document you 
submit.  Based on the large volume of documents 
received by the Licensure Office daily, it is usually a 
good idea to submit all supporting documentation 
(official transcripts, letters, other licenses, etc.) all 
together in one packet, rather than separately.  
  
Also please note: if this is your first time applying for 
an academic educator license in a particular category 
(teacher, specialist teacher, administrator, 
professional support personnel), you must pass the 
Communication and Literacy Skills MTEL test in 
order to be “Ready for Review.” 

9. Q: Is there a number I can call if I have any 
questions about the application process? 
A: Yes.  You can call (781) 338-6600 to speak to a 
Licensure representative, Monday through Friday, 
9a.m.-12p.m. and 2p.m.-5 p.m.  

10. Q: Can I use this application to renew my 
Professional level license? 
A: No.  The application used to renew a Professional 
level license is different from this application.  To 
learn more about License Renewal, renewing online, 
or downloading a mail-in application form, please visit: 
www.mass.gov/ese/licensure/renew. 

11. Q: How can I check the status of my 
application once I have submitted it? 
A: The most convenient way to check on your 
licensure status is online.  Visit 
http://www.mass.gov/ese/licensure and click on the 
ELAR icon to log in to your account.  This 
information is accessible 24 hours a day. 

12. Q: Where can I find answers to other 
questions about the licensure process? 

A:  Please visit http://www.mass.gov/ese/licensure and 
click on the FAQ link for a comprehensive list of 
frequently asked questions and answers.



5 
 

G.L.C.119,S.51A

Massachusetts educators must understand their responsibilities  
As "mandated reporters" as stipulated by law. Please read this completely. 

 
 

Any physician, medical intern, hospital personnel engaged in the 
examination, care or treatment of persons, medical examiner, 
psychologist, emergency medical technician, dentist, nurse, 
chiropractor, podiatrist, osteopath, public or private school 
teacher, educational administrator, guidance or family counselor, 
day care worker or any person paid to care for or work with a 
child in any public or private facility, or home or program funded 
by the Commonwealth or licensed pursuant to the provisions of 
chapter twenty-eight A, which provides day care or residential 
services to children or which provides the services of child care 
resource and referral agencies, voucher management agencies, 
family day care systems and child care food programs, probation 
officer, clerk/magistrate of the district courts, parole officer, 
social worker, foster parent, fire-fighter or policeman, office for 
children licensor, school attendance officer, allied mental health 
and human services professional as licensed pursuant to the 
provisions of section one hundred and sixty-five of chapter one 
hundred and twelve, drug and alcoholism counselor, psychiatrist, 
and clinical social worker, who in his professional capacity shall 
have reasonable cause to believe that a child under the age of 
eighteen years is suffering physical or emotional injury resulting 
from abuse inflicted upon him which causes harm or substantial 
risk of harm to the child's health or welfare including sexual 
abuse, or from neglect, including malnutrition, or who is 
determined to be physically dependent upon an addictive drug at 
birth, shall immediately report such condition to the department 
by oral communication and by making a written report within 
forty-eight hours after such oral communication; provided, 
however, that whenever such person so required to report is a 
member of the staff of a medical or other public or private 
institution, school or facility, he shall immediately either notify 
the department or notify the person in charge of such institution, 
school or facility, or that person's designated agent, whereupon 
such person in charge or his said agent shall then become 
responsible to make the report in the manner required by this 
section.  Any such hospital personnel preparing such report, may 
take or cause to be taken, photographs of the areas of trauma 
visible on a child who is the subject of such report without the 
consent of the child's parents or guardians.  All such photographs 
or copies thereof shall be sent to the department together with 
such report.  Any such person so required to make such oral and 
written reports who fails to do so shall be punished by a fine of 
not more than one thousand dollars.  Any person who knowingly 
files a report of child abuse that is frivolous shall be punished by 
a fine of not more than one thousand dollars. 
  

Said reports shall contain the names and addresses of 
the child and his parents or other person responsible for his care, 
if known; the child's age; the child's sex; the nature and extent of 
the child's injuries, abuse, maltreatment, or neglect, including 
any evidence of prior injuries, or neglect; the circumstances 
under which the person required to report first became aware of  

 
 

the child's injuries, abuse, maltreatment or neglect; whatever 
action, if any, was taken to treat, shelter, or otherwise assist the 
child; the name of the person or persons making such report; and 
any other information which the person reporting believes might 
be helpful in establishing the cause of the injuries; the identity  of 
the person or persons responsible thereof, and such other 
information as shall be required by the department. 
  

Any person required to report under this section who 
has reasonable cause to believe that a child has died as a result of 
any of the conditions listed in said paragraph shall report said 
death to the department and to the district attorney for the county 
in which such death occurred and to the medical examiners as 
required by section six of chapter thirty-eight.  Any such person 
who fails to make such a report shall be punished by a fine of not 
more than one thousand dollars. 
   

In addition to those persons required to report pursuant 
to this section, any other person may make such a report if any 
such person has reasonable cause to believe that a child is 
suffering from or has died as a result of such abuse or neglect.  
No person so required to report shall be liable in any civil or 
criminal action by reason of such report. No other person making 
such report shall be liable in any civil or criminal action by 
reason of such report if it was made in good faith; provided, 
however, that such person did not perpetrate or inflict said abuse 
or cause said neglect.  Any person making such report who, in 
the determination of the department or the district attorney may 
have perpetrated or inflicted said abuse or cause said neglect, 
may be liable in a civil or criminal action. 
  

No employer of those persons required to report 
pursuant to this section shall discharge, or in any manner 
discriminate or retaliate against, any person who in good faith 
makes such a report, testifies or is about to testify in any 
proceeding involving child abuse or neglect.  Any such employer 
who discharges, discriminates or retaliates against such a person 
shall be liable to such person for treble damages, costs and 
attorney's fees. 
  

Within sixty days of the receipt of a report by the 
department from any person required to report, the department 
shall notify such person, in writing, of its determination of the 
nature, extent and cause or causes of the injuries to the child, and 
the social services that the department intends to provide to the 
child or his family. 
  

Any privilege established by sections one hundred and 
thirty-five A and one hundred and thirty-five B of chapter one 
hundred and twelve or by section twenty B of chapter two 
hundred and thirty-three, relating to confidential communications 
shall not prohibit the filing of a report pursuant to the provisions 
of this section or the provisions of section twenty-four. 
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TYPES OF LICENSES 

Below is a brief overview of licensure requirements for each type of license. For a more complete set of licensure 
requirements, specific to the license you wish to apply for, use the Licensure Requirements Tool 

www.doe.mass.edu/licensurehelp 

PRELIMINARY License:  
An educator license issued to a person who holds a bachelor's degree and has passed the Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure 
(MTEL) and met other eligibility requirements established by the Board of Education. The Preliminary license is valid for five years 
of employment. 

 
INITIAL License:  
An educator license issued to a person who holds a bachelor's degree, passed the Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure 
(MTEL), completed an educator preparation program approved by the Commissioner*, and met other eligibility requirements 
established by the Board. The Initial license is valid for five years of employment and may be extended at the discretion of the 
Commissioner for an additional five years.  

EXTENSION OF AN INITIAL License  
a) An educator may extend an Initial license one time for an additional five years of employment.  
b) In order to be eligible for such extension, upon application, a candidate must:  

1. Have been employed for five years under a valid initial license: Please submit a letter signed by a principal, 
superintendent, or head administrator validating five years of employment under your Initial license for this field 
and grade level. The letter must be dated and include the length of your experience as well as the specific role in 
which you were employed. This letter must be on official school letterhead from the school where the employment 
was gained. Under your license is defined here as meaning employment in the role and at the grade of the Initial 
license from the date it was issued. 

2. Submit a letter stating that they plan to complete the requirements for Professional licensure: "I (insert name) plan 
to complete the requirements for a Professional (insert field and grade level) license, as noted in the Regulations 
for Educator Licensure and Preparation Program Approval 603 CMR 7.00, within the five years of employment 
allowed under the Initial-Extension license." 

*See page 7 for more information about approved programs. 

 
PROFESSIONAL License  
An educator's license generally issued to a person who has worked under their Initial Massachusetts license for three full years, and 
met requirements established by the Board set forth in 603 CMR 7.04(c), 7.09, or 7.11. The Professional license is valid for five 
calendar years and renewable for additional five-year terms as set forth in 603 CMR 44.00.  

License renewal information can be viewed at www.mass.gov/ese/licensure/renew. 

TEMPORARY License  
An educator license issued to a person who holds a valid educator's license or certificate of a type comparable to at least an Initial 
license in Massachusetts from another state or jurisdiction, and who has been employed under such license for a minimum of three 
years but has not satisfied the testing requirements set forth in 603 CMR 7.04 (2)(a) 2 and 3. It is valid for one year and is 
nonrenewable. 

 

 

 
If you are a teacher or administrator now or want to become an educator, you will find 

aMAzing Educators to be an informative resource for your career development. 

Visit often and discover the tools and the opportunities that will help you become one of the aMAzing 
Educators that are preparing our children and Massachusetts for an amazing future. 

 
Note: aMAzing Educators has replaced GEM and MECC. 

http://www.doe.mass.edu/amazingeducators/ 
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VERIFYING COMPLETION OF AN APPROVED PROGRAM 

 

 
Completion of an Educator Preparation Program can be accepted to satisfy educational requirements for an Initial 
license if it falls into one of the following categories: 

 A program located in the state of Massachusetts and is approved as an Initial 
licensure program by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and 
Secondary Education. A directory of these programs can be viewed on‐line at 
http://www.doe.mass.edu/amazingeducators/. Click “Ed Prep Programs”. 

The NASDTEC Mission 

The National Association of State 

Directors of Teacher Education and 

Certification is dedicated to licensing 

well-prepared, safe and wholesome 

educators for our nation’s schools.    

NASDTEC represents professional 

standards boards, commissions and 

state departments of education in all 

50 states, the District of Columbia, the 

Department of Defense Educational 

Activity, the U.S. Territories, and the 

Canadian provinces of Alberta, British 

Columbia, and Ontario, which are 

responsible for the preparation, 

licensure and discipline of educational 

personnel. Associate members include 

Canadian provinces and 

representatives of other constituent 

groups with an interest in the 

preparation and certification of 

educational personnel. 

 A traditional or alternative/non‐traditional state‐approved educator preparation 
program in a state with which Massachusetts has signed the NASDTEC Interstate 
Contact. A listing of participating states can be found at 
http://www.nasdtec.net/?page=Interstate.*  

*This educational requirement may also be satisfied by applicants who hold the 
equivalent of at least an initial license issued by a state with which 
Massachusetts has signed the NASDTEC Interstate Contract and have worked 
under that valid license for three out of the last seven years.  

 Completion of an educator preparation program sponsored by a college or 
university outside Massachusetts that has been accredited by an organization 
accepted by the Commissioner, such as the National Council for Accreditation of 
Teacher Education (NCATE), the Teacher Education Accreditation Council 
(TEAC), or the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP). An 
endorsement specifying the field and grade level(s) of your preparation may be 
included on an official transcript, in a letter written on official letterhead signed 
by the Registrar, Dean, or certification/licensure officer, or on the Out of State 
Approved Program Verification form found at 
www.mass.gov/ese/licensure/resources.  

Additional information regarding these accrediting organizations may be found 
by visiting their respective websites as follows: NCATE www.ncate.org/, TEAC 
www.teac.org/, and CAEP www.caepnet.org/. 

All endorsements must indicate the subject area and grade level of the applicant’s preparation, and must specify which of 
the above three categories of approved program applies.  

  
Endorsements from colleges or universities can be printed on official transcripts or written in the form of a letter, on 

official letterhead, and signed by a Registrar or Dean. 
  

Approved programs in Massachusetts generally have the ability to submit an endorsement to ESE electronically, via the 
ELAR system. 

  
Out-of-state approved programs can endorse applicants by completing the Out-of-state Approved Program 

Verification form, which can be found at www.mass.gov/ese/licensure/resources. 

* * * 
Applicants who have not satisfied one of the above program options may want to consider applying for a 

Preliminary teacher license. 
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TEACHER LICENSES      GRADE LEVELS 

PROFESSIONAL SUPPORT PERSONNEL LICENSES GRADE LEVELS

SPECIALIST TEACHER LICENSES    GRADE LEVELS

ADMINISTRATOR LICENSES      GRADE LEVELS

 

ACADEMIC LICENSES & LEVELS 
 

Biology ................................................................................................................... 5-8; 8-12 
Business .................................................................................................................. 5-12 
Chemistry ............................................................................................................... 5-8; 8-12 
Dance ...................................................................................................................... All 
Early Childhood: Teachers of Students With and Without Disabilities ................. PreK-2 
Earth Science .......................................................................................................... 5-8; 8-12 
Elementary .............................................................................................................. 1-6 
English .................................................................................................................... 5-8; 8-12 
English Language Learners (ESL) .......................................................................... PreK-6; 5-12 
 TBL Endorsement (Level depends on ESL license)*  
Foreign Language* ................................................................................................. PreK-6; 5-12 
General Science ...................................................................................................... 1-6; 5-8 
Health/Family and Consumer Science .................................................................... All 
History .................................................................................................................... 1-6; 5-8; 8-12 
Instructional Technology ........................................................................................ All 
Latin and Classical Humanities .............................................................................. 5-12 
Library .................................................................................................................... All  
Mathematics ........................................................................................................... 1-6; 5-8; 8-12 
Middle School: Humanities .................................................................................... 5-8 
Middle School: Mathematics/Science .................................................................... 5-8 
Music: Vocal/Instrumental/General ........................................................................ All 
Physical Education ................................................................................................. PreK-8, 5-12  
Physics .................................................................................................................... 5-8; 8-12 
Political Science/Political Philosophy .................................................................... 5-8; 8-12 
Speech .................................................................................................................... All 
Teacher of Students with Moderate Disabilities ..................................................... PreK-8; 5-12 
Teacher of Students with Severe Disabilities ......................................................... All 
Teacher of the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing .............................................................. All 
Teacher of the Visually Impaired ........................................................................... All 
Technology/Engineering ........................................................................................ 5-12 
Theatre .................................................................................................................... All 
Visual Art ............................................................................................................... PreK-8; 5-12 

Academically Advanced ......................................................................................... Prek-8 
Reading ................................................................................................................... All 
Speech, Language, and Hearing Disorders ............................................................. All 

Superintendent/Assistant Superintendent ............................................................... All 
School Principal/Assistant Principal ....................................................................... Prek-6; 5-8; 9-12 
Supervisor/Director* .............................................................................................. Depends on Prerequisite License 
Special Education Administrator ............................................................................ All 
School Business Administrator .............................................................................. All 

School Guidance Counselor ................................................................................... PreK-8; 5-12 
School Nurse .......................................................................................................... All 
School Psychologist ................................................................................................ All 
School Social Worker/School Adjustment Counselor ............................................ All   
 

*Foreign Language, 
TBL, and 
Supervisor/Director 
applications must 
specify a particular 
role.  Please visit 
www.doe.mass.edu/
licensurehelp to 
view available roles 
for these licenses. 

  INFORMATION ON AVAILABLE ENDORSEMENTS CAN BE FOUND AT: www.doe.mass.edu/licensurehelp
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APPLICATION FOR 
MASSACHUSETTS 

EDUCATOR LICENSURE 
Please complete all areas of this form.  

Please type or print. 
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1. 
 

               -               -                   
Social Security Number  

                                          
or MEPID 

2.                                                                                                 
Last Name 

                                                                    
First Name 

               
MI 

3. 

 
 

                                                                                              
Previous Last Name(s) if applicable, 
please attach documentation validating  
name change 

(               )               -                 
Daytime Telephone Number 

 

4. 

 

                                                                                                
Home Address, Street, and Apartment 
Number, if any 

(               )               -                 
Home Telephone Number 

 

                                                                                              
City/Town 

                
State         

                     
Zip Code                

                                                                                                                                                                                                   
E-mail Address 

5. Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year):                /               /               Gender (optional):    Male    Female 

6. a. Have you previously applied for a Massachusetts Educator License? 
                      YES, cost for each license listed below is $25. 
                      NO, cost is $100 for the first license and $25 for any additional licenses. 

b. Do you currently hold a Massachusetts Educator License?      Yes    No 
                    Massachusetts Educator License Number, if applicable:                             

7. List the License Field, Grade Level, and Type of each License you are applying for: 

Field (i.e. “Math”, “History”, etc. see page 8) Grade Level 
(i.e. “1-6”, see page 8) 

Type 
(i.e. “Preliminary”, “Initial”, etc., 

see page 6) 
a.                   

b.                   

c.                   

Amount 
Enclosed: 

 
      

8. Payment and Mailing Information: 
Please enclose with your application a certified check or money order (no personal checks or cash) 
payable to: The Commonwealth of Massachusetts. See page 4 for fee information. 
Mail the completed application and support documents to:  
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education  
Office of Educator Licensure, 75 Pleasant Street, Malden, MA 02148  

If paying by credit card, complete Credit Card Authorization form on page 11. 

For Official Use Only 
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9. Transcripts 
Please indicate any official transcripts you are submitting with your application as well as those that may be coming under separate cover. 

 These documents are enclosed with this application:  These documents will follow:  

             

              

              

 

10. Affidavit/Applicant’s Signature 

The Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education has been certified by the Criminal History Systems Board for access 
to conviction and pending criminal case data for the purpose of screening prospective and current holders of educator licenses awarded by 
the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, and for access to CORI conviction data in the context of proceedings relative to the 
decertification process. A criminal record check may be conducted for criminal and pending or criminal case information only, as authorized, 
and it will not necessarily disqualify me. 

State law requires applicants for licensure to affirm certain information. Please check all of the statements below that apply. If you do not 
check each statement, please enclose a letter of explanation. We will then contact you and will determine your eligibility for licensure. 

Please check all that apply.  

Since completion of my last licensure or renewal application, I certify that:  

 I have never appeared in any federal or state court in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts or any other commonwealth, state, district, 
territory or country as a defendant for any criminal offense. (You must leave this blank and provide an explanation regardless of the 
outcome of the case if you appeared as a defendant. Generally speaking, any process before a court where you are required to enter a plea 
or where you could be placed on probation prior to entering a plea is considered an appearance as a defendant. Failure to disclose criminal 
court appearances will be grounds for license denial or revocation.) 

 I have not been identified by any child protection agency as a perpetrator of child abuse or neglect.  

 I have not been dismissed for cause from any position I held.  

 I have not been asked to resign from any position or resigned from any position while under investigation or as a result of discipline.  

 I have not had a professional license or certificate denied, revoked, suspended, surrendered or annulled, and no action is pending to 
revoke or suspend any professional license or certificate I hold.  

 In accordance with MA General Laws Chapter 62C, § 49A, I have filed all state tax returns and paid all Massachusetts taxes required by 
law, and I am in compliance with all Massachusetts laws relating to payment of child support. Note: If you have not resided or earned 
income in Massachusetts, in most cases, you do not owe any Massachusetts income tax and can answer the above question in the 
affirmative. If you are unsure about the correct answer, please consult a tax professional before you leave this question blank. 

 I have read MA General Laws Chapter 119, § 51A (see page 5), which requires educators and others who are paid to care for or work 
with children to make a report immediately to the Department of Social Services or to the person in charge of the school or institution if 
there is reasonable cause to believe a child under 18 is suffering physical or emotional injury as a result of abuse, including sexual abuse, 
or neglect. I understand my obligations under § 51A and the penalties for failure to comply.  

 I understand and acknowledge that as a condition of holding an educator license, a criminal background check may be conducted for 
criminal and pending case information as authorized by the Criminal History Systems Board and that a criminal record will not 
automatically disqualify me.  

 This application contains no misrepresentations or falsehoods. I understand that misrepresentations or falsehoods may be cause for denial 
or revocation of my educator license.  

 I understand that I must notify the Commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education in writing 
within ten days if in the future the answers to any of these questions change. 

Signed under the penalties of perjury: 

  Print Your Full Name  
 

 
 

 
 

  Your Signature  
 

Today’s Date 
 

 
 

*The Office of Educator License no longer sends out hard copies of approved/renewed licenses. You can view an unofficial copy of your license 
within your ELAR account. If you would like to obtain a hard copy of your license(s), you may request a copy/duplicate via ELAR for a $25 fee. 



11 
 

 

 

Massachusetts Department of Elementary 
and Secondary Education 

 
 

75 Pleasant Street, Malden, Massachusetts 02148‐4906                 Telephone: (781) 338‐3000    
TTY: N.E.T. Relay (800) 439‐2370

Credit Card Authorization form: MASTERCARD and VISA accepted 

Please complete all areas of this form so that we may process your payment in a timely manner. Please type or print.  
*Please do not upload this form to your ELAR account or fax this form to the Office of Educator Licensure. 

1. Applicant Information: 

Applicant’s Full Name:                                                                                                                                                             

Applicant’s Social Security Number:                       ‐                      ‐                        or MEPID:                                                     

2. Card Holder Information: 

                                                                                        

Card Holder’s Last Name 

                                                                                   

Card Holder’s First Name 

                

MI 

                                                                                                                                                                                                   

Card Holder’s Address, Street and Apartment number (if any) 

                                                                                                                      

Card Holder’s City/Town 

                       

State 

                            

Zip Code 

3. Credit Card Information: 

Please check the credit card you are using to process your payment: 

 MASTERCARD     VISA 

ACCOUNT #:                     ‐                    ‐                    ‐                      Expiration Date (Month/Year): (                  /                   ) 

FEES: 

$100.00 for “First” license/Primary Area 

$25.00 for each New Field and Grade Level/Additional Area, or Hard Copy License 

Please apply payment to: 

 Academic Prek‐12 Licensure        License Renewal        Vocational Licensure 

 Adult Basic Education Licensure       Hard Copy License Request 

Total Payment: $                                

__________________________________________________________                                

Credit Card Holder’s Signature                                                                                               Date 
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APPLICANT'S CHECKLIST 
To ensure a timely application process, please review your application and refer to this checklist.  

If your application is incomplete, it will be returned to you. 
 

 I indicated the field, grade level, and type of each license I am applying for (section #7 on the 
application form; e.g. Math, 1-6, Initial). 

 If applicable, I am submitting proof of name change, e.g. marriage certificate, court order, MA 
driver’s license or social security card. 

 I am enclosing a certified bank check, money order, or credit card authorization form for the 
appropriate fee.  (See “Fees” section on page 4 to be sure you have included the correct dollar 
amount.)  

 If applicable, I am uploading, forwarding, or enclosing official copies of transcripts from all 
colleges I have attended. If mailing, all documents are identified by my social security number, 
MEPID, or educator license number. Applicants seeking licensure on the basis of foreign (non-
U.S.) coursework and/or diplomas must provide the Office of Educator Licensure with a detailed 
equivalency report or course-by-course evaluation of any college-level credit completed. 
Independent evaluations must be made by a nationally recognized agency, such as those listed at 
www.mass.gov/ese/licensure/resources. 

 If I am applying for a license that requires prerequisite experience (Specialist Teacher, 
Administrator, Professional Support Personnel Licenses), I am enclosing or forwarding under 
separate cover the appropriate employment verification letters, on official letterhead, signed by 
a head administrator.  

 If I am applying for a Foreign Language license or a Transitional Bilingual endorsement I have 
indicated the particular language (e.g. Foreign Language – [Spanish]). If I am applying for 
Supervisor/Director, I have indicated the role (e.g. Supervisor Director – Core [History]). See 
section #7 on the application form. 

 I read and checked off all questions in the affidavit (section #10 of the application), and I have 
signed and dated it.  

 I printed my social security number, MEPID, or educator license number on the face of every 
document I am submitting and I understand that failure to do so may result in the need to re-
send documents and/or delay the issuance of my license.  

 I have addressed all correspondence to the attention of:  

Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education  
Office of Educator Licensure 

75 Pleasant Street 
Malden, MA 02148  

 

 

 

www.gov.mass/ese/licensure 


