
 
 

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:  SELF-SERVICE STORAGE AGENT 
 
Chapter 401 of the Acts of 2016 (the “Act”) authorizes the Commissioner to 

issue a Self-Service Storage Agent License to Self-Service Storage facility operators 
allowing them to sell insurance in connection with and incidental to the rental of 
space at a self-service storage facility.  The Act can be found in Massachusetts 
General Laws Chapter 175, §228. 
 

Insurance offered by a licensed Self-Service Storage Agent may be offered on 
a master, corporate, commercial, group or individual policy basis and provide 
coverage to occupants at the self-service storage facility where the insurance is 
transacted for the loss of or damage to stored personal property that occurs at the 
covered facility. 
 
LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 
 

A Self-Service Storage Agent License is valid for a 2-year period and no 
examination is required for licensure.  A Self-Service Storage Agent License allows 
the licensee’s employees and authorized representatives, who must be at least 18 
years of age, to sell or offer to sell insurance under the license without being 
individually licensed.   

 
The Self-Service Storage Agent License is a limited line license which 

authorizes the licensee to sell or offer to sell insurance only in connection with and 
incidental to the rental of space at a self-service storage facility.  A Self-Service 
Storage Agent may not advertise, represent or otherwise portray itself or any of its 
employees or authorized representatives as licensed insurers or insurance 
producers.    

 
A Self-Service Storage Agent is not subject to the continuing education 

requirement applicable to insurance producers.  But, the Self-Service Storage Agent 
must provide a training program that gives basic instruction about the self-service 
storage insurance coverage to employees and authorized representatives of the 
licensee who will be engaged in selling or offering to sell insurance under the 
license.  
 
APPLYING FOR A LICENSE  
 
 An applicant for a Self-Service Storage Agent License must be at least 18 
years of age and shall submit: 

1. A complete Self-Service Storage Agent License application; 

I. The application must provide the physical address of the applicant’s 
company headquarters and a list of all self-service storage facilities 
where the Self-Service Storage Agent, employees or authorized 
representatives will conduct business under the license.   



II. The Self-Service Storage Agent must notify the Commissioner not 
less than 15 days prior to commencing business under the Self-
Service Storage Agent's license of any self-service storage facility 
locations not included on the application or if a location ceases to 
conduct business under the license. 

  
III. A Self-Service Storage Agent is not be required to have a separate 

license for each self-service storage facility or other place where 
business is transacted.   

2. LICENSE FEE:  The fee for the initial license and each subsequent 
renewal is $100.00 for each self-service storage facility location 
operated by the applicant in Massachusetts.  Checks are to be made 
payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 

3. Massachusetts-domiciled corporate applicants (corporations, LLCs) must 
be registered with the Massachusetts Secretary of State and must submit 
a current Certificate of Good Standing with the initial application. 

 
4. Non-resident corporate applicants must be registered with the 

Massachusetts Secretary of State and authorized to transact business in 
the Commonwealth.  Non-residents applicants must submit a Certificate 
of Good Standing from the Massachusetts Secretary of State with the 
initial application. 

 
In addition, the applicant must provide the following with the application:  
 

1. A list of self-service storage facilities where the licensee intends to offer 
self-service storage insurance; and,  

 
2. A copy of the certificate, endorsement or other evidence setting forth the 

terms and conditions of the self-service storage insurance policy provided 
to enrolled customers; and,  

 
3. A copy of brochures or other written materials, as approved by the 

Commissioner, describing the coverage that will be made available to 
occupants of the self-service storage facility; and,  

 
4. A list all employees and authorized representatives who will engage in 

offering and selling self-service storage insurance under the license; and, 
 

5. A description of the training program, including a copy of the training 
materials, given to employees and authorized representatives who will 
engage in offering and selling self-service storage insurance under the 
license.   

 
CONSUMER DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS 
 

A Self-Service Storage Agent may not sell or offer to sell insurance in connection 
with the rental of space at a self-service storage facility unless the Self-Service 



Storage Agent makes readily available to prospective occupants brochures or other 
written material that has been reviewed and approved by the Commissioner.  Such 
materials must: 
 

1. summarize the material terms of insurance coverage offered to occupants, 
including the identity of the insurer, the amount of any applicable deductible, 
the benefits of the coverage, and any exclusions and conditions; 

 
2. disclose that the policies offered by the Self-Service Storage Agent may 

provide a duplication of coverage already provided by an occupant's 
homeowner's insurance policy, renter's insurance policy, motor vehicle 
insurance policy, watercraft insurance policy or other source of property 
insurance coverage; 

 
3. state that if insurance is required as a condition of rental, the requirement 

may be satisfied by the occupant purchasing the insurance prescribed in this 
section or by presenting evidence of other applicable insurance coverage; 

 
4. describe the process for filing a claim, including any appeal process for a 

denial; 
 

5. state that an enrolled customer may cancel enrollment for coverage under a 
self-service storage insurance policy at any time and the person paying the 
premium shall  receive a refund or credit of any applicable unearned 
premium; 

 
6. state in writing all costs and charges related to the insurance; 

 
7. require evidence of coverage or a voluntary declination of coverage, in a form 

approved by the insurer, is provided to each occupant to whom coverage is 
offered; provided, however, that if insurance is required as a condition of 
rental, the requirement of evidence of a voluntary declination of coverage 
shall not apply; and 

 
8. the insurance is provided by an insurer authorized to provide the applicable 

kind of insurance in the Commonwealth. 
  
 
COLLECTION OF PREMIUM BY SELF-SERVICE STORAGE AGENTS 
 

The charges for insurance coverage may be billed and collected by the Self-
Service Storage Agent. Any charges to an enrolled occupant for insurance coverage 
that is not included in the cost associated with the rental of space at a self-service 
storage facility must be separately itemized on the occupant’s bill. If insurance 
coverage is included with the rental of space at a self-service storage facility, the 
Self-Service Storage Agent must clearly and conspicuously disclose to the occupant 
that the coverage is included with the rental. Self-Service Storage Agents billing 
and collecting insurance charges shall not be required to maintain the funds in a 
segregated account provided the agent is authorized by the insurer to hold the funds 
in an alternative manner and remits those funds to the insurer within 60 days of 



receipt.  All funds received by a self-service storage facility from an occupant for 
insurance coverage are considered funds held in trust by the Self-Service Storage 
Agent in a fiduciary capacity for the benefit of the insurer.  

 
SANCTIONS 

 
The provisions of Chapter 176D (Unfair Practices in Business of Insurance) 

shall apply to a licensed Self-Service Storage Agent and any of the licensee’s 
employees and authorized representatives that are engaged in the offer or sale of 
insurance in connection with and incidental to the rental of space at a self-service 
storage facility.  If a Self-Service Storage Agent or its employee or authorized 
representative violates any provision of the Act, the Commissioner may, after notice 
and hearing, impose fines and other penalties including (1) suspending the privilege 
of transacting self-service storage insurance business at specific locations where 
such violations have occurred; and (2) suspending or revoking the right of individual 
employees or authorized representatives to act under the license. 

 
 


