

Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Division of Professional Licensure Board of Registration of Hearing Instrument Specialists

1000 Washington Street, 7th Floor Boston MA 02118 (617) 727- 1945 www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/he

LICENSE APPLICATION INFORMATION SHEET

To apply for initial (non-reciprocity) licensure, you will need to submit the materials described below:

- (1) **Notarized License Application:** The application includes a form that must be completed by the Massachusetts-licensed Hearing Instrument Specialist who supervised the required one (1) year full-time or equivalent part-time, apprenticeship.
- (2) **International Hearing Society Home Study Course Certificate:** A copy of your International Hearing Society Home Study Course certificate of completion.
- (3) **Application Fee:** A check or money order for \$130.00, made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

You may submit the application as soon as you have completed the Home Study course and the 150 hour directly supervised practicum. This will allow you to be approved for the exam prior to the end of your apprenticeship.

After the Board has received your application and determined that you are eligible to take the exam, you will be contacted by International Hearing Society ("IHS"). IHS will provide testing information and instructions on how to pay for and take the exam. The exam fee is \$255.00.

Once you have taken the exam, IHS will notify the Board of your score. The Board will contact you to let you know whether you have passed. No other information about your test will be released.

Once you pass the exam and after you have submitted proof of completion of your apprenticeship along with all other application materials, Board staff will contact you to request a check or money order for an **additional \$130.00**. This is *the licensing fee and is only collected once you are ready to be licensed*. Upon receipt of the licensing fee, a license will be issued.

In addition to the application information outlined above, all applicants should be aware of the following:

- (1) If you are not currently a Board-registered apprentice, <u>do not submit an application</u>. Instead, please contact the Board at (617) 727-5339 for further instructions.
- (2) Apprentices who work in excess of the normal work day or work week are still required to complete the full, one (1) year term in order to qualify for a certificate of completion of the apprenticeship program.
- (3) Any applicant who had more than one (1) apprenticeship supervisor must complete the "Certification of Apprenticeship" statement in the application for <u>each</u> instructor. However, applicants need only sign and notarize one (1) page of the application.

Finally, all applicants are advised that the laws and regulations governing licensure may be found at M.G.L. c. 112, §§ 61-65, 196 – 198, and 265 CMR 2.00 - 10.00. An unofficial version of the regulations is available online through the "Statutes and Regulations" page of the Board's website. Official copies of the Board's regulations may be obtained from the State Bookstore, located at the Massachusetts State House, Room 166, Boston, MA 02133.