## Massachusetts Safe Routes to School Awards Ceremony



**LIVE ZOOM EVENT JUNE 2, 2021** 













# MASSACHUSETTS Safe Routes to School MASS.GOV/SAFE-ROUTES-TO-SCHOOL

# SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

#### 10:00 AM

#### **Opening Remarks and Year in Review**

Derek Krevat, Safe Routes to School Program Coordinator, MassDOT

#### **Keynote Speaker**

Jamey Tesler, Acting Secretary & CEO, MassDOT

#### **School Partner Remarks**

Jennifer Hessel-Smith, Physical Eduction Teacher, Nathaniel Morton Elementary School, Plymouth (2020 winner)

## **Education Partner Remarks:** The Year of the Bike

Galen Mook, Executive Director, Massachusetts Bicycle Coalition

#### 10:45 AM

## Partner Recognition: Honor Roll Awards Presentation

Exemplary Program by Region:

- ★ Western
- ★ Central
- **★** Northeast
- **★** Southeast

Community Collaboration Crossing Guard of the Year Nikki Tishler Award



## Certificate of Resiliency & Adaptability

The following partner schools have shown resiliency and adaptability in supporting Safe Routes to School efforts from March 2020 to March 2021. Despite the massive obstacles to overcome, these partner schools continued to prioritize Safe Routes to School programs to keep their students and communities safe for walking, biking, and rolling. From providing virtual bike safety sessions, conducting travel surveys, mapping walking routes, and hosting pedestrian safety sessions, these schools deserve to be recognized for going the extra mile.

Abigail Adams Middle School, Weymouth

Academy Avenue Primary School, Weymouth

Albert S. Woodward Memorial School, Southborough

Allendale Elementary School, Pittsfield

Ambrose Elementary School, Winchester

Andrews Middle School, Medford

Annie E. Fales Elementary School, Westborough

Arlington Middle School, Lawrence

Armstrong Elementary School, Westborough

Avery Elementary School, Dedham

Brayton Elementary School, North Adams

Bridge Elementary School, Lexington

Brooks Elementary School, New Bedford

Brookside Elementary School, Dracut

Burgess Elementary School, Sturbridge

C. A. Farley Elementary School, Hudson

Center Elementary School, Peabody

Centerville Elementary School, Beverly

Colegrove Park Elementary School, North Adams

Columbus Elementary School, Medford

Community Day Arlington Elementary School, Lawrence

Community School, North Attleborough

Consentino Middle School, Haverhill

Cyrus E. Dallin Elementary School, Arlington

Dedham Middle School, Dedham

Dr. Elmer S. Bagnall Elementary School, Groveland

East Elementary School, Sharon

Edith C. Baker School, Brookline

Edward F. Parthum Elementary School, Lawrence

Edward F. Parthum Middle School, Lawrence

Edward P. Boland Elementary School, Springfield

Elsie A. Hastings Elementary School, Westborough

Ezra H. Baker Innovation School, West Dennis

Fiske Elementary School, Lexington

Florence Sawyer School, Bolton

Fowler School, Maynard

Francis M. Leahy Elementary School, Lawrence

Fred W. Miller Elementary School, Holliston

Galvin Middle School, Canton

George H. Englesby Elementary School, Dracut

George R. Martin Elementary School, Seekonk

Green Meadow Elementary School, Maynard

Greenlodge Elementary School, Dedham

Greenmont Avenue Elementary School, Dracut

Greylock Elementary School, North Adams

Hancock Elementary School, Hancock

Hannah Elementary School, Beverly

Harwich Elementary School, Harwich

Holten Richmond Middle School, Danvers

Hoosac Valley Elementary School, Adams

John Glenn Middle School, Bedford

John J. McGlynn Elementary School, Medford

John J. McGlynn Middle School, Medford

John Silber Early Learning Center, Chelsea

Johnson Elementary School, Nahant

Jonas Clarke Middle School, Lexington

Joseph A. Campbell Elementary School, Dracut

Joseph Estabrook Elementary School, Lexington

Joseph L. Mulready Elementary School, Hudson

Joseph W. Martin Jr. Elementary School, North Attleborough

Justus C. Richardson Middle School, Dracut

Katharine Lee Bates Elementary School, Wellesley

Lafayette School, Everett

Lee Elementary School, Lee

Letourneau Elementary School, Fall River

Lincoln Elementary School, Winchester

Lynn Woods Elementary School, Lynn

Manchester Essex Regional Middle School, Manchester-by-the-Sea

Marblehead Veterans Middle School, Marblehead

Maria Hastings Elementary School, Lexington

Mason-Rice Elementary School, Newton

Matthew J. Kuss Middle School, Fall River

Memorial Elementary School, Upton

Mildred Aitken Elementary School, Seekonk

Mill Pond School, Westborough

North Attleborough Middle School, North Attleborough

North Brookfield Elementary School, North Brookfield

Oakdale Elementary School, Dedham

Oakham Center School, Oakham

Parlin School, Everett

Pierce School, Brookline

Powder Mill School, Southwick

Provincetown School, Provincetown

Reingold Elementary School, Fitchburg

Riverdale Elementary School, Dedham

Robert H. Adams Middle School, Holliston

Robert T. Capeless Elementary School, Pittsfield

Roberts Elementary School, Medford

Roger E. Wellington Elementary School, Belmont

Roosevelt Avenue Elementary School, North Attleborough

Sam Placentino Elementary School, Holliston

Sarah W. Gibbons Middle School, Westborough

Sherwood Middle School, Shrewsbury

South Middle School, Braintree

Sumner G. Whittier School, Everett

Sunderland Elementary School, Sunderland

Teaticket Elementary School, Falmouth

The Patrick Lyndon Pilot School, Boston

Thompson Elementary School, Arlington

Village School, Marblehead

Walter J. Paton Elementary School, Shrewsbury

Webster Elementary School, Everett

William Diamond Middle School, Lexington

William P. Gorman Fort Banks Elementary School, Winthrop

Winn Brook Elementary School, Belmont

Woodland School, Southwick

Woodville Elementary School, Wakefield

## **Exemplary Programs**by Region

Awarded to schools that set a great example by crafting a new or existing Safe Routes to School Program through innovation, creativity, and engagement.

★ Western

Winner: Edward P. Boland Elementary School, Springfield

\* Central

Winner: Florence Sawyer School, Bolton

★ Northeast

Winner: Dr. Elmer S. Bagnall Elementary School, Groveland

★ Southeast

Winner: Teaticket Elementary School, Falmouth

## **Community Collaboration**

Awarded to an Alliance Partner organization that strongly demonstrated the importance of collaborating among schools and community stakeholders, and furthered the mission of Safe Routes to School.

Winner: Bike to School Concord

### **Crossing Guard of the Year**

Winner, Honorable Mention, and Crossing Guard Champions will be announced live!

#### **Top Five Nominees:**

- ★ Rosemary Chirillo, Hingham
- \* Annette Dilley, Braintree
- ★ Jim Laramie, Marblehead
- ★ Dave Leger, Leominster
- ★ Kevin Shrayer, Beverly

### Nikki Tishler Memorial Award

Awarded to an individual or group of individuals who served as true champions of Safe Routes to School over the past school year, making the extra effort to ensure a successful program in his or her community.

In 2018, the Safe Routes to School Superhero Award was retired in Nikki's honor and presented to her family to celebrate her life and work with MassDOT. Nikki was the Coordinator of MassDOT's Safe Routes to School Program and a liaison to three of the Commonwealth's Metropolitan Planning Organizations.

Throughout her life, Nikki brought the same passion to her endeavors outside of the office as she did to her responsibilities at MassDOT. She was a fierce advocate for social justice; a volunteer for a suicide prevention hotline; a warm, thoughtful, and caring person; and a wonderful friend and colleague.

In the words of one coworker, "Nikki had the innate ability to promote social wellness, which she was a living example of. Her closest colleagues benefited both professionally and personally from her contagious positivity."

Winners: Betsy Goodrich and Elecia Miller,
Mayor's Health Task Force, Lawrence

