

Am I Eligible for MA Licensed Mental Health Counselor (LMHC)?

Review the requirements for eligibility before you start your application for LMHC.



Before you apply, gather the following:

- √ 2x2 passport style color photo
- ✓ Graduate transcript sent directly from your school
- √ Completed <u>Pre-Master's Degree and Education form</u> (not required for reciprocity)
- ✓ Completed <u>Post-Masters Clinical Experience forms</u> (signed by supervisor, not required for reciprocity)
- ✓ Score Report of National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE)
- ✓ VALOR Act -Military Status documentation (if applicable)

 The following document is only in the licensing tool:
- √ Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) form must be signed and notarized

Tool Location: <u>Health Professions Licensing System</u>



Massachusetts Licensed Mental Health Counselor Application Information

State of Massachusetts Licensed Mental Health Counselor Licensure Application Information

Application Fee - \$117.00

Application Link: https://healthprofessionlicensing.mass.gov/

Support: https://www.mass.gov/how-to/apply-for-a-license-allied-mental-

health-and-human-services-professions

Contact us: amh.board@mass.gov or (617) 973-6199

Initial License Eligibility Requirements

Please ensure you have met all requirements for licensure:

- √ You have 60 semester credits or 80 quarter credits in graduate school, and you took the <u>required coursework</u>
- √ You have completed Pre- and Post Master's Degree Education and Clinical Experience requirements
- √ You passed National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination
 (NCMHCE)

Reciprocity Requirements

Reciprocity Applicants must meet the following requirements:

- ✓ Licensed at an independent level (not required to be supervised) as a mental health counselor or the equivalent in another state
- √ Worked full-time, or the equivalent part time, for 3 years in another state
 while licensed in that state as a licensed mental health counselor or the
 equivalent at an independent level
- √ You have 60 semester credits or 80 quarter credits in graduate school, and you took the <u>required coursework</u>
- √ You passed National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE)

Checklist Items

Please gather the following details prior to beginning the application:

- √ 2x2 passport style color photo
- √ Signed & notarized Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) form
- ✓ Pre-Master's Degree Experience & Education Form (Initial License Only)
- √ Post-Master's Degree Clinical Experience Form (Initial License Only)
- **✓ NCMHCE Score Report**

If you have military status (veteran, spouse of active military or active military)

Please gather the following details prior to beginning the application:

√ VALOR Act: Military Status Documentation

If you have ever held a professional license or certification

Regardless of expiration status or profession, primary source proof of status must be sent separately

✓ Licensee details (license number, date obtained, state of origin, etc.)



Massachusetts Licensed Mental Health Counselor Application Instructions

1)

Demographics and Photo

- Name, SSN, DOB, phone number, email, address
- · Color picture, white background, showing face & shoulders; size it to fit the white area

(2)

If veteran, active duty or spouse of active duty: Valor Act

· Military status; upload supporting documents if needed

NOTE: document must be notarized

3

Professional and Criminal History Questions

• Answer each attestation with Yes or No; Provide details for any "yes" responses **NOTE:** If needed, upload any supporting documents, e.g., out of State CORI form

4

Attestations

• Select Yes or no to attest to board-approved domestic violence training **NOTE:** If selected "no," a link will appear to access to the training

(5)

Select Application Type

Initial Licensure Upload completed forms:

Pre-Master's Document, Post Master's Document(s), & Transcripts from Primary Source Institution (Email or Mailed)

OR

Reciprocity Answer and Email:

Complete Attestation; Transcripts and License verifications from Primary Source Institution (Email or Mailed)

6

NCMHCE Exam

- Drag and drop a score report showing you passed the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE)
- NOTE: No other exam is accepted

7

Licenses in MA and Other Jurisdictions

- · Enter any professional license details you have had, regardless of expiration status
- NOTE: A primary source (e.g., Board, government authority) verification of licensure is required, even if your license is expired

8

Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) form

- Complete and upload a notarized* CORI form, located in Health Professions Licensing System
- NOTE: The notarization date must match the signature date
- *Documents must be signed in front of the notary. Check banks, mailing stores, libraries, or online for notary services, and bring a valid photo ID.

9

E-Signature & Submission

- Attest that the information provided is truthful, accurate, and in compliance with Commonwealth of MA laws by typing your full name
- Review application details for accuracy
- Submit Application

Start Your Application in eLX

Login or Create an account

Health Professions Licensing System (mass.gov)