Form M-2220
Underpayment of Massachusetts

2001

Massachusetts
Department of

Estimated Tax by Corporations Revenue
Attach this form to your return. Please print in ink or type.
Name of corporation Federal Identification number
Check type of return to be filed: [] 355 [J 355C [] 355S [] Other
Part 1. Figuring your underpayment. See instructions.
1. 2001 tax (from line 18, 355 or 355C; line 20, Form 355S; or line 6, Form SBC)
Commercial banks, insurance companies, and public service companies enter total excise due fromreturn.............
2. Enter 90% Of INe L . . ..o
3. Enter 90% of 2001 tax using 2000 income apportionmeNnt PErCENtAJE . . . . ... vttt ittt et et
4. Enter 2000 tax (total of line 16 and line 18, 2000 355A, 355B, 355C-A or 355C-B; total of line 18 and line 20, 2000
355S-A or 355S-B; or line 6, 2000 Form SBC). Large corporations or short taxable year corporations, see instructions.. . . .
5. Enterline 2,3 or 4, whicheveris smallest ... ... ... ... ...
6. Enter in columns 1 through 4 the installment Due dates of installments
dates that correspond to the the 15th day of
the 3rd, 6th, 9th and 12th months of your tax-
able year. Note: see TIR 01-16 for exceptions
toduedates .......................... > | D) @) (3) (4)

7. Enter in column (1) 40% of line 5
Enter in column (2) 25% of line 5
Enter in column (3) 25% of line 5
Enter in column (4) 10% of line 5

If you are a new corporation, check this box []
and see the instructions for the amount to
enter in each column of line 7.

8. Amount paid or credited for each period. . . . ...

9. Overpayment of previous installment . ........

10. Total. Addline8andline9 .................

11. Overpayment. Subtract line 7 fromline 10 . . . ..

12. Underpayment. Subtract line 10 fromline 7 .. ..

Complete reverse to calculate underpayment penalty.

General Information

Who should use this form. Corporations taxed under Ch. 63 of the
Massachusetts General Laws should use Form M-2220 to determine
whether they paid the correct amount of estimated tax by the proper due
date. If not, a penalty may be imposed on the underpayment amount.

For further information on estimated tax payments refer to the “Should
the Corporation Be Making Estimated Tax Payments?” in your corporation
excise instructions or in the instructions for Form 355-ES, Corporation Es-
timated Tax Payments.

Paying estimated taxes. All corporations which reasonably estimate
their corporate excise to be in excess of $1,000 for the taxable year are
required to make estimated tax payments to the Commonwealth. Esti-
mated taxes may be paid in full on or before the 15th day of the third
month of the corporation’s taxable year or in four installment payments
according to the schedule. Corporations making estimated payments
must use Form 355-ES to make their payments.

Short year. Corporations are liable for estimated payments even if there
was no return filed for 2000 or if a return filed for 2000 was for less than

12 months. Corporations meeting either of these conditions should enter
the smaller of lines 2 or 3 in line 5. See Massachusetts Regulation 830
CMR 63B.2.2 for additional information.

Large corporation. Any corporation having $1 million or more of federal
taxable income in any of its three preceding taxable years (IRC Sec.
6655(g)) may only use its prior year tax liability to calculate its first quar-
terly estimated payment. Any reduction in the first installment payment
must be added to the second installment payment.

Making estimated tax payments. Estimated taxes are paid in quarterly
installments as follows:

Pct. of estimated Due date from start

Installment no. tax due of taxable year
1 40% 15th day of 3rd month
2 25% 15th day of 6th month
3 25% 15th day of 9th month
4 10% 15th day of 12th month



Part 2. Figuring your underpayment penalty. See instructions.

Enter same installment dates used inline 6  » | (1)

@ ©)] 4

13. Amount of underpayment fromline12 ........

14. Enter the date of payment or the 15th day of the
3rd month after the close of the taxable year,
whicheverisearlier .......................

15. Number of days from due date of installment
to the date showninline14.................

16. Number of days in line 15 after 3/15/01 and
before4/1/01 . ... ... ...

17. Number of days in line 15 after 3/31/01 and
before 7/1/01 . ... ... ..

18. Number of days in line 15 after 6/30/01 and
before 1/1/02 . .. .. ... .

19. Number of days in line 15 after 12/31/01 and
before 4/1/02 . .. ... ... ..

20. Number of days in line 15 after 3/31/02 and
before 7/1/02 . .. ... ...

21. Number of days in line 15 after 6/30/02 and
before 10/1/02 .. . ... ..

22. Number of days in line 15 after 9/30/02 and
before 1/1/03 . .. ... ...

23. Number of days in line 15 after 12/31/02 and
before 2/16/03 .. ........... ... ... ... ...

24. Underpayment in line 13 x (number of days
inline 16 +365)x10% . ...........c.ccv....

25. Underpayment in line 13 x (number of days
inline17+365)%x9% .....................

26. Underpayment in line 13 x (number of days
inline18+365)%x8% .............ovvvn...

27. Underpayment in line 13 x (number of days
inline19+365)x7% ...............c.....

28. Underpayment in line 13 x (number of days
iNline20+365)x*% ............cccunn..

29. Underpayment in line 13 x (number of days
iNline21+365)X*% ...........ccvvunnn..

30. Underpayment in line 13 x (number of days
iNline22+365)x*% ...........cccounn..

31. Underpayment in line 13 x (number of days
iNline23+365)X*% .........ccovvvvnnnnn.

32. Addlines 24 through31....................

33. Total of amounts shown in line 32. Enter this amount in line 28 on page 1 of Form 355 or 355C; line 30 of Form 355S;
orline14of FOrm SBC . . ... .. i

*Rate to be determined.

Note: New corporations in their first full taxable year with less than 10 em-
ployees have lower payment percentages — 30-25-25-20%; 55-25-20%;
and 80-20%. New corporations should check the box in line 7 and use
these percentage amounts to complete line 7.

Commercial Banks, Insurance Companies and Public Service Com-
panies. Enter in line 1 the Total Excise Due amount from the return being
filed. Also, if an underpayment penalty is due, show this amount in the
bottom margin of page 1 of your respective return as “underpayment pen-
alty” and increase your total payment due or decrease excess payment
to be refunded.

Line Instructions

Figuring Your Underpayment and Penalty

Lines 7 through 12. To determine the underpayment amount, complete
lines 7 through 12 for each appropriate column. If line 11 shows an
overpayment, that overpayment may first be used as a payment of any
existing underpayment amount. Overpayments used as payments of
prior underpayment amounts do not decrease the actual underpayment
amount but serve to reduce instead the period of underpayment sub-
ject to penalty. If there are no existing underpayment amounts, the over-
payment is applied as a credit against the next installment. If more than
one payment is made for a given installment, attach separate computa-
tions for each payment.



