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May 8, 2023

Mike Levine

Assistant Secretary, MassHealth

Executive Office of Health and Human Services
One Ashburton Place, 11th Floor Room 1109
Boston, MA 02108

Dear Assistant Secretary Levine:

In response to the section 1115(a) demonstration opportunity announced to states on March 22,
2020 in State Medicaid Director Letter (SMDL) #20-002, on July 15, 2021, Massachusetts
submitted a request to amend the Commonwealth’s section 1115(a) demonstration entitled,
“Massachusetts COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (PHE) Demonstration” (Project Number
11-W00355/1), which was approved December 30, 2020. The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid
Services (CMS) has determined that the state’s application is complete, consistent with the
exemptions and flexibilities outlined in 42 CFR 431.416(e)(2) and 431.416(g).2 CMS expects
that states will offer, in good faith and in a prudent manner, a post-submission public notice
process, including tribal consultation as applicable, to the extent circumstances permit. This
letter serves as time-limited approval of select components of the amendment to the
Massachusetts COVID-19 PHE Demonstration, described below. The Massachusetts COVID-19
PHE Demonstration is authorized retroactively to March 1, 2020, through the date that is 60 days
after the end of the PHE. The Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
extended the PHE until May 11, 2023, when it expires.®

CMS has determined that the amendment to the Massachusetts COVID-19 PHE demonstration
— including the waiver authorities detailed below — is necessary to assist the state in delivering
the most effective care to its beneficiaries in light of the COVID-19 PHE. The demonstration
is likely to assist in promoting the objectives of the Medicaid statute because it is expected to
help the state furnish medical assistance in a manner intended to protect, to the greatest extent
possible, the health, safety, and welfare of individuals and providers who may be affected by
COVID-19. Specifically, this approval improves access to care by permitting the
Commonwealth to exempt certain eligibility groups from cost sharing requirements, defined in
Special Term and Condition (STC) 14, beyond those permitted under cost sharing regulations

1 See SMDL #20-002, “COVID-19 Public Health Emergency Section 1115(a) Opportunity for States,” available at
https://www.medicaid.gov/sites/default/files/Federal-Policy-Guidance/Downloads/smd20002-1115template.docx.

2 Pursuant to 42 CFR 431.416(g), CMS has determined that the existence of unforeseen circumstances resulting
from the COVID-19 PHE warrants an exception to the normal state and federal public notice procedures to expedite
a decision on a proposed COVID-19 section 1115 demonstration. States applying for a COVID-19 section 1115
demonstration are not required to conduct a public notice and input process. CMS is also exercising its discretionary
authority to expedite its normal review and approval processes to render timely decisions on state applications for
COVID-19 section 1115 demonstrations. CMS will post all section 1115 demonstrations approved under this
COVID-19 demonstration opportunity on the Medicaid.gov website.

3 See https://www.hhs.gov/coronavirus/covid-19-public-health-emergency/index.html.
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at 42 CFR 447.56. Massachusetts will apply tiered copays set at $0 for certain individuals
whose income appears in the Medicaid source systems at O percent of the federal poverty level
(FPL), because the application of any copay above $0 would place such individuals at risk of
reaching the aggregate family limit.

In addition, in light of the unprecedented emergency circumstances associated with the
COVID-19 pandemic and in consequence of the time-limited nature of this demonstration —
CMS did not require the state to submit budget neutrality calculations for Massachusetts’
COVID-19 PHE section 1115(a) demonstration. In general, CMS has determined that the
costs to the federal government are likely to have been otherwise incurred and allowable.
Massachusetts will still be required to track demonstration expenditures and will be expected
to evaluate the connection between those expenditures and the state’s response to the PHE, as
well as the cost-effectiveness of those expenditures.

Requests CMS is Approving at this Time
This letter addresses the request that CMS is approving at this time. Consistent with the
flexibilities described in the SMDL #20-002, and with additional flexibilities requested by

Massachusetts, CMS is approving the following request:

New and Amended Waiver Authorities

1. Reasonable Promptness; Amount, Duration, Section 1902(a)(8) and
Scope; Comparability 1902(a)(10)(B) and
1902(a)(17) of the Social
Security Act (the Act)

To the extent necessary to permit the state to vary the amount, duration, and scope of services
based on population needs; to provide different services to different beneficiaries in the same
eligibility group, or different services to beneficiaries in the categorically needy and
medically needy groups; to the extent necessary to permit the state to exempt certain
MassHealth populations listed in STC 14 from cost sharing requirements (effective July 1,
2020); and to allow the state to triage access to long-term services and supports based on
highest need.

2. Cost Sharing Section 1902(a)(14)
In so far as it incorporates
Sections 1916 and 1916(A)
of the Act

To permit the Commonwealth to exempt populations listed in STC 14, considered
categorically needy under 42 CFR 435.4, from cost sharing requirements (effective July 1,
2020).
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Monitoring and Evaluation Requirements

In accordance with the STCs, the Commonwealth submitted an Evaluation Design for this
demonstration and CMS approved the Evaluation Design on July 12, 2021. The
Commonwealth must update the approved Evaluation Design to accommodate this
demonstration amendment, and submit to CMS for review no later than 60 days after the
approval of this amendment. Per the demonstration STCs, the Commonwealth also will be
required to complete a final report for the demonstration, including this amendment, in
alignment with the updated Evaluation Design. The final report will consolidate all required
monitoring and evaluation deliverables, to be submitted to CMS no later than one year after
the end of the COVID-19 section 1115 demonstration authority. This report will use
descriptive qualitative and quantitative analysis to inform understanding of demonstration
implementation, lessons learned, and best practices for similar public health emergencies.
Specifically, the Commonwealth will be required to provide qualitative analysis to understand
the principal challenges associated with engagement with Medicaid beneficiaries during this
public health emergency, the effectiveness of the demonstration at meeting these challenges,
and recommendations for addressing similar public health emergencies. The Commonwealth
also will be required to track separately all expenditures associated with this demonstration,
including but not limited to, administrative costs and program expenditures. Once approved
by CMS, the state must publish the updated Evaluation Design and the final report to its
Medicaid Agency website within 30 days of their respective approvals.

Other Information

Approval of this demonstration amendment is subject to the limitations specified in the list of
approved authorities and the enclosed STCs. The state may deviate from its Medicaid state
plan requirements only to the extent that the requirements have been specifically waived or
identified as not applicable to the demonstration. This approval is conditioned upon continued
compliance with the enclosed STCs which set forth in detail the nature, character and extent of
anticipated federal involvement in the project.

The award is subject to CMS receiving written acceptance of this award within 15 days of the
date of this approval letter. Your project officer is Rabia Khan. Rabia Khan is available to
answer any questions concerning implementation of the state’s section 1115(a) demonstration
and her contact information is as follows:

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services
Mail Stop: S2-25-26

7500 Security Boulevard

Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850

Email: Rabia.Khanl@cms.hhs.qgov
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We appreciate the Commonwealth’s commitment to addressing the significant challenges posed
by the COVID-19 pandemic and we look forward to our continued partnership on the
Massachusetts COVID-19 PHE section 1115(a) demonstration. If you have any questions
regarding this approval, please contact Mehreen Rashid, Acting Director, State Demonstrations
Group, Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services, at (410) 786-9686.

Sincerely,

%é;@

Chiquita Brooks-LaSure

Enclosure
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cc: Marie DiMartino, State Monitoring Lead, Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group



CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

WAIVER AUTHORITY
NUMBER: Project Number 11-W-00355/1
TITLE: Massachusetts COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (PHE)
Demonstration
AWARDEE: Massachusetts Executive Office of Health and Human Services

All requirements of the Medicaid program expressed in law, regulation and policy statement, not
expressly waived or identified as not applicable in accompanying authorities, shall apply to the
demonstration project effective from March 1, 2020, through the date that is 60 days after the
public health emergency (PHE) described in section 1135(g)(1)(B) of the Social Security Act
(the Act), including any extension, expires. In addition, these waivers may only be implemented
consistent with the approved special terms and conditions (STC).

Under the authority of section 1115(a)(1) of the Act, the following waivers of state plan
requirements contained in section 1902 of the Act are granted subject to the STCs for the section
1115 demonstration.

1. Statewideness Section 1902(a)(1)

To the extent necessary to permit the state to target services on a geographic basis that is
less than statewide, in order to support the state’s mobile testing initiatives.

2. Reasonable Promptness; Amount, Duration, Section 1902(a)(8) and
Scope; Comparability 1902(a)(10)(B) and
1902(a)(17)

To the extent necessary to permit the state to vary the amount, duration, and scope of services
based on population needs; to provide different services to different beneficiaries in the same
eligibility group, or different services to beneficiaries in the categorically needy and
medically needy groups; to the extent necessary to permit the state to exempt certain
MassHealth populations listed in STC 14 from cost sharing requirements (effective July 1,
2020); and to allow the state to triage access to long-term services and supports based on
highest need.

3. Freedom of Choice Section 1902(a)(23)(A)

To the extent necessary to permit the state to restrict beneficiary choice to a limited network
of telehealth network providers and ambulance providers providing mobile testing services.

4. Cost Sharing Section 1902(a)(14)
In so far as it incorporates
Sections 1916 and 1916(A)
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To permit the Commonwealth to exempt populations listed in STC 14, considered
categorically needy under 42 CFR 435.4, from cost sharing requirements (effective July 1,
2020).
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CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

EXPENDITURE AUTHORITY

NUMBER: Project Number 11-W-00355/1

TITLE: Massachusetts COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (PHE)
Demonstration

AWARDEE: Massachusetts Department of Health and Human Services

Under the authority of section 1115(a)(2) of the Act, expenditures made by the state for the items
identified below, which are not otherwise included as expenditures under section 1903 of the Act
shall, for the period from March 1, 2020, through the date that is sixty (60) days after the PHE
described in section 1135(g)(1)(B) of the Act, including any extension, expires, unless otherwise
specified, be regarded as expenditures under the state’s title XIX plan.

As discussed in the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ (CMS) approval letter, the
United States Secretary of Health and Human Services has determined that the demonstration,
including the granting of the expenditure authorities described below, is likely to assist in
promoting the objectives of title XIX of the Act.

The following expenditure authority may only be implemented consistent with the approved
STCs and shall enable the state to operate the above-identified section 1115(a) demonstration.

1. Long-Term Services and Supports (LTSS). Expenditures for 1905(a) LTSS services for
individuals even if services are not timely updated in the plan of care, or are delivered in
allowable alternative settings for the period of the public health emergency. The
Commonwealth defines alternative settings as those which would have been otherwise-
approvable via 1915(c), Appendix K (e.g. hotels, shelters, schools and churches).!

2. Retainer Payments. Expenditures for the state to make retainer payments for dates of
service beginning in the month of July 2020 and ending after 30 consecutive days to
providers of adult day health and day habilitation services (that include a personal care
component) provided under 1905(a)(13) of the Act to maintain capacity during the
emergency. The retainer payment time limit may not exceed 30 consecutive days. If the
state has or submits and receives approval of an institutional facility bed hold State Plan
Amendment (SPA) that is fewer than 30 days, then the state may only make retainer
payments authorized under the 1115 authority that is less than or equal to the aggregate
maximum monthly institutional facility bed hold limit in the SPA. In addition, retainer
payments may only be paid to providers with treatment relationships to beneficiaries that
existed at the time the PHE was declared and who continue to bill for adult day health or day
habilitation services as though they were still providing these services to those beneficiaries
in their absence. The retainer payments may not exceed the approved rate(s) or average

!'See “APPENDIX K: Emergency Preparedness and Response” template, available at
https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/home-community-based-services/downloads/1915c-appendix-k-template.pdf.
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expenditure amounts paid during the previous quarter for the service(s) that would have been
provided.
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CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

SPECIAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS

NUMBER: Project Number 11-W-00355/1

TITLE: Massachusetts COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (PHE)
Demonstration

AWARDEE: Massachusetts Department of Health and Human Services

I. PREFACE

The following are the Special Terms and Conditions (STCs) for the Massachusetts COVID-19
Public Health Emergency (PHE) section 1115(a) Medicaid Demonstration (hereinafter
“Demonstration”), operated by the state and partially funded by CMS. The STCs set forth in
detail the state’s obligations to CMS during the life of the demonstration. The STCs are
effective March 1, 2020, unless otherwise specified. This demonstration is approved through the
date that is 60 days after the Public Health Emergency (PHE) described in section 1135(g)(1)(B)
of the Act, including any extension, expires.

The STCs have been arranged into the following subject areas:

L. Preface
IL Program Description and Objectives
I11. General Program Requirements

IV.  COVID-19 Public Health Emergency Program and Benefits
V. Cost Sharing

VI.  Delivery System

VII.  General Reporting Requirements

VIII. General Financial Requirements Under Title XIX

IX. Schedule of State Deliverables for the Demonstration Period

Additional attachments have been included to provide supplementary information and guidance
for specific STCs.

Attachment A. Evaluation Design
II. PROGRAM DESCRIPTION AND OBJECTIVES

The demonstration is approved in recognition of the PHE as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. The
demonstration will help the state to furnish medical assistance in a manner intended to protect, to the
greatest extent possible, the health, safety, and welfare of individuals and providers who may be
affected by COVID-19.
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The state’s title XIX state plan, title XXI state plan, and Massachusetts Comprehensive
demonstration, as approved, will continue to operate concurrently with this section 1115
demonstration.

The demonstration also provides flexibility for the delivery of long term supports and services
during the PHE.

III. GENERAL PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

1. Compliance with Federal Non-Discrimination Statutes. The state agrees that it must
comply with all applicable federal statutes relating to non-discrimination in services and
benefits in its programs and activities. These include, but are not limited to, the
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, section
504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, and Section
1557 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (Section 1557). Such compliance
includes providing reasonable modifications to individuals with disabilities under the
ADA, Section 504, and Section 1557 with eligibility and documentation requirements,
and in understanding program rules and notices.

2. Compliance with Medicaid and CHIP Law, Regulation, and Policy. All requirements
of the Medicaid and CHIP programs expressed in law, regulation, and policy statement
not expressly waived or identified as not applicable in the waiver and expenditure
authority documents of which these terms and conditions are part, must apply to the
demonstration.

3. Changes in Medicaid Law, Regulation, and Policy. The state must, within the
timeframes specified in law, regulation, court order, or policy statement, come into
compliance with any changes in federal law, regulation, or policy affecting the Medicaid
program that occur during this demonstration approval period, unless the provision being
changed is explicitly waived or identified as not applicable. In addition, CMS reserves
the right to amend the STCs to reflect such changes and/or changes as needed without
requiring the state to submit an amendment to the demonstration pursuant to STC 6.
CMS will notify the state 15 days in advance of the expected approval date of the
amended STCs to allow the state to provide comment. Changes will be considered in
force upon issuance of the approval letter by CMS. The state must accept the changes in
writing.

4. Impact of Changes in Federal Law, Regulation, and Policy on the Demonstration. If
mandated changes in the federal law require state legislation, unless otherwise prescribed
by the terms of the federal law, the changes must take effect on the day such state
legislation becomes effective, or on the last day such legislation was required to be in
effect under federal law, whichever is sooner.

5. Changes Subject to the Amendment Process. Changes related to demonstration
features such as eligibility, enrollment, benefits, delivery systems, cost sharing, sources
of non-federal share of funding, and other comparable program elements in these STCs
must be submitted to CMS as amendments to the demonstration. All amendment
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requests are subject to approval at the discretion of the Secretary in accordance with
section 1115 of the Social Security Act (the Act). The state must not implement changes
to these demonstration elements without prior approval by CMS. Federal Financial
Participation (FFP) will not be available for amendments to the demonstration that have
not been approved through the amendment process set forth in STC 6 below, except as
provided in STC 3.

6. Amendment Process. Requests to amend the demonstration must be submitted to CMS
for approval prior to the planned date of implementation of the change and may not be
implemented until approved. CMS reserves the right to deny or delay approval of a
demonstration amendment based on non-compliance with these STCs, including but not
limited to failure by the state to submit required elements of a viable amendment request
as specified in this STC. Amendment requests must include, but are not limited to, the
following:

a. Demonstration Amendment Summary and Objectives. The state must provide a
detailed description of the amendment, including the expected impact on beneficiaries
with sufficient supporting documentation, the objective of the change and desired
outcomes, and a conforming title XIX and/or title XXI state plan amendment if
necessary;

b. Waiver and Expenditure Authorities. The state must provide a list of waivers and
expenditure authorities that are being requested or terminated, along with the
programmatic description of why these waivers and expenditure authorities are being
requested for the amendment;

c. Public Notice. The state must provide either an explanation of the public process
used by the state consistent with the requirements set forth in 59 Fed. Reg. 49249
(September 27, 1994) or an explanation of how the state meets the criteria outlined in
42 CFR 431.416(g)(3) for discharge from normal state public notice and input
responsibilities to address any of the circumstances describe in 42 CFR
431.416(g)(1).

In states with Federally-recognized Indian tribes, Indian health programs, and/or Urban
Indian health organizations, the state is required to comply with tribal and Indian Health
Program/Urban Indian Organization consultation requirements at section 1902(a)(73) of
the Act, 42 CFR 431.408(b), State Medicaid Director Letter #01-024, or as contained in
the state’s approved Medicaid state plan, unless the state has established the criteria
necessary to obtain an exemption from the normal state public notice process
requirements in accordance with 42 CFR 431.416(g)(3).

7. Federal Financial Participation. No federal matching funds for expenditures for this
demonstration, including administrative and medical assistance expenditures, will be
available until the effective date identified in the CMS demonstration approval letter.
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IV.

8.

10.

11.

Common Rule Exemption. The state must ensure that the only involvement of human
subjects in research activities that may be authorized and/or required by this
demonstration is for projects which are conducted by or subject to the approval of CMS,
and that are designed to study, evaluate, or otherwise examine the Medicaid or CHIP
program — including public benefit or service programs, procedures for obtaining
Medicaid or CHIP benefits or services, possible changes in or alternatives to Medicaid or
CHIP programs or procedures, or possible changes in methods or levels of payment for
Medicaid benefits or services. The Secretary has determined that this demonstration as
represented in these approved STCs meets the requirements for exemption from the
human subject research provisions of the Common Rule set forth in 45 CFR
46.104(d)(5).

CMS Right to Terminate or Suspend. CMS may suspend or terminate the
demonstration, in whole or in part, at any time before the date of expiration, whenever it
determines, following a hearing that the state has materially failed to comply with the
terms of the project. CMS must promptly notify the state in writing of the determination
and the reasons for the suspension or termination, together with the effective date.

Withdrawal of Authority. CMS reserves the right to withdraw waivers and/or
expenditure authorities at any time it determines that continuing the waivers or
expenditure authorities would no longer be in the public interest or promote the
objectives of title XIX, as applicable. CMS will promptly notify the state in writing of
the determination and the reasons for the withdrawal, together with the effective date, and
afford the state an opportunity to request a hearing to challenge CMS’ determination
prior to the effective date. If a waiver or expenditure authority is withdrawn, FFP is
limited to normal closeout costs associated with terminating the waiver or expenditure
authorities, including services, continued benefits as a result of beneficiary appeals, and
administrative costs of disenrolling beneficiaries.

Finding of Non-Compliance. The state does not relinquish its rights to challenge CMS’
finding that the state materially failed to comply.

COVID-19 PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY PROGRAM AND BENEFITS

12.

COVID-19 PHE Program Benefits. The state’s COVID-19 section 1115(a)
demonstration is necessary to assist the state in delivering the most effective care to its
beneficiaries in light of the COVID-19 PHE. The demonstration is likely to assist in
promoting the objectives of the Medicaid statute because it is expected to help the state
furnish medical assistance in a manner intended to protect, to the greatest extent possible,
the health, safety, and welfare of individuals and providers who may be affected by
COVID-19. The waiver and expenditure authorities provided via this demonstration
assist the state in achieving these goals.

COST SHARING

13.

Cost Sharing. There will be no premium, enrollment fee, or similar charge, or cost-
sharing (including copayments and deductibles) required of individuals affected by this
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14.

demonstration that varies from the state’s current state plan, with the exception of
exemptions from cost sharing noted in STC 14.

MassHealth Demonstration Populations. There will be no copayments required for the

following demonstration populations and eligibility groups:

a. Children, young adults, and parents and caretaker relatives who receive Emergency
Aid to the Elderly, Disabled, and Children (EAEDC) cash assistance and who receive
MassHealth Standard, MassHealth Family Assistance, or MassHealth CarePlus
pursuant to MassHealth section 1115 waiver expenditure authority #5.

b. Children receiving medical assistance under the state plan because they are receiving
Title IV-E or foster-care assistance under 42 CFR Section 435.227 and SSA
1902(a)(10)(A)(i1)(VID).

c. Persons receiving medical assistance under the state plan because they are former or
Independent foster care youth, under 42 CFR Section 435150, SSA
1902(a)(10)(A)(Q)(IX), 1902(a)(10)(A)(1i)(XVII), 1905(w)(1).

d. Persons who receive extended eligibility for MassHealth Standard because they were
found ineligible for another public benefit that had qualified them for MassHealth and
are given coverage until they can be redetermined under SSA 1902(a)(52) and 1925.S

e. Persons who receive Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits from the Social
Security Administration (SSA) and who receive MassHealth Standard under SSA
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(II) and 42 CFR 435.120.

f. Persons who receive Transitional Aid to Families with Dependent Children (TAFDC)
cash assistance from the Department of Transitional Assistance (DTA) and who
receive MassHealth Standard under 42 CFR 435.110, 42 CFR 435.115, and SSA
1902(a)(10)(A)({)(D).

VI. DELIVERY SYSTEM

15.

Delivery System. The health care delivery system for the provision of services under
this demonstration will be implemented in the same manner as currently authorized prior
to March 1, 2020.

VII. GENERAL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

16.

17.

Monthly Calls. CMS may schedule monthly conference calls with the state. CMS may
also schedule these conference calls at some other regular frequency, as determined by
CMS. The purpose of these calls will be to discuss any significant, actual or anticipated,
developments affecting the demonstration. The state and CMS will jointly develop the
agenda for the calls. The monitoring calls for this demonstration may be scheduled in
conjunction with other approved section 1115 demonstration monitoring calls.

Final Report. The Final Report will consolidate Monitoring and Evaluation
reporting requirements for the demonstration. The Commonwealth must submit this
Final Report no later than one year after the end of the COVID-19 section 1115
demonstration authority. The Final Report will capture data on the demonstration
implementation, lessons learned, and best practices for similar situations.
Specifically, the Commonwealth will be required to provide qualitative analysis to
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understand the principal challenges associated with engagement with Medicaid
beneficiaries during this public health emergency, the effectiveness of the
demonstration at meeting these challenges, and recommendations for addressing
similar public health emergencies. The Commonwealth will be required to track
separately all expenditures associated with this demonstration, including but not
limited to, administrative costs and program expenditures. CMS will provide
additional guidance on the structure and content of the Final Report. Within 30 days
of CMS’s approval of the Final Report, the Commonwealth must post the Final
Report to its Medicaid website.

Should the approval period of this demonstration exceed one year, for each year of
the demonstration that the Commonwealth is required to complete per the annual
report required under 42 CFR 431.428(a), the Commonwealth may submit that
information in the Final Report.

18. Evaluation Design. The Commonwealth must submit an Evaluation Design to CMS
within 60 days of the demonstration or amendment approval. Moreover, the
Commonwealth must revise its approved Evaluation Design to accommodate
demonstration amendments, as necessary. CMS will provide guidance on an Evaluation
Design specifically for the waivers and expenditure authorities approved for the COVID-
19 emergency, including any amendments. The Commonwealth is required to post its
Evaluation Design to the state’s website within 30 days of CMS approval of the
Evaluation Design, per 42 CFR 431.424(e).

The Commonwealth will test whether and how the approved waivers and expenditure
authorities affect the state’s response to the public health emergency. To that end, the
Commonwealth will use research questions that pertain to the approved waivers and
expenditure authorities. The evaluation will also assess cost-effectiveness by tracking
administrative costs and health services expenditures for demonstration beneficiaries and
assessing how these outlays affected the Commonwealth’s response to the public health
emergency.

VIII. GENERAL FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS UNDER TITLE XIX

19. Allowable Expenditures. In consequence of the unprecedented emergency
circumstances associated with the COVID-19 pandemic and consistent with the President
of the United States’ proclamation that the COVID-19 outbreak in the United States
constitutes a national emergency by the authorities vested in him by the Constitution and
the laws of the United States — and in consequence of the time-limited nature of this
demonstration — CMS did not require the state to submit budget neutrality calculations
for this section 1115(a) demonstration. In general, CMS has determined that the costs to
the federal government are likely to have been otherwise incurred and allowable. The
state will still be required to track demonstration expenditures and will be expected to
evaluate the connection between those expenditures and the state’s response to the public
health emergency, as well as the cost-effectiveness of those expenditures. This
demonstration project is approved for expenditures applicable to services rendered during
the demonstration approval period designated by CMS.
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20. Standard Medicaid Funding Process. The standard Medicaid funding process will be
used for this demonstration. The state will provide quarterly expenditure reports through
the Medicaid and CHIP Budget and Expenditure System (MBES/CBES) to report total
expenditures for services provided under this demonstration following routine CMS-37
and CMS-64 reporting instructions as outlined in section 2500 of the State Medicaid
Manual. The State will estimate matchable demonstration expenditures (total computable
and federal share) authorized for this demonstration and separately report these
expenditures by quarter for each federal fiscal year on the form CMS-37 for both the
medical assistance payments (MAP) and State and local administration costs (ADM).
CMS shall make federal funds available based upon the State’s estimate, as approved by
CMS. Within thirty (30) days after the end of each quarter, the State shall submit form
CMS-64 Quarterly Medicaid Expenditure Report, showing Medicaid expenditures made
in the quarter just ended. If applicable, subject to the payment deferral process, CMS
shall reconcile expenditures reported on form CMS-64 with federal funding previously
made available to the State, and include the reconciling adjustment in the finalization of
the grant award to the State.

21. Extent of Federal Financial Participation for the Demonstration. Subject to CMS
approval of the source(s) of the non-federal share of funding, CMS will provide FFP at
the applicable federal matching rate for the demonstration as a whole for the following:

a. Administrative costs, including those associated with the administration of the
demonstration;

b. Net expenditures and prior period adjustments of the Medicaid program that are paid
in accordance with the approved Medicaid state plan; and

c. Medical assistance expenditures and prior period adjustments made under section
1115 demonstration authority with dates of service during the demonstration period,
including those made in conjunction with the demonstration, net of enrollment fees,
cost sharing, pharmacy rebates, and all other types of third-party liability.

22. Sources of Non-Federal Share. The state certifies that its match for the non-federal
share of funds for this demonstration are state/local monies. The state further certifies
that such funds must not be used to match for any other federal grant or contract, except
as permitted by law. All sources of non-federal funding must be compliant with section
1903(w) of the Act and applicable regulations. In addition, all sources of the non-federal
share of funding are subject to CMS approval.

a. The state acknowledges that CMS has authority to review the sources of the non-
federal share of funding for the demonstration at any time. The state agrees that all
funding sources deemed unacceptable by CMS shall be addressed within the time
frames set by CMS.
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b. The state acknowledges that any amendments that impact the financial status of the
demonstration must require the state to provide information to CMS regarding all
sources of the non-federal share of funding.

23. Certification of Funding Conditions. The state must certify that the following
conditions for non-federal share of demonstration expenditures are met:

a. Units of government, including governmentally operated health care providers, may
certify that state or local monies have been expended as the non-federal share of
funds under the demonstration.

b. To the extent the state utilizes certified public expenditures (CPE) as the funding
mechanism for the state share of title XIX payments, including expenditures
authorized under a section 1115 demonstration, CMS must approve a cost
reimbursement methodology. This methodology must include a detailed explanation
of the process by which the State would identify those costs eligible under title XIX
(or under section 1115 authority) for purposes of certifying public expenditures.

c. To the extent the state utilizes CPEs as the funding mechanism to claim federal match
for expenditures under the demonstration, governmental entities to which general
revenue funds are appropriated must certify to the state the amount of such state or
local monies that are allowable under 42 CFR 433.51 to satisfy demonstration
expenditures. If the CPE is claimed under a Medicaid authority, the federal matching
funds received cannot then be used as the state share needed to receive other federal
matching funds under 42 CFR 433.51(c). The entities that incurred the cost must also
provide cost documentation to support the state’s claim for federal match.

d. The state may use intergovernmental transfers (IGT) to the extent that such funds are
derived from state or local monies and are transferred by units of government within
the state. Any transfers from governmentally operated health care providers must be
made in an amount not to exceed the non-federal share of title XIX payments.

e. Under all circumstances, health care providers must retain 100 percent of the
reimbursement for claimed expenditures. Moreover, consistent with 42 CFR 447.10,
no pre-arranged agreements (contractual, voluntary, or otherwise) may exist between
health care providers and state and/or local government to return and/or redirect to the
state any portion of the Medicaid payments. This confirmation of Medicaid payment
retention is made with the understanding that payments that are the normal operating
expenses of conducting business, such as payments related to taxes, including health
care provider-related taxes, fees, business relationships with governments that are
unrelated to Medicaid and in which there is no connection to Medicaid payments, are
not considered returning and/or redirecting a Medicaid payment.

24. Program Integrity. The state must have processes in place to ensure there is no
duplication of federal funding for any aspect of the demonstration. The state must also
ensure that the state and any of its contractors follow standard program integrity
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principles and practices including retention of data. All data, financial reporting, and
sources of non-federal share are subject to audit.

25.

Reporting Expenditures. The state must report all demonstration expenditures claimed

under the authority of title XIX of the Act each quarter on separate forms CMS-64.9
WAIVER and/or 64.9P WAIVER, identified by the demonstration project number

assi

gned by CMS (11-W-00355/1). Separate reports must be submitted by MEG

(identified by Waiver Name) and Demonstration Year (identified by the two-digit project
number extension). Unless specified otherwise, expenditures must be reported by
demonstration year according to date of payment. All MEGs that must be reported are
identified below in the MEG Detail for Expenditure Reporting table.

a.

Cost Settlements. The state will report any cost settlements attributable to the
demonstration on the appropriate prior period adjustment schedules (form CMS-
64.9P WAIVER) for the summary sheet line 10b, in lieu of lines 9 or 10c. For any
cost settlement not attributable to this demonstration, the adjustments should be
reported as otherwise instructed in the State Medicaid Manual. Cost settlements must
be reported by DY consistent with how the original expenditures were reported.

Administrative Costs. The state will separately track and report additional
administrative costs that are directly attributable to the demonstration. All
administrative costs must be identified on the forms CMS-64.10 WAIVER and/or
64.10P WAIVER.

Financial Reporting Specifications Manual. The state will create and maintain a
Specifications Manual that describes in detail how the state will compile data on
actual expenditures under the demonstration, including methods used to extract and
compile data from the state’s Medicaid Management Information System, eligibility
system, and accounting systems for reporting on the CMS-64, consistent with the
terms of the demonstration. The Financial Reporting Specifications Manual must be
made available to CMS on request.

Table 1. MEG Detail for Expenditure Reporting

— Detailed Description Exclusions ICJiI::[eS(s?‘!l:?) M ELE0:
(Waiver Name) Use ADM
Expenditures for LTSS for
individuals even if services are not Line 12. 18
LTSS timely updated in the plan of care, or N/A o MAP
. . . or 23A
are delivered in allowable alternative
settings [Expenditure Authority 1]
Expenditures for retainer payments to
providers of personal care services
. and services provided in adult da Line 19A,
Retainer Payment health settingls) to maintain capacit};/ N/A 19B, or 23B MAP
during the emergency [Expenditure
Authority 2]
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26. Demonstration Years. Demonstration Years (DY) for this demonstration are defined in
the Demonstration Years table below.

Table 2. Demonstration Years

Demonstration Year

Start Sate

End Date

DY 1

March 1, 2020

60 days after the PHE expires?

27. Claiming Period. The state will report all claims for demonstration expenditures
(including any cost settlements) within two years after the calendar quarter in which the
state made the expenditures. During the latter two-year period, the state will continue to
identify separately net expenditures related to dates of service during the operation of the
demonstration on the CMS-64 waiver forms in order to properly account for these

expenditures.

IX. SCHEDULE OF STATE DELIVERABLES DURING THE DEMONSTRATION

PERIOD

Due Date

Deliverable

approval

Fifteen days from date of demonstration

State Acceptance of Demonstration, STCs, Waivers
and Expenditure Authorities.

Sixty days from date of the
demonstration approval

Evaluation Design is Submitted to CMS

Thirty days from date of Evaluation
Design approval

website

Approved Evaluation Design is posted on state

One year after expiration of
demonstration

Final Report with consolidated Monitoring and
Evaluation requirements

2 To the extent that the PHE for COVID-19 and/or this demonstration is extended beyond a single DY, CMS will

update this chart to include additional DY, as applicable/necessary.
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