
 

 

Requirement for Licensed Independent Clinical Social Workers to Apply to MassHealth 

Section 6401 of the Affordable Care Act requires that, if MassHealth requires a service to be 

ordered, referred or prescribed, the provider who ordered, referred or prescribed the service must 

be enrolled with MassHealth, at least as a non-billing provider, in order for the claim for the 

service to be payable. “Non-billing providers” are also known as Ordering, Referring and 

Prescribing (“ORP”) providers.  

Pursuant to Massachusetts state law (M.G.L. c. 112 § 131), licensed independent clinical social 

workers (“LICSWs”) must apply to enroll in MassHealth, at a minimum as a non-billing 

provider, in order to obtain and maintain Massachusetts state licensure. This requirement 

applies to all Massachusetts licensed LICSWs, including practicing and non-practicing LICSWs 

and Massachusetts licensed LICSWs who do not reside in Massachusetts. LICSWs who are 

already enrolled with MassHealth do not need to take further action with respect to this 

requirement.  

 

LICSWs who wish to apply to enroll in MassHealth as a non-billing provider must use the non-

billing provider application. The non-billing provider application and required contract can be 

found at ACA Section 6401 ORP Requirements on Mass.gov. Non-billing providers are not 

permitted to submit claims to MassHealth.  

 

LICSWs may enroll in MassHealth as one of the following:  

 

1. A billing provider, also known as a Fee-for-Service (FFS) provider, which is a 

MassHealth-enrolled provider who:  

a. submits claims to MassHealth; and/or   

b. provides services to MassHealth members as part of a MassHealth-

enrolled group practice.  

 

2. A non-billing provider, also known as an Ordering, Referring, and Prescribing 

provider.    

 

 

https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2018/07/13/Mass%20Health%20Requirement%202018%20for%20LICSWs.pdf
https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2018/07/13/Mass%20Health%20Requirement%202018%20for%20LICSWs.pdf
https://www.mass.gov/info-details/aca-section-6401-ordering-referring-and-prescribing-provider-requirements


All questions regarding the application process should be directed to the MassHealth Customer 

Service for Providers at 1.800.841.2900 and TTY services at 1.800.497.4648 

Important points to know: 

• All applications are reviewed through MassHealth. The licensing board does not 

review or approve MassHealth provider applications. 

 

• To Apply: 

 

o All non-billing providers may print out and return the application and provider 

contract that can be found at ACA Section 6401 ORP Requirements. 

 

o All LICSWs who wish to apply to be MassHealth FFS providers should visit the 

Apply to Become a MassHealth Provider page on Mass.gov to request an 

application.  

 

o To check and see if you are actively enrolled, you may visit MassHealth Provider 

Self-Service and click on the option to Check Provider Enrollment Status. 

 

• All applications must be complete in order to comply with the state law requirement to 

apply to participate in MassHealth. 

 

o All applications, including the Non-billing Provider Application, require a 

national provider identifier (NPI) number. If you do not have an NPI number, 

you will need to obtain one in order to complete the application. Visit the NPPES 

FAQ to view the instructions on how to obtain an NPI. 

 

o All Applications require the inclusion of your Social Security Number (SSN) 

to allow MassHealth to perform the required review of the application in 

accordance with federal law. 

 

• In the event of upcoming license expirations and renewals, all LICSWs will be asked 

to attest that they have applied to MassHealth. LICSWs who are unable to make this 

attestation will not be eligible for licensure renewal. 

 

• We encourage LICSWs to apply to enroll with MassHealth as soon as possible so that 

their license renewals will not be delayed.

https://www.mass.gov/info-details/aca-section-6401-ordering-referring-and-prescribing-provider-requirements
https://www.mass.gov/how-to/apply-to-become-a-masshealth-provider
https://masshealth.ehs.state.ma.us/ProviderSelfService/
https://masshealth.ehs.state.ma.us/ProviderSelfService/
https://nppes.cms.hhs.gov/webhelp/nppeshelp/NPPES%20FAQS.html
https://nppes.cms.hhs.gov/webhelp/nppeshelp/NPPES%20FAQS.html


 


