How To Report Burns...

Immediately!

1. Call the Massachusetts 24-Hour, Toll-Free Burn Hotline

1-800-475-3443

2. Give the following information:

A.
B.
C.
D.
E.
F.

G.
H.
l.

J.

K.

L.

Name of Hospital and Attending Physician

Victim’s Name and Address (including city/town)
Age of Victim

Gender

Local Police Notified?

Date of Injury

Work Related? (If "yes", Employer Name?)

Address Where Burn Occurred (including city/town)
Part of Body Injured or % BSA

Cause of Burn

Type of Burn (flame, scald, chemical, fire, electrical,
sunburn, explosion, contact)

Severity (minor, moderate, severe, life-threatening, dead)

3. Notify the police chief/department of the city or town
where the burn occurred.

4. Complete the burn injury reporting form (Form FP-84-F,
supplied by the State Fire Marshal’s Office) and forward

immediately to:

5. You may combine the immediate telephone notification

M-BIRS

Office of the State Fire Marshal
P.O. Box 1025

Stow, MA 01775

and the written report by faxing the written
report immediately to 978-567-3199.
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The Massachusetts The Burn Reporting Process
Burn Injury Reporting System:

. Physician,
Questions and Answers Hospital

Emergency Room

1. What is the burn injury reporting law in Massachusetts?
Chapter 112, Section 12A of the Massachusetts General Laws 6‘30 BOTH
provides for the mandatory reporting of the treatment of burn

injuries.
Call 1-800-475-3443 Call Police Chief in
and city or town where

. send the written report to: burn occurred
2. What kinds of burns must be reported? V-BIRS |
Any burn injury of 5% or more of the surface body area must Dept. of Fire Services |
be reported immediately by attending physician and/or emer- gtgteBF"e:\é';;Shal s Office :
ency room personnel. -O. Box
o g Stow, MA 01775 Fire Department

(Arson Squad)

3. How are burns reported? @

By calling the state’s toll-free, 24-hour Burn Hotline at 1-800-

475-3443 and completing a written burn injury report and Fax the written report
mailing it immediately to: M-BIRS, Office of the State Fire immediately to the State
Marshal, P. O. Box 1025, Stow, MA 01775. Fire Marshal’'s Office to

978-567-3199

or by

Completing the written report and faxing it to the Office of the
State Fire Marshal at 978-567-3199.

and by

Notifying the police chief/department of the city or town where
the burn occurred.



8. Does this include burns treated by a private physi-

cian in a private setting?

Yes. All burns of 5% or more of the surface body area must be
reported.

. What about patient transfers?

The physician and/or hospital, clinic etc. providing treatment of
a burn must make the required notifications immediately.

10.Is there a penalty for non-compliance?

Yes. Massachusetts law provides for punishment by a fine of up
to one hundred dollars for violation of the burn injury reporting
law. (C. 112, § 12A, MGL)

11.Where do we obtain more burn injury reporting

forms?

By writing or calling the State Fire Marshal’s Office at P.O. Box
1025, Stow, MA 01775, 978-567-3382. You may also leave a
request on the 24-hour Burn Hotline at 1-800-475-3443.

. Who is legally responsible for reporting burns?

“Every physician attending or treating a burn injury, or when-
ever any such case is treated in a hospital, sanitarium or other
institution, the manager, superintendent or other person in
charge thereof.”

. When did the burn injury reporting system go

into effect?

On June 1, 1984, a joint memo was issued to all Massachusetts
hospitals, police chiefs, and fire chiefs from the state Commis-
sioners of Public Safety and Public Health advising that, as of
that date, the Massachusetts Burn Injury Reporting Law would
be in effect. It remains a cooperative effort between the Depart-
ment of Public Health and the Department of Fire Services.

. What is the purpose of the burn injury reporting law?

Primarily enacted as an aid in detecting arsonists who may
burn themselves accidentally during the course of their crime,
the M-BIRS program has proven useful in developing a sound
burn data base from which effective burn prevention and edu-
cation programs may be and have been developed.

. What about burns which occur out of state but which

are treated here in Massachusetts?
All burns treated in Massachusetts must be reported.
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