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A. Reporting Requirements 

 

1. Each newly designated ETC (those ETCs the Department designates following the 

implementation of these requirements) shall, within 60 days of designation and prior to 

offering Lifeline service, submit to the Department: 

a. a copy of the Lifeline application form that it will use for consumers in 

Massachusetts; 

b. copies of all advertising and marketing materials that it plans to use in 

Massachusetts, including but not limited to print, audio, video, Internet (including 

e-mail, web, and social networking media), and outdoor signage; 

c. rates, terms, and conditions of its Lifeline service offering(s) in Massachusetts; 

d. contact information for the ETC’s customer service designee; and 

e. the ETC’s proposed method(s) and timing of annual recertifications and a sample 

recertification notice. 

 

2. By March 1 of each year, each ETC shall submit to the Department: 

a. a copy of the certifications filed annually with USAC pursuant to 47 C.F.R. 

§ 54.416(a) (to be filed on FCC Form 555); 

b. the number of subscribers de-enrolled for non-usage, by month, pursuant to 47 

C.F.R. § 54.405(e)(3), if applicable, and the results of the ETC’s annual 

recertification of Massachusetts subscribers as required by 47 C.F.R. § 54.416(b) 

(to be filed on FCC Form 555, including any revisions); and 

c. a report of marketing or promotional activities for the previous calendar year, to 

include a description of media services used; methods of marketing; samples of 

advertisements published in Massachusetts from a variety of media; event 

appearances and zip codes of those events; and any other mass marketing activities 

conducted. 

 

3. By July 1 of each year, each ETC shall submit to the Department: 

a. the company name; names of the company’s holding company, operating 

companies and affiliates; and any branding (a “dba,” or “doing-business-as 

company” or brand designation) as well as relevant universal service identifiers for 

each such entity by Study Area Code, as required by 47 C.F.R. § 54.422(a)(1) (to be 

filed on FCC Form 481, including any revisions); 

b. information describing the terms and conditions of any voice telephony service 

plans offered to Lifeline subscribers, including details on the number of minutes 

provided as part of the plan, additional charges, if any, for toll calls, and rates for 

each such plan, as required by 47 C.F.R. § 54.422(a)(2).  If the ETC offers plans to 

Lifeline subscribers that are generally available to the public, it may provide 

summary information regarding such plans, such as a link to a public website 

outlining the terms and conditions of such plans (to be filed on FCC Form 481, 

including any revisions); and 
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  Unless otherwise noted, these requirements shall apply only to ETCs receiving low-income support from 

USAC for Massachusetts subscribers during the relevant reporting period.   



c. a report of the number of complaints related to the Lifeline program during the 

previous calendar year per 1,000 Lifeline subscribers in Massachusetts (if not 

provided on FCC Form 481).   

 

4. Each ETC shall notify the Department of the following events within 30 days of the 

event’s occurrence: 

a. its ETC designation has been suspended, revoked, relinquished, or in any way 

withdrawn or removed in any jurisdiction; 

b. the FCC, a state utilities commission, a court, or any government agency has 

rendered or entered a finding, civil judgment, or settlement (including consent 

decrees and money judgments) related to the Lifeline program, or a criminal 

conviction (including plea agreements) related to a dishonest act, false statement, or 

misuse of the Lifeline program against the ETC, its executive(s), or its senior 

manager(s); 

c. any change(s) to the ETC’s corporate ownership structure or principal address; and 

d. any material change(s) to the ETC’s method(s) or timing of annual recertifications, 

or to the sample recertification notice filed pursuant to Requirement A(1)(e). 

 

5. Each ETC shall provide to the Department a copy of any final audit report generated 

pursuant to 47 C.F.R. § 54.420(b) within 30 days of the issuance of the final audit report. 

 

6. By July 1 of each year, each wireless ETC shall submit to the Department all information 

specified in 47 C.F.R. § 54.422(b) (to be filed on FCC Form 481, including any 

revisions), including:  

a. detailed information on any outage in the prior calendar year, as that term is defined 

in 47 C.F.R. § 4.5(a), of at least 30 minutes in duration for each service area in 

which the ETC is designated for any facilities it owns, operates, leases, or otherwise 

utilizes that potentially affect: 

i. at least ten percent of the end users served in a designated service area; or 

ii. a 911 special facility, as defined in 47 C.F.R. § 4.5(e). 

iii. Specifically, the ETC’s annual report must include information detailing: 

(A) the date and time of onset of the outage; 

(B) a brief description of the outage and its resolution; 

(C) the particular services affected; 

(D) the geographic areas affected by the outage; 

(E) steps taken to prevent a similar situation in the future; and 

(F) the number of customers affected. 

b. certification of compliance with applicable service quality standards and consumer 

protection rules; and 

c. certification that the carrier is able to function in emergency situations as set forth 

in 47 C.F.R. § 54.202(a)(2). 

 

7. Each wireless ETC shall notify the Department of any material change(s) to the rates, 

terms, or conditions of the ETC’s Lifeline service in Massachusetts at least five business 

days prior to the implementation of the change(s).  

 



8. By March 1 of each year, each non-facilities-based ETC shall submit to the Department: 

a. a public safety answering point (PSAP) self-certification, confirming that the ETC 

provides its subscribers with 911 and E911 access; and 

b. a certification that the ETC paid all applicable 911 fees in the Commonwealth for 

the previous year. 

 

B. Consumer Safeguards 

 

1. Each wireless ETC shall:  

a. work in good faith with Department staff to resolve Lifeline subscriber disputes; 

b. include the Department’s Consumer Division contact information on the ETC’s 

website, Lifeline marketing materials (except for television and radio advertising), 

Lifeline applications, initial sales receipts for Lifeline service, and Lifeline terms 

and conditions; and  

c. include information about the availability of the Department’s Consumer Division 

for handling Lifeline complaints on the ETC’s website and in its Lifeline terms and 

conditions. 

 

2. Each ETC that will discontinue offering Lifeline service in Massachusetts shall, at a 

minimum: 

a. notify its Lifeline subscribers and the Department 60 days in advance of the ETC’s 

planned discontinuance of Lifeline service in Massachusetts; and  

b. work in good faith with its Lifeline subscribers and the Department in order to 

facilitate smooth transition of subscribers to alternative ETCs of the subscribers’ 

choice. 

 

3. Each ETC shall update its Massachusetts Lifeline application within 30 days of changes 

in eligibility criteria, including Federal Poverty Guideline calculations. 
 


