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MCP TIMELINES AND FEES 
 

This document summarizes the timelines and fees associated with response actions conducted pursuant to 

M.G.L. Chapter 21E and the Massachusetts Contingency Plan (MCP) 310 CMR 40.0000. 

MCP TIMELINES 

The MCP establishes timelines 

for cleanups at sites as well as 

timelines for specific response 

actions.  Figure 1 shows the 

general timeline.  For all sites, the 

clock starts when Massachusetts 

Department of Environmental 

Protection (MassDEP) is notified 

of a potential or actual release of 

oil or hazardous material that 

exceeds a reporting threshold. 

One year from that notification, 

the legally responsible party must 

either: (1) clean up the site to 

MCP standards (i.e. achieve a Permanent Solution), (2) obtain Downgradient Property Status (DPS), or (3) 

Tier Classify the site as Tier I or Tier II.  If a Permanent Solution, DPS or Tier Classification is not 

submitted by the one-year deadline, the site is deemed Tier ID by default.  For Tier Classified sites, there 

are deadlines for completing each phase of the MCP process and filing a Permanent Solution.   

SUBMITTALS 
To ensure that cleanups are proceeding as required, the MCP requires completion of response actions and the 

submittal of reports to MassDEP.  Submittals must be filed electronically.  Missed deadlines can result in 

requirements for additional documentation, enforcement and penalties, or new or higher fees.  The MCP 

provides a seven-day “grace period” for most submittals.  If MassDEP receives the submittal within seven 

days of the actual due date, the submittal is considered to be received by the deadline.  Please note that the 

seven-day grace period does not apply to some deadlines (see 310 CMR 40.0008).   

MCP FEES 

Fees have been established to cover a portion of MassDEP’s costs for reviewing submittals, conducting 

inspections, providing compliance assistance, maintaining records, and pursuing enforcement.  This includes 

MassDEP’s audits to ensure that cleanups are adequate and occurring within specified timeframes.  The 

sooner response actions are completed and an endpoint is reached (i.e. by submitting a Permanent Solution) 

the lower the total fees incurred will be.  Two types of Annual Compliance Assurance Fees (ACFs) are 

established in the “Timely Action Schedule and Fee Provisions” (310 CMR 4.00) that apply to sites where 

response actions are or are required to be undertaken. 
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Annual Compliance Assurance Fees: 

1. One-time fees apply to three specific submittals if filed prior to Tier Classification (i.e. within the 

first year after notification): Permanent Solution; DPS Submittal; and Release Abatement Measure 

Plan.  Additionally, a one-time fee applies to each Notice of Activity and Use Limitation filed prior to 

or concurrent with a Permanent Solution.  One-time fees are summarized in Table 1. 

2. Annual fees apply when a Permanent Solution or DPS is not filed in the first year.  These fees 

range from $490 to $4,915 per year and are based on the site status on each Annual Status Date.  

Initiation of Phase V monitoring activities or submittal of a Temporary Solution will trigger a lower 

annual fee category.  Fee rates are summarized in Table 2 and explained in more detail on page 3.   
 

 

TABLE 1: ONE-TIME FEES EFFECTIVE JUNE 20, 2014 

 

SUBMITTAL TIME OF FILING SUBMITTAL FEE 

Permanent 

Solution 

within 120 days of notification No submittal fee 

Permanent 

Solution 

after 120 days but prior to Tier Classification $1,470 Permanent Solution submittal fee ($735 

Homeowner* rate) 

Permanent 

Solution 

after Tier Classification (including Tier ID if 

filed AFTER first 90 days of one-year 

deadline) 

No Permanent Solution fee applies; regular ACF will 

be billed based on status of site (e.g. Tier I, Tier II, 

Phase V or Temporary Solution) 

Permanent 

Solution 

within 90 days after one-year deadline if 

classified by default to Tier ID 

$1,470 Permanent Solution fee ($735 Homeowner* 

rate), in lieu of second year Tier ID fee (first year Tier 

ID fee will also be billed)  

DPS in first year, prior to Tier Classification $1,965 DPS fee, unless upgradient source is Tier 

Classified or has a Temporary or Permanent Solution. 

DPS after Tier Classification (including default 

Tier ID) 

No DPS fee; regular ACF applies unless upgradient 

source is Tier Classified, in ROS or has Permanent 

Solution. 

DPS modification of existing DPS by new party No DPS Fee or ACF applicable 

RAM Plan prior to Tier Classification (in first year) $980 RAM Plan submittal fee ($490 Homeowner* rate) 

RAM Plan after Tier Classification (including Tier ID) No RAM fee applies (regular ACF will be billed) 

RAM Plan after Permanent Solution No RAM fee applies if Permanent Solution is in effect 

Notice of AUL  prior to or with a Permanent Solution $2,000 Notice of AUL fee ($1,000 Homeowner* rate) 
 
 
 

TABLE 2:  SUMMARY OF COMPLIANCE FEES EFFECTIVE JUNE 20, 2014 

 

 
Type 

 

Fee Category  

 

Homeowner* 

 

Non-Homeowner 

One-
time 
Fees 

Permanent Solution $735 $1,470 

Release Abatement Measure (RAM) Plan $490 $980 

Downgradient Property Status (DPS) $1,965 $1,965 

Notice of Activity and Use Limitation (AUL) $1,000 $2,000 

Annual 
Fees 

Tier ID  $2,455 $4,915 

Tier I  $1,225 $4,320 

Tier II  $1,225 $2,455 

Phase V (including ROS) $490 $980 

Temporary Solution $490 $980 

* BWSC120 Homeowner Certification Form submittal required to qualify for Homeowner Fee Rate 
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1st year Tier I or Tier II Fee is not billed if a Tier 
Classification is filed by 1st year deadline. 

1st Billable Year 2nd Billable Year Each Subsequent Year 

Initial 
Release 

Notification 

1st Status Date.  Fee 
based on site 

classification & 
submittals. 

2nd Status Date.  Fee 
based on site 

classification & 
submittals 

Subsequent Status Dates.  
Fee assessed for each year, 
including year Permanent 

Solution is filed. 

Figure 2:  Annual Fees 

Figure 2 shows how annual fees are assessed for Tier Classified sites.  If a Permanent Solution Statement is 

not filed for the entire site in the first year, the site must be Tier Classified.  Tier Classification requires a 

Phase I Initial Site Investigation Report that summarizes information about the site location, the 

contaminants identified and a preliminary Conceptual Site Model.  The first year fee ($4,320 for Tier I or 

$2,455 for Tier II) is not applicable if the Tier Classification submittal is made on time.  If a Tier 

Classification, Permanent Solution, or DPS is not filed, the site is deemed Tier ID by default and the first 

year’s fee will be invoiced at the $4,915 Tier ID rate.  Fees for subsequent years will be billed based on the 

site status (i.e. Tier I, Tier II, Phase V, Temporary Solution, or Tier ID) on the annual status date.  For a Tier 

ID site, if a Permanent Solution is filed in the first 90 days of the second year, a Permanent Solution Fee is 

required to be paid in lieu of the second year Tier ID fee.  This is in addition to the first year Tier ID fee. 

 

The fee category is determined by a 

site’s Status on its Annual Status 

Date (which falls on the 

anniversary of initial notification 

for most new sites). For example, if 

a Tier I site is downgraded to Tier 

II one day prior to the status date, 

the site status is Tier II and a 

$2,455 Tier II fee is applicable. 

The site status and fee category 

changes to Phase V ($980 Phase V 

fee) after Phase IV activities are 

completed and Phase V monitoring 

is conducted. Note that Remedy 

Operation Status (ROS) is part of 

Phase V, thus a Phase V fee applies while in ROS. Additionally, if a Temporary Solution is filed, the status 

and fee category changes to Temporary Solution ($980 fee) for the year in which the Temporary Solution is 

filed.  A fee is assessed for each year in the MCP system, including the year in which a Permanent Solution 

is filed. These fees cannot be pro-rated for a portion of a year, so it is important to remain aware of the 

Annual Status Date. Sites identified prior to October 1, 1993 have a Status Date based on the earliest 

required submittal deadline to Transition into the 1993 MCP (e.g. August 2, 1995). 

 

Notice of Activity and Use Limitation 

Parties who file a Notice of Activity and Use Limitation (AUL) are required to pay a one-time Notice of 

AUL fee.  While other one-time fees (RAM Plan, Permanent Solution, DPS) are generally required when the 

submittal is made prior to Tier Classification, the Notice of AUL fee is required for each Notice of AUL filed 

prior to or concurrent with a Permanent Solution. This includes a Notice of AUL filed after Tier 

Classification.  However, no fee is applicable for an AUL Amendment, Release, or Termination.  The Notice 

of AUL fee is $2,000 for a non-Homeowner or $1,000 for a Homeowner (more on Homeowners below). 

 

Downgradient Property Status 

Parties who file a Downgradient Property Status (DPS) submittal are usually required to pay fees until and 

including the year that the DPS is filed.  DPS is applicable to the party making the submittal.  As long as the 

DPS is in effect, the party that holds the DPS is not subject to Annual Compliance Assurance Fees for 

subsequent years if they elect to conduct a Release Abatement Measure or file a Permanent Solution.  While 

the DPS is in effect, a new/subsequent party that files a DPS Modification under 310 CMR 40.0187 is not 

required to pay an Annual Compliance Assurance Fee, or One-Time RAM, DPS or Permanent Solution Fees. 

 

Homeowners with Oil Releases, and Parties with Financial Technical or Legal Inabilities 

A lower schedule of rates may apply to qualifying homeowners and other parties performing response 

actions.  To qualify for the reduced homeowner fee rates, a homeowner must submit a Homeowner 

Certification Form (BWSC120) to state they are performing response actions related to a release of oil at the 
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property that they own and occupy as their principal residence for six or more months per year.  Also, the 

home must be one to four units and used exclusively as a residence.  The schedule of fees applicable to 

homeowners changed effective June 20, 2014 to provide lower fee rates.  These include Permanent Solution 

($735) and RAM Plan ($490) submittals made prior to Tier Classification.  The homeowner fee rate for Tier 

I and Tier II status are both set at $1,225 per year.  Also effective June 20, 2014, lower annual fees are in 

effect for homeowners in Phase V status ($490) or Temporary Solution status ($490).  These categories are 

in place of the Tier I or Tier II fee.  A $1,000 one-time fee applies to each Notice of Activity and Use 

Limitation that is filed any time prior to or concurrent with a Permanent Solution.  The fee rate for a 

homeowner doing work related to a Tier ID site is $2,455.  Alternative fee rates have also been established in 

310 CMR 4.03 for parties with Financial, Technical or Legal Inability Status. 
 

Resetting MCP Timeline & Status Date for New Parties 

New parties may qualify for a new timeline for assessment and cleanup of an existing site as well as a new 

annual status date for fee billing. When a new party intends to conduct assessment and cleanup they may file 

an Eligible Person, Eligible Tenant, or Other Person Certification form (BWSC107D). The party must certify 

that they did not cause or contribute to the release and, were not affiliated with any person or entity who a) 

caused the release or owned/operated the property from which the release originated, or b) is potentially 

liable for the site. Upon receipt of a complete Tier Classification and BWSC107D certification, the new party 

is provided new deadlines per 310 CMR 40.0570.  Additionally, the Annual Status Date for the site will be 

reset to be equal to one year from the date of receipt of the BWSC107D.  The new party will be assessed Tier 

I or Tier II fees beginning with the second year under the new timeline.   

 

A new party who does not meet the certification requirements summarized above may file a Tier 

Classification Transfer to begin performing Comprehensive Response Actions.  In this instance, the new 

party will be assessed Annual Compliance Assurance Fees going forward, starting with the year in which 

they begin performing response actions and fees will be assessed using the existing Annual Status Date. 

 

Linking RTNs for New Conditions to Existing RTNs 

When a new reportable release condition is identified, a new Release Tracking Number (RTN) may be 

assigned by MassDEP.  In most instances the new RTN can be linked to an existing Tier I or Tier II site.  

Upon making a valid linkage, the RTN with the earlier cleanup timeline becomes the “Primary” RTN and 

this is used along with the earlier Annual Status Date for fee billing going forward.  If the new condition 

would change the Tier Classification category of the existing RTN, a revised Tier Classification is necessary.  

The linkage must be with a Tier Classification Transmittal Form (BWSC107 Section B, Box 8) or an IRA 

Completion Statement Transmittal Form (BWSC105 Section B, Box 8a & 8b).  When two or more RTNs are 

linked under a single Tier Classification, the earlier response action deadlines are applicable.   

 

Special Project Designation Permits 

Special Project Designation (SPD) Permits may be filed pursuant to 310 CMR 40.0060 to extend regulatory 

deadlines at complex sites.  This includes either extending the deadline for initial Tier Classification by two 

years or, extending Comprehensive Response Action deadlines after Tier Classification.  An Initial SPD 

Permit requires a $920 Permit Application Fee.  For unclassified sites with an SPD Permit, one-time fees are 

applicable for RAM Plan or Permanent Solution submittals.  For Tier Classified sites with an SPD Permit, 

regular Tier I or Tier II Fees apply.  SPD Permit Extensions do not require a Permit Application Fee. 

 

Payment of Fees 
All payments should be made to Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Send One-Time Fees (RAM, 

Permanent Solution, DPS, AUL) with the check and page one of the BWSC transmittal form to MassDEP 

PO Box 4062 Boston MA 02211-4062. Invoice payments should be made online at 

https://masspays.com/dep  or, mailed to MassDEP, PO Box 3982, Boston, MA 02241-3982 with the 

invoice remittance. Visit MassDEP’s website at  https://www.mass.gov/lists/site-cleanup-fact-sheets and 

scroll down to ‘Fees and Payments’ for more information. If you have fee questions, contact MassDEP at 

bwsc.regulations@mass.gov or the fee inquiry line at 617-292-5545. 

https://masspays.com/dep
https://www.mass.gov/lists/site-cleanup-fact-sheets
mailto:bwsc.regulations@mass.

