## MASSACHUSETTS WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT SYSTEM

## MassWorkforce Issuance

## 100 DCS 03.104.1

□ Policy ☑ Information

То:	Chief Elected Officials Workforce Development Board Chairs
	Workforce Development Board Directors Title I Administrators
	Career Center Directors
	Title I Fiscal Officers
	DCS Operations Managers
cc:	WIOA State Partners
From:	Alice Sweeney, Director
	Department of Career Services
Date:	January 18, 2017
Subject:	Minimum Wage Increase
Purpose:	To notify Local Workforce Development Boards, One-Stop Career Center Operators and other local workforce partners of the increase to the minimum wage in Massachusetts to \$11.00 an hour.
Background:	Effective January 1, 2017, workers in Massachusetts must now be paid a minimum wage of \$11 an hour, up from the previous minimum of \$10.
	Service employees who earn tips must earn at least the minimum wage. In some circumstances, the employer may pay these workers the service rate of \$3.75. However, the hourly tips, plus the hourly service rate, must add up to at least the minimum wage over the course of the work week. If the service rate plus tips does not add up to at least the hourly minimum wage, the employer must pay the difference. The minimum wage for agricultural workers is \$8.00 per hour.
	Violations should be reported to the attorney general's Fair Labor Division.
	Copies of the 2017 required Minimum Wage and Hour Laws poster can be ordered through: <u>www.mass.gov/ago/fldposter</u> . Posters are available in English and 13 additional languages anytime under <u>AGO Workplace Publications</u> .
Action Requested:	Please share with staff, customers, partners and employers as appropriate.