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To:  Chief Elected Officials 

Workforce Investment Board Chairs 
Workforce Investment Board Directors 
Title I Administrators 
Career Center Directors  
Title I Fiscal Officers 
DCS Operations Managers 

 
cc:  WIA State Partners 
 
From: Alice Sweeney, Director 
 Department of Career Services 
 
Date: November 24, 2014 
 
Subject: Minimum Wage Increase for Massachusetts 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Purpose: To notify Local Workforce Investment Boards, One-Stop Career Center Operators 

and other local workforce investment partners of important changes, starting 
January 1, 2015, to the Massachusetts Minimum Wage, Service Rate and 
Agricultural Rate, in accordance with Chapter 144 of the Acts of 2014, An Act 
Restoring Minimum Wage and Providing Unemployment Insurance Reforms. 

 
Background: The Department of Labor Standards (DLS) administers the Commonwealth’s 

Minimum Fair Wage Law, M.G.L. chapter 151, sec. 1 – 22.   
 

The Minimum Wage law applies to all employees except those being 
rehabilitated or trained in charitable, educational, or religious institutions; 
members of religious orders; agricultural, floricultural, and horticultural workers; 
those in professional service; and outside salespersons not reporting to or visiting 
their office daily.  In no case shall the Massachusetts minimum wage rate be less 
than $0.50 higher than the effective Federal Minimum Rate. 
 
Wait staff, service employees and service bartenders may be paid the Service 
Rate if they regularly receive tips of more than $20 a month, and if their average 
hourly tips, when added to the service rate, are equal to or exceed the basic 
minimum wage. 
 
 
 

An equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 
TDD/TTY 1-800-439-2370  -  Voice 1-800-439-0183 

 

https://malegislature.gov/Laws/SessionLaws/Acts/2014/Chapter144
http://www.mass.gov/lwd/labor-standards/minimum-wage/
http://www.dol.gov/whd/minimumwage.htm


Work on a farm and the growing and harvesting of agricultural, floricultural and  
horticultural commodities requires an Agricultural Rate of no less than the 
established hourly rate, except when such wage is paid to a child seventeen years 
of age or under, or to a parent, spouse, child or other member of the employer’s 
immediate family.  

 
  Effective January 1, 2015 
  Minimum Wage:  $9.00 per hour 
  Service Rate:  $3.00 per hour 
  Agricultural Rate: $8.00 per hour 
 
  Effective January 1, 2016 
  Minimum Wage: $10.00 per hour 
  Service Rate:  $3.35* per hour 
 
  Effective January 1, 2017 
  Minimum Wage: $11.00 per hour 
  Service Rate:  $3.75* per hour 
 

*Provided service employee receives tips of more than $20 per month and if his/her 
average hourly tips, when added to service rate, equals the corresponding Minimum 
Wage.   

 
Action 
Required: Please share this information with all appropriate staff, partners and employers as 

appropriate. 
 
Inquiries: Inquiries regarding the Minimum Wage Program can be directed to 

Minimum.Wage@state.ma.us or call 617-626-6952. 
 
 
Attachments: Massachusetts Minimum Wage Increase Flyer 
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