IMPORTANT CHANGES TO THE MASSACHUSETTS MINIMUM WAGE

In accordance with An Act Restoring the Minimum Wage and Providing Unemployment Insurance Reforms <u>Chapter 144 of the Acts of 2014</u>

Effective January 1, 2022

MINIMUM WAGE: \$14.25 PER HOUR

The minimum wage law applies to all employees except those being rehabilitated or trained in charitable, educational, or religious institutions; members of religious orders; agricultural, floricultural, and horticultural workers; those in professional service; and outside salespersons not reporting to or visiting their office daily. See M.G.L. chapter 151, §§1 and 2. For further information regarding the Massachusetts state minimum wage, contact the Massachusetts Department of Labor Standards at (617) 626-6952 or visit www.mass.gov/dols.

In no case shall the Massachusetts minimum wage rate be less than \$0.50 higher than the effective federal minimum rate.

SERVICE RATE: \$6.15 PER HOUR

Wait staff, service employees, and service bartenders may be paid the service rate if they regularly receive tips of more than \$20 a month, and if their average hourly tips, when added to the service rate, are equal to or exceed the basic minimum wage. See <u>M.G.L. chapter 151, §7</u>.

AGRICULTURAL RATE: \$8.00 PER HOUR

Work on a farm and the growing and harvesting of agricultural, floricultural, and horticultural commodities requires payment of no less than the above-listed rate per hour, except when such wage is paid to a child seventeen years of age or under, or to a parent, spouse, child or other member of the employer's immediate family. See M.G.L. chapter 151, §2A.

PREMIUM PAY FOR SUNDAY RETAILER WORKERS

Premium Pay for Sunday retailer workers will decrease to 1.1% from 1.2%.