#### **DESIGNER SELECTION BOARD**

# MINUTES OF THE 1052<sup>nd</sup> MEETING, WEDNESDAY DECEMBER 7, 2022 VIA ZOOM.

# 1. ROLL CALL:

The Designer Selection Board Meeting was called to order at 8:32 a.m.

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** 

Khalil Mogassabi, AIA Registered Architect
Martha Blakey Smith, AIA Registered Architect
Elise F. Woodward, AIA, Chair Registered Architect

Ilyas Bhatti, P.E. Registered Engineer (left at 11:00 a.m.)

David A. Chappell, P.E., V-Chair
Severino Luna, P.E.
Maureen Sakakeeny, P.E.
Mark Boyle
Registered Engineer
Registered Engineer
Registered Engineer
Public Member

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** 

Alan Ricks, AIA, Registered Architect
David Capaldo General Contractor
Kathleen B. Colwell Public Member

Present for the DSB staff, Claire G. Hester, Program Coordinator III and Roberto Melendez, Program Coordinator I.

## 2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING:

A motion to approve the minutes of the 1050<sup>th</sup> November 2, 2022 meeting was made by Severino Luna, seconded by Martha Blakey Smith. Motion was approved.

## 3. <u>VISITORS:</u>

Joshua Sydney	Sydney Project Management
Daniel McSweeney	Sydney Project Management
Monique Rice	Sydney Project Management
John Chistolini	Conservatory Lab Charter School
Dave Madson	CBT Architects
Christopher Hill	CBT Architects
Lonnie Ash	CBT Architects
Eileen Cusciari	CBT Architects
Lynn Giesecke	Studio 2112/CBT Architects
Ann Marie Shumway	RFS/CBT Architects
Michael Lindstrom	Michael Lindstrom/StudioMLA
Joanne Hiromura	Michael Lindstrom/StudioMLA
Nicole Tietjen Rodriguez	Michael Lindstrom/StudioMLA
Liz Hall	Michael Lindstrom/StudioMLA
Ioana Pieleanu	Acentech/StudioMLA
Samantha Espinoza	Michael Lindstrom/StudioMLA
Ganesh Ramachandran	DCAMM
Brenna Sapienza	DCAMM
Lori Kauffman	CBT Architects
Kirk Deininger	Autocene
Vikram Jalapuram	Autocene
Gary Gut	
Marc Moura	CBT Architects
Miles McDonald	BVH
Diana Cioffari-MacPhee	Matz Collaborative
Laura Notman	Matz Collaborative
Deborah Azer	Habeeb
Joanna Morlot	CBT Architects
Irene Kang	DCAMM
Khaleela Zaman	StudioMLA
Arleen Guyan	Crowley Engineering
Chris Nappi	CBT Architects
Rebecca Maloney	RFS Engineering
Joie Watson	CBT Architects

## 4. NEW BUSINESS:

## A. Election for Chair and Vice Chair

Elise Woodward nominated David Chappell for DSB Chair. On a motion by Elise Woodward, seconded by Ilyas Bhatti to elect David Chappell as DSB Chair.

## PAGE 2 MINUTES OF THE 1051st MEETING – WEDNESDAY NOVEMBER 16, 2022

Elise Woodward nominated Martha Blakey Smith for DSB Vice Chair. On a motion by Elise Woodward, seconded by Khalil Mogassabi to elect Martha Blakey Smith for DSB Vice Chair.

David Chappell and Martha Blakey Smith will begin their term as Chair and Vice Chair on January 4, 2023.

B. DSB List #22-22. CLCS 2022-1, Conservatory Lab Renovation & Addition, Conservatory Lab Charter School, 133 Hancock Street, Dorchester, ECC: \$13-\$15 million, Fee for Study/Schematic Design: N/A, Fee for Final Design: To Be Negotiated

Joshua Sydney, Daniel McSweeney and Monigue Rice all from Sydney Project Management and John Chistolini from Conservatory Lab Charter School were present to explain the project and answer questions from the Board. The Board interviewed the following firms:

> **CBT Architects** Michael Lindstrom Associates Architects dba StudioMLA

#### C. Public Comments

None

## D. Project Voting and Ranking

The firms displayed considerable skills and similar experiences for this project. In accordance with the provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 7C, Section 49 the Board voted to select the following firms in ranking order:

> CBT Architects (16 points) Michael Lindstrom Associates Architects dba StudioMLA (8 points)

Motion was made by Martha Blakey Smith to select the above ranked firms for the Conservatory Lab Charter School project, seconded by Ilyas Bhatti. Motion was approved.

The immediate services authorized is schematic plans and outline specifications. It is intended that the design development plans and specifications, construction plans and specifications and administration of construction contract be required of the selected Designer's teams following completion of the schematic plans and outline specifications and notification of the Board in accordance with M.G.L. c. 7C.

#### E. Board Business:

The Board met with Autocene to discuss improvements to the board members information in the DSB Online Portal. Autocene will make changes to the members section in the system and make it user friendly for the members to review documents.

MOTION TO ADJOURN: The Board adjourned at 11:26 a.m. 5.

> On a motion to adjourn the meeting of November 16, 2022 David Chappell, seconded by Martha Blakey Smith. Motion was approved.

6. **NEXT MEETING:** 

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 7, 2022 at 8:30 a.m. via ZOOM

Claire G. Hester Elise J. Amelia. 1 Submitted by: \_\_\_\_