DESIGNER SELECTION BOARD MINUTES OF THE 1075TH MEETING, WEDNESDAY FEBRUARY 14, 2024, VIA ZOOM.

1. ROLL CALL:

The Designer Selection Board Meeting was called to order at 8:34 a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Maureen Sakakeeny, P.E., Chair
Mark Boyle, V-Chair
David Carlson, AIA
Arthur Choo, AIA
Khalil Mogassabi, AIA
Martha Blakey Smith, AIA
Sam Liao, P.E.
Severino Luna, P.E.
David Capaldo
MEMBERS ABSENT

Registered Engineer Public Member **Registered Architect** Registered Architect **Registered Architect Registered Architect** Registered Engineer Registered Engineer General Contractor

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Vacant Vacant

Registered Engineer Public Member

Present for the DSB staff, Simone Early, Executive Director, Claire G. Hester, Program Coordinator III, and Roberto Melendez, Program Coordinator I.

MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING: 2.

A motion to approve the minutes of the 1074th meeting of the Board on January 17, 2024, was made by David Carlson, seconded by Martha Blakey Smith. Motion was approved.

3. VISITORS:

Ray Porfilio	DCAMM
Scott Schilt	DCAMM
Ganesh Ramachandran	DCAMM
Jason Penney	Trial Courts
James Harding	Trial Courts
Joseph Ruocco	SOM
Paul Danna	SOM
Peter Glasson	SOM
Eftalia Proios	SOM
Nathan Hall	SOM/National Center for State Courts
Hilary Williams	Arup
Philip Chen	Annum Architects
Jackie Flanigan	Annum Architects
Joseph Hoepp	Annum Architects
Rob Fisch	DLR Group
Todd Orr	DLR Group
Ilona Prosol	Salas O'Brien
Jay Bargmann	Rafael Vinoly
Tsunehisa Tsuda	Rafael Vinoly
Adrian Au	Rafael Vinoly
Han Xu	Rafael Vinoly/Thornton Tomasetti
Christine Yee	Rafael Vinoly/Lim Consultants
Elizabeth Hoey	Rafael Vinoly/PBA
Samira Ahmadi	Rafael Vinoly/enviEngery
Nathan Hall	Rafael Vinoly/National Center for State Courts
Noriko Miyakoda	Rafael Vinoly/Miyakoda
Robert Leber	Rafael Vinoly/Cosentini
Raymond Vincent	Rafael Vinoly/C.A. Crowley Engineering
Samuel Lasky	William Rawn Associates
Lucera Whitmore	William Rawn Associates
Douglas Johnston	William Rawn Associates
Sindu Meier	William Rawn Associates
Elizabeth Bondaryk	William Rawn Associates
Douglas Kleppin	William Rawn Associates/SLAM
Natasha Espada	William Rawn Associates/Studio Enee
Mark Walsh-Cooke	William Rawn Associates/Arup
Owain Jones	William Rawn Associates/Dharam
Walter Harnett	Thornton Tomasetti
Susan Merrigan	SOM
Tiffany Yu	DCAMM
Abbey Brennan	SOM

PAGE 2 MINUTES OF THE 1075TH MEETING – WEDNESDAY FEBRUARY 14, 2024

Sara Garber	Arup	
Ashley Horan	TSKP	
Mark Freeman	Perry Dean	
Walter Hartnett	Thornton Tomasetti	
John Bello	National Center for State Courts	
Jeff Purtell	DLR Group	
Jennifer Wells	DiMella Shaffer	
Rafia Rehman	Perry Dean	
Stephanie Tsang	Rafael Vinoly	
Deb Azer	Habeeb Architects	
Mari Thomas	Habeeb Architects	
David Cole	Trial Courts	
Khalil Pirani	DCAMM	
Joe McKenna	CGL Companies	
Tamara Macuch	Habeeb Architects	
Caroline Fitzgerald	RMF	
Irene Kang	DCAMM	
Kyra Coley	RMF	
Clair Colburn	FAA, Inc.	
Michael Shafir	SOM	

4. <u>NEW BUSINESS</u>:

A. Interview: DSB List #23-19, TRC2401, Springfield Justice Center, Springfield (DCAMM), ECC: \$375,000,000, Fee for Draft Study: \$3,300,000, Fee for Schematic Design & Certifiable Study: To Be Negotiated, Fee for Final Design: To Be Negotiated

Ray Porfilio from DCAMM along with Jason Penney and James Harding, both from the Trial Courts were present during the interview process.

The Board conducted four (4) 35-minute interviews (20-minute presentation and 15-minute Q&A) with the following four (4) unranked finalists for the Springfield Justice Center project:

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, LLP (SOM) Annum Architects Rafael Vinoly, Architects PC William Rawn Associates, Architects, Inc.

B. Public Comments

None

C. Project Voting and Ranking

The following firms displayed considerable skills and similar experiences with this type of project. In accordance with the provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 7C, Section 49 the Board voted to select the three (3) ranked finalists for the Springfield Justice Center project:

William Rawn Associates, Architects, Inc. (17 points) Rafael Vinoly, Architects PC (16 points, with a tiebreaker of 5 points) Annum Architects (16 points, with a tiebreaker of 4 points)

Motion was made by David Capaldo to select the three (3) ranked finalists for the Springfield Justice Center project, seconded by Severino Luna. Motion was approved.

The immediate services authorized is a draft study. It is intended that the continued services for schematic plans and outline specifications, certifiable study, design development plans and specifications, construction plans and specifications and administration of construction contract will be required of the selected Designer's team following completion of the study and notification of the Board in accordance with M.G.L. c. 7C.

D. Board Business:

None

5. MOTION TO ADJOURN: The Board adjourned at 11:58 a.m.

On a motion to adjourn the meeting of February 14, 2024, by David Capaldo, seconded by Martha Blakey Smith. Motion was approved.

6. NEXT MEETING:

WEDNESDAY, February 28, 2024, at 8:30 a.m. via ZOOM

G. Hester Submitted by:

Designer Selection Coordinator