DESIGNER SELECTION BOARD MINUTES OF THE 1073RD MEETING, WEDNESDAY JANUARY 3, 2024 VIA ZOOM.

1. ROLL CALL:

The Designer Selection Board Meeting was called to order at 8:39 a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Maureen Sakakeeny, P.E., V-Chair Registered Engineer (Chaired meeting)

Mark Boyle Public Member
David Carlson, AIA Registered Architect
Arthur Choo, AIA Registered Architect
Khalil Mogassabi, AIA Registered Architect
Sam Liao, P.E. Registered Engineer
David Capaldo General Contractor

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Martha Blakey Smith, AIA, Chair
Severino Luna, P.E.
Vacant
Vacant
Registered Architect
Registered Engineer
Registered Engineer
Public Member

Present for the DSB staff, Simone Early, Executive Director, Claire G. Hester, Program Coordinator III and Roberto Melendez, Program Coordinator I.

2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING:

A motion to approve the minutes of the 1072nd November 15, 2023 meeting was made by David Capaldo, seconded by Khalil Mogassabi. Motion was approved.

3. <u>VISITORS:</u>

Ray Porfilio	DCAMM
Scott Schilt	DCAMM
Jason Penney	Trial Courts
Robert Frederick	HDR
Hiren Shah	Arcadis
Rob Fisch	DLR Group
Ashley Horan	TSKP
Mark Walsh-Cooke	Arup
Tom Grimble	HOK
EJ DeCoske	Arcadis
Monica Carroll	CBT Architects
Kristine Johnson	HOK
Jo Oltman	CBT Architects
Kelli Weber	HOK
Alfred Wojciechowski	CBT Architects
Thomas Iskra	Salas O'Brien
Balram Chamaria	Bplusac
Kara McLellan	Annum Architects
Jeff Purtell	DLR Group
Deb Azer	Habeeb Architects
Philip Chen	Annum Architects
Arick Dyrdal	Design Build Architects
Jacqueline Flanigan	Annum Architects
Ami Meachum	IMEG Corp.
Susan Wisler	IMEG Corp.
Henry Celli	CBT Architects
Brenna Sapienza	DCAMM
Samuel Lasky	Rawn Architects
Sindu Meier	Rawn Architects
Lauren Hickey	FAA, Inc.
Elizabeth Lewis	Habeeb Architects
Brett Firfer	CGL Companies
Mark Freeman	Perry Dean
Grace C Lee	HDR
Anne Brockelman	Perry Dean
Joel Goodmonson	IMEG Corp.
Robin Greenleaf	IMEG Corp.
Tommy Sinclair	HDR
James Harding	Trial Courts
Rafia Rehman	Perry Dean
Joe McKenna	CGL Companies

PAGE 2 MINUTES OF THE 1073RD MEETING - WEDNESDAY JANUARY 3, 2024

Miles McDonald	Salas O'Brien
Tamara Macuch	Habeeb Architects
Lucera Whitmore	Rawn Architects
Stephanie Beals	TSKP
Eileen Casciari	CBT Architects
Natasha Espada	Studio Enee
Joanna Morlot	CBT Architects
Sara Garber	Arup
Kim Sousa	I Make Your Marketing
Sae Kim	CBT Architects
Dan Gelormini	CBT Architects
Joey Reneau	Perry Dean
Elayne Campos	DCAMM

4. NEW BUSINESS:

- **A.** Maureen introduced the new Executive Director Simone Early and two new members, David Carlson, architect member and Sam Liao, engineer member to the Board.
- B. Farewell to Elise Woodward, architect member who was replaced by David Carlson.
- C. DSB List #23-19, TRC2401, Springfield Justice Center, (DCAMM), ECC: \$375,000,000, Fee for Draft Study: \$300,000,000, Fee for Schematic Design & Certifiable Study: To Be Negotiated, Fee for Final Design: To Be Negotiated, 8 Applicants

Ray Porfilio and Scott Schilt, both from DCAMM along with Jason Penney from the Trial Courts were present to explain the project and answer questions from the Board.

The following firms met the requirements in the advertisement.

Annum Architects – This MBE firm is in Boston with 48 employees. This was a responsive proposal with relevant project experience.

Arcadis (aka IBI Placemaking) – This firm is in Boston and Washington, DC with 43 employees. This proposal was not as responsive as some of the other firms. Section #5 was boiler plate information.

CBT Architects – This firm is in Boston and UAE with 153 employees. This was a responsive proposal with relevant project experience.

HDR Architecture, P.C. – This firm is in Boston and NJ with 185 employees. This was a responsive proposal with relevant project experience. This was not as strong as some of the other firms.

Hellmuth Obata & Kassabaum, P.C. – This firm is in Boston with 1,684 employees. The firm noted in their proposal that they have reviewed the DCAMM contract for study and design services. HOK included a statement in their proposal that implied that they were confident that a consensus could be reached with DCAMM regarding the contract terms. The Board had a brief discussion and it was noted that DCAMM does not amend or negotiate contract terms with firms as stated in the public notices. The Board did not disqualify this firm and considered their proposal for this project.

Rafael Vinoly, Architects, P.C. – This MBE firm is in New York with 62 employees. This was a responsive proposal with relevant project experience.

Skidmore, Owning & Merrill, LLP – This firm is in Washington, DC and New York with 1,120 employees. This was a responsive proposal with relevant project experience.

William Rawn Associates, Architects, Inc. – This firm is in Boston with 56 employees. This was a responsive proposal with relevant project experience.

D. Public Comments

None

E. Project Voting and Ranking

The following firms displayed considerable skills and similar experiences for this project. In accordance with the provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 7C, Section 49 the Board voted for the following finalists for the Springfield Justice Center project to be interviewed:

Annum Architects Rafael Vinoly, Architects, P.C. Skidmore, Ownings & Merrill, LLP William Rawn Associates, Architects, Inc.

PAGE 3 MINUTES OF THE 1073RD MEETING - WEDNESDAY JANUARY 3, 2024

Motion was made by David Carlson to interview the above four (4) firms, seconded by David Capaldo. Motion was approved.

The immediate service authorized is a draft study. It is intended that the schematic plans and outline specifications, certifiable study, design development plans and specifications, construction plans & specifications, administration of construction contract be required of the selected Designer's team following completion of the certified study and notification of the Board in accordance with M.G.L.c.7C.

F. Board Business:

Election for Chair and Vice-Chair

Mark Boyle motioned to nominate Maureen Sakakeeny to serve as Chair for one year, seconded by Arthur Choo. Motion was approved.

Arthur Choo motioned to nominate Mark Boyle to serve as Vice-Chair for one year, seconded by David Carlson. Motion was approved.

5. MOTION TO ADJOURN: The Board adjourned at 10:17 a.m.

On a motion to adjourn the meeting of January 3, 2024 by David Capaldo, seconded by Khalil Mogassabi. Motion was approved.

6. **NEXT MEETING:**

WEDNESDAY, January 17, 2024 at 8:30 a.m. via ZOOM

Maureen W. Sakahary