DESIGNER SELECTION BOARD

MINUTES OF THE 1042ND MEETING, WEDNESDAY JUNE 22, 2022 VIA ZOOM.

1. <u>ROLL CALL</u>:

The Designer Selection Board Meeting was called to order at 8:35 a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

IVIEIVIDERO PRESENII.	
Khalil Mogassabi, AIA	Registered Architect (left at 9:00 a.m. and returned at 10:00 a.m.)
Martha Blakey Smith, AIA	Registered Architect
Elise F. Woodward, AIA, Chair	Registered Architect
Ilyas Bhatti, P.E.	Registered Engineer (left at 10:50 a.m.)
Daniel M. Carson, P.E.	Registered Engineer
Maureen Sakakeeny, P.E.	Registered Engineer
David Capaldo	General Contractor
MEMBERS ABSENT:	
David A. Chappell, P.E., V-Chair	Registered Engineer
Alan Ricks, AIA,	Registered Architect
Janice Bergeron	Public Member
Kathleen B. Colwell	Public Member

Present for the DSB staff, Claire G. Hester, Program Coordinator III and Roberto Melendez, Program Coordinator I.

2. <u>MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING</u>:

A motion to approve the minutes of the 1041st June 6, 2022 meeting was made by Maureen Sakakeeny, seconded by Khalil Mogassabi. Motion was approved.

3. <u>VISITORS:</u>

Luciana Burdi	Massport
Susan Brace	Massport
Patricia DeAngelis	Massport
Caroline Fitzgerald	RMF Engineering
Stephanie Lafontaine	RMF Engineering
Elizabeth Nolder	RMF Engineering
Nancy Banks	B2Q Associates, Inc.
Paul Banks	B2Q Associates, Inc.
Joseph Bliss	B2Q Associates, Inc.
Joseph Boisvert	B2Q Associates, Inc.
Gabrielle Cole	B2Q Associates, Inc.
Natasha Espada	Studio Enee Architects
Susan Crowe Knight	Studio Enee Architects
Michael Schanbacher	Studio Enee Architects
Liz Minnis	DCAMM
Robert Ricchi	DCAMM
Dennis D'Angelo	DCAMM
Katherine Renzoni	DCAMM
Deacon Marvel	Perkins Eastman
Amee Dhoria	Perkins Eastman
Stephanie Dunn	MassDOT
Aric Warren	MassDOT
Justine Kubo	ICON Architecture
Laura Price	RMF Engineering
Kyra Coley	RMF Engineering
Melissa Frydlo	
Doug Kumph	Petersen Engineering
Jess Charlap	Perkins Eastman
Ashley Horan	TSKP
Arleen Guyan	C.A. Crowley Engineering
Marisa Breece Sullivan	Studio G Architects
Clair Colburn	FAA, Inc.
Martin Vickey	C.A. Crowley Engineering
Deborah Azer	Habeeb Architects
Molly Moore	MDS
Mila Mendoza	DCAMM

NEW BUSINESS: 4.

A. Exemption Request for Massport

Representing Massport were Luciana Burdi, Susan Brace and Patricia DeAngelis. The Board voted to approve the two-year exemption for Massport. On a motion to approve the exemption request for Massport by Ilyas Bhatti, seconded by Maureen Sakakeeny. Motion was approved unanimously.

B. Informational Interviews

The following three firms made a 20-minute presentation with a 10-minute Q&A to the Board to better understand their strengths. The Board let them know what the members look for in the application process.

RMF Engineering

- Caroline Fitzgerald
- Stephanie Lafontaine
- Elizabeth Nolder

B2Q Associates, Inc.

- Nancy Banks
- Paul Banks
- Joseph Bliss
- Joseph Boisvert
- Gabrielle Cole

Studio Enee Architects

- Natasha Espada
- Susan Crowe Knight
- Michael Schanbacher
- C. Request to permit Perkins Eastman to support MassDOT's workplace renovation project in the State Transportation Building, Boston under the DSB List #21-25, DCP2136, State Transportation and MITC – Renovation and Modernization, Boston and Chelsea

Representing DCAMM were Liz Minnis, Robert Ricchi, Dennis D'Angelo and Katherine Renzoni. Representing MassDOT were Stephanie Dunn and Aric Warren. Representing Perkins Eastman were Deacon Marvel and Amee Dhoria. The Board voted to approve Perkins Eastman to support MassDOT's workplace renovation project in the State Transportation Building contingent on review by the IG's Office. DCAMM will send the Board a written justification by the IG's Office.

On a motion by Martha Blakey Smith to approve the request for Perkins Eastman, seconded by David Capaldo. Maureen Sakakeeny made a motion to amend the motion to approve Perkins Eastman to support MassDOT's workplace renovation project in the State Transportation Building contingent on review and written justification by the IG's Office, seconded by David Capaldo. Motion was approved unanimously.

D. Board Business:

None

5. MOTION TO ADJOURN: The Board adjourned at 11:23 a.m.

On a motion to adjourn the meeting of June 22, 2022 by Martha Blakey Smith, seconded by David Capaldo. Motion was approved.

6. NEXT MEETING:

WEDNESDAY, JULY 6, 2022 at 8:30 a.m. via ZOOM

Submitted by: ____

Claire S. Hester Elise F. Arrdurad