#### **DESIGNER SELECTION BOARD**

## MINUTES OF THE 1046th MEETING, WEDNESDAY SEPTEMBER 7, 2022 VIA ZOOM.

## 1. ROLL CALL:

The Designer Selection Board Meeting was called to order at 8:32 a.m.

**MEMBERS PRESENT**:

Khalil Mogassabi, AIA Registered Architect
Martha Blakey Smith, AIA Registered Architect
Elise F. Woodward, AIA, Chair Registered Architect

Ilyas Bhatti, P.E. Registered Engineer (left at 10:20am)

David A. Chappell, P.E., V-Chair
Severino Luna, P.E.
Maureen Sakakeeny, P.E.
Pavid Capaldo
Mark Boyle
Registered Engineer
Registered Engineer
Registered Engineer
Registered Engineer
Registered Engineer
Public Member

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** 

Alan Ricks, AIA, Registered Architect
Kathleen B. Colwell Public Member

Present for the DSB staff, Claire G. Hester, Program Coordinator III and Roberto Melendez, Program Coordinator I.

#### 2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING:

A motion to approve the minutes of the 1045<sup>th</sup> August 17, 2022 meeting was made by Maureen Sakakeeny, seconded by David Chappell. Motion was approved.

## 3. <u>VISITORS:</u>

Amy Winter	DCAMM
Elayne Campos	DCAMM
Andrea Nathanson	STCC
Debra Avery	STCC
John Cook	STCC
Jennifer Murphy	STCC
Joel Pettigrew	Shepley Bulfinch Richardson & Abbott
Derek Noble	Shepley Bulfinch Richardson & Abbott
Hyeonjoo Park	Shepley Bulfinch Richardson & Abbott
Jacob Stinson	Shepley Bulfinch Richardson & Abbott
Kalyn Pavlinic	Shepley Bulfinch Richardson & Abbott
Patricia DeLauri	Shepley Bulfinch Richardson & Abbott
Rebeccah Eldridge	Shepley Bulfinch Richardson & Abbott
Maria Loitz	BVH
Richard Loveland	BVH
Jeff Chichonski	BVH
Richard Pizzi	Lavallee Brensinger Architects
Kevin Riordon	Lavallee Brensinger Architects/Dietz Architects
Sean Landry	Lavallee Brensinger Architects
Debbi Gottlieb	Lavallee Brensinger Architects/Dietz Architects
Julie Spence	Lavallee Brensinger Architects
Doug Lajoie	Lavallee Brensinger Architects/CES Engineers
Andrew Lapp	Mass Military Division
Captain Vincent Tripodi	Mass Military Division
Christine Witmer	Shepley Builfinch Richardson & Abbott
Marisa Breece Sullivan	Studio G Architects
Deborah Azer	Habeeb Architects
Ashley Horan	TSKP
Jess Charlap	Perkins Eastman
Kathleen Porter	LBPA
Christopher Scott	STCC
Sophia Panova	So-ZHA
Ella Everett	LBPA
Balram Chamaria	B+A
Allison Puzycki	CES Engineers
Maria Loitz	BVH
Ganesh Ramachandran	DCAMM
Ashley Solomon	Dietz
Miles McDonald	BVH

#### PAGE 2 MINUTES OF THE 1046th MEETING - WEDNESDAY SEPTEMBER 7, 2022

#### 4. <u>NEW BUSINESS</u>:

A. Interview: DSB List #22-19, STC2202, Springfield Technical Community College School of Health and Patient Simulation, ECC: \$29,600,000, Fee for Certifiable Study: \$600,000, Fee for Schematic Design and Final Design: To Be Negotiated

Amy Winter from DCAMM along with Andrea Nathanson, Debra Avery, John Cook and Jennifer Murphy, all from Springfield Technical Community College were present to explain the project and answer guestions from the Board.

The Board interviewed the following two firms:

Shepley Bulfinch Richardson & Abbott Lavallee Brensinger Architects

#### **B.** Public Comments

None

## C. Project Voting and Ranking

The interviewees displayed considerable skills and similar experiences for this project. In accordance with the provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 7C, Section 49 the Board voted to select the following firms in ranking order:

Lavallee Brensinger Architects (14 points) Shepley Bulfinch Richardson & Abbott (10 points)

Motion was made by David Chappell to select the above ranked firms for the Springfield Technical Community College project, seconded by Severino Luna. Motion was approved. Elise Woodward abstained from voting.

The immediate services authorized is a certifiable building study. It is intended that design development plans and specifications, construction plans and specifications and administration of construction contract be required of the selected Designer's teams following completion of the certified study and notification of the Board in accordance with M.G.L. c. 7C.

# D. DSB List #22-18, DSBP33, Study & Design of Troop Camp HVAC Repairs, Statewide (House Doctor) Fee: \$500,000, 2 Applicants

Andrew Lapp and Captain Vincent Tripodi from Massachusetts Military Division were present to explain the project and answer questions from the Board.

The following two (2) firms met the requirements in this advertisement:

CSS Architects –This was a good application with demonstrated project experience.

RGB – This was another good application. They provided similar project experience.

## E. Public Comments

None

#### F. Project Voting and Ranking

Motion was made by David Capaldo to select the above unranked firms for the Massachusetts Military Division House Doctor project, seconded by Maureen Sakakeeny. Motion was approved.

The immediate services authorized are certifiable building study, schematic plans & outline specifications, design development plans & specifications, construction plans & specifications and administration & construction contract.

## G. Board Business:

None

#### 5. MOTION TO ADJOURN: The Board adjourned at 10:50 a.m.

On a motion to adjourn the meeting of September 7, 2022 by David Chappell, seconded by David Capaldo. Motion was approved.

## PAGE 3 MINUTES OF THE 1046<sup>th</sup> MEETING – WEDNESDAY SEPTEMBER 7, 2022

6. **NEXT MEETING**:

WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 21, 2022 at 8:30 a.m. via ZOOM

Submitted by: Claire S. Hester

Approved by: Slise J. Arrdund