DESIGNER SELECTION BOARD

MINUTES OF THE 1008TH MEETING, WEDNESDAY FEBRUARY 3, 2021 AT 8:30 A.M, VIA ZOOM.

1. <u>ROLL CALL</u>:

The Designer Selection Board Meeting was called to order at 8:35 a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Alan Ricks, AIA, Chair	Registered Architect
Elise F. Woodward, AIA, Vice-Chair	Registered Architect
Martha Blakey Smith, AIA	Registered Architect
Ilyas Bhatti, P.E.	Registered Engineer
Daniel M. Carson, P.E.	Registered Engineer
David A. Chappell, P.E.	Registered Engineer
Rebecca Sherer, P.E.	Registered Engineer
Kenneth Wexler	General Contractor
Janice M. Bergeron	Public Member
-	

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Jessica Tsymbal, AIA, LEED AP

Registered Architect

Present for the DSB staff, Bill Perkins, Executive Director, Claire G. Hester, Program Coordinator III and Roberto Melendez, Program Coordinator I.

2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING:

A motion to approve the minutes of the 1007th January 20, 2021 meeting was made by Elise Woodward, seconded by Janice Bergeron. Motion was approved.

3. VISITORS:

Elizabeth Lewis	Habeeb Architects
David Pereira	GGD
Steven Habeeb	Habeeb Architects
Jack Shea	Habeeb Architects
Scott Bancroft	Habeeb Architects
Molly Moore	MDS/Miller Dyer Spears
Kate Wonkka	MDS/Miller Dyer Spears
Gabriela Baierle	Arrowstreet
Emily Grandstaff-Rice	Arrowstreet
Kevin Provencher	Habeeb Architects
Stephen Furtado, Sr.	GLCPS
Stephen Furtado, Jr.	GLCPS
Susann Schlaud	MDS/Miller Dyer Spears
Laurence Spang	Arrowstreet
Steven Thomas	MDS/Miller Dyer Spears
Lorraine Robin	Lorraine Robin Associates
Daryl-Ann Lewis	Daryl-Ann Lewis
Joshua Teas	Joshua Teas
Susan Elmore	Cambridge Seven
Marisa Sullivan	Studio G Architects
Tamara Macuch	Habeeb Architects
Neil Joyce	CMS-MA
Jacquie Hughes	BER Engineering
Stephanie Beals	TSKP Studio
Marion Roosa	Habeeb Architects
Arleen Guyan	Crowley Engineering
Clair Colburn	FAA, Inc.
Kara Gruss	TSKP
Sara Garber	Arrowstreet
Katherine McDonald	Arrowstreet
Dorrie Brooks	Jones Whitsett
Steven Karan	BER Engineering
Kevin Griffin	CMS-MĂ
Kevin Riordon	Dietz Architects
Katie Ferrier	Arrowstreet
Ashley Solomon	Dietz Architects
Mark Galvin	CDM Smith
B. Hunter	DiNisco
Steven Thomas	MDS/Miller Dyer Spears

A. Interview for DSB List #20-18, CP-DS-2020-001, GLCPS Convent Renovation Project, Global Learning Charter Public School, ECC: \$6,095,781-\$6,580,134, Fee: To Be Negotiated

After preliminary review of the original ten (10) submissions, on Wednesday January 20, 2021 and after considerable discussion, the Board selected for interviews, the following three (3) unranked applicants exhibiting qualifications to perform the requested services:

Arrowstreet & Associates Architects Habeeb & Associates Architects MDS/Miller Dyer Spears

The Board interviewed at length the three (3) applicants listed above. All finalists displayed considerable skills and similar experiences with this type of project. The Board voted to select the following ranked firms for the Global Learning Charter Public School:

Arrowstreet (21 points) Habeeb & Associates Architects (19 points) MDS/Miller Dyer Spears (14 points)

A motion was made by Janice Bergeron to approve the above ranked list for the Global Learning Charter Public School, seconded by Elise Woodward. Motion was approved.

- **B.** Public Comments There were no public comments at this meeting. Through Autocene, Bill will reach out to the registered firms for their interest in the public comment opportunity.
- **C.** Informational Interview Discussion The Board agreed to begin scheduling informational interview when the agenda permits. The Board agreed to place these interviews at the beginning of future DSB meetings with one project deliberation. These interviews will be 25-minutes (15-minute presentation with 10-minute Q&A).
- D. Sub-committee Updates Autocene subcommittee has not met for several weeks. The one remaining item for Board discussion is the "team lead" category, whether it should be the individual responsible for the application or the responsible licensed professional who signs the contract and is responsible for the project. Elise proposed to change "team lead" to "team contact" so that entry will no longer require a licensed professional but would identify the person to be contacted regarding questions for the application. The Board agreed to this proposal and Autocene will make a change from "Team Lead" to "Team Contact" in the application.

The Evaluation, Analytics and Project Criteria subcommittee held its last meeting on September 22, 2020. Alan suggested this subcommittee meet to brainstorm ideas of analytics that could be developed leveraging the Autocene database and come back to the full Board with some ideas. It will be important for the Autocene group to figure out how to automate what is proposed. The successful application elements for use as an evaluation criteria. David would like to see a better description of work anticipated in the RFP, especially in "House Doctor" projects; this is a way to have more smaller firms involved. A subcommittee meeting will be scheduled to discuss these items.

E. Voting in Autocene – The Board will not be submitting their votes into Autocene. The members will continue with the roll call vote and Claire and Roberto will record the vote into the Autocene portal.

4. <u>MOTION TO ADJOURN</u>: The Board adjourned at 11:34 a.m.

On a motion to adjourn the meeting of February 3, 2021 by Ilyas Bhatti, seconded by David Chappell. Motion was approved.

5. <u>NEXT MEETING</u>:

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 17, 2021 at 8:30 a.m. via ZOOM

Submitted by: Claire G. Hester