DESIGNER SELECTION BOARD

MINUTES OF THE 962nd MEETING, WEDNESDAY JANUARY 23, 2019 AT 8:30 A.M, 21ST FLOOR CONFERENCE ROOM, MCCORMACK BUILDING, ONE ASHBURTON PLACE, BOSTON, MA 02108.

Registered Architect Registered Architect Registered Architect Registered Architect Registered Engineer Registered Engineer General Contractor Public Member

1. <u>ROLL CALL</u>:

The Designer Selection Board Meeting was called to order at 8:30 a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Charles Redmon, FAIA, Chairman
Beth McDougal, AIA, Vice-Chairwoman
Jessica Tsymbal, AIA, LEED AP
Jacquelin Yessian, RA, LEED AP
Gregory E. Brown, P.E.
Francis P. Harrigan II, P.E.
Kenneth Wexler
Virginia Greiman

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Rebecca Sherer, P.E. Mitch Keamy, P.E. Registered Engineer Registered Engineer

Present for the DSB staff, Bill Perkins, Executive Director, Claire G. Hester, Program Coordinator III and Roberto Melendez, Program Coordinator I.

2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING:

The minutes of the 961st January 9, 2019 meeting were approved. On a motion to approve the minutes of the 961st January 9, 2019 meeting by Francis Harrigan, seconded by Jacquelin Yessian. Motion was approved unanimously.

3. VISITORS:

Shauna Gillies Smith	Ground (Schwartz Silver)
Rob Fisch	CGL (Schwartz Silver)
Haydee Casellas	Schwartz Silver – CGL
Warren Schwartz	Schwartz Silver
April Pottorff	CGL (Schwartz Silver)
David Pereira	Garcia Galuska DeSousa (Schwartz Silver)
Peter Kleiner	Schwartz Silver
Ryan Critchfield	CGL (Schwartz Silver)
Christine Veibitzki	Gund Partnership
Jeffrey Garriga	Finegold Alexander
Pat Morss	Finegold Alexander
Daniel Danon	The Ripples Group (Finegold Alexander)
Clair Colburn	Finegold Alexander
Rene Reider	Arup (Finegold Alexander)
Mark Walsh-Cooke	Arup (Finegold Alexander)
Larry Chan	Chan Architecture & Urban Design (Finegold Alexander
Bryan Obara	Stoss (Finegold Alexander)
Tony Hsiao	Finegold Alexander
Kris Dargenio	Kaestle Boos Associates
Emily Glavey	DCAMM
Jim Hardy	OCM
Bill DuLong	DCAMM
Shawna Correll	DCAMM
Liz Minnis	DCAMM
Tom Iskra	BVH (Leers Weinzapfel Associates)
Andrea Leers	Leers Weinzapfel Associates
Chang-Ming Yeh	NCSC (Leers Weinzapfel Associates)
Melanie Maddox	Leers Weinzapfel Associates
lan Downing	Mikyoung Kim Design (Leers Weinzapfel Associates)
Juliet Chun	Leers Weinzapfel Associates
Josiah Stevenson	Leers Weinzapfel Associates

4. <u>NEW BUSINESS</u>:

A. Interview: DSB List #18-15, Item #2, TRC1903 ST1, Study & Design of the Quincy-Norfolk Regional Justice Center, 1 Dennis Ryan Parkway, Quincy, Fee: \$1,200,000 (Study), Schematic Design Phase/Certifiable Building Study is to be negotiated, Final Design Phase is to be negotiated, ECC: \$95 million to \$112 million (To Be Determined by Study)

The Board interviewed the following firms:

PAGE 2 MINUTES OF THE 962ND MEETING - WEDNESDAY JANUARY 23, 2019

Schwartz/Silver Architects, Inc.

After a discussion and in accordance with the provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 7C, Section 49, the interviewees were ranked in the following order:

Schwartz/Silver Architects, Inc. (20 points) Leers Weinzapfel Associates Architects, Inc. (14 points) Finegold Alexander Architects (8 points)

On a motion by Ken Wexler to select the above ranked firms for this project, seconded by Francis Harrigan. Jacquelin Yessian abstained. Motion was approved unanimously.

5. MOTION TO ADJOURN: The Board adjourned at 11:05 a.m.

On a motion to adjourn by Ken Wexler, seconded by Frank Harrigan. Motion was approved unanimously.

6. <u>NEXT MEETING</u>:

WEDNESDAY, February 6, 2019, at 8:30 a.m.

Submitted by: Claire S. Hester

Cha Approved by: