# FIRE SERVICE COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING April 21, 2022

The Fire Service Commission held a meeting on Thursday, April 21, 2022, via conference call per COVID-19 Guidelines under Mass. General Law Chapter 30A, Section 20.

**Present** at the meeting were the following Commission members:

Chief Gregory J. Burns
Captain Michael McCullough
Chief John S. Ingram
Ms. Roberta Fitzpatrick
Undersecretary Jeanne Benincasa Thorpe
Chief Peter Shedd
FF Richard D. MacKinnon Jr.

### Commission members absent from the meeting:

Chief Stephen L. Archer

### There were no guests present at the meeting.

**DFS staff present** at the meeting: State Fire Marshal Peter Ostroskey General Counsel Glenn Rooney Deputy General Counsel John Dean JoAnne Caruso

Meeting called to order by Chairman Gregory Burns at 1:03 p.m.

#### **AGENDA**

#### A. Approval of Minutes of the March 17, 2022 Meeting

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by Undersecretary Benincasa Thorpe to discuss the minutes of the March 17, 2022, meeting.

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Undersecretary Benincasa Thorpe and seconded Captain McCullough that the minutes of March 17, 2022, meeting be approved as written.

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

### B. Credentialing/Re-Credentialing Process

A motion was made by Undersecretary Benincasa Thorpe and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Chief Jeremy Bradshaw – Chillmark Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Captain McCullough to award accreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Nathaniel Brady III – Wellesley Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Undersecretary Benincasa Thorpe and seconded by Chief Shedd to award accreditation to:

• Lieutenant Anthony Genga – Northbridge Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by Chief Shedd to award accreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Frank Matuszczak - Agawam Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by Chief Ingram to award accreditation to:

• Captain Craig Osowski – Gardner Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Assistant Chief Lindsay Stromgren – Amherst Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by Chief Ingram to award accreditation to:

• Captain Craig Vinton – Medway Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Chief Patrick Purcell – Westborough Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. and Undersecretary Benincasa Thorpe to award accreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Charles DiGiandomenico – Wellesley Fire Rescue

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Shedd to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief Alan Sirois – Agawam Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Undersecretary Benincasa Thorpe to award re-accreditation to:

• Chief Alan Sirois – Agawam Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

## C. General Issues and Updates from DFS

Marshal Ostroskey briefed the Commission on the budget process progress; the PFAS Task Force; the progress of the SRB Prop in Bridgewater; and the introduction of Deputy General Counsel John Dean.

Undersecretary Benincasa Thorpe took a moment to recognize everyone who contributed to the success of the Boston Marathon. All involved rose to the occasion and she, Secretary Reidy and Governor Baker were all pleased with how seamless the HSOC worked in seamlessly with MEMA and how local, state, and federal really worked together to ensure a successful day. Marshal Ostroskey agreed and pointed out how there have been two marathons in one year and that itself posed challenges.

## D. Determination of Next Meeting Date and Adjournment

The date of the next meeting of the Fire Service Commission will be scheduled for Thursday, May 19th at 1:00pm.

A motion to adjourn was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr.

Said motion was approved by a unanimous vote of the Commission.

The meeting of the Fire Service Commission concluded at 1:27 p.m.