FIRE SERVICE COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING December 19, 2024

The Fire Service Commission held a meeting on Thursday, December 19, 2024, via conference call under Mass. General Law Chapter 30A, Section 20.

Present at the meeting were the following Commission members: Chief Gregory J. Burns Captain Michael McCullough Deputy Secretary Susan Terrey Chief John S. Ingram Chief Peter J. Burke Jr. Ms. Roberta Fitzpatrick

Absent Commission Members:

Chief Brian J. Cook FF Richard D. MacKinnon Jr.

DFS staff present at the meeting: Deputy Fire Marshal Maribel Fournier General Counsel Glenn Rooney JoAnne Caruso

There were no guests present.

Meeting called to order by Chairman Gregory Burns at 10:03 a.m.

AGENDA

A. Approval of Minutes of the November 21, 2024 Meeting

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Deputy Secretary Terrey that the minutes of November 21, 2024 meeting be approved as written.

The vote was otherwise unanimous in favor of the motion.

B. Credentialing/Re-Credentialing Process

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Captain McCullough and Deputy Secretary Terrey to award accreditation to:

• Deputy Fire Chief Kevin Weigold – Shrewsbury Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

Three Fire Chief Credential candidates were tabled until the January meeting.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Deputy Secretary Terrey and Chief Burke Jr. to deny a Fire Chief Credential candidate due to not meeting the necessary requirements at this time. A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Chief John Whalen – Sudbury Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award re-accreditation to:

• Chief Christopher Beal – Barnstable Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award re-accreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Kevin Braily – Barnstable Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. and Deputy Secretary Terrey to award re-accreditation to:

• Captain Gregg McLaughlin – Marblehead Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award reaccreditation to:

• Captain Brian Tyson – Barnstable Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Deputy Secretary Terrey to award re-accreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Keith Weightman – Andover Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

C. International Years of Service Discussion and potential vote

Tabled until January meeting to ensure total years of service aligns with international service documentation provided and original request.

D. Annual Report Discussion

The Commission reviewed and discussed the 2024 year in review document outlining business conducted throughout calendar year 2024. DFS Staff will update draft annual report for the Commission's review and approval at the January meeting.

E. General Issues and Updates from DFS

Deputy Fire Marshal Fournier briefed the Commission on the Fire Academy Director posting closing December 20th and that MPTC will be a part of the selection process; the Firefighter of the Year event had the highest attendance in recent years and was another successful event; and the Fire Equipment Grants are pending approval but are expected to go out in the next couple weeks.

F. Determination of Next Meeting Date and Adjournment

The date of the next meeting of the Fire Service Commission is tentatively scheduled for Thursday, December 19th at 10:00am.

DFS Staff will poll the Commission to ensure a quorum.

A motion to adjourn was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Chief Burke Jr.

Said motion was approved by a unanimous vote of the Commission.

The meeting of the Fire Service Commission concluded at 10:31 a.m.