FIRE SERVICE COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING February 23, 2024

The Fire Service Commission held a meeting on Friday, February 23, 2024, in the Boards and Commissions Room pursuant to Mass. General Law Chapter 30A, Section 20.

Present at the meeting were the following Commission members:

Chief Gregory J. Burns Chief John S. Ingram Ms. Roberta Fitzpatrick FF Richard D. MacKinnon Jr. Deputy Secretary Susan Terrey

Absent Commission Members:

Captain Michael McCullough Chief Peter J. Burke Jr. Chief Brian J. Cook

DFS staff present at the meeting:

State Fire Marshal Jon Davine Deputy State Fire Marshal Maribel Fournier General Counsel Glenn Rooney Public Information Officer Jake Wark JoAnne Caruso

There were no guests present.

Meeting called to order by Chairman Gregory Burns at 1:04 p.m.

AGENDA

A. Approval of Minutes of the January 18, 2024 Meeting

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded Deputy Secretary Terrey that the minutes of January 18, 2024, meeting be approved as written.

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

B. Credentialing/Re-Credentialing Process

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Captain Neil Tuepker – Barnstable Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Captain Justin Bassett – Rutland Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Assistant Chief Jeffrey Emanuelson – Marlborough Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Captain Joshua Mullen – Wilbraham Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Matthew Nadeau – Lawrence Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Ingram and Deputy Secretary Terrey to award re-accreditation to:

• Chief David Evans – Newbury Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and Deputy Secretary Terrey and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award re-accreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Kevin Varley – Brewster Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

C. Annual DFS Budget Presentation

Marshal Davine presented a comprehensive review of DFS' FY2025 Budget for the Commission.

D. General Issues and Updates from DFS

No additional updates were given following the "Annual DFS Budget Presentation".

E. Determination of Next Meeting Date and Adjournment

The date of the next meeting of the Fire Service Commission will be determined via meeting poll.

A motion to adjourn was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Ingram.

Said motion was approved by a unanimous vote of the Commission.

The meeting of the Fire Service Commission concluded at 1:28 p.m.