FIRE SERVICE COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING January 15, 2019

The Fire Service Commission held a meeting on Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at the Department of Fire Services, Boards and Commissions Room, Stow, Massachusetts.

Present at the meeting were the following Commission members: Chief John Nash Captain Michael McCullough Chief Gregory J. Burns Ms. Roberta Fitzpatrick FF Richard D. MacKinnon, Jr.

Absent from the meeting were the following Commission members: Chief Alan J. Roy

DFS staff present at the meeting: State Fire Marshal Peter Ostroskey Deputy State Fire Marshal Maribel Fournier General Counsel Steven Rourke Alanna Malatos JoAnne Caruso

There were no guests present at the meeting.

Meeting called to order by Chairman Chief John Nash at 10:06 a.m.

AGENDA

A. Approval of Minutes of the December 4, 2018 Meeting

A motion was made by Chief Nash and seconded by Captain McCullough that the minutes of December 4, 2018, meeting be approved as written. The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

B. Credentialing/Re-Credentialing Process

A motion was made by Chief Nash and seconded by Captain McCullough to award accreditation to the following:

- 1. Credentialing
 - Lieutenant Timothy J. Clancy Jr. Whitman Fire Department
 - Lieutenant Scott A. Smith Yarmouth Fire Department
 - Assistant Chief Wayne L. Haley– Belmont Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Roy and seconded by Chief Burns to award re-accreditation to the following:

- 2. Re-Credentialing -
 - Chief Francis Pulsifer Barnstable Fire Department
 - Chief Stephen T. Slaman Hopkinton Fire Department
 - Chief Scott Wodzinski– Littleton Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

C. Annual nominations and elections

Marshal Ostroskey was asked to preside over this section of meeting.

The floor was opened for nomination for chairperson. Captain McCullough nominated and voted for Chief Burns and was seconded by FF MacKinnon, Jr. There were no other nominations. The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

The floor was opened for nomination for vice chairperson. Chief Burns nominated and voted for Captain McCullough and was seconded by FF MacKinnon, Jr. There were no other nominations. The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

Marshal Ostroskey turned the meeting back over to Chief Nash.

Chief Nash thanked the Commission and support staff for all their efforts over the year and congratulated Chief Burns and Captain McCullough.

D. General Issues and Updates from DFS

State Fire Marshal Ostroskey began by announcing the new Secretary of Public Safety, Thomas A. Turco, III, and the new Undersecretary of Public Safety, Jeanne Benincasa Thorpe.

Deputy Marshal Fournier discussed some upcoming projects such as expanding our online presence, upcoming Homemade Explosives Training, and her role on the Large Venue Task Force and associated sub-committees.

State Fire Marshal Ostroskey explained that our role in the Merrimack Valley has slowed as a bulk of the repair work has been completed and equipment replacements are next on the horizon. He will also participate in the Department of Public Utilities collaboration of both the investigation and regulations.

General Counsel Rourke spoke to some bills that have been drafted for the new legislative session which include the Department of Corrections transfer of property in Bridgewater, some technical corrections to Boiler Pressure Vessels and Technical Rescue Service funding.

Marshal Ostroskey closed with a reminder that today is the 100th anniversary of the Molasses Flood of 1919 which in its aftermath forced regulations of above ground storage which is managed by the Fire Safety Division here at DFS.

D. Determination of Next Meeting Date and Adjournment

The date of the next meeting of the Fire Service Commission is tentatively scheduled on February 14th at 11:00 a.m. at the Department of Fire Services, Boards and Commissions Room.

A motion to adjourn was made by Chief Nash and seconded by Chief Burns. Said motion was approved by a unanimous vote of the Commission.

The meeting of the Fire Service Commission concluded at 10:38 a.m.