## FIRE SERVICE COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING January 16, 2025

The Fire Service Commission held a meeting on Thursday, January 16, 2025, via conference call under Mass. General Law Chapter 30A, Section 20.

**Present** at the meeting were the following Commission members: Chief Gregory J. Burns Captain Michael McCullough Chief John S. Ingram Chief Peter J. Burke Jr. Chief Brian J. Cook Ms. Roberta Fitzpatrick

### **Absent Commission Members:**

FF Richard D. MacKinnon Jr. Deputy Secretary Susan Terrey

**DFS staff present** at the meeting: State Fire Marshal Jon Davine Deputy State Fire Marshal Maribel Fournier General Counsel Glenn Rooney Alanna Malatos JoAnne Caruso

### There were no guests present.

Meeting called to order by Chairman Gregory Burns at 10:00 a.m.

Chief Burns addressed the Commission on his upcoming retirement from the Reading Fire Department following 39 years of service and 24 as Chief of the Department in May of 2025. He expressed how honored he has been to service on the Commission.

### AGENDA

# A. Approval of Minutes from the December 19th meeting

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded Chief Burke Jr. that the minutes of December 19, 2024 meeting be approved as written.

Chief Brian Cook abstained from the vote due to absence.

The vote was otherwise unanimous in favor of the motion.

# **B.** Credentialing/Re-Credentialing Process

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Chief Cook to award accreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Joseph Peltier – Mashpee Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Captain McCullough to award accreditation to:

• Deputy Chief James Shea – Pembroke Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Captain McCullough to award accreditation to:

• Captain Peter McIver – Greenfield Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Chief Cook to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief Richard Arruda – Dartmouth District 3

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Cook and seconded by Chief Ingram to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief Jason Bangma – Mendon Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Chief Cook to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief Gary Daugherty Jr. – Hopkinton Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Cook and seconded by Captain McCullough to award reaccreditation to:

• Captain Kyle Gatchell – Oak Bluffs Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded Chief Cook by to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief Russell Hall – Holden Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Cook and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief John Ingram – Belchertown Fire Department

Chief Ingram abstained from this vote.

The vote was otherwise unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Cook and seconded by Chief Ingram to award reaccreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Thomas Murphy – Weymouth Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief Christopher Norris – Easthampton Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Chief Cook to award reaccreditation to:

• Assistant Fire Chief Jeffrey Olmstead - Amherst Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Cook and seconded by Chief Ingram and Chief Burke Jr. to award re-accreditation to:

• Chief Zachary Ward – Sherborn Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

## C. International Years of Service Discussion and potential vote

Applicant provided adequate supporting documentation from the international fire department to the Commission.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by Chief Ingram and Chief Burke Jr. to award the applicant his "Years of Service" certificate.

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

### **D.** Annual Report Review and potential vote

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded Chief Burke Jr. that the Annual Report be approved as written.

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

# E. Annual Nominations and elections

The floor was opened for nomination for chairperson.

Chief Burns nominated and voted for Chief Ingram and was seconded by Chief Burke Jr.

There were no other nominations. Chief Ingram accepts the nomination.

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

The floor was opened for nomination for vice chairperson.

Chief Burke Jr. nominated and voted for Chief Cook and was seconded by Captain McCullough.

There were no other nominations. Chief Cook accepts the nomination.

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

# F. General Issues and Updates from DFS

Marshal Davine briefed the Commission on the expectation that the Governor's budget will be released next week; the upcoming CFO/ALERT/ASHER class is full; the Academy Director position has over twenty applicants with first round interviews to begin in the next two weeks; and due to low enrollment and Springfield career recruit class S41 has been pushed back five weeks. The enrollment numbers for S41 were low, and in speaking with stakeholders, there were thoughts that additional time would allow departments to onboard additional recruits. The new start date will be at the end of April.

Each campus will be capped out at 24 until the end of the fiscal year. The Massachusetts Fire Academy is keeping the MPTC informed.

Deputy Marshal Fournier updated the Commission on the status of Bridgewater's construction with "Package A" being complete and electrical work and the Pump House are underway.

An architect has been selected for the study and design for "Package B" (Firehouse and Crib Room) and will take approximately 18 months to complete and will kick off in the next couple weeks.

# G. Determination of Date/Time for Next Meeting

The date of the next meeting of the Fire Service Commission will be determined via meeting poll.

A motion to adjourn was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Chief Burke Jr.

Said motion was approved by a unanimous vote of the Commission.

The meeting of the Fire Service Commission concluded at 10:26 a.m.