FIRE SERVICE COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING June 20, 2024

The Fire Service Commission held a meeting on Thursday, June 20, 2024, via conference call under Mass. General Law Chapter 30A, Section 20.

Present at the meeting were the following Commission members: Chief Gregory J. Burns Captain Michael McCullough Chief John S. Ingram Chief Peter J. Burke Jr. Chief Brian J. Cook Ms. Roberta Fitzpatrick

Absent Commission members:

FF Richard D. MacKinnon Jr. Deputy Secretary Susan Terrey

DFS staff present at the meeting: State Fire Marshal Jon Davine General Counsel Glenn Rooney Public Information Officer Jake Wark Alanna Malatos JoAnne Caruso

There were no guests present at the meeting.

Meeting called to order by Chairman Gregory Burns at 10:01 a.m.

AGENDA

A. Approval of Minutes of the May 16, 2024 Meeting

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded Chief Burke Jr. that the minutes of May 16, 2024, meeting be approved as written.

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

B. Credentialing/Re-Credentialing Process

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Captain McCullough to award accreditation to:

• Lieutenant John Fitzgerald – Palmer Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Chief Burke Jr to award accreditation to:

• Captain Kimberly Sylvia – West Barnstable Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Captain McCullough to award accreditation to:

• Lieutenant Scott Jurasek – Hopkinton Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Lieutenant Michael Rogers – C.O.M.M. Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Captain McCullough to award accreditation to:

• Captain Sean Ellis – Falmouth Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Captain McCullough to award accreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Stephen Foster – Oak Bluff Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

One Fire Chief credential candidate was denied. Candidate does not hold any fire officer certifications, EMS and Paramedic certifications only. Chief Burke Jr. states it's an "exclusionary position" and that candidate has ability to redress the Commission.

A motion was made by Chief Burke Jr. and seconded by Captain McCullough and Chief Ingram to deny pending additional information.

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

One Fire Chief credential candidate was tabled until further information is provided due to incomplete application.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by Chief Ingram to award reaccreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Jerome Hart – Plymouth Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief Adam Lavoie – Warren Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

C. General Issues and Updates from DFS

Fire Marshal Davine briefed the Commission on the Department taking delivery of the Mobile EOC. The Mobile EOC will be in service by the Big E. Its purpose will be for pre-planned events. The Department also took delivery of the RIT Trailer which will allow for ease in delivering training.

The deadline for Firefighter of the Year nominations is July 15th.

The Deadly White Powder Symposium's flyer will be sent out the first week of July as the event is scheduled for Friday, November 15th. This event will be held at Gillette Stadium and experts will provide guidance on current threats including fentanyl and xylazine and provide guidance for testing and developing community response. This event is free to any Massachusetts law enforcement, fire, EMTs, paramedics, health departments and community service providers and is sponsored by EOPSS, DFS and MPTC.

D. Determination of Next Meeting Date and Adjournment

The date of the next meeting of the Fire Service Commission will be determined by poll as the regularly scheduled meeting date will occur during the S.A.F.E Conference.

DFS staff will poll the Commission for September's meeting date.

A motion to adjourn was made by Chief Burke Jr. and seconded by Chief Ingram.

Said motion was approved by a unanimous vote of the Commission.

The meeting of the Fire Service Commission concluded at 10:19 a.m.