FIRE SERVICE COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING March 24, 2025

The Fire Service Commission held a meeting on Thursday, February 20, 2025, via conference call under Mass. General Law Chapter 30A, Section 20.

Present at the meeting were the following Commission members:

Chief Gregory J. Burns
Chief Brian J. Cook
Captain Michael McCullough
Chief John S. Ingram
Chief Peter J. Burke Jr.
FF Richard D. MacKinnon Jr.
Deputy Secretary Susan Terrey

Absent Commission Members:

Ms. Roberta Fitzpatrick

DFS staff present at the meeting:

State Fire Marshal Jon Davine Deputy State Fire Marshal Maribel Fournier General Counsel Glenn Rooney JoAnne Caruso

There were no guests present.

Meeting called to order by Chairman John Ingram at 3:03 p.m.

AGENDA

A. Approval of Minutes of the February 20th meeting

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded Chief Burke Jr. that the minutes of February 20, 2025 meeting be approved as written.

Chief Cook abstained from the vote due to absence.

The vote was otherwise unanimous in favor of the motion.

B. Credentialing/Re-Credentialing Process

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Neil Myers – Pittsfield Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Lieutenant Kevin Grebinar – Sterling Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Captain Michael Armano – Lawrence Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Chief Michael LaSelva – Marshfield Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Captain William DeKing III – Medfield Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Chief Eric Mathieu – Grafton Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Lieutenant James Perry – Waltham Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Captain Patrick Delaney – Lawrence Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Lieutenant Brenden Ramsey – Mashpee Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Captain Jeffrey Haughey – Belchertown Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award reaccreditation to:

• Captain Daniel Sawicki – Tewksbury Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

C. General Issues and Updates from DFS

Deputy State Fire Marshal Fournier briefed the Commission on the progress at the Bridgewater Campus. The underground lift station and temporary generator are both on schedule. The Firehouse and Crib Room is currently in the study and design phase. We are using the same architect that was used for the Search and Rescue Prop. They have completed site visits to other campuses. The study and design phase is expected to take 18 months.

Round two interviews for the MFA Director are complete.

The cancer screening prerequisites have loosened up and the requirement to be a Massachusetts resident has been removed from the registration form. Any denials will be contacted by April 2025 to ensure they can utilize this program.

State Fire Marshal Davine explained to the Commission that an NERIS (National Emergency Response Information System) email went to Chiefs today. There will be links available on our DFS website as well. Two departments started onboarding, and the goal is to have everyone on board by 1/1/2026.

Marshal Davine also briefed the Commission on Firefighter of the year nomination forms having been sent out and receiving approval to send out Fire Equipment Grant and SAFE grants in the coming weeks.

Lastly, Jeffrey Winn, Director Hazardous Materials Response & Special Operations, will be retiring in May.

D. Determination of Date/Time for Next Meeting

The date of the next meeting of the Fire Service Commission is scheduled for April 17th at 10:00am at the Stow Campus.

A motion to adjourn was made by FF MacKinnon Jr. and seconded by Captain McCullough.

Said motion was approved by a unanimous vote of the Commission.

The meeting of the Fire Service Commission concluded at 3:23 p.m.