FIRE SERVICE COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING November 21, 2024

The Fire Service Commission held a meeting on Thursday, November 21, 2024, via conference call under Mass. General Law Chapter 30A, Section 20.

Present at the meeting were the following Commission members: Chief Gregory J. Burns Captain Michael McCullough Chief John S. Ingram Chief Brian J. Cook Chief Peter J. Burke Jr. Ms. Roberta Fitzpatrick FF Richard D. MacKinnon Jr.

Absent Commission Members: Deputy Secretary Susan Terrey

DFS staff present at the meeting: State Fire Marshal Jon Davine Deputy Fire Marshal Maribel Fournier General Counsel Glenn Rooney Public Information Officer Jake Wark JoAnne Caruso

Guests present: Chief Alexander Schaeffer – Edgartown Fire Department

Meeting called to order by Chairman Gregory Burns at 2:00 p.m.

AGENDA

A. Approval of Minutes of the October 29, 2024 Meeting

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by FF MacKinnon that the minutes of October 29, 2024 meeting be approved as written.

Chief Peter Burke Jr. and Ms. Fitzpatrick abstained from the vote.

The vote was otherwise unanimous in favor of the motion.

B. Credentialing/Re-Credentialing Process

A motion was made by Chief Burke Jr. and seconded by Chief Ingram to award accreditation to:

• Captain Mark Wolfgang – Revere Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Chief Cook to award accreditation to:

• Jameson R. G. Lockhart – Andover Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Chief Burke Jr. to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief Brian Cook – Leverett Fire Department

Chief Cook abstained from this vote.

The vote was otherwise unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by Chief Ingram to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief Andrew Mullin – Waltham Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief Peter O'Connor – Beverly Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief Alexander Schaeffer – Edgartown Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

C. Annual Report Discussion

The Commission reviewed the 2023 Annual Report. DFS Staff will outline the Commission's year for review at the December meeting.

D. General Issues and Updates from DFS

Fire Marshal Davine briefed the Commission SAFE Grants application period closes on December 10th; Fire Equipment Grant awards will be going out soon; memo was sent out to Chiefs re: Mobile Decontamination Units (MDU's) and how to discontinue or dispose; and the White Powder Symposium was a success with close to 400 attendees and funding is being identified to host ten regional trainings with meetings upcoming to determine locations.

General Counsel Rooney let the Commission know that there will be a "Legal Quick Reference Guide" sent out to Chiefs regarding adverse weather which will include drought guidance but will also include additional inclement weather guidance (fog, snow, wind, etc.) as well. He also mentioned that the Governor signed the Mass Leads Act yesterday which establishes alternate pathways for candidates to enter the fire service including but not limited to cadet programs. While the Massachusetts Fire Training Council will have a role there will be a new Commission that the State Fire Marshal will have a seat on.

Deputy Marshal Fournier mentioned that the Bridgewater construction projects continue as an architect was selected and the study and design for the Crib Room and Firehouse will go through the winter months.

E. Determination of Next Meeting Date and Adjournment

The date of the next meeting of the Fire Service Commission is tentatively scheduled to meet on Thursday, December 19th at 10:00am.

A motion to adjourn was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Captain McCullough.

Said motion was approved by a unanimous vote of the Commission.

The meeting of the Fire Service Commission concluded at 2:25 p.m.