FIRE SERVICE COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING October 29, 2024

The Fire Service Commission held a meeting on Tuesday, October 29, 2024, via conference call under Mass. General Law Chapter 30A, Section 20.

Present at the meeting were the following Commission members: Chief Gregory J. Burns Captain Michael McCullough Chief John S. Ingram Chief Brian J. Cook Deputy Secretary Susan Terrey FF Richard D. MacKinnon Jr.

Absent Commission members:

Chief Peter J. Burke Jr. Ms. Roberta Fitzpatrick

DFS staff present at the meeting: State Fire Marshal Jon Davine Deputy Fire Marshal Maribel Fournier General Counsel Glenn Rooney Public Information Officer Jake Wark Alanna Malatos JoAnne Caruso

There were no guests present at the meeting.

Meeting called to order by Chairman Gregory Burns at 10:00 a.m.

AGENDA

A. Approval of Minutes of the September 30, 2024 Meeting

A motion was made by Deputy Secretary Terrey and seconded Chief Ingram that the minutes of September 30, 2024 meeting be approved as written.

FF MacKinnon Jr. abstained from the vote.

The vote was otherwise unanimous in favor of the motion.

B. Credentialing/Re-Credentialing Process

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded Captain McCullough to award accreditation to:

• Captain Eric Sabatinelli – C.O.M.M. Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Captain McCullough to award accreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Jason Saunders – Lenox Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Captain McCullough and FF MacKinnon Jr. to award accreditation to:

• Lieutenant Timothy Bartlett – Andover Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief Eric Jack – Royalston Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award reaccreditation to:

• Chief Angela Lawless – Maynard Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award reaccreditation to:

• Deputy Chief Brian Monahan – Duxbury Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award re-accreditation to:

• Lieutenant David Nichols - Concord Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Captain McCullough and seconded by FF MacKinnon Jr. to award re-accreditation to:

• Chief Timothy Smith – Falmouth Fire Rescue

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

C. General Issues and Updates from DFS

Fire Marshal Davine briefed the Commission on current brush fire concerns and daily Statewide Brush Fire coordination calls with DCR, MEMA, EOPSS and the National Guard; the Fire Equipment Grant application period has closed; SAFE grant guidance and applications will go out on November 4th; Firefighter of the Year will be held at

Mechanics Hall in Worcester on November 18th; and there are ~450 people registered for the upcoming "White Powder Symposium" at Gillette Stadium on November 15th.

Deputy Marshal Fournier updated the Commission on the Bridgwater campus' "Package A" (infrastructure, water and burn building) being well underway; three water reclamation tanks are installed; the FY26 submission included additional concrete pads for the Tech Rescue site; the application period for architects for the next phase (Crib Room and Fire Station) closed on October 23rd, review and architect selection will occur through November and December.

D. Determination of Next Meeting Date and Adjournment

The date of the next meeting of the Fire Service Commission will be determined by poll.

DFS staff will poll the Commission for November's meeting date.

A motion to adjourn was made by Chief Ingram and seconded by Captain McCullough.

Said motion was approved by a unanimous vote of the Commission.

The meeting of the Fire Service Commission concluded at 10:20 a.m.