# FIRE SERVICE COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING September 19, 2017

The Fire Service Commission held a meeting on Tuesday, September 19, 2017 at the Department of Fire Services, Room 119 - Springfield Campus, Springfield, Massachusetts.

**Present** at the meeting were the following Commission members:

Chief Alan J. Roy Chief John Nash Chief Gregory J. Burns Undersecretary Patrick McMurray Chief Michael Morrissey FF Richard D. MacKinnon, Jr.

**Absent** from the meeting were the following Commission members:

Captain Michael McCullough

Mr. John Golembeski

# **DFS staff present** at the meeting:

State Fire Marshal Peter Ostroskey
Deputy State Fire Marshal Maribel Fournier
General Counsel Steven Rourke
Director David Evans
Kerry Weihn
JoAnne Caruso

### **Guest** present at the meeting:

Chief David A. Mottor

### **AGENDA**

## A. Approval of Minutes of May 23, 2017 Meeting

A motion was made by Chief John Nash and seconded by Chief Michael Morrissey that the minutes of May 23, 2017, meeting be approved as written. The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

### B. Credentialing/Re-Credentialing Process

A motion was made by Chief John Nash and seconded by Chief Gregory J. Burns to award accreditation to the following:

#### Credentialing –

- Chief Fred A. Mitchell, Jr. Georgetown Fire Department
- Deputy Chief David Beauregard Chicopee Fire Department
- Deputy Chief David S. Pelonzi Bourne Fire Department
- Lt. Daniel Keane Sandwich Fire Department
- Deputy Chief David S. Cody Bourne Fire Department
- Acting Chief Mark R. Douglass Kingston Fire Department

- Deputy Chief Jason P. Ferschke Westborough Fire Department
- Captain Jerome T. Hart Plymouth Fire Department
- Lt. Jeffrey M. Legrendre West Boylston Fire Department
- Deputy Chief Christopher G. Major Somerville Fire Department
- Captain Brian Morrison COMM Fire District
- Chief David L. Parenti Northborough Fire Department
- Captain Matthew L. Rowley Wareham Fire Department
- Deputy Chief John J. Cotter Cambridge Fire Department
- Captain Daniel W. Donovan Bellingham Fire Department

## Re-Credentialing –

- Assistant Chief John M. Whalen Sudbury Fire Department
- Deputy Chief Robert C. Cole Billerica Fire Department
- Chief Raymond R. Goodwin Onset Fire Department

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

## C. Boards/Commissions/Technical Committees question from application

As a result of an application submitted to the Committee which listed several local committees for point accrual, Commission members discussed the past practice and intent of the Boards/Commissions/Technical Committees question from application. In the past, Committees listed in this portion of the application were approved based on serving a region, not a municipality, as well as benefiting fire service as a whole.

General Counsel Steven Rourke will work on proposal of new language to better explain the intention of the "BOARDS/COMMISSIONS/TECHNICAL COMMITTEES" section of the application to be voted on in the next meeting.

The application which prompted this discussion was not voted on at this meeting. Once a clearer definition of the language is approved the applicant will be added to a meeting agenda.

A motion was made by Chief Michael Morrissey and seconded by Chief John Nash to review proposed changes to the language in the next meeting. The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

## D. Fire Service Commission Enabling Statute Language

The enabling legislation for the Fire Service Commission, M.G.L. c. 6, s. 165, contains language about member absences. General Counsel Steven Rourke provided the "Provision regarding Absence of Appointed Members" and discussed the provision with the Commission. Three missed meetings within a calendar year will deem the position on the Commission as vacant. A tracking system will be put in place to notify members after two absences. Alternates are not allowed and vacant positions within the Commission must be brought to the Governor's office for reappointment or replacement. The quorum remains the same, regardless of vacancies.

A motion was made by Chief Michael Morrissey and seconded by Chief John Nash to acknowledge this provision. The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

## E. General Issues and Updates from DFS

Marshal Ostroskey introduced David Evans as the Director of the Massachusetts Firefighting Academy. His experience as both a Deputy Fire Chief of West Newbury and as an Assistant Principal of Pentucket Regional High School will benefit the department.

The Marshal then reported that he has provided testimony on 45 Bills during this legislative season such as the appeals for sprinklers (Section 26I), Fireworks and sparklers, Carbon monoxide detection in schools, explosives bonds bill, credentialing and technical rescue bills.

General Counsel Rourke provided update on housing court jurisdictions in all communities being passed into law and its benefit to the fire service.

The Department did take a \$350,000 budget cut for fiscal year 2018 which will impact programs and plans for FY18 but is confident that we will absorb it without impacting service. The spending plan is in consideration and we are working off of last year's approvals until it is approved sometime in October.

Additional updates provided on our incident support services; Drone services have begun and it was recently deployed at an incident in Weymouth and Hazardous Materials response to fentanyl incidents is providing adequate support to both fire and police services.

The Academy has implemented the Learning Management System (LMS) and online courses are now available. We are currently working on student transcripts which will be available to all students via LMS at no charge. Correspondence will be sent out soon advising on how to properly update student profiles.

AFG grant funds for an additional maze trailer, additional flashover trailer and a tractor have been awarded and DFS staff will be traveling to the vendor for a 90% inspection of the replacement of Ladder 1.

## F. Determination of Next Meeting Date and Adjournment

The date of the next meeting of the Fire Service Commission is tentatively scheduled for October 17, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. at the Department of Fire Services, Boards and Commissions Room.

Guest Chief David A. Mottor from Easthampton Fire Department took a moment to thank the Commission for now accepting creditable service for Department of Defense members.

A motion to adjourn was made by Chief Alan J. Roy and seconded by Chief John Nash. Said motion was approved by a unanimous vote of the Commission.

The meeting of the Fire Service Commission concluded at 10:52 a.m.