
Commonwealth of Massachusetts 

Division of Standards 

1000 Washington Street, Suite 510 

Boston, MA 02118 

617-727-3480 

 

FEE $450.00 

 

MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR SHOP APPLICATION 
 

This registration is valid for a three (3) year period with a cycle of June 1st to May 31st. The registration fee is $450.00. The forms 

of payment accepted are personal, business or bank checks, and money order. Please make check or money order payable to: 

Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 
 

NOTE: You may also register online to pay with a credit/debit card or electronic check at 

www.mass.gov/standards 
 

Checklist 
 

New applicants: must include two (2) letters of recommendation signed by two (2) individuals who are either: registered 

motor vehicle repair shops, owners, elected public officials, or member of the Massachusetts Bar. Individuals must not be 

two (2) of the same. 
 

All applicants: include a bond in the amount $10,000.00 from a valid surety bond company. If a new bond is required, the 

original bond must accompany this application in accordance with the requirements of G.L. c., 100a §2a. 
 

Are you renewing your registration? Yes No If yes, please provide your registration number:   
 

Are the public areas of the facility for which you are applying for registration accessible to persons with disabilities? Yes No 
 

Business Name:   
 

Business Address:   City/ Town:   Zip Code:   
 

Fed. Tax ID #  SSN #:   
 

Sales Tax #:   
 

Phone #:   Email Address:   
 

Name & License # of Appraiser employed by you:   

If the Appraiser above is different from the owner of business, a letter must accompany this application confirming 

employment, stamped with the individual appraiser’s seal. 
 

Liability Insurer:   Insurance Policy #:   
 

Hazardous Waste ID #:   
 

If applicant is a firm, partnership, association, or corporation, the following must be completed: 

 

Name:   Address:   Title:   
 

Name:   Address:   Title:   
 

Name:   Address:   Title:   
 

Name of Person in Charge:   
 

The name and residences of other persons having direct or indirect financial interest in the business to be conducted under 

this registration are as follows: 

FOR INTERNAL USE ONLY: 
 

REPAIR SHOP #:     

ISSUE DATE:   

ISSUE BY:  

http://www.mass.gov/standards


Name:   Address:   
 

Name:   Address:   
 

Name:   Address:   

 

 

Have there been any formal complaints against you and/or any person listed above where disciplinary action was taken by the 

Division of Standards or any court judgment was issued against you? If so, please give details below. 
 

 
 

 
 
 

Have you and/or any person listed above been charged with, indicted for or convicted of any felony during the last five (5) 

years in any state or jurisdiction? If so, give details below, including but not limited to the docket number, the court, 

disposition, and whether the matter is still pending. 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

Have you and/or any person listed above been a party in any proceedings pending in any state or federal court or 

administrative agency involving fraud, deceit or misrepresentation? If so, give details below, including but not limited to the 

docket number, where the matter is pending, whether the case is open or closed, and if closed the result of the case. 
 

 
 

 
 
 

Have you and/or any person listed above, or any motor vehicle repair shop in which you and/or any person listed above had a 

direct or indirect financial interest, had a previous application for registration denied or a certificate or registration 

suspended, revoked, or suspended by any municipal, state, or federal agency? If so, give details below. 
 

 
 

 
 
 

Pursuant to G.L. c. 62C, § 49A, I certify under pains and penalties of perjury that I have complied with all laws of the 

Commonwealth relating to taxes, reporting of employees and contractors, and withholding and remitting of child support, that 

I have complied with all local permit and license requirements, and that all statements contained in this application, to the best 

of my knowledge and belief, are true. 

 

 

 
Signature of Applicant Date 

 

If applicant is a firm, partnership, association, or corporation: 

 

 
 

Signature of Authorized Officer Date 

 
 

Name and Title of Authorized Officer 
 

Updated 12/12/2022 


