

MAURA HEALEY
GOVERNOR

KIM DRISCOLL LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

YVONNE HAO
SECRETARY, EXECUTIVE OFFICE
OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Occupational Licensure

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710 Boston, Massachusetts 02118

LAYLA R. D'EMILIA UNDERSECRETARY, CONSUMER AFFAIRS AND BUSINESS REGULATION

SARAH R. WILKINSON COMMISSIONER, DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE

Board of Registration of Massage Therapy May 28, 2024 Meeting Minutes

A public meeting of the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Massage Therapy (the Board) was held remotely via video and telephone conferencing pursuant to Chapter 20 of the Acts of 2022, allowing remote participation by Board members and the public.

Attending Members: Paul Andrews/Chair, Alexei Levine/Vice-Chair, Pallas Hutchison, and

Sheri Miller-Bedau

Members Absent: Kimberlee Schuler

Staff: Kerry Cassidy, Executive Director, Peter Kelley, Board Counsel

Meeting Called to Order

Remote meeting procedures – At approximately, 10:02 AM, Paul Andrews confirmed quorum via roll call vote which showed the following members participating via remote means; Paul Andrews, Alexei Levine, Pallas Hutchison, and Sheri Miller-Bedau; Paul Andrews called the meeting to order.

Board Business

Discussion of the USDE Title IV Financial Aid Funding Rule – The Board reviewed a written motion to delegate authority to the Executive Director to approve revised curriculum for Massage Therapy School Programs, to meet anticipated deadlines for Title IV Financial Aid funding. Mr. Levine moved Motion to delegate authority to the Massage Board Executive Director to approve school curriculum reductions in credit hours submitted to the Board provided that the credit hours are no fewer than 650 and that all subject-matter areas for licensure are met. This delegated authority shall expire on 09/09/2024. Seconded by Pallas Hutchison

- O Paul Andrews called for a roll call vote
- Members in favor: Paul Andrews, Alexei Levine, Pallas Hutchison, and Sheri Miller-Bedau
- Members opposed: None; Motion passed

Motion to adjourn the meeting; So Moved by Pallas Hutchison; Seconded by Sheri Miller-Bedau. Following a roll call vote, all members voted in favor, the motion passed.

TELEPHONE: (617) 701-8600 FAX: (617) 701-8652 TTY/TDD: (617) 701-8645 http://www.mass.gov/dpl

• The meeting adjourned at 10: 04 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Janl ac

Kerry Cassidy
Kerry Cassidy

Executive Director

Paul Andrews

Board Chair

List of Documents used in Public Session:

Draft Language for Title IV Financial Aid Delegated Authority