Municipal PoliceTraining Committee Special Meeting Minutes Zoom Meeting October 12, 2021

Call to Order

At 1:05 PM, Chief Jim Hicks called the special meeting of the Municipal Police Training Committee to order. This meeting was conducted virtually and recorded by Zoom.

Roll call: Voting Members

John Melander for Secretary Terrence Reidy Present Chief Jim Hicks Present AAG Jim O'Brien Present Chief Frank Frederickson Present Chief Jennifer Gundersen Present Chief Brian Kyes Present Chief Kelly Nee Present Chief Thomas O'Donnell Present

Superintendent Winnie Cotter Not present for roll call

Superintendent Richard Sullivan Present
Sheriff Kevin Coppinger Present
Sheriff Chris Donelan Present
Sgt. Det. Lanita Cullinane Present
Officer Joseph Vieira Absent
Major Dan McGinn Present

MPTC Staff

ED Robert Ferullo, Sheila Gallagher, Andrea Nardone, Ariel Perez, Shane Rodriguez, Pat Caggiano, Denise Flagg, Eileen Goodick, Nicole Hamwey, Laura Martin, Lara Thomas, and Christopher Walsh.

Guests

David Albanese, Bob Alberti, Jason Almeida, Michael Avila, Josh Barriere, Bobby Barrows, Shawn Bavieri, Chief Randhi Belain, Linda Berolini, Robert Bousquet, Karyta Buena, Kristin Burgess, Paul Burke, Regina Caggiano, D. Callahan, Chris Carpenter, P. Chevarie, Patrick Clark, Lt. Marie Cleary, Michael Cloutier, Jack Collins, Dan Colonno, David Condon, David Cook, Dana Cooley, Chief Crafts, Melissa Croteau, Craig Davis, Chester DeGray, Shawn de Jong, Chris Delmonte, Steven DeMarco, Robert Devlin, Jamie DiGregorio, Josh Dufresne, Dukes County Sheriff's Office, Endicott College, Falm MES, Jarrad Farrington, Chief Darrell Fennelly, KFitzpatrick, Michael Froio, Philip Franzen, Duncan Fuller, Lt. Rebecca Gagne, William Gibbons, K. Gobeille, Angelo Gomez, Jr., Y. Gomez, D. Gould, Lt. Brian Green, Fraser Gregg, Patty Grigas, Brian Guild, Daniel Hamill, Tim Harper, Kara Hartung, John Horvath, Chad Hunter, William Karelis, Kevin Keefe,

Peter Kelly, Jeremy Kenneson, Joseph King, Jonathan Klaren, Karen Kolimaga, Steve Kozloski, Lt. Mitch Kuc, Gene Labonte, Steven LaCava, B. Landis, Chris Lannon, Daniel Larocque, Gearse Lenotte, Keith Leonard, Det. Mel Ligon, Paul Lombardo, Tom Mahoney, Stephen Marsh, Jon Martin, Mike Mason, Massport Police, Kris McDonough, David McGraw, B. McNamee, Chief Miller, Lauren Misale, Todd Mongeon, Amanda Morash, Joe Morgan, Norfolk Sheriff, Kevin O'Grady, Maria Padilla, Flint Panashe, Chief Perkins, Christian Pimentel, Alexander O'Leary, MRandall, Chief Susan Rathbun, Richard Riggs, Chief Rick Rindels, Edgar Rodriguez, RRodriguez, DJ Royston, Matthew Rushton, Donald Scranton, John Sequeira, Matt Shedden, Jeffrey Scott, Maurice Splaine, Joseph St. Martin, Sunderland Police Chief, Steve Taranto, RTepper, Peter Trachtenberg, Strombley, Q. Torres, RVaccaro, Mark Spigel, D. Wade, Robert Wilcox, Joseph Wilson, Alex Wiltz, Lt. Winslow, Adam Woodrow, and Mike Wynn.

PAT requirement of Bridge Academy

Chief Hicks informed the group that there have been many conversations since the MPTC approved the Bridge Academy about the requirement that participants pass the HRD PAT prior to participating in the in-person courses. HRD indicates that their capacity to administer these tests would be difficult, requiring them to run the tests 7 days a week. The Statewide Coordinators for the in-person courses were consulted and indicated that, for liability purposes, there needs to be a medical person certifying that a participant is medically cleared to participate in the in-person trainings. There was further discussion that the HRD medical form satisfies the liability issue.

Chief Kyes made a motion that the component of the PAT not be a prerequisite for attendance at the Bridge Academy. Chief Gundersen seconded the motion and roll call was taken.

John Melander for Secretary Terrence Reidy	Aye
Chief Jim Hicks	Aye
AAG Jim O'Brien	Aye
Chief Frank Frederickson	Aye
Chief Jennifer Gundersen	Aye
Chief Brian Kyes	Aye
Chief Kelly Nee	Aye
Chief Thomas O'Donnell	Aye
Superintendent Winnie Cotter	Aye
Superintendent Richard Sullivan	Aye
Sheriff Kevin Coppinger	Aye
Sheriff Chris Donelan	Aye
Sgt. Det. Lanita Cullinane	Aye
Major Dan McGinn	Aye

The motion passes.

HRD Medical requirement of Bridge Academy

Chief Gundersen made a motion that participants must pass the HRD approved medical prior to attendance at the Bridge Academy. Chief Nee seconded the motion and roll call was taken.

John Melander for Secretary Terrence Reidy	Aye
Chief Jim Hicks	Aye
AAG Jim O'Brien	Aye
Chief Frank Frederickson	Aye
Chief Jennifer Gundersen	Aye
Chief Brian Kyes	Aye
Chief Kelly Nee	Aye
Chief Thomas O'Donnell	Aye
Superintendent Winnie Cotter	Aye
Superintendent Richard Sullivan	Aye
Sheriff Kevin Coppinger	Aye
Sheriff Chris Donelan	Aye
Sgt. Det. Lanita Cullinane	Aye
Major Dan McGinn	Aye

The motion passes.

Adjournment

Chief O'Donnell made a motion to adjourn. Chief Gundersen seconded the motion and roll call was taken.

John Melander for Secretary Terrence Reidy	Aye
Chief Jim Hicks	Aye
AAG Jim O'Brien	Aye
Chief Frank Frederickson	Aye
Chief Jennifer Gundersen	Aye
Chief Brian Kyes	Aye
Chief Kelly Nee	Aye
Chief Thomas O'Donnell	Aye
Superintendent Winnie Cotter	Not present for vote
Superintendent Richard Sullivan	Aye
Sheriff Kevin Coppinger	Aye
Sheriff Chris Donelan	Aye
Sgt. Det. Lanita Cullinane	Aye

Major Dan McGinn

Aye

The motion passes.

The meeting adjourned at 1:47PM.