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Date: July 12, 2007

Subject: New Federal Minimum Wage Poster

Purpose: To inform Local Workforce Investment Boards, One-Stop Career Center
operators and other local workforce investment partners of the availability of a
revised Federal minimum wage poster that must be displayed conspicuously by
all entities that employ workers subject to the Fair Labor Standard Act’s
minimum wage provisions.

Background: Effective July 24, 2007, the federal minimum wage for covered non-exempt

employees will be raised to $5.85 per hour (from $5.15). The federal minimum
wage increases to $6.55 per hour effective July 24, 2008; and $7.25 per hour
effective July 24, 2009.

A revised Federal minimum wage poster, reflecting the recently enacted
minimum wage increases, is now available free of charge on the Department of
Labor’s Web site. Every employer of employees subject to the Fair Labor
Standard Act’s minimum wage provisions must post, and keep posted, a notice
explaining the Act in a conspicuous place in all of their establishments so as to
permit employees to readily read it.

An equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

TDD/TTY 1-800-439-2370 - Voice 1-800-439-0183


http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/compliance/posters/flsa.htm

Action
Required:

Inquiries:

The tip credit provisions of the Fair Labor Standard Act (FLSA) remain the
same. An employer is still required to pay $2.13 an hour in direct wages if that
amount plus the tips received equals at the least the Federal minimum wage,
provided the employer has informed the employee of the tip credit being taken,
the employee retains all tips except to the extent he/she participates in a valid tip
pooling arrangement, and the employee customarily and regularly receives more
than $30 a month in tips.

The youth minimum wage also remains the same. Employees under 20 years of
age may be paid $4.25 per hour during their first 90 consecutive calendar days of
employment with an employer.

IMPORTANT NOTE: The Commonwealth enacted a new minimum wage
standard of $7.50 per hour, effective on January 1, 2007 [MassWorkforce
Issuance No. 06-53, Massachusetts Minimum Wage Increase (8/11/2006)]. This
will increase to $8.00 per hour on January 1, 2008. Massachusetts employers
must continue to observe the higher state minimum wage level for their
Massachusetts” employees.

Please assure that all staff are informed of the contents of this issuance.
Additionally, please assure that all One-Stop Career Centers acquire and post the
revised Federal minimum wage poster in a conspicuous place for employees.

For more information about the availability of posters and compliance assistance
materials, call the U.S. Department of Labor’s toll-free help line at 1-866-4US-
WAGE (487-9243) or visit http://www.wagehour.dol.gov.

Questions about federal minimum wage requirements and related services may
be e-mailed to: compliancehelp@dol.govm for assistance. Technical questions or
problems may be e-mailed to: support@govdelivery.com for assistance.
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