## Non-Emergency Human Service Transportation Task Force

Meeting Minutes September 22, 2022 II:00 am - I2:30 pm

Date of meeting: Thursday, September 22, 2022

Start time: 11:10 am End time: 12:30 pm

Location: Virtual Meeting (Zoom)

Members participating remotely		Vote I*
ı	Elizabeth Denniston (chair) – Executive Office of Health and Human Services	X
2	Tom Cahir – Cape Cod Regional Transit Authority (RTA)	Х
3	Sean Cristofori – Center of Hope Foundation	-
4	Mary Ellen DeFrias – Greater Attleboro-Taunton RTA (GATRA)	Х
5	Mindy Domb – Massachusetts House of Representatives	Х
6	Bruno Fisher – Montachusett RTA (MART)	Х
7	Millie Hernandez – Individual with lived experience	Х
8	Chris Hoeh – Disability Law Center	Х
9	Joe Krajewski – Community Connections	-
10	Catherine Mick – Commonwealth Medicine	Α
11	Mathew Muratore – Massachusetts House of Representatives	Х
12	Patrick O'Connor – Massachusetts Senate	-
13	Stephen Oldfield – Massachusetts Senate (designee for Senator Moran)	Α
14	Jessica Podesva – Boston Center for Independent Living (BCIL)	Х
15	Stephen Salwak - South Shore Community Action Council	Х
16	Leo Sarkissian – The Arc of Massachusetts	Х
17	Meredith Slesinger – MassDOT	Х
18	Sharna Small Borsellino – Human Services Transportation (HST)	Х

<sup>\* (</sup>X) Voted in favor; (O) Opposed; (A) Abstained from vote; (-) Absent from meeting or during vote

## **Proceedings**

Undersecretary Denniston called the meeting of the Non-Emergency Human Service Transportation Task Force to order at 11:10 am. She welcomed members and noted that all votes taken during the meeting would be conducted via roll call.

<u>Vote to approve minutes from the 6/28/2022 meeting:</u> Undersecretary Denniston requested a motion to approve the minutes from the Task Force's previous meeting on June 28, 2022. Director Sarkissian introduced the motion, which was seconded by Representative Muratore and approved by roll-call vote (see detailed record of votes above).

Undersecretary Denniston facilitated a discussion of the draft recommendations, which included improvements to wheelchair securement and safety; improvements to driver training and professionalism; conducting more frequent and unannounced vehicle inspections; improving the complaint process and communication of complaint resolutions; improving on-time performance; improving accessibility and adoption of online booking through apps and portals; and improving call center wait times and professionalism. Undersecretary Denniston noted that the draft recommendations were developed based on feedback received from Task Force members and consumers during the two listening sessions in May 2022. In reviewing each of the draft recommendations, Task Force members provided specific feedback on the wording of the recommendations, which will be incorporated in the next iteration of the report. For additional details, refer to the presentation on the Non-Emergency Human Service Transportation Task Force's Meeting Materials webpage.

## **Vote to adjourn:**

Undersecretary Denniston requested a motion to adjourn. Mr. Hoeh introduced the motion, which was seconded by Administrator Fisher and approved by a voice vote.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:30 pm.