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If name and/or address have changed since 2003, fill in oval: If taxpayer(s) is deceased, fill in appropriate oval(s) (see instructions): 1. 2.

Select only one: Nonresident Part-year resident Filing as both a nonresident and part-year resident (see instructions — you must enclose Schedule R/NR)
Nonresident composite return (see instructions) (This contribution will not change

State Election Campaign Fund: (for part-year residents only) $1 You $1 Spouse, if filing jointly. Total ❿ $ your tax or reduce your refund.)

1 Filing Status: (select one only) Single Married filing joint return Married filing separate return. (Enter spouse’s

Head of household (both must sign return) Soc. Sec. number in the appropriate space above.)

2 Part-Year residents only: Enter dates as Massachusetts resident / / to / /

Total days as Massachusetts resident ÷ 365 = ➛ 2

3 Total Income from U.S. 1040, line 22; 1040A, line 15; 1040EZ, line 4; 1040NR, line 23; 
1040NR-EZ, line 7; or U.S. Telefile Tax Record, item I. If married filing separately, see instructions. . . . ❿ 3

Fill in if using whole-dollar method
4 Exemptions: Fill in if noncustodial parent

a. Personal exemptions. If single or married filing separately, enter $3,300. If head of household, enter $5,100.
If married filing jointly, enter $6,600. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . a

b. Number of dependents. (Do not include yourself or your spouse.) Enter number❿ × $1,000 =. . . . . . b

c. Age 65 or over before 2005: You Spouse. Enter number ❿ × $700 = . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . c

d. Blindness: You Spouse. Enter number ❿ × $2,200 = . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . d

e. Other: 1. Medical/Dental❿ 2. Adoption❿
(from U.S. Sch. A, line 4) (see instructions) 1 + 2 = e

f. Total exemptions. Add items a, b, c, d and e. Enter here and on line 22a. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ❿ 4f

Nonresidents report in lines 5 through 11 Massachusetts source income only. Use line 13 if appropriate.
Part-year residents report in lines 5 through 11 income earned while a resident. Do not use lines 13 or 14.
If filing both as a nonresident and part-year resident, be sure to complete Schedule R/NR,
Resident/Nonresident Worksheet, before proceeding any further.

5 Wages, salaries, tips and other employee compensation (from all Forms W-2 or line 13g) . . . . . . . . . ❿ 5

6 Taxable pensions and annuities (see instructions) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ❿ 6

7 Mass. bank interest: a.❿ – b. exemption = 7

Exemption: if married filing jointly, subtract $200 from Total; otherwise subtract $100 & enter result
Not less than “0.”

8 Business/profession or farm income/loss (enclose Mass. & U.S. Sch. C or C-EZ or U.S. Sch. F) . . . ❿ 8

9 Rental, royalty, REMIC, partnership, S corp., trust income/loss (enclose Massachusetts Sch. E) . . . ❿ 9

10 a.❿ + b.❿ . . . . . . . . a + b = 10
Unemployment Compensation Mass. state lottery winnings

SIGN HERE. Under penalties of perjury, I declare that to the best of my knowledge and belief this return and enclosures are true, correct and complete.

Your signature Date Print paid preparer’s name Preparer’s SSN

/ / or PTIN ❿

Spouse’s signature (if filing jointly) Date Paid preparer’s phone Paid preparer’s

/ / ( ) EIN ❿

May DOR discuss this return with the preparer? ❿ Yes ❿ Paid preparer’s signature Date Fill in if self-employed
I do not want my preparer to file my return electronically ❿ / /

Form 1-NR/PY Mass. Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Tax Return 2004
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PRINT IN BLACK INK
Ovals must be filled in completely. Example: For the year January 1–December 31, 2004 or other taxable year beginning , 2004, ending .

FOR PRIVACY ACT NOTICE, 
SEE INSTRUCTIONS.

1. YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

– –

2. SPOUSE’S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

– –

– –

– –

,

➯

Note: Be sure to enter your 
Social Security number(s) above

MICHAEL MURRAY
PEGGY MURRAY
123 ANY STREET
ANYTOWN MA 02345

57 0 0 0 0 0

6 6 0 0 0 0

1 0 0 0 0 0

7 6 0 0 0 0

04 0 0 0 0 0

2

0000200051

5 0 0 0 0

0

9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Michael Murray 2 1 05

Peggy Murray 2 1 05

9484771

Please read this page carefully as it explains the correct
method of completing your return.

• Name and Address
Use the preaddressed return in the front of the booklet we
sent you. Print in black ink the Social Security number of
each person filing the return in the space provided. If your
address has changed, please make all changes on the
preprinted form. If you did not receive a preaddressed
booklet, print in black ink the full name and address.
Enter names as they appear on your federal tax return.

• Social Security Number
Be sure to enter the Social Security number of each
person filing the return in the space provided.

• Whole-Dollar Method
If using the whole-dollar method, be sure to fill in the
appropriate oval. Then round off, to the nearest dollar,
all amounts on the return and on any schedules. Do not
use the whole-dollar method on worksheets that you use
to reach amounts shown on your return.

$1.00–$1.49 =

$1.50–$1.99 =

• Filling in the Ovals
Make sure all ovals applicable to your filing situation are
filled in completely, as shown:

• Filling in Dollar Amounts/Reporting Losses
When entering amounts on Form 1-NR/PY and sched-
ules, print your numbers in black ink as shown below.
Be sure there is only one number per box. Numbers
must be written completely within the boxes and should
not touch them.

If you are reporting a loss in any line, mark over the “X”
in the far left box for that line. Failure to do so will result
in the loss being machine-read as a gain. Also, be sure
to mark over the “X” boxes in the supporting schedules.
Do not use parentheses or minus signs to indicate losses.

When entering amounts, make sure to enter cents, even
if using the whole dollar method, in the rightmost boxes.
For example, $1,000 should be entered as:

Completing Your Form 1-NR/PY

, ,

$1.00

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0

� If showing a loss, mark over X in box at left

, ,1 0 0 0 0 0

$2.00

• Mailing Checks and Enclosing Forms
Attach to Form 1-NR/PY, with a single staple only, your Form W-2 or 1099 withholding
documents. If you are making a payment, complete Form PV, Payment Voucher. Form PV
is attached to the back of the envelope found in this booklet. Be sure to use the appropriate
“Payment Due” or “Refund Due” label on the envelope. Attach with a single staple your check
or money order to the front of Form PV and enclose with your return. Do not staple support-
ing schedules to the Form 1-NR/PY as this will delay the processing of your return.

Sign Your Return
After you have completed Form 1-NR/PY, sign your name at the bottom of page 1. Your spouse must also sign if this is a joint return. Write the date you
signed the return. Form 1-NR/PY is not considered a valid return unless it is signed. Original signatures are required or the return will not be accepted.

See Schedule Y, line 9 for the Commuter Deduction.

You may be able to lower your taxes by taking advantage of other deductions and/or other credits on Form 1-NR/PY. See lines 19, 33 and 34 of
Form 1-NR/PY and Schedule Y and Schedule Z instructions for a complete list of other deductions and/or credits for which you may be eligi-

ble. Senior citizens, see line 44 and Schedule CB instructions for the Senior Circuit Breaker Credit.

9 Commuter deduction (from worksheet in instructions) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ❿ 9 , , 00057



You Can If You E-File!
What Is E-File?
E-File is filing your state personal income tax return electronically through
one of three methods offered by the Massachusetts Department of Rev-
enue (DOR). Last year, more than one million taxpayers electronically
filed their state income tax returns in the Commonwealth. On average,
they received their refunds in four days.

Paid Preparer
Millions of taxpayers have had their returns electronically filed
through DOR-approved tax preparers. If your tax preparer does

not offer E-File, ask him or her to give it a try!

Note: For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2004, income tax
return preparers who completed 200 or more original Massachusetts
Forms 1 and 1-NR/PY, including those E-Filed, during the previous cal-
endar year are required to use electronic means to file all personal in-
come tax returns, unless the taxpayer specifically directs on the paper
form that the filing be on paper.

If you prefer to file using paper, you must use a DOR-approved tax prep-
aration software package that supports 2-Dimensional (2-D) barcodes.
Visit www.mass.gov/dor for a list of approved preparers.

Be sure to use the proper address when mailing your 2-D barcoded
return. Refund/no tax due: Massachusetts Department of Revenue,
PO Box 7001, Boston, MA 02204-7001. Payment: Massachusetts
Department of Revenue, PO Box 7002, Boston, MA 02204-7002.

Commercial Tax Preparation Software
You can also E-File using DOR-approved commercial tax filing web-
sites or software products or you may be eligible to file your return

electronically for free through the Massachusetts Free File Alliance. Visit
www.mass.gov/dor for a complete listing of approved websites and
products. If you prefer to file using a paper copy, you must use a prod-
uct that incorporates 2-D barcodes into their software. This will expedite
the processing of your return.

Be sure to use the proper address when mailing your 2-D barcoded
return. Refund/no tax due: Massachusetts Department of Revenue,
PO Box 7001, Boston, MA 02204-7001. Payment: Massachusetts
Department of Revenue, PO Box 7002, Boston, MA 02204-7002.

Personal Identification Number (PIN)
If you received this booklet in the mail, be sure to retain the PIN printed
on the back cover. You will need it to Telefile and to access the Depart-
ment’s telephone and Web-based systems that allow you to check the
status of your refund and perform other actions. If you did not get this
booklet in the mail and do not have a PIN, you will need the amount of
your requested refund or tax due from your 2003 Massachusetts tax
return to access these systems. If you are a first-time filer, you will still
be able to access these systems without a PIN.

Why Should You E-File?
◗ Less stress. If you E-File you will not have to worry about math errors,
missing schedules or other common mistakes which could delay your
refund or cause other problems that take time to resolve. And E-File is
safe. Plus, you will receive immediate confirmation that serves as proof
you filed.

◗ Fast refunds. Whether you E-File in January or mid-April, you will
receive your refund, on average, in four days. You also have the option
of having your refund deposited directly into your bank account. (Some
commercial tax preparation products may not offer direct deposit.)

◗ Easy to use. Whether you call or click to file your return, or have your
preparer E-File for you, the E-File system walks you through it step by
step, and does the calculations for you.

◗ Convenient payment options. If you have a tax due, you can file now
and pay later (by April 15, 2005) through Web Services for Income at
www.mass.gov/dor or by Electronic Funds Withdrawal, credit or check
card. You can also file now and pay later using Form PV, Massachusetts
Income Tax Payment Voucher (by April 15, 2005). Form PV is attached
to the back of the envelope found in this booklet. If you choose to pay
by check, be sure to include Form PV to ensure proper crediting of
your account.

Filing Your Extension by Telephone or Via the Web
Certain taxpayers are required to file an automatic six-month extension
of time to file Massachusetts income tax return by telephone or via DOR’s
website. This mandate is required for taxpayers who meet the following
conditions:

◗ you owe no tax; or
◗ you are making a payment of $5,000 or more. If there is a tax
due with your extension, payment can made through Electronic Funds
Withdrawal

If you meet all the criteria above, you must file your extension by tele-
phone or via the web. These options are also available to taxpayers not
meeting the mandate conditions. Call (617) 660-2222 to file your exten-
sion by telephone or visit www.mass.gov/dor to file via the Web. If you
do not have Form M-4868, complete the following worksheet before you
call to determine whether or not you have a tax due.

1. Enter amount from Form 1-NR/PY, line 36, plus any amount 
entered in line 38 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
2. Enter the total of Form 1-NR/PY, lines 40 through 44
3. Amount due. Subtract line 2 from line 1, not less 
than “0” . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

Would You Like More Information?
For more information about E-File, visit DOR’s website, www.mass.
gov/dor or call (617) 887-MDOR, or toll-free in Massachusetts,
1-800-392-6089. DOR’s website also offers visitors a searchable index
of legal rulings; tax forms and publications; news releases; statistical data
and related articles. In addition, our website provides timely information
from our Local Services and Child Support Enforcement divisions.

3Would You Like to Throw This Form Away?



Who Must File
You must file a Massachusetts Nonresident/Part-
Year Resident Income Tax Return, Massachusetts
Form 1-NR/PY, if you were not a resident of Mass-
achusetts and you received Massachusetts source
income in excess of your personal exemption mul-
tiplied by the ratio of your Massachusetts income
to your total income, or you were not a resident of
Massachusetts for the full year and your gross in-
come was more than $8,000 — whether received
from sources inside or outside of Massachusetts.

Check the following categories to make sure you
are a nonresident/part-year resident.

1. You are a full-year Resident if your legal resi-
dence (domicile) was in Massachusetts for the
entire taxable year or if you maintained a perma-
nent place of abode in Massachusetts and during
the year spent more than 183 days, in the aggre-
gate, in the state. If you fit this description, you
should file Form 1, Massachusetts Resident In-
come Tax Return.

2. You are a Nonresident if you are not a resident
of Massachusetts as defined above but received
Massachusetts source income (e.g. from a job in
Massachusetts). Fill in the “Nonresident” oval at the
top of the form if this category applies to you.

3. You are a Part-Year Resident if, during the tax-
able year, you moved to Massachusetts or estab-
lished a permanent place of abode here and be-
came a resident, or you terminated your status as
a Massachusetts resident to establish a residence
outside the state. Fill in the “Part-year resident”
oval at the top of the form if this category applies
to you.

4. Complete the checklist below to determine if
you are required to file Form 1-NR/PY as both a
Nonresident and Part-Year Resident.

Line 1. Were you a Massachusetts resident for
part of the 2004 tax year? Yes No.

Line 2. While you were not a resident of Mass-
achusetts in tax year 2004, did you receive
Massachusetts source income (e.g., from a job
in Massachusetts)? Yes No.

If you answered “Yes” to line 1 only, you should file
as a Part-Year Resident.

If you answered “Yes” to line 2 only, you should file
as a Nonresident.

If you answered “Yes” to both line 1 and line 2,
you must file both as a Nonresident and Part-Year
Resident. Fill in the “Filing as both a nonresident
and part-year resident” oval below the address
section of the form if this category applies to you.
Complete Schedule R/NR, Resident/Nonresident
Worksheet, to calculate the portion of income

earned while a Nonresident and the portion of in-
come earned while a Part-Year Resident. Sched-
ule R/NR is included in this booklet.

For more information on Massachusetts source in-
come, refer to the section “Filing Your Massachu-
setts Return.”

Form 1-NR/PY
Checklist
Use this checklist before mailing your return to
help avoid any errors that may delay the process-
ing of your return.

✔ Is your preprinted name and address correct?

✔ If you received a preprinted Form 1-NR/PY
booklet in the mail, be sure to retain the four-digit
Personal Identification Number (PIN) printed on
the back cover. You may need it use DOR’s Web-
based and/or Interactive Voice Response (IVR)
applications, such as checking the status of your
refund.

✔ Have you entered your Social Security num-
ber(s) on Form 1-NR/PY, even if you received a pre-
addressed booklet in the mail?

✔ Have you completed your Form 1-NR/PY in
black ink?

✔ Have you, and your spouse if married filing
jointly, signed your return at the bottom of page 1
of Form 1-NR/PY?

✔ Are all ovals filled in as necessary?

✔ If using the whole-dollar method, have you
filled in the correct oval?

✔ Have you printed all dollar amounts com-
pletely within the boxes?

✔ Have you marked an “X” in any form or
schedule box that shows a loss?

✔ Is your Social Security number correct on
your Form(s) W-2 or 1099? If incorrect, make the
necessary changes on Form(s) W-2 or 1099.

✔ Have you attached with a single staple your
Forms W-2 or 1099 to the return where indicated?

✔ If making a payment, have you attached with
a single staple your check to the front of Form PV,
Massachusetts Income Tax Payment Voucher, and
enclosed (not stapled) Form PV with your return?
Form PV is attached to the back of the envelope
found in this booklet. Be sure to use the light blue
mailing label when mailing your Form 1-NR/PY
with Form PV.

✔ Are you filing an original copy of the form?
Remember, photocopies of the forms and sched-
ules are not acceptable.

✔ Visit www.mass.gov/dor to see the fill-in
version of Form 1-NR/PY and schedules. They are
easier and quicker to process.

✔ See page 3 for the correct PO boxes if you are
using a tax software product.

Major 2004
Tax Changes
Commuter Deduction
A deduction is allowed for certain amounts paid
by an individual for tolls paid for through a Fast-
Lane account or for weekly or monthly transit
commuter passes for MBTA transit or commuter
rail, not including amounts reimbursed or other-
wise deductible. In the case of a single person or
a married person filing a separate return or a
head of household filing a separate return, this
deduction applies only to the portion of such ex-
pended amount that exceeds $150, and the total
amount deducted cannot exceed $750. In the
case of a married couple filing a joint return, this
deduction applies only to the portion of such
amount expended by each individual that exceeds
$150, and the total amount deducted cannot ex-
ceed $750 for each individual. See TIR 04-25.

Same-Sex Marriage
Beginning May 16, 2004, Massachusetts law per-
mits same-sex couples to be married. See
Goodridge v. Department of Public Health, 440
Mass. 309 (2003). Same-sex spouses will file as
married persons, jointly or separately, for Mass-
achusetts state income tax purposes. However,
federal law does not recognize same-sex marriage,
and same-sex spouses will remain individual filers
for federal purposes. Same-sex spouses who file
as head of household federally will generally not be
eligible to file as head of household for Massachu-
setts purposes. The term “head of household” as
used in Massachusetts derives from the federal
definition, which generally allows the status only
for unmarried persons.

Where elements of Massachusetts taxation derive
from federal law, such as the definition of gross
income, or state deductions that are based on a
federal counterpart, same-sex spouses may need
to perform special calculations to arrive at the
proper Massachusetts tax figure. For more details,
see TIR 04-17, Massachusetts Tax Issues Associ-
ated with Same-Sex Marriages.

Use Tax 
Since 2002, the Massachusetts personal income
tax return has had a line for consumers to report
use tax on items that they may have purchased
out of state or from Internet or mail order sellers
who did not collect Massachusetts sales or use

4 Before You Begin



tax. Recent legislation permits taxpayers to use a
schedule to self-report a “safe-harbor” amount of
use tax based on their Massachusetts adjusted
gross income. A taxpayer may pay this amount in
lieu of the actual amount of use tax that would
otherwise be due with respect to such purchases.
Individual taxpayers electing to report use tax
under this method will not be assessed additional
use tax on audit, even if the actual amount of use
tax due would have been greater than the amount
from the schedule. The amendment applies to pur-
chases made on or after January 1, 2004.

The estimated liability applies only to purchases
of any individual items each having a total sales
price of less than $1,000. For each taxable item
purchased at a sales price of $1,000 or greater,
the actual use tax liability for each purchase must
be added to the amount of the estimated liability.
See line 38 instructions for more information.

Circuit Breaker Tax Credit Increased
A credit is allowed to an owner or tenant of resi-
dential property located in Massachusetts equal to
the amount by which the real estate tax payment
or the rent constituting real estate tax payment ex-
ceeds 10% of the taxpayer’s total income, not to
exceed $820. The amount of the credit is subject
to limitations based on the taxpayer’s total income
and the assessed value of the real estate, which
must not exceed $441,000. For tax year 2004, an
eligible taxpayer’s total income cannot exceed
$44,000 for a single individual who is not the head
of a household, $55,000 for a head of household,
and $66,000 for a husband and wife filing a joint
return. In order to qualify for the credit, a taxpayer
must be age 65 or older and must occupy the
property as his or her principal residence.

The U.S. Internal Revenue Code
as of January 1, 1998
Massachusetts generally adopts the federal treat-
ment of items of income and the federal exclusions
from gross income. In addition, certain deductions
allowed for federal tax purposes are allowed for
Massachusetts tax purposes. With certain excep-
tions, Massachusetts adopts the Internal Revenue
Code (IRC) as amended and in effect on January
1, 1998. The exceptions, where Massachusetts
adopts the current Internal Revenue Code, are
listed below. TIR 02-18 explains recent Mass-
achusetts legislation that adopts current Code for
certain provisions of the personal income tax.

Federal Law Changes not Adopted
by Massachusetts
Student Loan Interest Deductions
The Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconcilia-
tion Act of 2001, Pub. L. 107-16, expanded the
benefits of the federal deduction at sec. 221 for
certain student loan interest, but Massachusetts
has not adopted the new federal changes. Mass-

achusetts adopts the deduction allowed under the
rules of IRC sec. 221, as in effect on January 1,
1998, for certain interest paid by the taxpayer for
a qualified education loan for graduate or under-
graduate education. The deduction is for interest
paid on a qualified education loan during the first
60 months, not including any deferral or forbear-
ance period. For tax year 2004, the maximum de-
duction is $2,500, with the allowable amount
reduced for individuals with federal adjusted
gross income over $40,000 ($60,000 if married
filing jointly). See Schedule Y, line 5 instructions
for more information.

However, in the case of interest payment on educa-
tion debt for undergraduate education, a taxpayer
may elect to take a more favorable Massachusetts
deduction where the amount is not limited by the
1998 rules at sec. 221. For more information on the
Massachusetts deduction, see Schedule Y, line 8.

Parking, T-Pass and Vanpool Fringe
Benefits — IRC sec. 132(f)
The federal exclusion amounts for tax year 2004
are $195 per month for employer-provided park-
ing and $100 per month for employer-provided
vanpool and transit pass benefits combined. Mass-
achusetts, however, follows the inflation adjust-
ment formula allowed under the January 1, 1998
Code. The Massachusetts exclusion amounts for
tax year 2004 are $200 per month for employer-
provided parking and $75 per month for em-
ployer-provided vanpool and transit pass benefits
combined. Furthermore, Massachusetts does not
adopt the federal gross income exclusion for tran-
sit pass and employer-provided vanpool benefits
if the employer offers the benefit as a reduction in
salary and the employee chooses the benefit in lieu
of salary. These differences will be reflected in the
Form W-2 provided by your employer.

Federal “Bonus” Depreciation Law —
IRC sec. 168(k)
The Massachusetts Legislature amended Mass-
achusetts law in 2002 to decouple it from IRC sec.
168(k). Thus, Massachusetts does not adopt the
special first-year depreciation allowance for certain
property placed in service during the period be-
ginning September 11, 2001 and ending Decem-
ber 31, 2004. The federal changes made in 2003
to IRC sec. 168(k) (Pub. L. 108-27), including ex-
tending the time period for acquisition of qualified
property, increasing the depreciation allowance to
50% of the adjusted basis of the qualified prop-
erty, and increasing the limitations on deprecia-
tion for luxury vehicles, are not, therefore, adopted
in Massachusetts. For more information, see TIR
03-25, Depreciable Business Assets; Modifications
for Decoupling from Federal Bonus Depreciation.

Federal Health Savings Accounts
As part of the Medicare Prescription Drug Im-
provement and Modernization Act of 2003 at Pub.
L. 108-173, Congress enacted new IRC sec. 223
establishing Health Savings Accounts (HSAs). For
federal income tax purposes, contributions to an
HSA are excluded from gross income if made by
an employer or deductible from gross income if
made by an individual, the earnings in an HSA ac-
count accrue on a tax-free basis, and distributions
from a HSA that are used to pay qualified medical
expenses are excluded from gross income. Mass-
achusetts has not adopted new IRC sec. 223 re-
garding HSAs. As a result of nonconformity with
the federal law, Massachusetts does not allow the
exclusion from gross income for employer contri-
butions to an employees HSA plan. Also, Mass-
achusetts does not adopt the deduction for a
contribution by an individual to an HSA. For
Massachusetts purposes, earnings in an HSA are
currently taxable. However, to the extent that the
amount was previously taxed by Massachusetts,
distributions from HSAs are not subject to tax.

Archer Medical Savings Account Deduction
Massachusetts adopts the federal Medical Savings
Account (MSA) provisions under IRC sec. 220 as
in effect on January 1, 1998. Due to differences
between the Internal Revenue Code as amended
and in effect as of January 1, 1998, and the cur-
rent year, the Massachusetts deduction for an
Archer MSA contribution is allowable only for
contributions of individuals who were active MSA
participants before January 1, 2001.

Servicemembers Civil Relief Act
The Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Civil Relief Act of 1940
prohibits states from taxing the military compen-
sation of service members whose domicile is in
another state. In 2003, Congress enacted the Ser-
vicemembers Civil Relief Act (Pub. L. 108-189)
which prevents the use of a nonresident service-
member’s military compensation to increase the
state tax liability for other income of the nonresi-
dent servicemember or spouse. The Act provides
a benefit for certain nonresident taxpayers. For
Massachusetts purposes, the Act requires a mod-
ification to the calculation of eligibility for “no tax
status” and the “limited income credit” in those
instances where the servicemember or spouse
file as a Massachusetts nonresident or part-year
resident. For more information, see TIR 04-6.

Military Family Tax Relief Act of 2003
The Military Family Tax Relief Act of 2003 (Pub. L.
108-121) added several provisions to federal law
that provide benefits to taxpayers who are cur-
rently serving in the military. Because Massachu-
setts adopts the Internal Revenue Code as of
January 1, 1998, most of these provisions have
not been incorporated into Massachusetts law, in-
cluding provisions that deal with the increased
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exclusion of specified death gratuity payments,
exclusion of amounts received under the Depart-
ment of Defense Homeowners Assistance Pro-
gram, and deductions for expenses of National
Guard members. However, as explained below,
Massachusetts adopts the current Code for IRC
sec. 121, which governs the exclusion of gain up
to $250,000 ($500,000 for married couples filing
jointly) on the sale of a principal residence if they
resided in the home for two of the five years pre-
ceding the sale. Thus, Massachusetts adopts the
provision of the Military Family Tax Relief Act that
amends IRC sec. 121 whereby qualified military
and Foreign Service personnel can suspend (for
up to 10 years) the time transferred away from
home on official extended duty for purposes of
applying the five-year portion of the two-out-of-
five-year rule.

Massachusetts Adopts the Current
Internal Revenue Code for Certain
Federal Tax Provisions
Section 179 Expensing. Massachusetts follows
current rules under IRC sec. 179 for expensing
depreciable assets. The amount of capital invest-
ment that a small business can expense under
IRC sec. 179 has been increased to $102,000 for
tax year 2004. The phase-out threshold governing
the amount of expensing allowed has increased
to $410,000 for this period. See TIR 03-25 for
more information.

Other areas in which Massachusetts applies the
current Internal Revenue Code consist of:
◗ Treatment of contributions and distributions of
qualified retirement plans, sec. 401(k) plans, sec.
403(b) plans, sec. 457 plans, SEPs (simplified
employee pensions) and SIMPLE IRAs;
◗ Self-employed health insurance deduction under
sec. 162(l);
◗ Deduction of employer contributions to qualified
plans and other retirement plans under IRC sec.
404 (unless an exception applies);
◗ Exclusion of distributions from qualified tuition
plans under IRC sec. 529;
◗ Exclusion of certain income derived from Roth
IRAs as defined in IRC sec. 408A and Education
IRAs as defined in IRC sec. 530;
◗ Treatment of a rollover from a traditional IRA to
a Roth IRA;
◗ Exclusion of gain from the sale of a principal
residence provided by IRC sec. 121;
◗ Trade or business deductions under IRC sec.
62(a)(1) unless an exception applies; and
◗ The limitations provided by IRC secs. 274(m)
and (n) for the deduction of certain travel and
meals and entertainment expenses.

For the above items, Massachusetts automatically
adopts all changes to the Internal Revenue Code,
including changes made after January 1, 1998. For
more information, see TIRs 98-8, 98-15 and 02-18.

Filing Threshold for Estimated Personal
Income Tax
Under prior law, a taxpayer was required to file a
declaration of estimated tax for the taxable year if
they reasonably expected to receive income that is
taxable from sources other than wages upon which
taxes are withheld. No declaration was required if
the amount of estimated tax was $200 or less. Re-
cent legislation raises the threshold for the filing
of individual estimated taxes from $200 to $400.
Also, the Act amends the provision imposing an
addition to tax for underpayment of estimated tax
to reflect the increased threshold of $400. These
changes are effective for tax years beginning on
or after January 1, 2005.

Privacy Act Notice
Under the authority of 42 U.S.C. sec. 405(c)(2)(C)(i),
and M.G.L. c. 62C, sec. 5, the Department of Rev-
enue has the right to require an individual to furnish
his or her Social Security number on a state tax
return. This information is mandatory. The Depart-
ment of Revenue uses Social Security numbers
for taxpayer identification to assist in processing
and keeping track of returns and in determining
and collecting the proper amount of tax due. Under
M.G.L. c. 62C, sec. 40, the taxpayer’s identifying
number is required to process a refund of overpaid
taxes. Although tax return information is generally
confidential pursuant to M.G.L. c. 62C, sec. 21, the
Department of Revenue may disclose return infor-
mation to other taxing authorities and those enti-
ties specified in M.G.L. c. 62C, secs. 21, 22 or 23,
and as otherwise authorized by law.

Common Mistakes
An incomplete or incorrect return can delay the
processing of your return. Following are a number
of tips to help us process your return as quickly
as possible.

Note: You should not staple any items, other than
any required Form(s) W-2 or 1099s, to Form
1-NR/PY. Any enclosures such as schedules,
statements, Form PV, Schedule R/NR, etc. should
simply be placed in the envelope along with Form
1-NR/PY when mailing.

◗ Missing Social Security Number(s). Be sure to
enter your Social Security number(s) in the spaces
provided, even if you received a preaddressed
booklet in the mail.

◗ Incorrect Computation. The Department cor-
rects many returns each year due to errors in
computation. Before mailing your return, check
your arithmetic to make sure the computations
are correct.

◗ Filing Status. Be sure to fill in the correct
oval in line 1, Filing Status. This line is frequently
overlooked.

◗ Exemptions. Be sure that you specify the num-
ber of exemptions you are claiming in line 4, items
b, c and d. Enter the appropriate number(s) in the
small white box.

◗ Missing Pages of Form 1-NR/PY. Form
1-NR/PY is three pages. Be sure to include all
three pages of the return when mailing.

◗ Missing Withholding Statement(s). Be sure
the state copy of all Forms W-2 (Wages), W-2G
(Winnings) and any Forms 1099 that show Mass-
achusetts income tax withheld are attached with a
single staple. These forms are frequently missing
and must be obtained later from you in order to
process the return.

◗ Missing Supporting Schedules. Be sure all re-
quired schedules are enclosed to support the in-
formation on your Form 1-NR/PY. These include
Massachusetts Schedules X, Y, Z, B, C, C-2, D, E,
CB and R/NR. We cannot process your return with-
out these forms.

◗ Government Employee Pension Contributions.
If you were a state, local or county employee and
made contributions to a Massachusetts state or
local pension plan, your total wages for state pur-
poses will be different from the amount you re-
port on your U.S. return. Report your total state
wages from your Form(s) W-2 on Form 1-NR/PY.

◗ Earned Income Credit. You must have your
federal earned income credit amount from your
U.S. return or as computed by the IRS if you
wish to claim the Earned Income Credit on Form
1-NR/PY.

◗ Circuit Breaker Credit. Be sure to complete and
enclose Schedule CB, Circuit Breaker Credit, if you
qualify to claim this credit.

◗ Missing Signatures. Thousands of unsigned
returns are received by the Department every
year. These returns must be returned to the tax-
payers for signatures. If a joint return is filed,
both spouses must sign the return. Make sure
signatures are on the correct lines. Remember to
sign your return at the bottom of page 1 of Form
1-NR/PY.

◗ Missing Form PV. If you are making a payment,
make certain you fill out Form PV, Massachusetts
Income Tax Payment Voucher, and attach with a
single staple your payment to the front of Form
PV. Form PV is attached to the back of the enve-
lope found in this booklet. Enclose Form PV with
your return. Be sure to use the light blue mailing
label when mailing your Form 1-NR/PY with the
Form PV. Note: Go to www.mass.gov/dor and
click on Web Services for Income for online pay-
ment options.
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Filing Your
Massachusetts
Return
As a nonresident, you must file Form 1-NR/PY if
your Massachusetts source income for 2004 ex-
ceeded the smaller of your apportioned personal
exemption, or $8,000.

What Is Massachusetts Source
Income for Nonresidents?
The term “Massachusetts source income” is used
throughout this booklet to describe the types of
income which are taxable to a nonresident.

A nonresident is only subject to tax on items of in-
come derived from or effectively connected with:
◗ any trade, business, or employment carried on
in Massachusetts (see the following section);
◗ participation in any lottery or wagering transac-
tion in Massachusetts; or
◗ ownership of any interest in real or tangible per-
sonal property located in Massachusetts.
Some examples of the types of income taxable to
a nonresident include:
◗ all wages, salaries, tips, bonuses, fees and other
compensation which relate to activities carried on
in Massachusetts, regardless of where or when the
compensation is paid;
◗ unemployment compensation related to previ-
ous Massachusetts employment;
◗ profit from a business, trade, profession,
partnership or S corporation conducted in
Massachusetts;
◗ rents and royalties from real and tangible per-
sonal property located in Massachusetts or from
other business activities in Massachusetts;
◗ gain from the sale of real or tangible personal
property located in Massachusetts;
◗ interest and dividends, only if derived from or
connected with Massachusetts business activity,
or the ownership of Massachusetts real estate or
tangible personal property; and
◗ recent legislation expands the definition of
Massachusetts source income to include gain from
the sale of a business or an interest in a business,
separation, sick or vacation pay, deferred compen-
sation, income from covenants not to compete,
and nonqualified pension income that federal law
allows states to tax.

Income from Massachusetts sources which is not
taxed to residents is not taxed to nonresidents,
e.g., interest on debt obligations of the U.S. and
amounts received as Social Security and worker’s
compensation.

In general, the same exemptions and deductions
allowed to residents are available to nonresidents

to determine taxable income. These items are al-
lowed, however, only to the extent they relate to,
or are allocable to, Massachusetts source income.

Am I Carrying on a Trade, Business
or Employment in Massachusetts
as a Nonresident?
A nonresident generally does not have a trade,
business or employment carried on in Massachu-
setts if his/her presence for business in Mass-
achusetts is casual, isolated and inconsequential.
A nonresident’s presence for business will be con-
sidered casual, isolated and inconsequential if the
nonresident’s business presence in Massachu-
setts is ancillary to the nonresident’s primary busi-
ness or employment duties performed at a base of
operations outside Massachusetts — for example,
an occasional presence in Massachusetts for
management functions, and other similar activi-
ties which are secondary to the individual’s pri-
mary out-of-state duties.

Are Military Personnel Required to
File?
If you enlisted in the service as a Massachusetts
resident and have not established a new domicile
(legal residence) elsewhere and if your gross in-
come is more than $8,000, you are required to file
a Massachusetts income tax return. This applies
even though you may be stationed outside of
Massachusetts. The terms “legal residence” and
“domicile” are used to denote that place where you
have your permanent home and to which, when-
ever you are absent, you have the intention of re-
turning. Nonresident military personnel stationed
in Massachusetts may be subject to Massachu-
setts taxes and should file Form 1-NR/PY if they
earn income from other than military sources.

Note: Massachusetts excludes from gross income
compensation earned by members of the armed
forces for service in a combat zone, to the same
extent it is excluded under federal law.

No guidance is intended on the tax status of such
pay under the laws of other states. Generally,
when income is taxable in two jurisdictions, a
credit for taxes paid to the other jurisdiction is al-
lowed on the taxpayer’s return in the state of his/
her residence.

How Do I Determine My
Legal Residence (Domicile)?
Your legal residence is determined by all the facts
and circumstances in your case. If you have two
or more residences, your legal residence is the
one you regard as your true home or principal res-
idence. You cannot choose to make your home in
one place for the general purposes of life and in
another for tax purposes. Your legal residence is
usually the place where you maintain your most

important family, social, economic, political and
religious ties. A change of legal residence will not
be accomplished by a temporary or protracted ab-
sence from a place; you must not intend to return.

Note: A person is also considered a resident if
they maintain a permanent place of abode in
Massachusetts and spend more than 183 days, in
the aggregate, in the state. See Technical Informa-
tion Release (TIR) 95-7 for a further explanation.

What is Gross Income for a
Part-Year Resident?
As a part-year resident, you must file Form
1-NR/PY if your gross income was more than
$8,000 — whether received from sources inside
or outside of Massachusetts. Gross income for a
part-year resident includes the following:
◗ all wages, salaries, tips, bonuses, fees & other
compensation;
◗ taxable pensions and annuities;
◗ alimony;
◗ income from a business, trade, profession,
partnership, S corporation, trust or estate;
◗ rental, royalty and REMIC income;
◗ unemployment compensation;
◗ taxable interest and dividends;
◗ gambling winnings;
◗ capital gains;
◗ taxable portion of scholarships and fellow-
ships; and
◗ any other income not specifically exempt.

Massachusetts gross income also includes the fol-
lowing which are not subject to the U.S. income tax:
◗ interest from obligations of states and their po-
litical subdivisions, other than Massachusetts and
its political subdivisions; and
◗ income earned by a resident from foreign em-
ployment.

Massachusetts gross income does not include:
◗ interest on obligations of the U.S. and U.S.
territories;
◗ amounts received as U.S. Social Security, pub-
lic welfare assistance, Veterans Administration
disability payments, G.I. Bill education payments,
worker’s compensation, gifts, accident or life in-
surance payments, or certain payments received
by Holocaust survivors; and
◗ compensation earned by members of the armed
forces for service in a combat zone (excluded to
the same extent as under federal law).

What Adjustments Must I Make
as a Part-Year Resident?
Part-year residents must adjust income, deduc-
tions and exemptions when completing Form
1-NR/PY. In general, these items are reduced be-
cause all of your income will not be subject to
Massachusetts tax. Your deductions and exemp-
tions are based on the number of days you were a
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Massachusetts resident or the amount of income
that is subject to Massachusetts tax.

Income: Lines 5 through 11, 24, 27 and 28
If you earned only a portion of the income you re-
ported on your U.S. return while you were a Mass-
achusetts legal resident, subtract from your U.S.
income the amount earned and received while
you were legally domiciled in another state or
country. However, you may be required to include
all income derived from Massachusetts sources
earned while you were a nonresident, such as
from rental property or from a trade or business,
including employment, on Schedule R/NR, Resi-
dent/Nonresident Worksheet. Recent legislation
expands the definition of such income to include
gain from the sale of a business or an interest in a
business, separation, sick or vacation pay, de-
ferred compensation, income from covenants not
to compete, and nonqualified pension income that
federal law allows states to tax.

Deductions: Lines 15 through 19
Most deductions are based on the actual amounts
paid by you associated with the deduction for the
period of time you were in Massachusetts.

Line 17 (the deduction for a dependent under age
12, or dependents age 65 or over as of December
31, 2004, or disabled dependent(s)), Schedule Y,
line 5 (student loan interest deduction, Archer
medical savings account (MSA) deduction and the
deduction for clean fuel vehicles), Schedule Y, line
7 (college tuition deduction) Schedule Y, line 8
(undergraduate student loan interest deduction)
and Schedule Y, line 9 (commuter deduction) are
the only deductions based on the proration of the
number of days you were a Massachusetts resi-
dent. For example, if you are entitled to claim one
dependent under age 12, and if you lived in Mass-
achusetts for only four months, you can claim a
deduction equal to $1,200 (one-third of the $3,600
to which you are otherwise entitled). See line 2 on
Form 1-NR/PY for the proration formula.

Lines 15, 16 and 18 and Schedule Y, lines 1
through 4, line 5 (moving expenses, self-em-
ployed health insurance deduction, qualified per-
forming arts-related expenses, jury duty pay
given to your employer, reforestation amortiza-
tion, repayment of supplemental unemployment
benefits under the Trade Act of 1974, employee
business expenses of fee-basis state or local gov-
ernment officials, and deductible expenses related
to income reported on U.S. Form 1040, line 21 and
Massachusetts Schedule X, line 4) and Schedule
Y, line 6 are based on the actual amounts paid or
received for the period of time you were in Mass-
achusetts. For example, you may only deduct the
amount of alimony paid (Schedule Y, line 3) while
you were a Massachusetts resident. Similarly, the
deduction for penalties on the early withdrawal of

savings is only available if the penalties were re-
lated to Massachusetts interest income report-
able, or previously reported, on a Massachusetts
tax return.

Exemptions: Lines 4a through 4f
Your total exemptions (line 4f) must be prorated
based upon the ratio of days you were a Mass-
achusetts resident. To adjust your exemptions, use
the formula in line 2 and see line 22 instructions.

Earned Income Credit: Line 43
Your earned income credit (line 43) must be pro-
rated based upon the ratio of days you were a
Massachusetts resident. To adjust this credit, use
the formula in line 2 and see line 43 instructions.

Should I Make Estimated Tax
Payments in 2005?
Every taxpayer (whether a resident or nonresi-
dent) who expects to pay more than $400 in
Massachusetts income taxes on income which is
not covered by Massachusetts withholding must
pay Massachusetts estimated taxes. See line 42
instructions for more information.

How Do I File a Decedent’s Return?
A final income tax return must be filed for a tax-
payer who died during the taxable year. It must be
signed and filed by his/her executor, administrator
or surviving spouse for the portion of the year be-
fore the taxpayer’s death. Be sure to fill in oval 1 if
the taxpayer who was listed first on last year’s in-
come tax return is deceased, or oval 2 if the tax-
payer who was listed second on last year’s income
tax return is deceased. Also, enclose a statement
with the refund claimant’s name and Social Secu-
rity number clearly printed.

A joint return may be filed by a surviving spouse.
In the case of the death of both spouses, a final re-
turn must be filed by their legal representative.

Any income received for the decedent for the tax-
able year after the decedent’s death, and for
succeeding taxable years until the estate is com-
pleted, must be reported each year on Massachu-
setts Form 2, Massachusetts Fiduciary Income
Tax Return.

If the decedent’s return shows a refund due, and if
the Probate Court has not appointed a legal repre-
sentative and none is contemplated, a Massachu-
setts Form M-1310, Statement of Claimant to Re-
fund Due on Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer, must be
enclosed with the return so the refund check may
be made payable to the proper person.

When to File
Your Return
Form 1-NR/PY is due on or before April 15, 2005.

How Do I File for an Extension?
To receive an extension of time to file, you must file
an application for automatic six-month extension
of time to file Massachusetts income tax return
and pay the amount of tax you expect to owe on or
before the due date for filing your Massachusetts
income tax return. The filing and approval of this
form will extend the due date for six months. An
approved extension means only that you will not
be assessed a late return penalty for filing your re-
turn after the due date. Interest is charged on any
tax not paid by the original due date.

If you are applying for an extension, see page 3 for
information about filing by telephone or via the Web.

Note: Your extension will not be valid if you fail to
pay 80% of your total tax liability through with-
holding, estimated tax payments or with your ex-
tension. Form M-4868 is available at www.mass.
gov/dor or by calling (617) 887-MDOR or toll-free
in Massachusetts 1-800-392-6089.

Must I File on a Calendar Year Basis?
No. You may file on a fiscal year basis if you keep
your books and records on that fiscal year basis
and if you receive permission from the Commis-
sioner of Revenue. If you file on a fiscal year
basis, you must file on or before the fifteenth day
of the fourth month after the end of your fiscal
year. Taxpayers filing on a fiscal year basis must
complete and file Form 13, Notice of Designation
of Fiscal Year, available at www.mass.gov/dor or
by calling (617) 887-MDOR or toll-free in Mass-
achusetts 1-800-392-6089.

What Should I Do If I Make a
Mistake or Leave Something
Off My Return?
If, after filing your income tax return, you receive
an additional tax statement or discover that an
error was made, do not submit a second tax re-
turn. If corrections are necessary, go to www.
mass.gov/dor and use DOR’s online abatement ap-
plication or file Form CA-6, Application for Abate-
ment/Amended Return. Form CA-6 is available at
www.mass.gov/dor, or you may have one mailed
to you by calling (617) 887-MDOR or toll-free in
Massachusetts 1-800-392-6089.

Name and Address
Use the preaddressed return in the front of the
booklet we sent you if all of the preprinted infor-
mation is correct. Be sure to enter your Social Se-
curity number(s) in the space(s) provided. If you
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received a preaddressed Form 1-NR/PY booklet in
the mail, be sure to retain the four-digit Personal
Identification Number (PIN) printed on the back
cover. You may need it use DOR’s Web-based
and/or Interactive Voice Response (IVR) applica-
tions, such as checking the status of your refund.
If your address has changed, please make all of
the necessary changes on the preprinted form. If
you did not receive a preaddressed return, print
the full name, address, and Social Security num-
ber of each person filing the return in the spaces
provided. Enter names as they appear on your fed-
eral return.

Social Security Number(s)
Be sure to enter your Social Security number on
your return, even if you received a preaddressed
booklet in the mail. Failure to show the correct
Social Security number in the space provided will
delay the processing of your return. If filing jointly,
list your numbers in the order they appear on your
federal return. Also, be sure your employer has
listed the correct Social Security number on your
Form W-2. If you are married, you must list your
spouse’s Social Security number even if you are
filing a separate return.

Beginning January 1, 1997, each foreign person
must use an identification number on any U.S. or
Massachusetts tax return or refund claim filed.
Certain aliens who cannot obtain Social Security
numbers (SSNs) must obtain an IRS-issued indi-
vidual taxpayer identification number (ITINs). This
number can be obtained by filing Form W-7 with
the IRS. The ITIN is not available for U.S. citizens
or persons legally permitted to reside permanently
or to work in the United States. These taxpayers
qualify for SSNs and should obtain them from the
Social Security Administration by filing Form SS-5.
You may obtain Form SS-5 from your local Social
Security Administration (SSA) or call the SSA at
1-800-772-1213.

In instances where you, or your spouse if filing
jointly, are a nonresident alien, enter ‘NRANRANRA”
as your Social Security number in the appropriate
space; if you have applied for but not yet received
a Social Security number, enter “APPAPPAPP.”

Name/Address Change
If you legally changed your name or address in
2004, fill in the oval. If you changed your name,
enclose a copy of your Social Security card or dri-
ver’s license showing your new name. Failure to
include this documentation could delay process-
ing of your return. If you move after filing, be sure
to leave a forwarding address with your local post
office and file a Change of Address Form with the
Massachusetts Department of Revenue. This form
is available to be filed online at www.mass.gov/dor,
or by calling (617) 887-MDOR or toll-free in Mass-
achusetts 1-800-392-6089.

Deceased Taxpayer
Be sure to fill in the appropriate oval if a taxpayer
died during the taxable year. For further informa-
tion, refer to the section “How Do I File a Dece-
dent’s Return?” in the instructions.

Nonresident Composite Return
Massachusetts allows a partnership or an S cor-
poration to file a composite return and make esti-
mated tax payments as an agent on behalf of two
or more qualified electing nonresident partners/
shareholders. This option is also available to pro-
fessional athletic teams who may file a return on
behalf of two or more qualified electing nonresident
team members. Eligible members of a composite
return must meet the following requirements:
◗ must be an individual or the estate or trust of a
deceased nonresident partner;
◗ must not have filed a separate return in Mass-
achusetts for the tax year in question;
◗ must be nonresidents for the entire taxable year;
◗ must not have any other Massachusetts source
income;
◗ must elect to be included in the composite re-
turn by signing a statement; and
◗ must waive the right to claim deductions, ex-
emptions and credits allowable under Ch. 62, secs.
3, 5 and 6. Taxpayers filing a nonresident compos-
ite return should enter “0” on Form 1-NR/PY, lines
20 (total deductions), 22 (exemption amount) and
35 (total credits).

Any professional athletic team that has two or
more qualified electing nonresident team members
may file a composite tax return as an agent for the
qualified electing nonresident team members. Each
electing nonresident team member must sign
under penalties of perjury a statement affirmatively
stating such team member's qualifications and
election to file a composite return. The composite
return is filed on Massachusetts Form 1-NR/PY
along with the applicable schedules and attach-
ments. The total Massachusetts gross income re-
ported on the composite Form 1 NR/PY must be
the sum of all the qualified electing nonresident
members' Massachusetts source income.

Be sure to fill in the “Nonresident composite re-
turn” oval if filing this category applies to you.

Residency Status
Fill in the “Nonresident” oval if you were not a res-
ident of Massachusetts and you received Mass-
achusetts source income. See the section “What
is Massachusetts Source Income for Nonresi-
dents?” for an explanation of Massachusetts
source income.

Fill in the “Part-year resident” oval if you were a
resident of Massachusetts for less than the full
year, you received Massachusetts gross income in
excess of $8,000 and you did not receive Mass-
achusetts source income while a nonresident.

Fill in the “Filing both as a nonresident and part-
year resident” oval if both categories apply to you
in the same tax year. See the section “Who Must
File.” You must also complete and enclose with
your return Schedule R/NR, Resident/Nonresi-
dent Worksheet. This worksheet is included in
this booklet.

Voluntary Contribution to State Election
Campaign Fund (for part-year residents
only)
You, and your spouse if filing jointly, may volun-
tarily contribute $1 each to the state Election Cam-
paign Fund. The purpose of the fund is to provide
limited public financing for campaigns of eligible
candidates for statewide and elective office. This
contribution will not change your tax or reduce
your refund.

Note: Lines without specific instructions are con-
sidered to be self-explanatory.

Line 1. Filing Status
Note: More than one filing status may apply to
you. If so, you may wish to figure your taxes
based upon more than one filing status to see
which status is to your benefit.

Single
Fill in the “Single” oval if you were single as of
December 31, 2004. This status applies to you if,
at the close of the taxable year, you fit into any of
the following categories:
◗ you were unmarried;
◗ you were a widow or a widower whose spouse
died before 2004; or
◗ you were legally separated under a final judg-
ment of the probate court.

Please note that you are not single if: 1) you have
obtained a judgment of divorce which has not yet
become final; 2) you have a temporary support
order; or 3) you and your spouse simply choose
to live apart.

Married Filing Joint Return
Fill in the “Married filing joint return” oval if you
were legally married as of December 31, 2004,
and you elect to file a joint return. A joint return is
allowed even if only one spouse had income. Both
spouses are responsible for the accuracy of all in-
formation entered on a joint return, and both must
sign. If your spouse died during 2004, you may
still choose to file a joint return.

Please note that a joint Form 1-NR/PY is not al-
lowed unless each spouse is reporting income for
the same resident or nonresident period. For ex-
ample, John (a Massachusetts resident) and Jane
(a New Hampshire resident) both work in Mass-
achusetts. After they were married in June 2004,
John moved to New Hampshire to live with Jane.
They cannot file a joint return because their non-

9Line by Line Instructions



resident tax years are different. (Jane lived in New
Hampshire during the entire year, but John only
lived there for six months.)

Note: Same-sex spouses filing a Massachusetts
joint return should combine their figures from
their separate U.S. returns.

Married Filing Separate Return
Fill in the “Married filing separate return” oval if
you were legally married as of December 31,
2004, but you elect to file a separate return. Enter
your spouse’s Social Security number in the space
provided.

Head of Household
Fill in the “Head of household” oval if you qualify
to file this status federally. This status is for un-
married people who paid over half the cost of
keeping up a home for a qualifying person, such
as a child who lived with you or your dependent
parent. Certain married people who lived apart
from their spouse for the last six months of 2004
may also be able to use this status. See IRS Publi-
cation 501, Exemptions, Standard Deduction, and
Filing Information, for more information.

Line 2. Part-Year Resident
Proration Formula
Part-year residents must fill out the proration for-
mula in line 2. Enter the dates you were a Mass-
achusetts resident in the spaces provided. Then,
enter the total days you were a Massachusetts res-
ident and divide this number by 365 and carry this
division out to four decimal places. Failure to do
so may delay the processing of your return. This
figure is used to determine the portion of certain
deductions, exemptions and the earned income
credit a part-year resident may be eligible for.

Line 3. Total U.S. Income
Enter the amount of your total income before ad-
justments from your U.S. return — U.S. 1040, line
22; 1040A, line 15; 1040EZ, line 4; 1040NR, line
23; 1040NR-EZ, line 7; or U.S. Telefile Tax Rec-
ord, item I. This item is requested for administra-
tive reasons; it is not used in the calculation of
your tax. Note: If you are filing Form 1-NR/PY as
“married filing separate return” and you filed your
U.S. return jointly, the amount entered in line 3
should only be the amount attributable to your
portion of total U.S. income.

Whole-Dollar Method
Rounding off all amounts on your return will has-
ten processing of your return. If doing so, please
fill in the appropriate oval. Then, round off, to the
nearest dollar, all amounts on the return and on
any attached schedules.

◗ Do not use the whole-dollar method in calcula-
tions on worksheets that you use to reach the
amounts shown on your return.

Noncustodial Parent
Fill in this oval if you are a “noncustodial parent.”
A noncustodial parent is defined as a person who
has a minor child, but does not live with the child.

Note: If you are the biological parent of a child,
but your parental rights have been terminated, you
are not the noncustodial parent of that child.

Line 4. Exemptions
Line 4a: Personal Exemptions
Each taxpayer is entitled to claim a personal ex-
emption. The amount of your personal exemption
depends on your filing status as filled in line 1.

◗ If you are single or married filing a separate
return, enter $3,300 in item a.
◗ If filing as head of household, enter $5,100 in
item a.
◗ If married filing a joint return, enter $6,600 in
item a.

Line 4b: Number of Dependents
You may claim a $1,000 exemption for each of
your dependents if you claimed them on your
U.S. return. Enter in the box in item b the number
of dependents you listed on U.S. Form 1040 or
1040A, line 6c or U.S. Form 1040NR, line 7c. Do
not include yourself or your spouse. Then, multi-
ply that total by $1,000 and enter the total amount
in line 4b.

Note: In a few cases, the number of dependents
claimed for Massachusetts purposes and for U.S.
purposes may differ. For U.S. tax purposes, a de-
pendent exemption is not allowed for a person
who would otherwise be a dependent but who files
his/her own income tax return and claims a per-
sonal exemption. For Massachusetts tax purposes,
you can claim a dependent exemption for such a
person. If you claim such a dependent in Mass-
achusetts, increase the number reported in item b
from your U.S. return by the number of such addi-
tional dependents.

Line 4c: Age 65 or Over Before 2005
You are allowed an additional $700 exemption if
you were age 65 or over before January 1, 2005. If
your spouse was age 65 or over and you are filing
a joint return, you may also claim a $700 exemp-
tion for your spouse. Fill in the appropriate oval(s)
and enter the total number of persons age 65 or
over in the small box. Then, multiply that total by
$700 and enter the total amount in line 4c.

Line 4d: Blindness Exemption
You are allowed an additional $2,200 exemption if
you are legally blind. If your spouse is also legally
blind and you are filing a joint return, you may

also claim a $2,200 exemption for your spouse.
Fill in the appropriate oval(s) and enter the total
number of blindness exemptions in the small box.
Then, multiply that total by $2,200 and enter the
total amount in line 4d.

Legal Definition of Blindness
You are legally blind and qualify for the blindness
exemption if your visual acuity with correction is
20/200 or less in the better eye, or if your periph-
eral field of vision has been contracted to a 10-de-
gree radius or less, regardless of visual acuity.

Line 4e: Other: Medical and Dental
Expenses/Adoption Agency Fee
You may claim an exemption for medical and den-
tal expenses paid during 2004 only if you itemized
these expenses on your U.S. Form 1040, Sched-
ule A. If you are married filing a joint U.S. Form
1040, you must file a joint Massachusetts Form
1-NR/PY to claim this exemption. Enter in line 4e,
item 1 the amount reported on your U.S. Form
1040, Schedule A, line 4.

If you paid adoption fees to a licensed adoption
agency during 2004, you are eligible for an exemp-
tion of the total amount of the fees paid during the
year. Fees paid during 2004 to an agency licensed
to place children for adoption on account of the
adoption process of a minor child regardless of
whether an adoption actually took place during
2004 should also be included for this exemption.
Enter this amount in line 4e, item 2.

Note: No deduction is allowed for any portion of
expenses that are paid or reimbursed by an em-
ployer and excluded from gross income under IRC
sec. 137.

Enclose a statement showing the name and ad-
dress of the licensed adoption agency and the
agency fees. Add item 1 and item 2 and enter the
total in line 4e.

Line 4f: Total Exemptions
Add lines 4a through 4e and enter the total in line
4f. This amount should also be entered on line 22a
of Form 1-NR/PY.

Lines 5 through 11
◗ Income received by nonresidents is taxed only
when it is from Massachusetts sources. Refer to
the general instructions in this booklet for a defin-
ition of Massachusetts source income. The in-
structions for each of these lines will describe
Massachusetts source income in more detail. For
part-year residents, income received while a resi-
dent, whether from sources inside or outside of
Massachusetts, is taxable.

◗ Your entries must agree with the appropriate
amounts on your copies of Forms W-2 and 1099,
and/or required schedules for lines 8 and 9. Non-
residents, if your actual Massachusetts income is
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not known, see the Nonresident Apportionment
Worksheet in line 13 and accompanying instruc-
tions. Note: You cannot apportion Massachusetts
wages as shown on Form W-2.

5.3% Income
DOR and the IRS maintain an extensive exchange
program, routinely sharing computer tapes and
audit results. Discrepancies between income, de-
ductions, and schedules reported federally and on
this return, except those allowed under state law,
will be identified and may result in a state audit or
further investigation.

Note: If filing as both a nonresident and part-year
resident, you must complete Schedule R/NR, Res-
ident/Nonresident Worksheet, before proceeding.

Line 5. Wages, Salaries, Tips and
Other Employee Compensation
Report in line 5 total state wages from Form(s)
W-2. Enter the amount(s) stated as Massachusetts
wages. Note: Part-year residents, income earned
while a Massachusetts resident in another state is
subject to taxation in Massachusetts. In most
cases your total wages will be the same amount
reported on your U.S. 1040 or 1040A, line 7; U.S.
1040EZ, line 1; U.S.1040NR, line 8; or U.S.
1040NR-EZ, line 3 unless:
◗ you or your spouse earned income from em-
ployment outside Massachusetts (nonresidents
only);
◗ you were a Massachusetts legal resident work-
ing in a foreign country (part-year residents only);
◗ you were a legal resident of Massachusetts for
only a part of 2004; or
◗ you were a state or local employee and made
contributions to a Massachusetts state or local
pension plan.

Differences Between Wages for
Massachusetts Tax Purposes and
Those Reported on Your U.S. Return
◗ Nonresidents earning a portion of income
from employment outside Massachusetts. If a
portion of the wage income reported on your U.S.
return was earned outside Massachusetts, the
amount in line 5 should not include wages earned
in another state or country.

◗ Massachusetts legal residents working in a
foreign country while a Massachusetts resident.
Income earned in a foreign country is subject to
taxation in Massachusetts. If you excluded part or
all of the compensation earned in a foreign coun-
try on your U.S. return (under sec. 911 of the U.S.
IRC), you must include any such amount in line 5
for Massachusetts tax purposes.

◗ Part-year residents of Massachusetts. If you
earned only a portion of the income you reported

on your U.S. return while you were a Massachu-
setts legal resident, subtract from your U.S. wages
the amount earned and received while you were
legally domiciled in another state or country.

◗ State or local employees contributing to pen-
sion plans. If you are a Massachusetts state, city,
town or county employee and contributed to your
pension plan, enter in line 5 the Form W-2 state
wage amount. This amount will be greater than
the U.S. amount because your pension contribu-
tions are excluded from your income for U.S. tax
purposes. Contributions up to $2,000 may still be
deducted in line 15a or 15b for Massachusetts tax
purposes.

Line 6. Taxable Pensions
and Annuities
Nonresidents. Under Title 4 of the United States
Code, section 114, payments to nonresidents
from certain qualified pension plans are not sub-
ject to tax.

Qualified plans include: a qualified trust under IRC
sec. 401(a) exempt from taxation under IRC sec.
501(a); simplified IRC sec. 408(k) plans; IRC sec.
403(a) annuity plans; IRC sec. 403(b) annuity
contracts; IRC sec. 7701(a) (37) individual retire-
ment plans; eligible deferred compensation plans
of state and local governments and tax exempt or-
ganizations as defined by IRC sec. 457; IRC sec.
414(d) government plans; a trust or trusts de-
scribed in IRC sec. 501(c) (18); and any plan, pro-
gram or arrangement described in IRC sec.
3121(v)(2)(C) if payments are made at least annu-
ally and spread over the actuarial life expectancy
of the beneficiaries, or if payments are spread over
at least a ten-year period. Such income is also
protected from state taxation if the plans are trusts
under IRC sec. 401(a), but exceed limits laid down
in IRC secs. 401(k), 401(m), 402(g), 403(b),
408(k) or 415 or any other limitation on contribu-
tions or benefits which may apply in the Code.

Retirement or retainer pay of a member or former
member of a uniformed service computed under
10 U.S.C. chapter 71 (military pensions) received
by a nonresident is also exempt.

Any income from pensions related to a Massachu-
setts trade, business or employment that is not
derived from one of the qualified pension plans
listed above is taxable. Enter in line 6 the portion
of those pensions reported on your U.S. Form
1040, line 16a or U.S. Form 1040A, line 12a, that
are taxable to Massachusetts nonresidents.

Part-year residents. Income from most private
pensions or annuity plans is taxable in Massachu-
setts. You must report the taxable pension income
you received while a resident of Massachusetts.
Certain government pensions, however, are ex-
empt under Massachusetts law. In general, ex-
empt pensions include contributory pensions

from the U.S. government or the Commonwealth
of Massachusetts and its political subdivisions,
and noncontributory military pensions. The fol-
lowing section describes some specific pensions
which are exempt. If your pension is not exempt,
you should generally enter in line 6 the taxable
amount reported on your U.S. Form 1040, line
16b or U.S. Form 1040A, line 12b. In some cases,
however, Massachusetts law requires an adjust-
ment to the federal amount. Distributions from
annuity, stock bonus, pension, profit-sharing or
deferred payment plans or contracts described in
secs. 403(b) and 404 of the U.S. IRC must be ad-
justed to account for your contributions that have
been previously taxed. Subtract from such income
(as reported on your U.S. Form 1040, line 16a or
U.S. Form 1040A, line 12a) the amount of your
contributions which were previously taxed by
Massachusetts until the total of your taxed contri-
butions is received. If your pension falls into this
category, enter the adjusted amount in line 6 and
explain briefly (in an enclosed statement) why this
amount is different than the amount reported on
your U.S. return. If you are receiving distributions
from an IRA or Keogh plan, do not report the in-
come here; instead, see to the instructions for
Schedule X, line 2.

What pensions are exempt?
◗ Pension income received from a contributory
annuity, pension, endowment or retirement fund
of the U.S. government or the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts and its political subdivisions.

◗ Pensions from other states or its political sub-
divisions which do not tax such income from
Massachusetts or its political subdivisions may
be eligible to be deducted from Massachusetts
taxable income. This pension income, however,
should be reported in line 6. Refer to Schedule Y,
line 6 instructions to determine eligibility for this
deduction.

◗ Noncontributory pension income or survivor-
ship benefits received from the U.S. uniformed
services (Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force,
Coast Guard, commissioned corps of the Public
Health Service and National Oceanic and Atmos-
pheric Administration) is exempt from taxation in
Massachusetts.

◗ Massachusetts state court judges who were ap-
pointed on or after January 2, 1975 are partici-
pants in the Massachusetts contributory retirement
system and their pensions are nontaxable. State
court judges who were appointed prior to January
2, 1975 receive taxable noncontributory pensions.

If you retired under Chapter 32, Sections 56
through 60 of Massachusetts General Laws and
are a veteran who began Massachusetts state
service prior to July 1, 1939, all or part of your
pension income may be subject to tax. If you
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elected to receive your proceeds from contribu-
tions in one lump-sum distribution, your original
contributions to the retirement system are not tax-
able. Noncontributory pension income received
after a lump-sum distribution is fully taxable and
should be reported in line 6.

How do I report lump-sum distributions?
If you were an employee of the U. S., Massachu-
setts or one of its political subdivisions and left
public employment prior to retirement, you are not
required to report as income the lump-sum distri-
bution of your previous pension contributions.

Lump-sum distributions of qualified employee
benefit plans in excess of the employee’s contri-
butions which were previously subject to Mass-
achusetts tax (or not previously excluded from
Massachusetts tax) must be reported in line 6.
Generally, qualified rollovers are not taxable in
Massachusetts to the extent they are not taxable on
your U.S. return. Lump-sum distributions related
to IRA/Keogh distributions should be reported on
Schedule X, line 2.

Rollover from a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA
(Part-Year Residents Only). Taxpayers with
$100,000 or less in federal adjusted gross income
are allowed to make partial or complete rollovers
from existing IRAs to Roth IRAs. Any taxable por-
tion of these rollovers included in federal gross in-
come received while a resident of Massachusetts
is also included in Massachusetts gross income,
except for amounts previously subject to Mass-
achusetts personal income tax. See Schedule X,
line 2 instructions for further details.

Note: Massachusetts does not tax Social Security
income, therefore, you should not report such in-
come on Massachusetts Form 1-NR/PY.

Line 7. Interest from Massachusetts
Banks
Nonresidents. Interest income is only taxable if it
is related to a Massachusetts trade, business, pro-
fession, partnership or S corporation, or to the
ownership of real estate or tangible personal
property located in Massachusetts.

Part-year residents. While a resident of Mass-
achusetts, interest received from any savings
banks, cooperative banks, national banks, trust
companies, savings and loan associations or
credit unions located in Massachusetts is taxable.

Nonresidents/part-year residents, report in line 7a
such interest taxable by Massachusetts.

To report interest taxable to a nonresident/part-year
resident from banks located in Massachusetts,
enter in line 7a all amounts of interest received or
credited to these deposit accounts (term and time
deposits, including certificates of deposit, savings
accounts, savings shares, and NOW accounts).
Combine all accounts at the same bank. Enclose a

statement listing names of all savings banks, coop-
erative banks, national banks, trust companies,
savings and loan associations or credit unions in
which you have deposit accounts. In line 7b, enter
the exemption amount ($200 if married filing a
joint return; otherwise enter $100) and subtract
this amount from line 7a. Enter the result in line 7,
but not less than “0.” Note: This exemption amount
does not apply to your U.S. tax return.

Do not subtract interest forfeited or penalties
charged to you for early savings withdrawal. You
may be allowed to deduct these amounts on
Schedule Y, line 2. All other interest, unless ex-
empt, should be entered on Massachusetts Sched-
ule B. The return on an IRA/Keogh is not taxable
until distributed.

Lines 8, 9 and 12. If showing a loss in lines 8, 9
or 12, be sure to mark over the “X” in the box to
the left. Do not use parentheses or negative signs
to indicate losses.

Line 8. Business/Profession
or Farm Income or Loss
Nonresidents engaged in a business or profession
in Massachusetts must complete a Massachu-
setts Schedule C, Profit or Loss from a Business
or Profession, and enter the amount of income or
loss in line 8.

Part-year residents must report the income or
loss from a business or profession received while
a resident of Massachusetts, whether derived
from sources inside or outside of Massachusetts.

Enter the amount of such income or loss that
would be reported on Massachusetts Schedule C,
line 31. You must enclose Massachusetts Sched-
ule C with this return. Also, enclose a copy of
your U.S. Schedule C or Schedule C-EZ if substi-
tuting U.S. Schedule C or C-EZ for Massachusetts
Schedule C. Nonresidents, if your business or
profession derived income from both inside and
outside Massachusetts, see the Nonresident Ap-
portionment Worksheet instructions in line 13.

Note: You may substitute U.S. Schedule C or C-EZ
for Massachusetts Schedule C if there are no dif-
ferences between the amounts reported on U.S.
Schedule C or C-EZ and amounts that would be
reported on Massachusetts Schedule C. Be sure
to write “No Massachusetts Differences” on the
top of the U.S. Schedule C or C-EZ.

If you operate a farm as an individual or coopera-
tive, enter the amount of income or loss from op-
erating a farm from U.S. Schedule F, Profit or Loss
from Farming, line 36. Enclose a copy of U.S.
Schedule F. Complete a pro-forma U.S. Schedule F
to report Massachusetts differences, such as bo-
nus depreciation.

Line 9. Rental, Royalty, REMIC,
Partnership, S Corporation,
Trust Income or Loss
Nonresidents. Report the amount of Massachu-
setts source income or loss from the items listed
above.

Part-year residents. Report the amount of in-
come or loss from the items listed, received while
a resident of Massachusetts, whether derived from
sources inside or outside of Massachusetts.

Enter in line 9 the total of: Massachusetts Schedule
E, Part I, line 5; Part II, line 8; and Part III, line 11.
Remember to subtract losses when calculating the
total. You must enclose Massachusetts Schedule
E and a copy of U.S. Schedule E. Explain on an en-
closed sheet any differences in amounts entered
on the Massachusetts and U.S. schedules. See
Massachusetts Schedule E instructions for an ex-
planation of possible differences.

Line 10a. Unemployment
Compensation
Nonresidents. Enter the portion of your unemploy-
ment compensation reported on U.S. Form 1040,
line 19; U.S. Form 1040A, line 13; U.S. Form
1040EZ, line 3; U.S. Form 1040NR, line 20; or U.S.
Telefile Tax Record, item D, related to previous
Massachusetts employment. Only unemployment
compensation related to previous Massachusetts
employment is taxable to nonresidents. If you
elected voluntary withholding of Massachusetts
state income taxes on your unemployment com-
pensation, be sure to include the amount of Mass-
achusetts state income tax withheld as reported
on Form 1099-G on Form 1-NR/PY, line 40 and
attach with a single staple, where indicated on the
return, Form 1099-G.

Part-year residents. Enter in line 10a the amount
of unemployment compensation reported on U.S.
Form 1040, line 19; U.S. Form 1040A, line 13;
U.S. Form 1040EZ, line 3; U.S. Form 1040NR, line
20; or U.S. Telefile Tax Record, item D, received
while you were a resident of Massachusetts,
whether related to employment inside or outside
of Massachusetts. If you elected voluntary with-
holding of Massachusetts state income taxes on
your unemployment compensation, be sure to in-
clude the amount of Massachusetts state income
tax withheld as reported on Form 1099-G on Form
1-NR/PY, line 40 and attach with a single staple,
where indicated on the return, Form 1099-G.

Note: DOR routinely matches the amounts in line
10a with files from the Division of Unemployment
Assistance.
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Line 10b. Massachusetts State
Lottery Winnings
Enter in line 10b all winnings from the Massachu-
setts state lottery. Do not enter less than “0.” You
may only deduct the price of your winning ticket.
Lottery losses claimed as itemized deductions on
U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A are not allowed on
your Massachusetts return.

Note: DOR routinely matches the amounts in line
10b with files from the Lottery Commission.

Add lines 10a and 10b and enter the total in line 10.

Line 11. Other Income
(from Schedule X)
Alimony Received, Taxable IRA/Keogh
and Roth IRA Distributions, Other
Gambling Winnings, Fees and
Other 5.3% Income
“Other 5.3% income” includes the items listed
above and must be included on Schedule X. Enter
the total from Schedule X, line 5. Not less than
“0.” Be sure to enclose Schedule X with your re-
turn. Enclose an additional statement if more space
is needed. Failure to enclose this schedule will
delay the processing of your return. See Schedule
X instructions.

Line 12. Total 5.3% Income
Add lines 5 through 11 and enter the total in line
12. Remember to subtract any losses marked
with an “X” when calculating the total.

Apportionment —
Nonresidents Only
Sometimes your business or employment re-
quires you to work both inside and outside Mass-
achusetts, but you do not know the actual amount
of income you earned from working in Massachu-
setts. In this case, you must apportion your in-
come so that only the correct portion (the amount
attributable to Massachusetts) will be taxed by
Massachusetts. Some nonresidents must use the
Nonresident Apportionment Worksheet in line 13
for this purpose.

Who Cannot Apportion Income?
If you know the actual amount of your Massachu-
setts source income, do not apportion. Report
your income taxable in Massachusetts on your
Massachusetts return. Examples of nonresidents
who cannot apportion include:
◗ an employee whose actual Massachusetts in-
come is shown on Form W-2;
◗ an employee whose Form W-2 does not indicate
initially his/her actual Massachusetts income but
whose employer issues a corrected Form W-2 or

other statement which breaks down this amount.
Since your employer is required by law to withhold
Massachusetts tax on your Massachusetts wages,
this breakdown will be easy to obtain; and
◗ a self-employed person whose actual Mass-
achusetts income is known, such as a surgeon
who comes to Massachusetts to perform a spe-
cific operation for a set fee.

In the few cases when your employer fails to issue
a separate Form W-2 that includes only Massachu-
setts earnings, you may use the Nonresident Ap-
portionment Worksheet to adjust your earnings.

Who Must Use the Nonresident
Apportionment Worksheet?
If your employment or business took you both in-
side and outside Massachusetts and you do not
know the actual amount of income you earned in
Massachusetts, you must use the Nonresident Ap-
portionment Worksheet if you are a self-employed
person or employee who is on an hourly, daily,
weekly, monthly or mileage basis, or whose com-
pensation depends upon sales, at least some of
which take place outside of Massachusetts.

Who Can Apportion Income But
Cannot Use the Nonresident
Apportionment Worksheet?
If you do not know the actual amount of income
you earned in Massachusetts from one business
or employment, but you do not fit into any of the
categories listed in the preceding section, you
should not use the Nonresident Apportionment
Worksheet. See the section on “Special Apportion-
ment Methods” for your apportionment method.

Examples of nonresidents who must apportion in-
come using one of these special methods include:
◗ an independent business or professional person
whose income does not depend on sales, days or
mileage;
◗ an entertainer or athlete whose income does not
depend solely on receipts or winnings;
◗ a general or limited partner in a partnership; and
◗ a shareholder of an S corporation with Mass-
achusetts source income.

Apportionment Methods
If you use the Nonresident Apportionment Work-
sheet, fill in the oval for the appropriate basis and
then follow the instructions. If you have more than
one business or employment requiring the use of
the worksheet, complete and enclose one work-
sheet for each business or employment.

◗ Working days basis. This basis should be
used by employees or self-employed persons who
qualify to use the Nonresident Apportionment
Worksheet and who are compensated on an
hourly, daily, weekly or monthly basis. The income
of these taxpayers is to be allocated to Massachu-

setts in the proportion that the amount of time
spent working in Massachusetts bears to the total
working time.

◗ Mileage basis. An employee or self-employed
person whose compensation depends on miles
traveled is taxed on that portion of total compen-
sation received in which the miles traveled within
Massachusetts bear to total miles traveled.

◗ Sales basis. For an employee or self-employed
person whose compensation depends upon sales
or commissions, taxable income includes that por-
tion of total compensation received which the sales
made inside Massachusetts bear to total sales. (For
the purposes of making this allocation, all sales for
which the taxpayer takes orders inside Massachu-
setts are attributable to this state, regardless of
whether the formal acceptance of the contract of
sale takes place inside or outside Massachusetts.)

Special Apportionment Methods
If you earned income both inside and outside
Massachusetts from one business or employment,
and your actual Massachusetts income is not
known and you cannot use the Nonresident Ap-
portionment Worksheet in line 13, use the follow-
ing appropriate apportionment method.

◗ Self-employed and professional persons. If
you earned income from both inside and outside
Massachusetts and your books do not accurately
reflect your Massachusetts source income, you
must use a three-factor formula to apportion your
Massachusetts income. Instructions for this
method of apportionment are in Massachusetts
Regulation 830 CMR 62.5A.1.

◗ Entertainers and professional athletes. If you
are a nonresident entertainer who performed in
Massachusetts and you were not paid specifically
for the performance in Massachusetts, or if you
are a nonresident professional athlete who took
part in performances, bouts, meets, matches or
games that occurred in Massachusetts and you
were not paid for the specific event played in
Massachusetts, you must use the apportionment
formula set forth in Massachusetts Regulation
830 CMR 62.5A.1.

◗ Nonresident partners. If you are a nonresident
general or limited partner, you are taxed on your
distributive share of the income received by the
partnership to the extent that the partnership in-
come is Massachusetts source income, deter-
mined as if the partnership were a nonresident
individual. If you are entitled to apportionment, the
partnership will apportion its income and notify
you of your share.

◗ Nonresident shareholders of an S corporation.
If you are a nonresident shareholder in an S cor-
poration, you are taxed on the distributive share of
income received by the S corporation to the extent
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that the S corporation income is Massachusetts
source income. If you qualify for apportionment,
the S corporation will apportion its income and
notify you of your share.

Line 13. Nonresident
Apportionment Worksheet
13a. If your income is measured by working
days, enter the number of days you worked out-
side Massachusetts.

13b. Enter the number of days you worked inside
Massachusetts. (If you spent a working day partly
inside and partly outside Massachusetts, treat the
day as having been spent one-half inside the state.)

13c. Enter the total days worked both inside and
outside Massachusetts (the sum of lines 13a
and 13b).

13d. Enter your nonworking days. Your nonwork-
ing days are those days during the year (or during
the period you worked, if your job lasted less than
a year) that you were not required to work, such
as Saturdays, Sundays, holidays, sick days, vaca-
tion and leave with or without pay. Complete the
remainder of the Nonresident Apportionment
Worksheet as indicated, and enter your Massachu-
setts income from line 13g in the appropriate line
on Form 1-NR/PY. For example, if you are appor-
tioning your wages, enter the amount from line
13g in line 5.

If you are using the mileage or sales basis, substi-
tute mileage or sales for working days and com-
plete all items in the worksheet, except line 13d.
Indicate what basis you are using by filling in the
appropriate oval, and enter your Massachusetts
income from line 13g in the appropriate line on
Form 1-NR/PY.

Nonresident
Deduction and
Exemption Ratio
Since nonresidents are only taxed on income from
Massachusetts sources, the deductions and ex-
emptions allowed to them are limited by the
amount of this income. This happens in two ways.
The deductions in line 15 and Schedule Y, lines 1,
2, 4, 5 (certain amounts only — see Schedule Y,
line 5 instructions) and 6 must be matched to
specific items of income taxed on Form 1-NR/PY.
Other deductions and all exemptions must be pro-
rated by the ratio of a taxpayer’s Massachusetts
source income to his/her total income.

Line 14. Nonresident Deduction
and Exemption Ratio
All nonresident taxpayers must complete lines 14a
to 14g to arrive at this ratio. The ratio will be used
to determine what amounts, if any, you may de-
duct in lines 16 and 17; Schedule Y, line 3 (al-
imony paid deduction), Schedule Y, line 5 (student
loan interest deduction, Archer medical savings
account (MSA) deduction and the deduction for
clean fuel vehicles), Schedule Y, line 7 (college tui-
tion deduction), Schedule Y, line 8 (undergradu-
ate student loan interest deduction), Schedule Y,
line 9 (commuter deduction); the amount of your
exemptions in line 22a; and the Earned Income
Credit in line 43.

If married filing jointly, include in each line the in-
come for both spouses. Enter any loss as “0.”

14a. Enter in line 14a total 5.3% income from
line 12.

14b. Enter in line 14b tax exempt Massachusetts
bank interest from the smaller of line 7a or line 7b.

14c. Read the instructions for lines 24, 27 and 28.
If these items apply to you, combine Schedule B,
Part 1, line 7 and Part 2, line 13 (but not less than
“0”) and Schedule D, line 12 (but not less than “0”),
and enter the total in line 14c. If there is no entry in
Schedule B, Part 2, line 7, enter the amount from
Form 1-NR/PY, line 24.

14e. Enter in line 14e the total income from non-
Massachusetts sources you received during the tax
year covered by this return. This is the additional
income that would have been reported by you if
you had been a Massachusetts resident that you
received from non-Massachusetts sources. This
amount is often not the same as the difference be-
tween your total U.S. income reported in line 3 and
your Massachusetts source income reported in line
14d, due to the differences between Massachu-
setts and federal tax laws. Note: Be certain not to
include any amounts already reported in line 14d.

To reconcile the two amounts, the following types
of income included in the U.S. total income (Form
1-NR/PY, line 3), but not taxable in Massachusetts
should be subtracted from the U.S. total before
completing line 14e:
◗ Social Security and Tier I Railroad Retirement
benefits;
◗ pensions from contributory retirement plans
of the U.S., or Massachusetts and its political
subdivisions;
◗ pension income from the U.S. military;
◗ U.S. bond interest;
◗ state tax refunds; and
◗ Keogh and 403(b) distributions related to con-
tributions previously taxed by Massachusetts.

Income from the following categories which is not
included in U.S. total income (Form 1-NR/PY, line

3) must be added back to calculate the total in-
come that would be reported as Massachusetts in-
come had the taxpayer been a Massachusetts resi-
dent in line 14e:
◗ bond interest from other states;
◗ up to $80,000 in foreign-earned income;
◗ contributions to a pension plan by Massachu-
setts state or local employees; and
◗ net operating loss carryforward.

14f. Add line 14d and line 14e. If your total in-
come in line 3 exceeds the amount reported in line
14f by more than 10%, you should enclose a state-
ment explaining the reasons for the difference.

14g. Divide line 14d by line 14f. Carry this division
out to four decimal places. Failure to do so may
delay the processing of your return. Enter the result
in line 14g. This is your ratio for deductions and ex-
emptions. It represents the relationship of your
Massachusetts source income to your total income.

Deductions
Lines 15 through 19
Massachusetts allowable deductions differ from
“Itemized Deductions” on Schedule A of U.S.
Form 1040. You may claim only the deductions
specified on Massachusetts Form 1-NR/PY, lines
15 through 18 and Schedule Y.

Line 15. Amount Paid to Social
Security (FICA), Medicare,
Railroad, U.S., Massachusetts
Retirement Systems
Nonresidents, if as a condition of Massachusetts
business or employment, you have paid into any
of the retirement systems listed above during
2004, you may deduct those contributions, up to
a maximum of $2,000. Part-year residents may
deduct contributions attributable to business or
employment while a Massachusetts resident, up
to a maximum of $2,000.

Enter in lines 15a and 15b the amount you, and
your spouse if filing jointly, paid to Social Security
(FICA), Medicare or Railroad Retirement and the
U.S. or Massachusetts Retirement Systems dur-
ing 2004 as shown on your Form W-2 that is di-
rectly related to income taxable by Massachusetts
included in line 12, but not more than $2,000
each. Payment amounts may not be combined or
transferred from one spouse to the other. Add
items 15a and 15b and enter the result in line 15.
Be sure to add any amount of Medicare tax with-
held as shown on Form W-2 to the amount of So-
cial Security tax withheld, the total not to exceed
$2,000 per person.

Note: Medicare premiums deducted from your
Social Security or retirement payments are not
deductible.
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Payments to an IRA, Keogh, Simplified Employee
Pension plan (SEP) or Savings Incentive Match
Plan for Employees (SIMPLE) Account are not de-
ductible for Massachusetts income tax purposes.

Lines 16 and 17
Massachusetts law allows an option for deducting
expenses related to dependent children. Please
read instructions for both lines 16 and 17 to deter-
mine if you qualify and to decide which deduction
is better for you. You cannot claim a deduction in
both lines 16 and 17.

Line 16. Child Under Age 13,
or Disabled Dependent/Spouse
Care Expenses
Massachusetts generally allows the same ex-
penses as the U.S. Government for employment-
related expenses for the care of a qualified child
under the age of 13, a disabled dependent or a dis-
abled spouse. Complete the following worksheet in
order to calculate your Massachusetts child or dis-
abled dependent/spouse care expense deduction.
Note: You cannot claim this deduction if married
filing a separate return.

Taxpayers who received dependent care benefits
should complete a pro forma U.S. Form 2441 or
U.S. Form 1040A, Schedule 2. When completing
this pro forma form taxpayers should enter $4,800
(or $9,600 for two or more qualifying persons) in
line 28 of U.S. Form 2441 or line 22 of U.S. Form
1040A, Schedule 2. The amount from this pro
forma Form 2441, line 32 or U.S. Form 1040A,
Schedule 2, line 26 should then be entered in line 1
of the following worksheet.

Note: Same-sex joint filers should complete a pro
forma U.S. Form 2441 or U.S. Form 1040A,
Schedule 2. In addition to changing the maximum
amount of the deduction allowed on U.S. Form
2441 or U.S. Form 1040A, Schedule 2 (see pre-
ceding paragraph), same-sex spouses should pre-
pare the pro forma federal forms as though they
were filing a joint federal return. See TIR 04-17
for more information.

◗ If you choose to take a deduction in line 16, you
may not take the deduction in line 17.

Line 16 Worksheet — Child Under 13 or
Disabled Dependent/Spouse Care Deduction

Use this worksheet to calculate your Massachu-
setts child under age 13 or disabled dependent/
spouse care deduction.

Part-year residents, enter amounts paid while
a Massachusetts resident.

1. Enter the amount of qualified expenses
you incurred and paid in 2004 for a qualifying
person(s). This amount may exceed the federal
limit of $3,000 for one qualifying person or
$6,000 for two or more persons. However,

do not enter more than $4,800 for one
qualifying person or $9,600 for two or 
more persons . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
2. Enter the amount from U.S. Form 2441,
line 4, or U.S. Form 1040A, Schedule 2, 
line 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
3. Enter the amount from U.S. Form 2441,
line 5, or U.S. Form 1040A, Schedule 2, 
line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
4. Enter the smallest of line 1, 2 or 3
5. If you paid 2003 expenses in 2004, enter the
amount of the allowed 2003 expenses used to
compute the credit on U.S. Form 2441, line 9,
or U.S. Form 1040A, Schedule 2, line 9.
Otherwise, enter “0” . . . . . . . . . . . . 
6. Add lines 4 and 5. . . . . . . . . . . . . 
7. Part-year residents, enter here the amount
from line 6 and in Form 1-NR/PY, line 16;
nonresidents, multiply line 6 by Form 1-NR/PY,
line 14g and enter the result here and in
Form 1-NR/PY, line 16. . . . . . . . . . . 

Line 17. Dependent Member(s)
of Household Under Age 12, or
Dependents Age 65 or Over (not
you or your spouse) as of December
31, 2004, or Disabled Dependent
You may deduct $3,600 for a dependent member
of household, or $7,200 for two or more depen-
dents, under age 12, or dependent age 65 or over
(not you or your spouse) as of December 31,
2004, or disabled dependent. Enter the number of
qualified dependents in line 17a, not to exceed two,
and multiply that amount by $3,600. Enter the re-
sult in line 17. Only if single, head of household or
married filing jointly. You cannot claim this deduc-
tion if married filing a separate return.

Note: You may claim an amount in line 17 only if
there is no entry in line 16.

◗ Nonresidents, multiply this amount by line 14g
and enter the result in line 17 of Form 1-NR/PY.
Part-year residents, multiply this amount by line 2
and enter the result in line 17 of Form 1-NR/PY.

Line 18. Rental Deduction
Nonresidents are allowed a deduction equal to
50% of the rent they pay, up to a maximum of
$3,000, for their principal residence only if it is lo-
cated in Massachusetts and is their sole residence.
(Non-Massachusetts rent is never deductible.)
Many nonresidents rent a house or apartment in
Massachusetts, but few qualify for this deduction.
This is because the house or apartment rented
here is not their principal residence. Only those
nonresidents who rented a house or apartment in
Massachusetts and have no family home or other
dwelling to which they normally return (or to which
they could return in the future) in any other state
or country, can claim this deduction. Complete

line 18 only if you filled in the “no” oval below line
18. Enter the total amount of qualified rent paid by
you during 2004 in line 18a. Divide line 18a by 2
and enter the result, or $3,000 ($1,500 if married
filing a separate return) — whichever is smaller
— in line 18. Part-year residents are entitled to
the rental deduction equal to 50% for the rent they
paid during 2004 (up to a maximum of $3,000 per
return) for their principle residence while a resi-
dent of Massachusetts. Enter the total amount of
qualified rent paid by you during 2004 in line 18a.
Divide line 18a by 2 and enter the result, or $3,000
($1,500 if married filing a separate return) —
whichever is smaller — in line 18. Note: This de-
duction does not apply to your U.S. tax return.

How Do I Calculate My Rental Deduction
If I Am Married Filing Separately?
If a husband and wife file separate returns, they are
each entitled to a rental deduction equal to 50% of
the rent each pays, not to exceed $1,500 per re-
turn. However, a married couple filing separately
may allocate the rent deduction differently, pro-
vided the amount taken by each spouse does not
exceed 50% of the rent actually paid by that
spouse, and provided their combined rental deduc-
tions do not exceed $3,000. If this results in one
spouse claiming a deduction in excess of $1,500,
that spouse must enclose with his/her return a
statement signed by the other spouse indicating
consent to the allocation. The statement must con-
tain the name, address and Social Security number
of the consenting spouse and the amount of rental
deduction taken by that spouse.

Line 19. Other Deductions
(from Schedule Y)
Allowable Employee Business Expenses,
Penalty on Early Savings Withdrawal,
Alimony Paid, Amounts Excludible Under
MGL Ch. 41, Sec. 111F or U.S. Tax Treaty,
Student Loan Interest Deduction, Medical
Savings Account Deduction, Moving
Expenses, Self-Employed Health
Insurance Deduction, Certain Qualified
Deductions From U.S. Form 1040,
Deductible Amount of Qualified
Contributory Pension Income from
Another State or Political Subdivision,
College Tuition Deduction, Undergraduate
Student Loan Interest Deduction and
Commuter Deduction
“Other deductions” include the items listed above
and must be included on Schedule Y. Enter the
total from Schedule Y, line 10. Be sure to enclose
Schedule Y with your return. Failure to do so will
delay the processing of your return.
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Line 22. Exemption Amount
Enter amount from Exemption Section, line 4,
item f in line 22a.

Nonresidents. Prorate your exemptions using the
ratio of your Massachusetts income to your total
income by multiplying line 22a by line 14g and en-
tering the result in line 22. This amount represents
your prorated exemptions.

Part-year residents. Prorate your total exemp-
tions claimed on Form 1-NR/PY by multiplying
line 22a by line 2 and entering the result in line 22.
This amount represents your prorated exemptions
as a part-year resident.

Line 23. 5.3% Income After
Exemptions
Subtract line 22 from line 21. Enter the result in
line 23, but not less than “0.”

If line 22 exceeds line 21 and you were the benefi-
ciary of an estate or trust taxed in Massachusetts,
or if you received interest income (other than inter-
est from Massachusetts banks), dividends or cap-
ital gain income, read the following section and
complete the worksheet for Schedule B, line 36
and Schedule D, line 19, if applicable. All others
proceed to line 24.

Applying Exemptions for the Beneficiary of
an Estate or Trust Taxed in Massachusetts
If you are reporting income on Form 1-NR/PY and
were also the beneficiary of an estate or trust, you
may apply excess exemptions to your income
taxed at 5.3% on Form 2, Massachusetts Fiduciary
Income Tax Return. If you are single, head of
household, or married filing jointly, you may then
apply any remaining excess exemptions to your in-
terest income (other than interest from Massachu-
setts banks), dividends or 12% capital gain income
reported on Form 1-NR/PY. Any excess amount
should then be applied against interest income
(other than interest from Massachusetts banks),
dividends or 12% capital gain income reported on
Form 2 before applying any remaining excess
amount against long-term capital gain income re-
ported on Form 1-NR/PY. Any excess amount still
remaining should then be applied against long-
term capital gain income reported on Form 2. You
must complete and file with your Form 2 a copy of
Form 20A, Beneficiary’s Claim for Exemptions Ap-
plicable to Fiduciary Income, in order to apply the
excess exemptions to your Form 2 income. Forms
2 and 20A are available at www.mass.gov/dor.

Line 24. Interest and Dividend
Income
If you have any interest income other than interest
from deposits in banks located in Massachusetts,
dividend income in excess of $1,500, certain cap-
ital gains or losses, or any adjustments to interest

income (other than interest from Massachusetts
banks), you must complete Schedule B. Be sure to
enclose Massachusetts Schedule B. To determine
if you need to file Schedule B, refer to the Sched-
ule B instructions of this booklet.

Enter in line 24 the amount from Schedule B, line
38. If not required to file Schedule B, enter divi-
dend income of $1,500 or less (from U.S. Form
1040 or 1040A, line 9a) in line 24.

Line 25. Total Taxable 5.3% Income
Add line 23 and line 24.

Tax on 5.3% Income
Line 26. 5.3% Tax
Based upon the amount in line 25, find the proper
amount of tax from the table at the back of this
booklet. Enter the tax in line 26. If line 25 is more
than $24,000, multiply the amount in line 25 by
.053 and enter the result in line 26. You must use
the tax table if line 25 is $24,000 or less.

Note: Personal income tax forms must provide an
election to voluntarily pay tax at a rate of 5.85% on
taxable income which would otherwise be taxed
at a rate of 5.3%. The election to pay tax at the rate
of 5.85% does not apply to items of income taxed
at 12% (short-term capital gains and gains on col-
lectibles). If choosing the optional 5.85% tax rate,
multiply line 26 and Schedule D, line 20 by .0585
and fill in the oval.

12% Income
and Tax
Line 27. 12% Income from Certain
Capital Gains
Enter in line 27a the amount from Schedule B, line
39. Multiply this amount by .12 (12%) and enter
the tax in line 27. Be sure to enclose Massachu-
setts Schedule B. To determine if you need to file
Schedule B, refer to the Schedule B instructions of
this booklet.

Long-Term
Capital Gain Tax
Line 28. Schedule D (Long-Term
Capital Gains and Losses Excluding
Collectibles)
Enter in line 28 the amount from Schedule D, line
21, but not less than “0.” To determine if you
need to file Schedule D, refer to the Schedule D in-
structions of this booklet.

Schedule B, Line 36 and Schedule D, Line 19
Worksheet — Exemptions from Interest
and Dividend Income, 12% Income and Long-
Term Capital Gain Income (Only if Single,
Head of Household, or Married Filing Jointly)

If your total exemptions in line 22 are more than
the amount of your 5.3% income after deduc-
tions in line 21, the excess may be applied
against all your interest and dividend income and
income taxed at 12%. Any remaining excess
amount may then be applied against all your
long-term capital gain income. (If you are the
beneficiary of a Massachusetts trust or estate,
see the instructions for line 23.) Complete this
worksheet only if line 21 is less than line 22
to determine if you qualify for the excess
exemption. Enter all losses as “0.”

1. Enter amount from Schedule B, line 35.
Not less than “0” . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
2. Enter amount from Form 1-NR/PY, 
line 22 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
3. Enter amount from Form 1-NR/PY, 
line 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If “0” or less,
you do not qualify for this exemption.
Omit remainder of worksheet . . . . . 
5. Excess exemptions applied against interest
and dividend income and 12% income. If line 1
is larger than line 4, enter line 4 here and in
Schedule B, line 36 and omit remainder of
worksheet. If line 4 is equal to or larger than
line 1, enter line 1 here and in Schedule B,
line 36. Complete lines 6 through 8
6. Subtract line 5 from line 4. If “0” you have no
remaining excess exemptions. Omit remainder
of worksheet . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
7. Enter Schedule D, line 18. 
Not less than “0” . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
8. Excess exemptions applied against long-term
capital gain income. If line 7 is larger than line 6,
enter line 6 here and in Schedule D, line 19. If
line 6 is equal to or larger than line 7, enter line
7 here and in Schedule D, line 19 . . 

Excess Exemptions
If excess exemptions were used in calculating
lines 24, 27 or 28 (see Schedule B, line 36 and/or
Schedule D, line 19), be sure to fill in the oval in
line 28.

Line 29. Credit Recapture Amount
If any Brownfields Credit (BC), Economic Oppor-
tunity Area Credit (EOA) or Low-Income Housing
Credit (LIH) property is disposed of or ceases to
be in qualified use prior to the end of its useful
life, the difference between the credit taken and
the total credit allowed for actual use must be
added back to your tax on Form 1-NR/PY. Com-
plete and enclose Schedule H-2, Credit Recapture.
Schedule H-2 is available at www.mass.gov/dor
or by calling (617) 887-MDOR or toll-free in Mass-
achusetts 1-800-392-6089.
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Massachusetts AGI
No Tax Status — Single, Married Filing
a Joint Return or Head of Household Only
If your Massachusetts Adjusted Gross Income
(Massachusetts AGI) was $8,000 or less if single,
$12,700 or less plus $1,000 per dependent if head
of household, or $14,200 or less plus $1,000 per
dependent if married filing a joint return, you qual-
ify for No Tax Status and are not required to pay
any Massachusetts income taxes.

To see if you may qualify for No Tax Status, com-
plete Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY found on the back
of page 3 of Form 1-NR/PY. See Schedule
NTS-L-NR/PY instructions.

Massachusetts Adjusted Gross Income for
No Tax Status and Limited Income Credit
Massachusetts Adjusted Gross Income (Mass-
achusetts AGI) is not the same as taxable income.
Massachusetts AGI includes:

◗ wages, salaries, tips;
◗ taxable pensions and annuities;
◗ pension income from another state or political
subdivision before any deduction;
◗ taxable IRA/Keogh and Roth IRA distributions;
◗ fees and unemployment compensation;
◗ income or loss from a business or profession;
◗ income or loss from partnerships, S corpora-
tions and trusts;
◗ rents, royalties and REMIC income;
◗ alimony and other 5.3% income;
◗ interest from Massachusetts banks before ex-
emptions; and
◗ other interest, dividends, and capital gains.

Line 30. No Tax Status
If you qualify for No Tax Status, fill in the oval in
line 30, enter “0” in line 31 and omit lines 32
through 35. Also, enter “0” in line 36 and complete
Form 1-NR/PY. However, if there is an amount en-
tered in line 29, Credit Recapture Amount, enter
that amount in line 31 and complete lines 33
through 35.

Note: If married filing separately you do not qual-
ify for No Tax Status or the Limited Income Credit.

Line 32. Limited Income Credit —
Single, Married Filing a Joint
Return or Head of Household Only
If you do not qualify for No Tax Status, but you are
single and your Massachusetts AGI is between
$8,000 and $14,000, or if you are filing as head of
household and your Massachusetts AGI is be-
tween $12,700 and $22,225 plus $1,750 per de-
pendent, or if you are married filing a joint return
and your Massachusetts AGI is between $14,200
and $24,850 plus $1,750 per dependent, you may
qualify for the Limited Income Credit. This credit

is an alternative tax calculation that can result in a
significant tax reduction for people whose income
is close to the No Tax Status threshold. Be sure to
complete Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY on the back of
page 3 of Form 1-NR/PY to see if you may qualify
for this credit.

Line 33. Other Credits
(from Schedule Z, Part I)
Lead Paint Credit, Economic Opportunity
Area Credit, Full Employment Credit,
Septic Credit, Brownfields Credit and
Low-Income Housing Credit
“Other credits” include the items listed above and
must be included on Schedule Z, Part I. Nonresi-
dents and part-year residents, enter the total from
Schedule Z, line 1 on Form 1-NR/PY, line 33. Be
sure to enclose Schedule Z with your return. Failure
to do so will delay the processing of your return.

Line 34. Credits for Part-Year Resi-
dents Only (from Schedule Z, Part II)
Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another
State or Jurisdiction and Energy Credit
“Credits for part-year residents only” include the
items listed above and must be included on
Schedule Z, Part 2. Part-year residents, enter the
total from Schedule Z, line 2 on Form 1-NR/PY,
line 34. Be sure to enclose Schedule Z with your
return. Failure to do so will delay the processing
of your return.

Line 37. Voluntary Contributions
You may contribute any amount to the following
funds. Remember, these amounts are added to
your tax. They increase the amount of your pay-
ment or reduce the amount of your refund.

a. Organ Transplant Fund: The Organ Transplant
Fund is administered by the Massachusetts De-
partment of Public Health. All contributions re-
ceived by the Fund assist patients with the costs
of medications without which they might lose
their transplanted organs.

b. Endangered Wildlife Conservation: The Natural
Heritage and Endangered Species Fund is admin-
istered by the Division of Fisheries and Wildlife.
Contributions are used to protect and restore rare
and endangered wildlife and plants, and their habi-
tats. This fund has helped restore and conserve in
the Commonwealth populations of the Bald Eagle,
Hessel's Hairstreak Butterfly, the Redbelly Turtle
and the Plymouth Gentian.

c. Massachusetts AIDS Fund: The Massachusetts
AIDS Fund is administered by the Massachusetts
Department of Public Health. Contributions are
used for research, experimental treatment and ed-
ucation related to Acquired Immune Deficiency
Syndrome (AIDS). Massachusetts residents living

with AIDS receive experimental treatment through
clinical trials which are wholly supported with this
Fund. The Fund also educates people with AIDS
about treatment options and how to gain access
to medication and experimental treatment.

d. Massachusetts United States Olympic Fund:
Contributions to this fund are used to assist Mass-
achusetts residents in paying all or part of any costs
associated with the development, maintenance
and operation of the United States Olympic Team
participating in the Olympics and the United States
Paralympic Team participating in the Paralympics.

Add items a, b, c, and d and enter the total in line 37.

Line 38. Massachusetts Use Tax Due
On Out-of-State Purchases Made
in 2004 (part-year residents only)
A 5% Massachusetts use tax is due on your tax-
able purchases, made while a Massachusetts res-
ident, from out-of-state businesses of tangible
personal property purchased for use in Massachu-
setts on which you did not pay Massachusetts
sales or use tax. The use tax does not apply to out-
of-state purchases that are exempt from the sales
tax (for example, clothing that costs $175 or less).
Examples of taxable items include automobiles,
computers, furniture, jewelry, cameras, appliances,
and any other item that is not exempt. Generally,
anyone who pays a sales or use tax to another
state or territory of the United States on tangible
personal property to be used in Massachusetts is
entitled to a credit against the Massachusetts use
tax, up to 5%. This credit is allowed for sales or
use tax paid to another state only if that state has
a corresponding credit similar to the Massachu-
setts credit. See TIR 03-1 for more information.

Recent legislation permits taxpayers to use the fol-
lowing table to self-report a “safe-harbor” amount
of use tax based on their Massachusetts adjusted
gross income. A taxpayer may pay this amount in
lieu of the actual amount of use tax that would
otherwise be due with respect to such purchases.
Individual taxpayers electing to report use tax
under this method will not be assessed additional
use tax on audit, even if the actual amount of use
tax due would have been greater than the amount
from the schedule. The amendment applies to pur-
chases made on or after January 1, 2004.

The estimated liability applies only to purchases
of any individual items each having a total sales
price of less than $1,000. For each taxable item
purchased at a sales price of $1,000 or greater,
the actual use tax liability for each purchase must
be added to the amount of the estimated liability
derived from the following table. See TIR 04-26.
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Mass. AGI per return* Use tax liability
$25,010 – $025,000 $20
$25,001 – $040,000 $15
$40,001 – $060,000 $25
$60,001 – $080,000 $35
$80,001 – $100,000 $45
Above $100,000 Multiply Mass. AGI* by .0005

*Line 8 of Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY.

Prepare and retain with your records a list of your
out-of-state purchases in 2004 that are subject to
the Massachusetts use tax. Complete the following
worksheet to calculate your use tax if you are not
self-reporting a safe-harbor amount. For more in-
formation about use tax, visit DOR’s website at
www.mass.gov/dor.

Form 1-NR/PY, Line 38 Worksheet-Use Tax
Due on Out-of-State Purchases (part-year
residents only)

1. Total of purchases in 2004, made while
a Massachusetts resident, subject
to Massachusetts use tax . . . . . . . . 
2. Use tax. Multiply line 1 by 
.05 (5%) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
3. Credit for sales/use tax paid to other states or
jurisdictions. Add the amount of any sales/use
tax paid to another state or jurisdiction, or 5%
of the sales price, whichever is less, on each
purchase reported in line 1 . . . . . . . 
4. Total amount due. Subtract line 3 from line 2.
Not less than “0.” Enter the result here and on
Form 1-NR/PY, line 38. . . . . . . . . . . 

Line 40. Massachusetts Income
Tax Withheld
This represents all income taxes withheld for the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts as indicated on
your copies of Forms W-2, W-2G and certain
1099s, if applicable. Enter the total of all Mass-
achusetts withholdings in line 40. Attach, with a
single staple, state copies to your return; other-
wise, your claim of amounts withheld will not be
allowed. If you have lost any state copy, ask the
payer for a duplicate. Copies of 1099s need only
be attached if they show an amount for Mass-
achusetts tax withheld.

Line 41. 2003 Overpayment Applied
to Your 2004 Estimated Tax
Include the exact amount of any 2003 overpay-
ment you applied to your 2004 estimated taxes.
This amount can be found on your 2003 Mass-
achusetts Form 1-NR/PY, line 48 or Form 1, line
43. Do not include any 2003 refund in this line.

Line 42. 2004 Massachusetts
Estimated Tax Payments
If you paid Massachusetts estimated income taxes
for 2004, enter in line 42 the total of all Massachu-
setts estimated tax payments, but do not include

the amount entered in line 41. Be sure to include
any last quarter (of 2004) payment made on or be-
fore January 15, 2005.

Every taxpayer (whether a resident or nonresident)
who expects to pay more than $400 in Massachu-
setts income taxes on income which is not covered
by Massachusetts withholding must pay Mass-
achusetts estimated taxes. Estimated tax payments
can be made online by using Web Services for In-
come by visiting www.mass.gov/dor or by Filing
Form 1-ES.

Income which is not subject to withholding includes:
◗ salaries or wages earned in Massachusetts
where the employer is not subject to Massachu-
setts withholding;
◗ unemployment compensation (if you did not
elect voluntary Massachusetts withholding);
◗ taxable REMIC income;
◗ dividends and interest, including interest from
Massachusetts banks;
◗ gains from capital assets;
◗ income from an individual trade, business, pro-
fession, partnership or S corporation;
◗ income from any estate or trust not taxed directly;
◗ lottery or gambling winnings;
◗ certain pensions;
◗ rental income and royalty income;
◗ alimony received (part-year residents only);
◗ illegal income; and
◗ any other income received taxable in Mass-
achusetts from which Massachusetts tax will not
be withheld.

Generally, the first payment must be filed on or be-
fore April 15 of the taxable year. The estimated tax
may be paid in full with the first payment voucher
or in four installments on or before April 15, June
15, September 15 of the current taxable year and
January 15 of the following year.

If you wish to verify estimated tax payments that
have already been made, check the Estimated Tax
Payment History Application at www.mass.gov/
dor. You will need to know the PIN that appeared
on the back of your Form 1-NR/PY booklet or the
amount of last year’s refund or balance due to ac-
cess your account.

You may request your employer to withhold addi-
tional amounts from your salary on Form M-4,
Massachusetts Employee’s Withholding Exemption
Certificate to cover the taxes on other income so
that you do not have to file and pay estimated taxes.

If 80% of the tax is not paid throughout the year
through withholding and/or estimated payments,
a penalty may be imposed.

Line 43. Earned Income Credit
The earned income credit is a tax credit for certain
taxpayers who work and/or have earned income
under $35,458. Taxpayers who qualify for and

claim the federal earned income credit are allowed
a refundable credit equal to 15% of the federal
amount. If the credit due the taxpayer exceeds the
amount of the total income tax payable for the year
by the taxpayer, the excess amount of the credit
will be refunded to the taxpayer without interest.
Enter in line 43a the federal earned income credit
amount from your U.S. Form 1040, line 65a,
1040A, line 41a; 1040EZ, line 8a; or U.S. Telefile Tax
Record, item L. Multiply this amount by .15 (15%)
and enter the result in the line provided. Nonresi-
dents, multiply this amount by line 14g; part-year
residents multiply this amount by line 2. Enter the
result in line 43. If you choose to have the IRS com-
pute your federal earned income credit, wait until
the IRS notifies you of that amount before making
an entry in line 43. If you have not received your
earned income credit amount as computed by the
IRS by April 15, 2005, you may file Massachusetts
Form M-4868, Application for Automatic Six-
Month Extension of Time to File Massachusetts In-
come Tax Return. See page 3 for information about
filing your extension by telephone or via the Web.
For more information about the federal earned in-
come tax credit, see IRS Publication 596, available
at www.mass.gov/dor.

Line 44. Senior Circuit Breaker
Credit (part-year residents only)
Certain senior citizens in Massachusetts may be
eligible to claim a refundable credit on their state
income taxes for the real estate taxes paid on the
Massachusetts residential property they own or
rent and which they occupy as their principal res-
idence. The maximum credit allowed is $820 for
the tax year beginning January 1, 2004. If the credit
due the taxpayer exceeds the amount of the total
income tax payable for the year by the taxpayer,
the excess amount of the credit will be refunded to
the taxpayer without interest. To determine if you
qualify for this credit, refer to Schedule CB, Senior
Circuit Breaker Credit and instructions. Schedule
CB is available on DOR’s website at www.mass.
gov/dor or by calling (617) 887-MDOR, or toll-free
in Massachusetts 1-800-392-6089.

If you qualify for this credit and you are a home-
owner, enter the amount from Schedule CB, Cir-
cuit Breaker Credit, line 20; if you are a renter,
enter the amount from line 24. Be sure to com-
plete and enclose Schedule CB with your return.

Line 45. Payments Made with
Extension
If you filed an Application for Automatic Six-
Month Extension of Time to File Massachusetts
Income Tax Return, Massachusetts Form M-4868,
for 2004 on or before April 15, 2005, enter in line
45 the amount you paid with Form M-4868. En-
close a copy of Massachusetts Form M-4868 with
your return.
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Refund Amount
Line 47. Overpayment
If line 39 is smaller than line 46, subtract line 39
from line 46 and enter the amount in line 47. This
is the amount of your overpayment. If line 39 is
larger than line 46, skip to line 50. If line 39 and
line 46 are equal, enter “0” in line 49

Line 48. Amount of Overpayment
You Want Applied to Your 2005
Massachusetts Estimated Taxes
Enter the amount of your 2004 overpayment you
wish to apply to your 2005 Massachusetts esti-
mated taxes. Once an election is made to apply
your overpayment to your 2005 estimated tax, it
cannot be refunded later or applied to any addi-
tional tax you may owe for 2004. The amount en-
tered in this line can only be claimed as a credit on
your 2005 Massachusetts return.

Line 49. Refund Amount
Subtract line 48 from line 47. Enter the result in
line 49. This is the amount of your refund. Note:
Your state tax refund may be taxable on your U.S.
tax return if you deducted state income tax paid as
an itemized deduction on U.S. Schedule A.

You may elect to have your refund deposited di-
rectly into your savings or checking account.
Check with your financial institution to make sure
that it accepts direct deposit and verify the routing
transit number (RTN) of the issuing financial insti-
tution. If we are unable to honor your request for
a direct deposit, a paper check will be sent to you.

The routing number of your financial institution
is nine digits and begins with 01 through 12 or 21
through 32. The account number can be up to 17
characters (both numbers and letters). Omit hy-
phens, spaces and special symbols. Enter the
number from left to right and leave any unused
boxes blank. You must enter the routing number
and the account number in the spaces provided in
line 49 if you are requesting direct deposit. Failure
to do so will result in your request for direct de-
posit being denied. See sample check for location
of this information.

Note: Only one direct deposit is allowed per ac-
count number.

Tax Due
Line 50. Tax Due
If line 39 is larger than line 46, subtract line 46
from line 39, and enter the result in line 50. This is
the amount of tax you owe with your return. Pay in
full with your return. Make your check or money
order payable to Commonwealth of Massachusetts
and write your Social Security number on the front
of your check or money order in the lower left cor-
ner. Complete and remove Form PV, Massachu-
setts Income Tax Payment Voucher, attached to the
back of the envelope found in this booklet. Attach
with a single staple the check to the front of Form
PV and enclose Form PV with your return. Form PV
must be included with your check to ensure proper
crediting of your account. Be sure to use the light
blue mailing label when mailing Form 1-NR/PY
with Form PV.

Failure to file or failure to pay the proper amount of
tax when due will result in an increasing amount
of interest and penalties. It is advantageous to file
when your return is due even if you are unable to
make full payment.

If you owe any interest, penalty or addition for the
underpayment of estimated taxes, add those
amounts to the tax you owe and enter the total
amount in line 50.

What Are the Interest and Penalties?
Interest: If you fail to pay the tax when due, inter-
est will be charged. For further information, see
TIR 92-6 or call the Customer Service Bureau at
(617) 887-MDOR or toll-free in Massachusetts at
1-800-392-6089.

Penalty for Late Payment: The penalty for late
payment is 1⁄2% of the tax due per month (or frac-
tion thereof), up to a maximum of 25%.

Penalty for Failure to File: The penalty for failure
to file a tax return by the due date is 1% of the tax
due per month (or fraction thereof), up to a max-
imum of 25%. If you were required to file a tax re-
turn for income received in any prior year and you
did not file, you must file for that prior year.

Penalty for Protested (“Bad”) Check: If your
check is not honored by your bank because of in-
sufficient funds or any other reason, a penalty may
be added equal to 2% of the amount of the check
or $10, whichever is greater, but no more than the
amount of the check.

Addition for Underpayment of Estimated Taxes:
You will generally be subject to this addition to tax
if you did not have withholding and/or estimated
tax payments equal to 80% of the total tax liability
required to be paid and your 2004 tax due after
credits and withholding is greater than $200. (For
tax years on or after January 1, 2005, this thresh-
old is increased to $400.) If you failed to meet this

requirement, you must complete and attach Mass-
achusetts Form M-2210 to calculate the amount
you must add to line 50. The 80% requirement is
reduced to 662⁄3% for individuals who receive two-
thirds of their income from fishing or farming.

Most taxpayers who qualify for an exception had
either a tax due of $200 or less or withholding
and/or estimated payments equal to their tax lia-
bility for the previous year. If you qualify for an
exception, fill in the oval marked “EX” under line
50 on Form 1-NR/PY and enclose Massachusetts
Form M-2210. You do not have to complete Form
M-2210 if the balance due with your return is
$200 or less. Form M-2210 is available by visiting
www.mass.gov/dor or at any Massachusetts De-
partment of Revenue location.

Penalty for Failure to Report Federal Change: If
the U.S. Internal Revenue Service changes your
income for a prior year (generally through audit),
file an online application for abatement/amended
return at www.mass.gov/dor within one year of
the final federal determination to avoid this
penalty. This penalty is equal to 10% of the addi-
tional tax due or $100, whichever is smaller. If the
change indicates a refund, file an online applica-
tion for abatement/amended return within one
year, including acceptance of an amended federal
return by the Internal Revenue Service.

Sign Here
Now that you have completed Form 1-NR/PY, sign
your name. Your spouse must also sign if this is a
joint return. Please note that the signature area is
at the bottom of page 1 of Form 1-NR/PY. Write
the date you signed the return.

Attach to your Form 1-NR/PY, with a single staple,
all state copies of your Forms W-2, W-2G and any
Forms 1099 which included Massachusetts with-
holding. If making a payment, be sure to attach
with a single staple your check or money order to
the front of Form PV and enclose Form PV with
your Form 1-NR/PY. Form PV is attached to the
back of the envelope found in this booklet. Be sure
to use the light blue mailing label when mailing your
Form 1-NR/PY with the Form PV. Form PV must be
included with your check to ensure proper credit-
ing of your account. Make your check or money
order payable to Commonwealth of Massachu-
setts, and be sure to sign the check and write your
Social Security number on it. Be sure to include all
three pages of Form 1-NR/PY. Also, enclose all re-
quired Massachusetts forms and schedules. Do not
staple your forms together.

Paid Preparer Must Sign Your Return
Generally, anyone you pay to prepare your return
must sign it in the space provided. Tax return pre-
parers are authorized to sign the return by means
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of a rubber stamp, mechanical device, or computer
software program, which must include either a fac-
simile or printed name of the preparer. Preparers
are personally responsible for affixing their signa-
tures to returns. The preparer must give you a copy
of the return for your records. Someone who pre-
pares your return but does not charge you should
not sign your return.

Paid Preparer Authorization
If you want to allow the Massachusetts Depart-
ment of Revenue (DOR) to discuss your 2004 tax
return with the paid preparer who signed it, fill in
the “Yes” oval in the signature area of the return.
This authorization applies only to the individual
whose signature appears in the “Paid Preparer”
section of your return. It does not apply to the firm,
if any, shown in that section.

If you fill in the “Yes” oval, you, and your spouse if
filing a joint return, are authorizing DOR to call the
paid preparer to answer any questions that may
arise during the processing of your return. You are
also authorizing the paid preparer to:
◗ give DOR any information that is missing from
your return;
◗ call DOR for information about the processing
of your return or the status of your refund or pay-
ment(s); and
◗ respond to certain DOR notices that you have
shared with the preparer about math errors, offsets
and return preparation. The notices will not be sent
to the preparer.

You are not authorizing the paid preparer to receive
any refund check, bind you to anything (including
any additional tax liability), or otherwise represent
you before DOR. If you want to expand the paid
preparer’s authorization, see Form M-2848, Power
of Attorney and Declaration of Representative.

The authorization cannot be revoked. However, the
authorization will automatically end no later than
the due date (without regard to extensions) for fil-
ing your 2005 tax return. This is April 15, 2006 for
most people.

E-File Opt Out
For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2004, income tax return preparers who completed
200 or more original Massachusetts Forms 1 and
1-NR-PY, including those E-filed, during the pre-
vious calendar year are required to use electronic
means to file all personal income tax returns, un-
less the taxpayer specifically directs on the paper
form that the filing be on paper. Fill in oval if you
do not want your preparer to file your return elec-
tronically. See TIR 04-30 for more information.

Mailing
If you are expecting a refund or if you have no tax
due, use the white mailing label on the back of the
envelope that came with this booklet. If you do not

have one, mail Form 1-NR/PY to: Massachusetts
Department of Revenue, PO Box 7000, Boston,
MA 02204.

If you have a tax due, use the light blue mailing
label on the back of the envelope that came with
this booklet. If you do not have one, mail Form
1-NR/PY to: Massachusetts Department of Rev-
enue, PO Box 7003, Boston, MA 02204

Note: If using a tax software product, be sure to
use the correct PO box. See page 3.

Note: Schedule lines without specific instructions
are considered to be self-explanatory. Be sure to
list on each schedule the name and Social Security
number that appears first on Form 1-NR/PY. Do
not cut or separate schedules.

Schedule
NTS-L-NR/PY
Massachusetts Adjusted Gross Income for
No Tax Status
Massachusetts Adjusted Gross Income (Mass-
achusetts AGI) is not the same as taxable income.
Massachusetts AGI includes all:
◗ wages, salaries, tips;
◗ taxable pensions and annuities;
◗ pension income from another state or jurisdic-
tion before any deductions;
◗ taxable IRA/Keogh and Roth IRA distributions;
◗ fees and unemployment compensation;
◗ income or loss from a business or profession;
◗ income or loss from partnerships, S corpora-
tions and trusts;
◗ rents, royalties and REMIC income;
◗ alimony and other 5.3% income;
◗ interest from Massachusetts banks before ex-
emption; and
◗ interest, dividends, and capital gains.

◗ The No Tax Status provision applies if your
Massachusetts AGI on Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY
(line 8) is $8,000 or less if single; $12,700 or less
plus $1,000 per dependent if head of household,
or $14,200 or less plus $1,000 per dependent if
married filing a joint return.

Note: If married, you must file a joint return in
order to qualify for No Tax Status. For purposes
of computing No Tax Status all losses must be
entered as “0.”

Line 6. Long-Term Capital Gain
Income
If filing Schedule D-IS, Installment Sales, see the
Schedule D-IS instructions for the amount to enter
in line 6. Schedule D-IS and instructions are avail-
able on DOR’s website at www.mass.gov/dor.

Line 7. Adjustments by
Massachusetts Gross Income
Nonresidents, enter the amount from Form
1-NR/PY, line 14e. However, do not include any
military compensation received during the taxable
year as non-Massachusetts source income. See
TIR 04-6 for more information. Part-year resi-
dents, enter income earned while a nonresident.

Line 8. Massachusetts Adjusted
Gross Income
If you paid tuition to a two- or four-year college for
yourself or a dependent, you may be entitled to a
deduction equal to the amount by which the tuition
payments, less any scholarships, grants or finan-
cial aid received, exceed 25% of line 8. See Sched-
ule Y, line 7 worksheet in instructions.

Add lines 3 through 7. If you are single and the
total in line 8 is $8,000 or less, you qualify for No
Tax Status. Fill in the oval in Form 1-NR/PY, line
30, enter “0” in line 31 and omit lines 32 through
35. Also, enter “0” on line 36 and continue on
Form 1-NR/PY. If you are single but do not qualify
for No Tax Status and your total in line 8 is $14,000
or less, go to line 11 to see if you qualify for the
Limited Income Credit. If married filing jointly or
head of household, go to line 9.

Line 9. No Tax Status for Married
Filing Jointly or Head of Household
If married and filing a joint return, multiply the
number of dependents (from Form 1-NR/PY, line
4b) by $1,000 and add $14,200 to that amount. If
head of household, multiply the number of depen-
dents (from Form 1-NR/PY, line 4b) by $1,000 and
add $12,700 to that amount. Enter the result here.
If line 8 is less than or equal to line 9, you qualify
for No Tax Status. Fill in the oval in Form 1-NR/PY,
line 30, enter “0” in line 31 and omit lines 32
through 35. Also, enter “0” on line 36 and continue
on Form 1-NR/PY.

Line 10. Limited Income Credit
Threshold
If you do not qualify for No Tax Status and you are
married and filing a joint return, multiply the num-
ber of dependents (from Form 1-NR/PY, line 4b) by
$1,750 and add $24,850 to that amount. If head
of household, multiply the number of dependents
(from Form 1-NR/PY line 4b) by $1,750 and add
$22,225 to that amount. Enter the result here. If
line 8 is less than or equal to line 10, you may qual-
ify for the Limited Income Credit. Go to line 11.

Line 15. Limited Income Credit
If line 13 is smaller than line 14, you are not eligible
for this credit. If line 13 is larger than line 14, sub-
tract line 14 from line 13, and enter the result here
and in line 32 on Form 1-NR/PY.
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Schedule F
Credit for Income Taxes
Paid to Other Jurisdictions
(part-year residents only)
Income Tax Paid to Another State: If all or part of
the income reported on this return is subject to
taxation in another state or specified jurisdiction
and you have filed a return and paid taxes in the
other state or jurisdiction, complete Schedule F to
calculate the credit. Do not include taxes paid to
the U.S. government. (This credit does not apply
to city or local taxes or corporate excise tax.) You
are allowed to claim a credit for taxes paid to the
following jurisdictions: (a) other states in the
United States; (b) any territory or dependency of
the United States (including Puerto Rico, the Vir-
gin Islands, Guam, the District of Columbia); or
(c) the Dominion of Canada or any of its prov-
inces (less any U.S. credit amount allowable from
U.S. Form 1116).

Note: Canada is the only foreign country for which
you may claim a tax credit for income tax paid to
another state or jurisdiction on this schedule.

The total credit which you calculate on this schedule
is the smaller of the amount of taxes due to other
jurisdictions (net of certain adjustments) or the por-
tion of your Massachusetts tax due on your gross
income that is taxed in such other jurisdictions.

Credit is not given for a property tax due to an-
other jurisdiction on account of capital stock or
property. This does not refer to a tax on gain or
income from the sale of capital stock or property,
as included on Schedule B or D. Credit is also not
given for any interest and penalties paid on a tax
due to another jurisdiction.

You must complete separate schedules if you had
5.3% and interest income (other than interest from
Massachusetts banks), dividends or capital gain in-
come taxed by another jurisdiction. If you use this
schedule to calculate a credit for interest income
(other than interest from Massachusetts banks),
dividends or capital gain income, substitute inter-
est income (other than interest from Massachu-
setts banks), dividends or capital gain income for
5.3% income in line 1. You must also substitute
Schedule B, line 7 (interest and dividend income)
and Schedule B, line 13 (taxable 12% capital gains)
or Schedule D, line 12 (gross long-term capital
gains and losses), but not less than “0,” for Form
1-NR/PY, line 12 in line 2 of the schedule, and the
total of Form 1-NR/PY, line 24 multiplied by .053
(tax on interest and dividend income) and Form
1-NR/PY, line 27 (12% tax) or line 28 (tax on long-
term capital gains) for Form 1-NR/PY, line 23 in
line 4 of the schedule.

◗ When using this schedule to calculate credit
for interest income (other than interest from
Massachusetts banks), dividends or capital gain
income, enter in line 1 such income taxed in an-
other jurisdiction calculated as if it was earned in
Massachusetts.

◗ If you choose to pay the optional 5.85% tax rate,
substitute .0585 for .053 in line 4 of the schedule.

Line 1. Total 5.3% Income Taxed
by Other Jurisdictions
Enter the total 5.3% income on which you paid
taxes to another jurisdiction.

Line 4. Massachusetts Tax on
5.3% Income
Multiply Form 1-NR/PY, line 23 by .053, less any
Limited Income Credit from Form 1-NR/PY, line 32.

Line 6. Income Tax Paid to Other
Jurisdictions
Enter the total tax paid to other jurisdictions on
income also reported on this return. The credit is
limited to the amount of tax paid. If the tax was
paid to Canada, the amount reported in this line
must be reduced by the amount claimed as a for-
eign tax credit on U.S. Form 1040, line 46.

Line 7. Allowable Credit
Enter the smaller of lines 5 or 6 here and on
Schedule Z, line 2, and fill in the appropriate oval
on Schedule Z, line 2. Be sure to enter the two-
letter state or jurisdictional postal code for each
state or jurisdiction for which you are taking the
credit on Schedule Z, line 2. Visit the United State
Postal Service’s website at www.usps.com and
click on “Service Guides” for a list of those codes.

Schedule X
Other Income
Be sure to enclose with Form 1-NR/PY.

Line 1. Alimony Received
(part-year residents only)
If you received alimony payments, you must report
them as income in line 1 of Schedule X. Report the
portion of all periodic payments of alimony or sep-
arate maintenance received under a court judgment
or decree, or for excess alimony amounts recap-
tured, as reported on U.S. Form 1040, line 11, re-
ceived while you were a Massachusetts resident. If
you made alimony payments, you will be allowed to
deduct these amounts on Form 1-NR/PY, line 19.

Line 2. Taxable IRA/Keogh and
Roth IRA Conversion Distributions
(part-year residents only)
Complete the Schedule X, line 2 worksheet to cal-
culate the taxable portion of any amount you re-
ceived as an Individual Retirement Account (IRA),
Keogh or Roth IRA conversion distribution while a
resident of Massachusetts, whether derived from
sources inside or outside of Massachusetts. Since
Massachusetts does not allow a deduction for
amounts originally contributed to an IRA or Keogh,
the distributions are not taxable until the full amount
of your contributions which were previously sub-
ject to Massachusetts taxes are recovered.

◗ Contributions made to Keogh accounts prior to
1975 were deductible when made. Therefore, no
deduction may be taken from a Keogh distribution
for amounts contributed before 1975.

Massachusetts generally adopts the federal con-
version rules for partial or complete rollovers from
existing IRAs to Roth IRAs. Generally, the rollover
amount is treated as a distribution and included in
federal gross income to the extent it is attributable
to investment growth or previously deducted con-
tributions. See TIR 98-8, Massachusetts 1998 Re-
ducing Income Taxes Act, for further details.

Schedule X, Line 2 Worksheet —
Taxable IRA/Keogh Plan and Roth IRA
Conversion Distributions

Complete this worksheet to report conventional
IRA/Keogh distributions or Roth IRA conversion
distributions.

Line 1. Total IRA/Keogh plan distributions,
Roth IRA conversion distributions received 
during 2004. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
Line 2. Total contributions previously taxed by
Massachusetts . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
Line 3. Total distributions received in previous
years . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
Line 4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If line 3 is
larger than line 2, enter “0” . . . . . . . 
Line 5. Taxable IRA/Keogh distributions or Roth
IRA conversion distributions. Subtract line 4
from line 1 and enter the result here. Not less
than “0” . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

Note: You must complete separate worksheets if
married filing a joint return and both you and your
spouse received IRA/Keogh Plan and/or Roth IRA
conversion distributions.

Line 3. Other Gambling Winnings
Enter in Schedule X, line 3 all gambling winnings
from casinos, raffles, races, beano or other events
of chance held in Massachusetts (part-year resi-
dents, whether held inside or outside of Mass-
achusetts). Do not enter less than “0.” You may
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only deduct the price of the winning ticket. Gam-
bling losses are not deductible under Massachu-
setts law. Gambling losses claimed as itemized de-
ductions on U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A are not
allowed on your Massachusetts return.

Line 4. Fees and Other 5.3% Income
“Other 5.3% income” includes the following items.
Enter the amounts and sources of each item. Do
not enter less than “0.” Enclose additional state-
ments if more space is needed.

◗ All fee income, such as payments for jury duty,
election worker payments, director’s fees, com-
pensation received as executor or administrator
of an estate, and commission income or tips not
reported in line 5 of Form 1-NR/PY is taxable. Also,
report all bartering income not reported on Sched-
ule C (the fair market value of goods or services
received in payment for your services).
◗ All prizes and awards won by a nonresident in
a quiz program, drawing, beauty contest, etc. held
in Massachusetts (part-year residents, whether
held inside or outside of Massachusetts) are tax-
able at fair market value. Awards and bonuses re-
ceived from your employer for performance of
services in Massachusetts (part-year residents,
whether received from sources inside or outside
of Massachusetts) are also taxable.
◗ Other 5.3% income from Massachusetts
sources or received while a part-year resident, re-
ported on U.S. Form 1040, line 21, and not re-
ported elsewhere in “5.3% Income” section on
Massachusetts Form 1-NR/PY, must be reported
in line 4 of Schedule X.
◗ Pre-1996 installment sales classified as ordinary
income for Massachusetts purposes (from Mass-
achusetts Schedule D, line 9) are taxed as 5.3% in-
come and must be reported on Schedule X, line 4.
◗ Embezzled or other income from illegal activi-
ties from Massachusetts sources or received while
a part-year resident is taxable.
The following items should not be reported on
your Massachusetts return:
◗ Any “net operating loss” reported as a negative
amount on U.S. Form 1040, line 21 cannot be en-
tered on Schedule X. A net operating loss from a
business or profession cannot be carried forward
or backward to offset individual income in any
other year under Massachusetts law.
◗ Refunds of U.S. and Massachusetts income
taxes are not considered income under Massachu-
setts law. If you received interest on refunds, re-
port such interest on Massachusetts Schedule B.

Schedule Y
Other Deductions
Be sure to enclose with Form 1-NR/PY.

Line 1. Allowable Employee
Business Expenses
Generally, reimbursed employee business expenses
are not included in your wages or salary and there-
fore are not allowed as deductions. However, there
are unreimbursed and certain reimbursed expenses
for which you are allowed a deduction. Complete
the following worksheet in order to calculate your
Massachusetts employee business expense de-
duction. The expenses must relate to income re-
ported in lines 5 or 11 on Form 1-NR/PY.

Employees may deduct the following:
◗ unreimbursed travel and transportation ex-
penses including lodging and meals away from
home incurred by any employee; and
◗ all federally deductible unreimbursed employee
business expenses, if the employee is a salesper-
son who solicits business for an employer away
from the employer’s place of business.

Unreimbursed expenses are only deductible if all
of the following conditions are met:
◗ you itemize deductions;
◗ if you filed a joint U.S. return, you must file a
joint Massachusetts return; and
◗ your unreimbursed business expenses taken
together with the other miscellaneous itemized de-
ductions reported on U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A,
lines 20, 21 and 22 exceed 2% of your federal ad-
justed gross income reported on U.S. Form 1040,
Schedule A, line 25. See the following Schedule Y,
line 1 worksheet.

If you are a qualified performing artist or a fee-
basis state or local government official, do not
complete the worksheet. Enter on Schedule Y, line
5 your federally deductible business expenses in-
cluded on U.S. Form 1040, line 35 and fill in the
appropriate oval in Schedule Y, line 5. On the dot-
ted line next to line 5, be sure to indicate the type
of deduction being taken, as identified on U.S.
Form 1040, line 35. For example, qualified per-
forming arts-related expenses should be identi-
fied as “QPA” and employee business expenses
of fee-basis state or local government officials
should be identified as “FBO.” Enclose U.S. Form
2106 or 2106-EZ with your return.

Note: Same-sex joint filers should recalculate
their U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A by combining
allowable expenses as reported on U.S. Form
1040, Schedule A, lines 23 and 27 and their ad-
justed gross incomes as reported on U.S. Form
1040, Schedule A, line 24 in calculating U.S.
Form 1040, Schedule A, line 26. Same-sex joint
filers should also recalculate their US. Form 2106 or

2106 EZ by combining allowable expenses as re-
ported on U.S. Form 2106, lines 4, 9b and 10 or
U.S. Form 2106-EZ, lines 4, 5 and 6. See TIR 04-17
for more information.

Schedule Y, Line 1 — Massachusetts Employee
Business Expense Deduction Worksheet

1. Enter the amount from U.S. Form 2106,
line 10, or 2106-EZ, line 6 . . . . . . . . 
2. If you are an employee other than an outside
salesperson, enter the amount of unreimbursed
expenses included in U.S. Form 2106 or
2106-EZ, line 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
3. If you are an employee other than an outside
salesperson, enter the amount of unreimbursed
meals and entertainment expenses included in
U.S. Form 2106, line 9, column B or 2106-EZ,
line 5, except for meals incurred while away
from home. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
4. If you are an individual with a disability, enter
the amount of impairment-related expenses
included in line 1 and claimed on line 27 of U.S.
Schedule A . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
5. Add lines 2 through 4. Enter the 
result here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
6. Subtract line 5 from line 1, and enter the
result here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
7. Enter the amount from U.S. Schedule A,
line 26 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
8. Enter the smaller amount of line 6 or line 7
here and on Schedule Y, line 1 . . . . 

Line 2. Penalty on Early Savings
Withdrawal
If you were charged a penalty because of early
withdrawal of savings, and interest on the savings
that such a penalty relates to is reported in line 7a
or 24 of this return or on a prior year Massachu-
setts return, you may deduct the penalty. This de-
duction is the same as the amount allowable on
U.S. Form 1040, line 33. Enter this amount in line
2 of Schedule Y.

Line 3. Alimony Paid
This deduction includes only amounts paid by you
to your former spouse during 2004 for alimony or
separate maintenance under court decree, or for ex-
cess alimony amounts recaptured. Nonresidents,
multiply the amount of alimony paid on your U.S.
Form 1040, line 34a, by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g
to determine the amount you may claim against
Massachusetts income. Enter the result in line 3.
Part-year residents, enter the amount of alimony
paid while a Massachusetts resident in line 3.
Note: Alimony payments specified as child sup-
port are not deductible.
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Line 4. Amounts Excludible Under
MGL Ch. 41, Sec. 111F or U.S. Tax
Treaty Included Line 5
Massachusetts allows an exclusion from income
of amounts received by a firefighter or police offi-
cer incapacitated in the line of duty, per MGL Ch.
41, sec. 111F, and an exclusion from income of
amounts received by qualifying students exempt
under a U.S. tax treaty.

Enter any excludible amount of income received
while you were a firefighter or police officer inca-
pacitated in the line of duty in line 4 of Schedule Y
that was included in Form 1-NR/PY, line 5, and fill
in the appropriate oval.

If you were a qualifying student or a taxpayer with
income exempt under a U.S. tax treaty, enter any
excludible amount of income received that was ex-
empt under a U.S. tax treaty in line 4 of Schedule
Y that was included in Form 1-NR/PY, line 5, and
fill in the appropriate oval.

Line 5. Other Qualified Deductions
You may claim only the following deductions for
Schedule Y, line 5. If you are entitled to claim any
of the deductions in line 5, fill in the appropriate
ovals and enter the total amount in line 5.

◗ Student Loan Interest Deduction: For tax year
2004, the maximum deduction is $2,500, with the
allowable amount reduced for individuals with fed-
eral adjusted gross income over $40,000 ($60,000
if married filing jointly). For information on how to
reduce this amount, click on the Guide to Taxes of
the Personal Income section of DOR’s website at
www.mass.gov/dor. Nonresidents, multiply the
amount from U.S. Form 1040, line 26 or 1040A,
line 18 by line 14g and fill in the appropriate oval
in line 5 of Schedule Y. Part-year residents, multi-
ply the amount from U.S. Form 1040, line 26 or
1040A, line 18 by line 2 and fill in the appropriate
oval in line 5 of Schedule Y. This deduction is only
allowed if not claiming the same expenses in line 8
of Schedule Y, Undergraduate Student Loan Inter-
est deduction. Also, taxpayers with federal adjusted
gross income over $55,000 ($75,000 if married
filing jointly) may not claim this deduction.

Note: Same-sex joint filers must use the “Student
Loan Interest Deduction” worksheet in the instruc-
tions to U.S. Form 1040 or 1040A making sure to
combine their income figures, and performing the
calculation as though they were filing a joint fed-
eral return. See TIR 04-17 for more information.

◗ Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA) De-
duction: Due to differences between the Internal
Revenue Code as amended and in effect as of Jan-
uary 1, 1998, and the current year, the Massachu-
setts deduction for an Archer MSA contribution is
allowable only for contributions of individuals who
were active MSA participants before January 1,

2001. Do not include amounts contributed for any
person who was not an active MSA participant be-
fore January 1, 2001. Nonresidents, multiply the
allowable amount of Archer MSA contributions in-
cluded in U.S. Form 1040, line 35 by line 14g and
fill in the appropriate oval in line 5 of Schedule Y.
Part-year residents, multiply the allowable amount
of Archer MSA contributions included in U.S. Form
1040, line 35 by line 2 and fill in the appropriate
oval in line 5 of Schedule Y.

◗ Moving Expenses: Nonresidents and part-year
residents, enter the amount from U.S. Form 1040,
line 29 that is related to Massachusetts employ-
ment and fill in the appropriate oval in line 5 of
Schedule Y.

◗ Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction:
Enter the amount from U.S. Form 1040, line 31.
Note: If you elected to claim the federal credit under
sec. 35 and had to reduce the amount on U.S.
Form 1040, line 31 by the amount of the federal
credit, you may add back the amount of the credit
to the amount entered on U.S Form 1040, line 31.
Fill in the appropriate oval in line 5 of Schedule Y.

◗ Certain Qualified Deductions from U.S. Form
1040: Do not include any amounts reported on
U.S. Form 1040, lines 23 through 34a that are in-
cluded in Form 1040, line 35 total. Enter only
amounts included in U.S. Form 1040, line 35 as an
adjustment, except amounts contributed to sec.
501(c)(18) pension plans. For Massachusetts pur-
poses, contributions to sec. 501(c)(18) pension
plans are not deductible. Nonresidents, if you are
claiming a deduction for clean-fuel vehicles, multi-
ply that amount by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g; part-
year residents, if you are claiming a deduction for
clean-fuel vehicles, multiply that amount by Form
1-NR/PY, line 2. The following deductions may be
claimed only if they are related to Massachusetts
income as included in Form 1-NR/PY, line 12: qual-
ified performing arts-related expenses; jury duty
pay given to your employer; reforestation amorti-
zation; repayment of supplemental unemployment
benefits under the Trade Act of 1974; clean-fuel ve-
hicles; employee business expenses of fee-basis
state or local government officials; and deductible
expenses related to income reported on U.S. Form
1040, line 21 and Massachusetts Schedule X, line
4 from the rental of personal property engaged in
for profit. If you are entitled to claim any of these
deductions, fill in the appropriate oval in line 5 of
Schedule Y. On the dotted line next to line 5, be
sure to indicate the type of deduction being taken,
as identified on U.S. Form 1040, line 35. Identify
qualified performing arts-related expenses as
“QPA”; jury duty pay given to your employer as
“Jury Pay”; reforestation amortization as “RFST”;
repayment of supplemental unemployment bene-
fits under the Trade Act of 1974 as “Sub-Pay TRA”;
the deduction for clean-fuel vehicles as “Clean-

Fuel”; employee business expenses of fee-basis
state or local government officials as “FBO”; and
deductible expenses related to income reported
on U.S. Form 1040, line 21 and Massachusetts
Schedule X, line 4 from the rental of personal prop-
erty engaged in for profit as “PPR.” Fill in the ap-
propriate oval in line 5 of Schedule Y.

Line 6. Deductible Qualified
Contributory Pension Income
from Another State or Political
Subdivision Included in Line 6
Massachusetts allows a deduction for contribu-
tory pension income received from another state
or one of its political subdivisions which does not
tax such income from Massachusetts or its polit-
ical subdivisions. For guidelines to determine
which state’s pensions are exempt in Massachu-
setts, refer to Technical Information Release (TIR)
95-9. Enter any deductible amount of such income
in line 6 of Schedule Y that was included in Form
1-NR/PY, line 6. 

Line 7. College Tuition Deduction
A deduction is allowed for tuition payments paid by
you, for yourself or a dependent, to a qualifying
two-or four-year college. The deduction is equal to
the amount by which the tuition payments, less
any scholarships, grants or financial aid received,
exceed 25% of Massachusetts adjusted gross in-
come. Complete Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY, found on
the back of page 3 of Form 1-NR/PY, and the fol-
lowing Schedule Y, line 7 worksheet to see if you
may qualify for this deduction. See Technical Infor-
mation Release (TIR) 97-13 for more information.

Schedule Y, Line 7 Worksheet —
College Tuition Deduction

1. Enter total tuition payments paid by you, for
yourself or a dependent, to a qualifying two-
or four-year college in 2004 . . . . . . 
2. Enter amount of scholarships, grants or
financial aid received in 2004 for amounts
shown in line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. If “0” or less,
you do not qualify for this deduction
4. Enter amount from line 8 of Schedule
NTS-L-NR/PY, No Tax Status and Limited
Income Credit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
5. Multiply line 4 by .25. . . . . . . . . . 
6. If line 3 is smaller than line 5, you are not
eligible for this deduction. Enter “0.” If line 3
is larger than line 5, subtract line 5 from line 3
and enter the result here . . . . . . . . . 
7. Part-year residents, multiply line 6 by Form
1-NR/PY, line 2. Enter the result here and in line
7 on Schedule Y. Nonresidents, multiply line 6
by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g. Enter the result here
and in line 7 on Schedule Y. . . . . . . 
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Line 8. Undergraduate Student
Loan Interest Deduction
A deduction is allowed for interest paid on a qual-
ified undergraduate student loan. To be eligible
for the deduction, the “education debt” must be a
loan that is administered by the financial aid office
of a two-year or four-year college at which you, or
a qualified dependent, were enrolled as an under-
graduate student. Additionally, the loan must have
been secured through a state student loan pro-
gram, a federal student loan program, or a com-
mercial lender, and must have been spent solely
for the purposes of paying tuition and other ex-
penses directly related to the school enrollment.
Enter the amount of such interest paid in Sched-
ule Y, line 8. This deduction is only allowed if not
claiming the same expenses in line 5 of Schedule
Y, Student Loan Interest Deduction.

Nonresidents, multiply the amount of such inter-
est paid by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g and enter the
result in Schedule Y, line 8. Part-year residents,
multiply the amount of such interest paid by Form
1-NR/PY, line 2 and enter the result in Schedule Y,
line 8.

Line 9. Commuter Deduction
A deduction is allowed for certain amounts paid by
an individual for tolls paid for through a FastLane
account or for weekly or monthly transit commuter
passes for MBTA transit or commuter rail, not in-
cluding amounts reimbursed or otherwise deduct-
ible. In the case of a single person or a married
person filing a separate return or a head of house-
hold filing a separate return, this deduction applies
only to the portion of such expended amount that
exceeds $150, and the total amount deducted can-
not exceed $750. In the case of a married couple fil-
ing a joint return, this deduction applies only to the
portion of such amount expended by each individual
that exceeds $150, and the total amount deducted
cannot exceed $750 for each individual. Also, one
spouse cannot transfer his or her excess deduction
to the other spouse; separate worksheets must be
completed to calculate the deduction. See TIR 04-25
for additional information. Complete the worksheet
below to calculate the commuter deduction.

Schedule Y, Line 9 Worksheet —
Commuter Deduction

1. Enter amount paid for tolls through a
FastLane account . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
2. Enter amount paid for weekly or monthly
transit commuter passes for MBTA transit or
commuter rail. (do not include amounts
reimbursed or otherwise deductible)
3. Add lines 1 and 2. If $150 or less, you do not
qualify for this deduction. Omit remainder of
this worksheet. Otherwise, complete lines 4
through 7. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

4. Enter $150 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
5. Subtract line 4 from line 3. . . . . . 
6. Enter the lesser of line 5 or $750
7. Part-year residents, multiply line 6 by Form
1-NR/PY, line 2. Enter the result here and in line
9 on Schedule Y. Nonresidents, multiply line 6
by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g. Enter the result
here and in line 9 on Schedule Y. . . 

Schedule Z
Other Credits
Be sure to enclose with Form 1-NR/PY.

Line 1. Part 1 Credits
◗ Lead Paint: If you incurred expenses for cover-
ing or removing lead paint on residential premises
in Massachusetts, you may claim a credit for ex-
penses up to $1,500 for each residential unit. The
basic rules are explained on Massachusetts
Schedule LP, Credit for Removing or Covering
Lead Paint on Residential Premises. If you qualify
for the credit, complete Schedule LP and fill in the
appropriate oval in Part 1.

◗ Economic Opportunity Area Credit: Mass-
achusetts allows a credit equal to 5% of the cost
of qualifying property purchased for business use
within an Economic Opportunity Area (EOA). If you
qualify for the credit, complete Schedule EOA and
fill in the appropriate oval in Part 1.

◗ Full Employment Credit: Every employer who
participates in the Full Employment Program and
continues to employ a participant for at least one
full month after any Full Employment Program
subsidy for that participant has expired may claim
the Full Employment Credit. A qualified employer
may claim a credit equal to $100 per month of eli-
gible employment per participant, with a maximum
credit of $1,200 per participant. Qualified partici-
pants and employers are those who participate in
the Full Employment Program under the rules of
the Department of Transitional Assistance (DTA). A
five-year carryover of any unused credit is allowed.
If you qualify for this credit, complete Massachu-
setts Schedule FEC, Full Employment Credit, and
fill in the appropriate oval in Part 1.

◗ Septic Credit: An owner of residential property
located in Massachusetts who occupies the prop-
erty as his or her principal residence is allowed a
credit of a maximum of $1,500 per taxable year
for expenses incurred to comply with the sewer
system requirements of Title V as promulgated by
the Department of Environmental Protection or to
connect to a municipal sewer system pursuant to
a federal court order, administrative consent
order, state court order, consent decree or similar
mandate. The amount of the credit is 40% of the

cost, up to $15,000, for design and construction
expenses for repair or replacement of a failed
cesspool or septic system. The maximum aggre-
gate amount of the credit is $6,000. A five-year
carryover of any unused credit is allowed. See TIRs
97-12, 98-8, 99-5, 99-20 and DOR Directive 01-6
for more information. If you qualify for this credit,
complete Massachusetts Schedule SC, Septic
Credit, and fill in the appropriate oval in Part 1.

◗ Brownfields Credit: Effective for tax years be-
ginning on or after January 1, 1999, taxpayers are
allowed a credit for amounts expended to rehabil-
itate contaminated property owned or leased for
business purposes and located within an econom-
ically distressed area. In general, the credit is 25%
or 50% of certain environmental response and re-
moval costs incurred between August 1, 1998,
and January 1, 2007, provided that the taxpayer
commences and diligently pursues an environ-
mental response action before August 5, 2003.
The credit that may be taken in any taxable year is
limited to 50% of the taxpayer’s tax liability. A five-
year carryforward of unused credit is allowed,
provided the taxpayer continues to maintain the
remedies required by law. For more information,
see TIRs 99-13 and 00-9.

◗ Low-Income Housing Credit: A new low-in-
come housing credit is available to individual tax-
payers. The Department of Housing and Commu-
nity Development will allocate the low-income
housing credit from a pool of available credits
granted under section 42 of the Internal Revenue
Code among qualified low-income housing proj-
ects. A taxpayer allocated a federal low-income
housing credit may also be eligible for a state credit
based on the credit amount allocated to a low-in-
come housing project that the taxpayer owns. A
five-year carryforward of unused credit is allowed.
See TIR 99-19 for more information. If you qualify
for the credit, fill in the appropriate oval in Part 1.

Nonresidents and part-year residents, enter the
total amount of all credits claimed in Part 1 in
Schedule Z, line 1 and enter line 1 total on Form
1-NR/PY, line 33. Part-year residents, complete
line 2, if applicable.

Line 2. Part 2 Credits for Residents
and Part-Year Residents Only
◗ Income Tax Paid to Another State: If any of the
income reported on this return is subject to taxa-
tion in another state or jurisdiction and you have
filed a return and paid taxes in the other state or
jurisdiction, complete Schedule F on the back of
page 3 of Form 1-NR/PY to calculate the credit
and fill in the appropriate oval in Part 2. Also, be
sure to enter the two-letter state or jurisdictional
postal code for each state or jurisdiction for which
you are taking the credit. Visit the United State
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Postal Service’s website at www.usps.com and
click on “Service Guides” for a list of these codes.
See Schedule F instructions.

◗ Energy: If you had expenditures for certain re-
newable energy source items, such as equipment
which uses or transmits solar or wind energy to
heat, cool, or provide hot water for your principal
residence in Massachusetts, you may qualify for a
credit. Massachusetts does not allow a credit for
expenditures on items such as: insulation, storm
or thermal windows or doors, caulking, weather-
stripping, heat pumps (air and water), wood burn-
ing stoves or furnaces, and costs for energy
conservation. If you qualify for the credit, complete
Massachusetts Schedule EC, Residential Energy
Credit, and fill in the appropriate oval in Part 2.

Part-year residents, enter the total amount of the
credits claimed in Part 2 in Schedule Z, line 2 and
enter line 2 total on Form 1-NR/PY, line 34.

Schedule E, Part I
Note: If showing a loss, be sure to mark over the
“X” in the box to the left.

Rental, Royalty and REMIC Income
or Loss
Line 2. Massachusetts Differences
Enter and explain any amounts or differences in-
cluded in line 1 which are not taxable to you in
Massachusetts or which have already been taxed
on a Massachusetts return. Explain the differences
in the space provided or attach an additional sheet
if necessary. Possible differences include:

Nonresidents. Enter any rental, royalty or REMIC
income or losses included in line 1 which is not
Massachusetts source income and thus not taxable
to you as a nonresident. Massachusetts source
rental income must be from real or tangible per-
sonal property located in Massachusetts.

Part-year residents. Enter any rental, royalty or
REMIC income or losses included in line 1 you
received while you were not a resident of
Massachusetts.

Trust Provisions
Enter any rental or royalty income or losses shown
on your U.S. return that is taxed on a Massachu-
setts Fiduciary Return, Form 2.

Deductible Royalties from U.S. Energy
Conservation Patents
Enter any income you received from U.S. patents
that are approved by the Massachusetts Division
of Energy Resources as being useful for energy
conservation or for alternative energy develop-
ment. For more information, contact the Division of

Energy Resources by calling (617) 727-4732. En-
close a copy of such approval to your tax return.
If such approved income is other than royalty in-
come, use the applicable schedule and explain.

Passive Losses
As a result of differences in U.S. and Massachu-
setts rules in 1987, the calculations you made for
passive losses on your 1987 U.S. and Massachu-
setts returns may have differed. Differences in
amounts reported in 1987 for U.S. and Massachu-
setts tax purposes should be adjusted when the
property is disposed of or the deduction is used up.
In addition, passive losses allowed for Massachu-
setts tax purposes in 1987, but carried over for U.S.
tax purposes, cannot be used again for Massachu-
setts tax purposes when such carryover losses
are eventually allowed for U.S. tax purposes.

To the extent there are applicable adjustments for
Massachusetts differences, taxpayers must cal-
culate allowable losses on a pro forma U.S. Form
8582, Passive Activity Loss Limitations.

Note: Same-sex joint filers should use Federal
Form 8582 to recalculate their loss limitations as
though they were filing a joint federal return. See
TIR 04-17 for more information.

“Bonus” Depreciation
Massachusetts depreciation has been decoupled
from the federal “bonus” depreciation law. For
Massachusetts purposes, for taxable years ending
after September 10, 2001, depreciation is to be
claimed on all assets, regardless of when they are
placed in service, using the method used for fed-
eral income tax purposes prior to the enactment of
sec. 168(k). For more information see TIRs 02-11
and 03-25.

Line 4. Abandoned Building
Renovation Deduction
Enter 10% of the costs of renovating a qualifying
abandoned building in an Economic Opportunity
Area. For further information, contact the Mass-
achusetts Office of Business Development by call-
ing (617) 973-8600.

Line 5. Total Rental and Royalty
Income or Loss for Massachusetts
Subtract line 4 from line 3. Remember to subtract
losses when calculating the total. Line 5 should be
added to any amounts in Schedule E, Part II, line 8
and/or Part III, line 11 and the total entered on Form
1-NR/PY, line 9.

Schedule E, Part II
Note: If showing a loss, be sure to mark over the
“X” in the box to the left.

Income or Loss from Partnerships
and S Corporations
Line 2. Massachusetts Differences
Enter and explain any differences between total
partnership and S corporation income on the U.S.
return and the same type of income on your Mass-
achusetts return. Enclose an additional statement,
if necessary. Refer back to Schedule E, Part I, line
2 instructions for further guidance. If you use in-
formation from Massachusetts Schedule 3K-1 or
Schedule SK-1, take care not to duplicate adjust-
ments already made for differences in U.S. and
Massachusetts tax treatments.

Nonresidents. Income or loss included in U.S.
Schedule E, Part II, line 32, which is derived from
partnerships or S corporations not doing business
in Massachusetts is not taxable to you as a non-
resident. Also, enter adjustments as differences if
your partnerships or S corporations are entitled to
apportion income in Massachusetts.

Part-year residents. Income or loss from partner-
ships or S corporations you received while you
were not a resident of Massachusetts is not tax-
able to you as a part-year resident.

Line 4. Abandoned Building
Renovation Deduction
Enter 10% of the costs of renovating a qualifying
abandoned building. For further information, refer
to the instructions for Schedule E, Part I, line 4.

Line 6. 12% Interest and Dividends
Enter 12% interest and dividends from trade or
business activity(ies) if included in line 5 from part-
nerships and S corporations. This income must be
entered in Massachusetts Schedule B, line 3. This
information should be provided by the partnership
or S corporation.

Line 7. Interest from Massachusetts
Banks
Enter interest from Massachusetts banks from
trade or business activity(ies) if reported in line 5.
This income must be reported on Form 1-NR/PY,
line 7a. This information should be provided by the
partnership or S corporation.

Line 8. Total Income or Loss from
Partnerships and S Corporations
Subtract the total of lines 6 and 7 from line 5. Re-
member to subtract losses when calculating the
total. Line 8 should be added to any amounts in
Schedule E, Part I, line 5 and/or Part III, line 11
and the total entered on Form 1-NR/PY, line 9.

25Schedule Instructions



Schedule E, Part III
Note: If showing a loss, be sure to mark over the
“X” in the box to the left.

Income or Loss from Grantor-Type
Trusts and Non-Massachusetts
Estates and Trusts
Line 2. Massachusetts Differences
Enter and explain any differences between estate
and trust income or loss on the U.S. return and
the same type of income on your Massachusetts
return. Refer to Schedule E, Part 1, line 2 instruc-
tions for further guidance.

Line 4. Abandoned Building
Renovation Deduction
Enter 10% of the costs of renovating a qualifying
abandoned building. For further information, refer
to the instructions for Schedule E, Part I, line 4.

Line 6. Estate or Nongrantor-Type
Trust Income
Enter estate or nongrantor-type trust income taxed
directly on your Massachusetts Fiduciary Return,
Form 2, if included in line 5. If you do not know
this amount, check either your U.S. Schedule K-1
or contact your trustee or other fiduciary.

Line 7. Massachusetts Taxable
Income from Estates or Trusts
Not Previously Taxed
Subtract line 6 from line 5. Generally, for nonresi-
dents, the only amount entered in line 5 will be the
income from grantor-type trusts. Other Massachu-
setts source income should be taxed at the estate
or trust level.

Line 8. 12% Interest and Dividends
Enter any 12% interest and dividends if included
in line 7 and enter on Massachusetts Schedule B,
line 3.

Line 9. Adjustment of 5.3% Income
Enter the total of interest from Massachusetts
banks if included in line 7. This income must be re-
ported on Form 1-NR/PY, line 7a. Enter the total of
pension and annuity income if included in line 7.
This income must be reported on Form 1-NR/PY,
line 6.

Line 11. Income or Loss
from Grantor-Type and Non-
Massachusetts Estates and Trusts
Subtract line 10 from line 7. Remember to subtract
losses when calculating the total. Line 11 should
be added to any amount(s) in Schedule E, Part I,
line 5 and/or Part II, line 8 and the total entered on
Form 1-NR/PY, line 9.

Schedule B
Note: If showing a loss, be sure to mark over the
“X” in the box to the left.

12% Interest, Dividend and Certain
Capital Gains and Losses
Nonresidents and part-year residents must file
Massachusetts Schedule B if you had:

◗ dividend income in excess of $1,500;
◗ any interest income other than from Massachu-
setts banks taxed at 5.3%;
◗ short-term capital gains or losses;
◗ carryover short-term losses from prior years;
◗ long-term gains on collectibles and pre-1996 in-
stallment sales classified as capital gain income
for Massachusetts purposes;
◗ gains or losses from the sale, exchange or invol-
untary conversion of property used in a trade or
business;
◗ net long-term capital gains and losses; or
◗ excess exemptions.

Collectibles are defined as any capital asset that is
a collectible within the meaning of Internal Rev-
enue Code section 408(m), as amended and in
effect for the taxable year, including works of art,
rugs, antiques, metals, gems, stamps, alcoholic
beverages, certain coins, and any other items
treated as collectibles for federal tax purposes.

Nonresidents, interest and dividends are from
Massachusetts sources if they are directly con-
nected with your business activity in Massachu-
setts. Also, report on Massachusetts Schedule B
the short-term gain or loss realized from the trans-
action of assets being sold or exchanged which are
considered to be from Massachusetts sources.
Massachusetts source assets are (1) real or tan-
gible personal property located in Massachusetts
and (2) property connected with a Massachusetts
trade, business or employment.

Nonresidents need not file Massachusetts Sched-
ule B if:
◗ all your interest and dividend income and cer-
tain capital gains was from non-Massachusetts
sources;
◗ all Massachusetts source interest income you
had was from Massachusetts banks and is taxed
at 5.3% (reportable on Form 1-NR/PY, line 7a); or
◗ your Massachusetts source gross dividend
income was $1,500 or less (reportable on Form
1-NR/PY, line 24).

Part-year residents, dividend income in excess
of $1,500 or any interest income other than from
Massachusetts banks (reportable on Form
1-NR/PY, line 7a) received while you were a resi-
dent of Massachusetts, whether received from
sources inside or outside of Massachusetts, must
be reported on Massachusetts Schedule B. Also,

short-term gains or losses realized while you were
a resident of Massachusetts, whether received
from sources inside or outside of Massachusetts,
from the sale or exchange of capital assets or
from similar transactions which are granted capi-
tal gain or loss treatment on your U.S. return must
be reported on Schedule B. Include gains from all
property, wherever located.

Part-year residents need not file Massachusetts
Schedule B if all interest income you had that is tax-
able by Massachusetts was from Massachusetts
banks (reportable on Form 1-NR/PY, line 7a), and
your gross dividend income was $1,500 or less (re-
portable on Form 1-NR/PY, line 24), and you have
no short-term capital gains or losses, long-term
gains on collectibles and pre-1996 installment
sales, gains or losses from the sale, exchange or
involuntary conversion of property used in a trade
or business, allowable deductions from your trade
or business, carryover short-term losses from
prior years, net long-term capital gains or losses,
or excess exemptions.

◗ Nonresidents and part-year residents must
complete Massachusetts Schedule B if your inter-
est or dividend income includes: dividends taxed
directly to trusts or estates on a Massachusetts
Fiduciary Return, Form 2; distributions that are re-
turns of capital; or exempt portions of any inter-
est or dividends from a mutual fund or dividends
from current earnings of a corporate trust that are
taxed directly on a Massachusetts Corporate Trust
Return, Form 3F.

◗ You need not complete Schedule B, Part 2, Part
3 and Part 4 if you do not have any of the follow-
ing: short-term capital gains or losses; carryover
short-term losses from prior years; long-term
gains on collectibles and pre-1996 installment
sales classified as capital gain income for Mass-
achusetts purposes; gains or losses from the sale,
exchange or involuntary conversion of property
used in a trade or business and held for one year
or less; allowable deductions from your trade or
business; net long-term capital gains or losses; or
excess exemptions (see line 9 instructions).

Part 1. 12% Interest and Dividend
Income
Line 1. Total Interest Income
Enter your total interest income from your U.S.
Form 1040 or 1040A, lines 8a and 8b, U.S. Form
1040EZ, line 2, or U.S. Telefile Tax Record, item C.

Line 2. Total Ordinary Dividends
Enter your total ordinary dividends from your U.S.
Schedule B, Part II, line 6 (Form 1040) or U.S.
Schedule 1, Part II, line 6 (Form 1040A). If you did
not file U.S. Schedule B or U.S. Schedule 1, enter
the amount from U.S. Form 1040 or 1040A, line 9a.

26 Schedule Instructions



Line 3. Other Interest and Dividends
Enter the following amounts and their sources
(enclose additional statement if more space is
necessary):
◗ Interest from obligations of other states and their
political subdivisions (including your share, if any,
from a partnership, an S corporation and a grantor-
type trust or non-Massachusetts trust). Do not in-
clude exempt interest already included in line 1;
◗ Taxable distributions from Massachusetts S
corporations not reported in Schedule B, line 2.
Distributions in excess of the Massachusetts ac-
cumulated adjustments account are dividends to
the extent of the corporation’s Massachusetts ac-
cumulated earnings and profits. For more infor-
mation, see Regulation 830 CMR 62.17A.1;
◗ Interest and dividends from a partnership, S
corporation, grantor-type trust, or non-Massachu-
setts estate or trust from Massachusetts Schedule
E. Generally, portfolio interest and dividend income
from partnerships and S corporations should al-
ready be included in the Schedule B, line 1 and line
2 amounts;
◗ Interest from a trade or business that is reported
on Massachusetts Schedule C, line 32; or
◗ Interest or dividends from a mutual fund, if such
distributions are not included in line 1 or line 2.
See line 6.

Lines 5 and 6
Enter only amounts related to income that you
have already included in lines 1, 2, and 3.

Line 5. Total Interest from
Massachusetts Banks
Enter the total interest included in Form 1-NR/PY,
line 7a (prior to the exemption amount being sub-
tracted) only if it has been included in lines 1 or 3
of this schedule.

Line 6. Other Interest and Dividends
to Be Excluded
Enter the total interest and dividends from the fol-
lowing sources (enclose an additional statement,
if necessary):
◗ Interest on U.S. debt obligations. Enter interest
received on U.S. Treasury bills, notes and bonds,
savings bonds or other obligations of the United
States, including its territories or dependencies.
Such interest is tax-exempt in Massachusetts. For
further information concerning exempt obligations
of the United States, see TIR 89-8;
◗ Interest and dividends taxed directly to Mass-
achusetts estates and trusts. Enter the interest and
dividends that are taxed directly to a Massachu-
setts estate or trust (reportable on a Massachu-
setts Fiduciary Return, Form 2);
◗ Any distribution which is a return of capital in-
cluded in total gross dividends, line 2;

◗ Any interest or dividends from obligations of the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts or its political
subdivisions held by you;
◗ Any exempt portion of interest or dividends
from a mutual fund included in lines 1, 2 or 3 of
this schedule. Enter only the exempt portion of in-
terest or dividends derived from obligations of the
U.S. government or the Commonwealth of Mass-
achusetts or its political subdivisions;
◗ Any dividends from current earnings of a corpo-
rate trust only if such entity is taxed directly on a
Massachusetts Corporate Trust Return, Massachu-
setts Form 3F; or
◗ Any interest on pre-retirement distributions
from state and municipal contributory pension
plans.

◗ Nonresidents. Any amounts included in lines 1,
2 and 3 which you received from sources other
than Massachusetts; or

◗ Part-year residents. Any amounts included in
lines 1, 2 or 3 which you received while legally
domiciled in another state or country.

Do not enter in line 6 either of the following:
◗ Dividends from the earnings and profits accu-
mulated prior to January 1, 1971 by any corporate
trust which was not taxed directly by Massachu-
setts in prior years, even though such an entity is
taxed directly now (obtain from the entity the tax-
able status of dividends paid to you); or
◗ Dividends from any corporate trust which is not
taxed directly by Massachusetts. Such entities in-
clude: those not doing business in Massachusetts;
regulated investment companies or real estate in-
vestment trusts (both as defined under the U.S.
Internal Revenue Code, Sections 851 and 856); or
holding companies (as defined in Massachusetts
General Laws, Chapter 62, section 8).

Line 8. Allowable Deductions
from Your Trade or Business
Enter the amount from Massachusetts Schedule
C-2, line 8 if you qualify for an excess trade or busi-
ness deduction. Generally, taxpayers may not use
excess 5.3% deductions to offset other income.
However, where the taxpayer files a Massachu-
setts Schedule C or Schedule E, Massachusetts
law allows such offsets if the following require-
ments are met: the excess 5.3% deductions must
be adjusted gross income deductions allowed
under MGL Ch. 62, sec. 2(d); and these excess de-
ductions may only be used to offset other income
which is effectively connected with the active con-
duct of a trade or business or any other income al-
lowed under IRC, sec. 469(d)(1)(B) to offset losses
from passive activities.

Line 9. Subtotal Interest and
Dividend Income
Subtract line 8 from line 7. If you have no short-
term capital gains or losses, carryover short-term
losses from prior years, long-term gains on col-
lectibles and pre-1996 installment sales classified
as capital gain income for Massachusetts pur-
poses, gains or losses from the sale, exchange or
involuntary conversion of property used in a trade
or business and held for one year or less, allow-
able deductions from your trade or business, net
long-term capital gains or losses, or excess ex-
emptions, omit lines 10 through 37. Enter the
amount from line 9 in line 38 of Schedule B and on
Form 1-NR/PY, line 24, and omit lines 39 and 40 of
Schedule B. Otherwise, complete Parts 2, 3 and 4.

Part 2. Short-Term Capital Gains
and Losses and Long-Term Gains on
Collectibles and Pre-1996
Installment Sales
If there are any differences between U.S. and
Massachusetts amounts reported in lines 10, 11,
12, 16 and 17, be sure to enter the Massachusetts
amount. Possible differences include:
◗ Part-year residents, transactions conducted
while you were legally domiciled in another state
or country;
◗ Nonresidents, transactions that were not asso-
ciated with a trade or business in Massachusetts;
◗ Short-term capital gains taxed directly to
Massachusetts estates and trusts (reportable on a
Massachusetts Fiduciary Return, Form 2);
◗ Upon the sale of stock of an S corporation, the
federal basis must be modified according to
Massachusetts Income Tax Regulation, 830 CMR
62.17A.1; and
◗ Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment
rules to take into account differences between
Massachusetts and federal tax laws. For more in-
formation regarding basis adjustment rules, see
TIR 88-7.

Line 10. Short-Term Capital Gains
Enter the gross short-term capital gains included
in U.S. Schedule D, lines 1, 2, 4 and 5, column (f).

Line 11. Long-Term Capital Gains
on Collectibles and Pre-1996
Installment Sales
Enter the amount of long-term capital gains on
collectibles and pre-1996 installment sales classi-
fied as capital gain income for Massachusetts pur-
poses, from Massachusetts Schedule D, line 11.
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Line 12. Gain on Sale of Business
Property
Enter from U.S. Form 4797 the amount of gain
from the sale, exchange or involuntary conversion
of property used in a trade or business and held
for one year or less.

Line 14. Allowable Deductions
From Your Trade or Business
Enter the amount from Massachusetts Schedule
C-2, line 11 if you qualify for an excess trade or
business deduction. Generally, taxpayers may not
use excess 5.3% deductions to offset other in-
come. However, where the taxpayer files a Mass-
achusetts Schedule C or Schedule E, Massachu-
setts law allows such offsets if the following
requirements are met: the excess 5.3% deductions
must be adjusted gross income deductions al-
lowed under MGL Ch. 62, sec. 2(d); and these ex-
cess deductions may only be used to offset other
income which is effectively connected with the
active conduct of a trade or business or any other
income allowed under IRC, sec. 469(d)(1)(B) to
offset losses from passive activities.

Line 16. Short-Term Capital Losses
Enter the gross short-term capital losses included
in U.S. Schedule D, lines 1, 2, 4 and 5, column (f).

Line 17. Loss on Sale of Business
Property
Enter from U.S. Form 4797 the amount of loss
from the sale, exchange or involuntary conver-
sion of property used in a trade or business and
held for one year or less.

Line 18. Prior Years Short-Term
Unused Losses
You may use short-term losses accumulated in the
previous taxable years beginning after 1981 in the
computation of short-term gain or loss for the cur-
rent year. Enter here the amount from your 2003
Massachusetts Schedule B, line 40.

Line 19. Subtotal Interest and
Dividends and Certain Capital
Gains and Losses
Combine lines 15 through 18. If “0” or greater,
omit lines 20 through 23 and enter the amount
from line 19 in line 24. If less than “0,” complete
line 20.

Line 20. Short-Term Losses Applied
Against Interest and Dividends
Enter the smaller of line 9 or line 19 (considered
as a positive amount). Not more than $2,000.

Line 21. Available Short-Term
Losses
Combine lines 19 and 20. This amount should be
“0” or less. If line 21 is less than “0,” go to line 22.
If line 21 is “0,” omit lines 22 through 28 and go
to Part 3.

If Schedule B, line 21 is a loss and Schedule D, line
12 is a loss, omit line 22, enter the amount from
line 21 in line 23 and line 40, omit lines 24 through
28 and complete Parts 3 and 4.

Line 22. Short-Term Losses Applied
Against Long-Term Gains
If Schedule B, line 21 is a loss and Schedule D, line
12 is greater than “0,” enter the smaller of Sched-
ule B, line 21 (considered as a positive amount) or
Schedule D, line 12 in Schedule B, line 22 and in
Schedule D, line 13.

Line 23. Short-Term Losses for
Carryover in 2005
Combine line 21 and line 22 and enter the result
in line 23 and in line 40, omit lines 24 through 28
and complete Part 3 and Part 4.

Line 24. Short-Term Gains and
Long-Term Gains on Collectibles
Enter the amount from Schedule B, line 19. If
Schedule D, line 12 is “0” or greater, omit line 25
and enter the amount from line 24 in line 26. If
Schedule D, line 12 is a loss, go to Schedule B,
line 25.

Line 25. Long-Term Losses Applied
Against Short-Term Gains
If Schedule B, line 24 is greater than “0,” and
Schedule D, line 12 is a loss, enter the smaller of
Schedule B, line 24 or Schedule D, line 12 (consid-
ered as a positive amount) in Schedule B, line 25
and in Schedule D, line 13.

Line 27. Long-Term Gains Deduction
Complete only if lines 11 and 26 are greater
than”0.” If there is no entry in line 11, enter “0.” If
line 11 shows a gain, enter 50% of line 11 minus
50% of losses in lines 16, 17, 18 and 25, but not
less than “0.”

Example: Jack has a long-term capital gain on col-
lectibles of $1,000 entered in line 11 and line 15.
He does not have any other interest income (other
than interest from Massachusetts banks) and div-
idend income. Jack also has a short-term capital
loss of $100 entered in line 16 and a prior year
short-term unused loss of $200 entered in line 18.
Jack enters $350 in line 27: $500 (50% of $1,000)
minus $150 (50% of $300) = $350.

Part 3. Adjusted Gross Interest,
Dividends Short-Term Capital Gains
and Long-Term Gains
on Collectibles
Line 31. Subtotal Interest and
Dividends
If Schedule D, line 14 is “0” or greater, omit Sched-
ule B, line 32 and enter the amount from Schedule
B, line 31 in Schedule B, line 33. If Schedule D,
line 14 is a loss, go to Schedule B, line 32.

Line 32. Long-Term Losses Applied
Against Interest and Dividends
If Schedule B, line 31 is a positive amount and
Schedule D, line 14 is a loss, complete the Long-
Term Capital Losses Applied Against Interest and
Dividends Worksheet for Schedule B, Line 32 and
Schedule D, Line 15. When completing the work-
sheet, be sure to enter all losses as a positive
amount.

Part 4. Taxable Interest, Dividends
and Certain Capital Gains
Line 36. Excess Exemptions
Enter the amount from line 5 of the Excess Exemp-
tion Worksheet. Complete only if single, head of
household or married filing a joint return and
Form 1-NR/PY, line 22 is greater than Form
1-NR/PY, line 21.

Long-Term Capital Losses Applied Against
Interest and Dividends Worksheet for
Schedule B, Line 32 and Schedule D, Line 15.
Complete only if Schedule B, line 31 is a
positive amount and Schedule D, line 14 is
a loss. Enter all losses as positive amounts.

1. Enter amount from Schedule B, 
line 29 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
2. Enter the lesser of line 1 or $2,000
3. Enter the amount from Schedule B, 
line 30 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If “0”or less omit
the remainder of worksheet. Otherwise,
complete lines 5 and 6 . . . . . . . . . . 
5. Enter any loss from Schedule D, line 14 as
a positive amount. Otherwise, 
enter “0” . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
6. If line 4 is smaller than or equal to line 5, enter
line 4 here and in Schedule B, line 32 and in
Schedule D, line 15. If line 4 is larger than line 5,
enter line 5 here and in Schedule B, line 32 and
in Schedule D, line 15 . . . . . . . . . . . 
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Schedule D
Note: If showing a loss, be sure to mark over the
X in the box to the left.

Long-Term Capital Gains and
Losses Excluding Collectibles
Nonresidents. The long-term gain or loss realized
from the transaction of assets being sold or ex-
changed which are considered to be from Mass-
achusetts sources must be reported on Massachu-
setts Schedule D. Long-term capital gains are
gains on the sale or exchange or capital assets that
have been held for more than one year on the date
of sale or exchange. Long-term capital losses are
losses on the sale or exchange of capital assets
that have been held for more than one year on the
date of sale or exchange. Massachusetts source
assets are (1) real or tangible personal property
located in Massachusetts and (2) property con-
nected with a Massachusetts trade, business or
employment.

Part-year residents. The long-term gains or losses
realized while you were a resident of Massachu-
setts, whether received from sources inside or out-
side of Massachusetts, from the sale or exchange
of capital assets or from similar transactions
which are granted capital gain or loss treatment
on your U.S. return, or any capital gains distribu-
tions received, must be reported on Massachu-
setts Schedule D. Include gains from all property,
wherever located. Long-term capital gains are
gains on the sale or exchange or capital assets
that have been held for more than one year on the
date of sale or exchange. Long-term capital losses
are losses on the sale or exchange of capital as-
sets that have been held for more than one year
on the date of sale or exchange.

The law defines “capital gain income” as gain from
the sale or exchange of a capital asset. The defini-
tion of “capital asset” includes: (1) an asset which
is a capital asset under IRC sec. 1221, or (2) prop-
erty that is used in a trade or business within the
meaning of IRC sec. 1231(b) without regard to the
holding period as defined in said sec. 1231(b).
For a detailed explanation of the new law, see the
Department’s Regulation on Capital Gains and
Losses at 830 CMR 62.4.1.

Differences
Significant differences between the U.S. and Mass-
achusetts capital gain provisions are:
◗ IRC sec. 1244 losses reported as ordinary
losses on your U.S. return must be reported on
Massachusetts Schedule D;
◗ If you made a federal election under sec. 311 of
the Tax Relief Act of 1997 to recognize gain on the
deemed sale of a capital asset held on January 1,
2001, Massachusetts does not follow the federal

rules at sec. 311 for determining the basis of the
asset. See TIR 02-3. If you sold a capital asset in
2004 for which you made a federal sec. 311 elec-
tion, the Massachusetts initial basis will not be the
federal basis. The Massachusetts initial basis will
be determined as of the date the asset was first
acquired;
◗ Upon the sale of stock of an S corporation, the
federal basis must be modified according to
Massachusetts Income Tax Regulation, 830 CMR
62.17A.1; and
◗ Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment
rules to take into account differences between
Massachusetts and federal tax laws. For more in-
formation regarding basis adjustment rules, see
TIR 88-7.

Net ordinary losses that are itemized deductions
on U.S. Schedule A are not allowable.

Installment Sales
If a sale was treated as an installment sale for
U.S. income tax purposes, it may be treated the
same way on your Massachusetts income tax re-
turn. Gains from pre-1996 installment sales are
classified as either capital gains or ordinary income
under the Massachusetts law in effect on the date
the sale or exchange took place.

Gains from pre-1996 installment sales that are
classified as capital gains should be reported as
12% income on Massachusetts Schedule B. If the
asset was held for more than one year when it
was sold, the gain will be eligible for a 50% long-
term deduction. Gains from pre-1996 installment
sales that are classified as capital gains included
on Massachusetts Schedule D, line 3 should be
reported on Massachusetts Schedule D, line 11
(“Long-term gains on collectibles and pre-1996
installment sales”). The amount of such gain is
then reported on Massachusetts Schedule B, Part
2, line 11.

Gains from pre-1996 installment sales classified
as ordinary income and that are included on
Massachusetts Schedule D, line 3 should be re-
ported on Massachusetts Schedule D, line 9 (“Dif-
ferences”). The amount of such gain classified as
ordinary income should then be reported on Form
1-NR/PY, line 11 (“Other income”) and included
on Schedule X, line 4 and identified as “2004 gain
from pre-1996 installment sale.”

Note: If you are reporting capital gains on install-
ment sales that occurred during January 1, 1996
through December 31, 2001, do not file Schedule
D. Instead, you must file Schedule D-IS, Install-
ment Sales. If you are reporting an installment
sale occurring on or after January 1, 2002, report
those gains on Schedule D. Schedule D-IS can be
obtained on DOR’s website at www.mass.gov/dor.

If you wish to report a sale on your Massachu-
setts return as an installment sale, you must apply
in writing to the Department of Revenue’s Install-
ment Sales Unit. The Commissioner of Revenue
must approve your application to report the sale
on the installment basis in Massachusetts before
you file your return, and appropriate security must
be posted. An explanatory statement must be en-
closed with each return for the life of the install-
ment sale. For further information contact the In-
stallment Sales Unit at (617) 887-6950.

Long-Term Capital Gains and
Losses, Excluding Collectibles
Line 1. Long-Term Capital Gains
and Losses
Enter the gain or loss included in U.S. Schedule
D, line 8, column f.

Line 2. Additional Long-Term
Capital Gains and Losses
Enter the gain or loss included in U.S. Schedule
D, line 9, column f.

Line 3. Gain from Sales of Business
Property and Other Long-Term
Gains and Losses
Enter the gain or loss included in U.S. Schedule
D, line 11, column f.

Line 4. Net Long-Term Gain or Loss
from Partnerships, S Corporations,
Estates and Trusts
Enter the gain or loss included in U.S. Schedule
D, line 12, column f.

Line 5. Capital Gain Distributions
If you did not file U.S. Schedule D, enter the capi-
tal gain distributions reported to you by a mutual
fund or real estate investment trust included in the
amount from U.S. Form 1040, line 13 or 1040A,
line 10.

If you did file a U.S. Schedule D, enter the capital
gain distributions reported to you by a mutual
fund or real estate investment trust included in
U.S. Schedule D, line 13, column f.

Line 6. Massachusetts Long-Term
Capital Gains and Losses Included
in U.S. Form 4797, Part II
Enter amounts included in U.S. Form 4797, Part
II treated as capital gains or losses for Massachu-
setts purposes (not included in lines 1 through 5
above). These include ordinary gains from the sale
of Section 1231 property, recapture amounts under
Sections 1245, 1250 and 1255, Section 1244 losses
and the loss on the sale, exchange or involuntary
conversion of property used in a trade or business.
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Line 7. Carryover Losses from
Previous Years
If you have a carryover loss from a prior year, enter
in line 7 the total amount of carryover losses from
your 2003 Schedule D, line 22.

Line 9. Differences
Nonresidents. Enter in line 9 any long-term capi-
tal gains and losses included on Schedule D, lines
1 through 7 which are not Massachusetts source
income and thus not taxable to you as a nonresi-
dent. A nonresident’s capital gains and losses are
subject to tax if the gain or loss resulted from the
sale or exchange of property connected with a
Massachusetts trade or business or from the
ownership of real or tangible personal property
located in Massachusetts.

Part-year residents. Enter in line 9 any long-term
capital gains or losses included on Schedule D,
lines 1 through 7 that occurred while you were
legally domiciled in another state or country during
the taxable year.

Nonresidents and part-year residents. Enter here
any other differences between the gains or losses
reportable for Massachusetts tax purposes and
the gains or losses reported on U.S. Schedule D.
For example:
◗ Gains or losses of a Massachusetts estate or
trust that are taxed directly on the Massachusetts
Fiduciary Return, Form 2, if you are the benefi-
ciary and if you included the amounts on Sched-
ule D, line 4;
◗ Pre-1996 installment sales classified as ordi-
nary income for Massachusetts purposes;
◗ Massachusetts long-term capital gains or
losses from transactions reported as installment
sales for U.S. income tax purposes but not for
Massachusetts; and
◗ Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment
rules to take into account differences between
Massachusetts and federal tax laws.

Part-year residents. Do not enter gains or losses
received while a resident from any grantor-type
trust or from an estate or trust that is not subject
to taxation in Massachusetts.

Line 10. Adjusted Capital Gains
and Losses
Exclude/subtract line 9 from line 8 and enter the
result in line 10.

◗ If line 9 is a loss, add loss as a positive number
to the amount recorded in line 8. See the follow-
ing examples:

Schedule D
Line ex. A ex. B ex. C ex. D
18 $1,000 $1,000 *$0,700**$700*
19 $1,500 *$1,300* $0,500 *$500*
10 $1,500 $1,300 *$1,200**$200*

*denotes loss

◗ If in line 9 you entered amounts which increase
the amounts reported from U.S. to Massachu-
setts, for example, a long-term gain reported as
installment sales for U.S. tax purposes but not for
Massachusetts, add the amount in line 9 to the
amount in line 8.

Line 11. Long-Term Gains on
Collectibles and Pre-1996
Installment Sales
Enter in line 11 the amount of long-term gains on
collectibles and pre-1996 installment sales classi-
fied as capital gain income for Massachusetts pur-
poses that are included in line 10.

Long-term gains on collectibles and pre-1996 in-
stallment sales classified as capital gain income
for Massachusetts purposes are taxed at the 12%
rate and should be entered on Schedule B, line 11.

Collectibles are defined as any capital asset that is
a collectible within the meaning of Internal Rev-
enue Code section 408(m), as amended and in
effect for the taxable year, including works of art,
rugs, antiques, metals, gems, stamps, alcoholic
beverages, certain coins, and any other items
treated as collectibles for federal tax purposes.

Line 12. Subtotal
Subtract line 11 from line 10 and enter the result
in line 12.

If Schedule D, line 12 is a loss and Schedule B,
line 21 is less than “0,” omit Schedule D, lines 13
through 15, enter the amount from Schedule D,
line 12 in Schedule D, line 16, omit Schedule D,
lines 17 through 21 and enter the amount from
Schedule D, line 16 in Schedule D, line 22, and
enter “0” on Form 1-NR/PY, line 28.

If Schedule D, line 12 is a gain and Schedule B,
line 21 is a loss, go to Schedule D, line 13.

If Schedule D, line 12 is a loss and Schedule B, line
24 is “0” or greater, go to Schedule D, line 13.

If Schedule D, line 12 is a gain, and Schedule B,
line 24 is “0” or greater, omit Schedule D, lines 13
through 15 and enter the amount from Schedule
D, line 12 in Schedule D, line 16.

Line 13. Capital Losses Applied
Against Capital Gains
If Schedule D, line 12 is a positive amount and
Schedule B, line 21 is a loss, enter the smaller of
Schedule D, line 12 or Schedule B, line 21 (con-

sidered as a positive amount) in Schedule D,  line
13 and in Schedule B, line 22.

If Schedule D, line 12 is a loss and Schedule B,
line 24 is a positive amount, enter the smaller of
Schedule D, line 12 (considered as a positive
amount) or Schedule B, line 24 in Schedule D,
line 13 and in Schedule B, line 25.

Line 14. Subtotal
If line 12 is greater than “0,” subtract line 13 from
line 12. If line 12 is less than “0,” combine lines 12
and 13.

If Schedule D, line 14 is a loss and Schedule B,
line 24 is “0” or greater and Schedule B, line 31 is
a positive amount, go to Schedule D, line 15.

If Schedule D, line 14 is a loss, and Schedule B,
line 21 is “0” or less, omit Schedule D, line 15,
enter the amount from Schedule D, line 14 in
Schedule D, line 16, omit Schedule D, lines 17
through 21 and enter the amount from Schedule
D, line 16 in Schedule D, line 22, and enter “0” on
Form 1-NR/PY, line 28.

Line 15. Long-Term Capital Losses
Applied Against Interest and
Dividends
If Schedule D, line 14 is a loss, and Schedule B,
line 24 is “0” or greater and Schedule B, line 31 is
a positive amount, complete the Long-Term Capi-
tal Losses Applied Against Interest and Dividends
Worksheet for Schedule B, Line 32 and Schedule
D, Line 15.

Line 16. Subtotal
Combine line 14 and line 15. If Schedule D, line
16 is “0,” enter “0” in lines 17 through 20 and
omit lines 21 and 22. If Schedule D, line 16 is a
loss, omit lines 17 through 21 and enter the
amount from line 16 in line 22.

Line 17. Allowable Deductions
From Your Trade or Business
Generally, taxpayers may not use excess 5.3%
trade or business deductions to offset other in-
come. However, where the taxpayer files a Mass-
achusetts Schedule C or Schedule E, Massachu-
setts law allows such offsets if the following
requirements are met: the excess 5.3% deduc-
tions must be adjusted gross income deductions
allowed under MGL Ch. 62, sec. 2(d); and these
excess deductions may only be used to offset
other income which is effectively connected with
the active conduct of a trade of business or any
other income allowed under IRC, sec.
469(d)(1)(B) to offset losses from passive activi-
ties. Enclose Schedule C-2 with your return.

Enter in line 17 the amount from Schedule C-2,
line 14.
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Line 19. Excess Exemptions
Enter in line 19 the amount from line 8 of the Ex-
cess Exemption Worksheet.

Line 21. Tax On Long-Term Capital
Gains
Multiply line 20 by .053 (5.3%) and enter the re-
sult here and in Form 1-NR/PY, line 28.

Note: If choosing the optional 5.85% tax rate,
multiply line 20 by .0585 and enter the result here
and in Form 1-NR/PY, line 28.

Line 22. Available Losses for
Carryover
Enter the amount from Schedule D, line 16, only if
it is a loss.

Schedule C
Note: If showing a loss, be sure to mark over the
“X” in the box to the left.

Substituting U.S. Schedules C
or C-EZ
If you are substituting U.S. Schedule C or Schedule
C-EZ for Massachusetts Schedule C and there are
no differences between the amounts reported on
U.S. Schedule C or Schedule C-EZ and amounts
that would be reported on Massachusetts Sched-
ule C, write “No Massachusetts Differences” on
the top of U.S. Schedule C or Schedule C-EZ.

Profit or Loss from Business
or Profession
Massachusetts Schedule C is provided to report in-
come and deductions from each business or pro-
fession operated as a sole proprietorship.

Registration Information
In the space provided, describe the business or
professional activity that provided your principal
source of income reported on line 1. If you owned
more than one business, you must complete a
separate Schedule C for each business. Give the
general field or activity and the type of product or
service.

Employer Identification Number
You need an employer identification number (EIN)
only if you had a Keogh plan or were required to
file an employment, excise, estate, trust, or alcohol,
tobacco and firearms tax return. If you do not have
an EIN, leave the line blank. Do not enter your SSN.

Small Business Energy Exemption
If you are claiming the small business energy ex-
emption from the sales tax on purchases of tax-
able energy or heating fuel during 2004, you must
have five or fewer employees. You must enter the
number of your employees in the space provided.

Accounting Method
If you filed a return on the accrual basis last year,
your return for this year must be on the same
basis. If a taxpayer requesting permission to
change an accounting method for Massachusetts
purposes is eligible for an automatic change of ac-
counting method federally, and has correctly fol-
lowed the most recently issued federal revenue
procedure for requesting an automatic change,
then the taxpayer should file his/her annual return
using the new method and write at the top, “Auto-
matic Change of Accounting Method — Filed in
compliance with DOR Directive 02-13.” The tax-
payer should enclose a copy of federal Form
3115, together with any required statements. See
DOR Directive 02-13 for further information.

Material Participation
Indicate if you materially participated in the opera-
tion of this business during 2004. If you did not
materially participate and have a loss from this
business, see line 33 for further instructions.

Line 1a. Gross Receipts or Sales
In the boxes provided, enter gross receipts or sales
from your business. Be sure to include on this line
amounts you received in your trade or business
as shown on Form 1099-MISC, Miscellaneous In-
come. If the nature of your business is such that
you have gross or other income that interest (other
than from Massachusetts banks) and dividend,
exclude this income from lines 1 and 4 on Mass-
achusetts Schedule C and include it in line 32 and
in Schedule B, line 3. Examples of interest (other
than from Massachusetts banks) and dividend in-
come are interest received on loans, notes receiv-
able or charge accounts that you accept in the
ordinary course of business, and dividends on
stocks received in payment for goods and services.
Capital gains from the sale or exchange of assets
used in your business are not reported on Sched-
ule C. Use U.S. Form 4797 and report the amount
in Form 1-NR/PY, Schedule B and/or Schedule D.
You must also exclude from Schedule C any in-
come and expenses that pertain to activities for
yourself as distinguished from those performed for
your customers. Such income must be reported
by class of income in Schedules B and D. Personal
expenses are not deductible. If you received Form
W-2 and the “Statutory employee” box in item 13
of that form was checked, report your income and
expenses related to that income on Schedule C.
Enter your statutory employee income from box 1
of Form W-2 on line 1 of Schedule C and fill in the
oval. Statutory employees include full-time life in-
surance agents, certain agent or commission
drivers and traveling salespersons and certain
homeworkers. If you had both self-employment
income and statutory employee income, do not
combine these amounts on a single Schedule C.
In this case, you must file two Schedules C.

Line 7. Bad Debts From Sales
or Services
Include debts and partial debts from sales or serv-
ices that were included in income and are definitely
known to be worthless. If you later collect a debt
that you deducted as a bad debt, include it as in-
come in the year collected.

Note: Cash method taxpayers cannot take a bad
debt deduction unless the amount was previously
included in income.

Line 11. Depreciation and
Section 179 Deduction
Massachusetts adopts the current federal rules at
section 179 for expensing certain depreciable
business assets. For property placed in service in
tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2004
the maximum section 179 expensing allowance
is $102,000.

Massachusetts depreciation has been decoupled
from the federal “bonus” depreciation law. For
Massachusetts purposes, for taxable years ending
after September 10, 2001, depreciation is to be
claimed on all assets, regardless of when they are
placed in service, using the method used for fed-
eral income tax purposes prior to the enactment of
sec. 168(k). For more information see TIRs 02-11
and 03-25.

Line 17. Pension and Profit-Sharing
Plans
Enter your deduction for contributions to a pen-
sion, profit-sharing or annuity plan, or plans for the
benefit of your employees. If the plan includes you
as a self-employed person, do not include contri-
butions made as an employer on your behalf.

Line 22. Travel
Enter your expenses for lodging and transporta-
tion connected with overnight travel for business
while away from your tax home. Generally, your
tax home is your main place of business regard-
less of where you maintain your family home. You
cannot deduct expenses paid or incurred in con-
nection with employment away from home if that
period of employment exceeds one year. Spouse’s
and other family members’ travel expenses are
generally disallowed as a business deduction.

Do not include expenses for meals and entertain-
ment on this line. Instead, see the instructions for
lines 23a and 23b.

Line 23. Meals and Entertainment
Line 23a. Enter your total business meal and en-
tertainment expenses. Include meals while travel-
ing away from home for business. Instead of the
actual cost of your meals while traveling away from
home, you may use the standard meal allowance.
Business meal expenses are deductible only if
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they are (a) directly related to or associated with
the conduct of your trade or business, (b) not lav-
ish or extravagant and (c) incurred while you or
your employee is present at the meal. Club dues
are not allowed as a business deduction.

Line 23b. Generally, you may deduct only 50% of
your business meal and entertainment expenses,
including meals incurred while traveling away from
home on business. However, you may fully deduct
meals and entertainment furnished or reimbursed
to an employee if you properly treat the expense
as wages subject to withholding. You may also
fully deduct meals and entertainment provided to
a nonemployee to the extent the expenses are in-
cludible in the gross income of that person and
reported on Form 1099-MISC. Figure how much
of the amount on line 23a is subject to the 50%
limit. Then, enter 50% of that amount on line 23b.
This amount should be subtracted from the
amount in line 23a. Enter the result in line 23 of
Massachusetts Schedule C.

Line 30. Abandoned Building
Renovation Deduction
Massachusetts allows businesses to deduct 10%
of the costs incurred in renovating certain build-
ings located in an Economic Opportunity Area
(EOA). The buildings must be designated as aban-
doned by the Economic Assistance Coordinating
Council. The renovation deduction may be taken in
addition to any other deduction for which the ren-
ovation costs may qualify.

For more information, contact the Mass. Office of
Business Development by calling (617) 973-8600.

In line 30 enter 10% of the costs of renovating a
qualifying abandoned building.

Line 33. If You Have a Loss
Fill in the oval in line 33a if all of your investment
is at risk. Enter your loss from line 31 on Form
1-NR/PY, line 8 unless you answered “no” to the
question on material participation on the front of
Schedule C. If you answered “no” to this question,
complete a pro forma copy of U.S. Form 8582 that
reflects only income being reported on your Mass-
achusetts return. Enter in Massachusetts Sched-
ule C, line 31 your allowable loss calculated on
Form 8582.

Fill in the oval in line 33b if only some of your in-
vestment is at risk. To determine the amount of
your allowable loss, complete a pro forma copy of
U.S. Form 6198 that reflects only income being
reported on your Massachusetts return. Enter the
amount calculated on U.S. Form 6198 in line 31 un-
less you answered “no” to the question on mater-
ial participation on the front of Schedule C. In this
case, your loss is further limited. Use the amounts
calculated on your pro forma U.S. Form 6198 to
complete a pro forma U.S. Form 8582. If your at-
risk amount is “0” or less, enter “0” in line 31.

Schedule R/NR
Part 1. Income Adjustments
Column A
Enter the amount of income reported on your fed-
eral return as modified as if it were received by a
full-year Massachusetts resident. Refer to each
specific line instruction for Form 1-NR/PY to de-
termine income that should be added to or sub-
tracted from the federal total.

Column B
Enter the amount of income from column A that
you received while a Massachusetts resident.

Column C
Enter the amount of income from column A from
both Massachusetts and non-Massachusetts
sources that you received while a nonresident.

Column D
Enter the amount of income from column C from
Massachusetts sources that you received while a
nonresident.

See the instructions for a definition of Massachu-
setts source income.

Refer to each specific line instruction for Form
1-NR/PY to determine the income from Massachu-
setts sources received during your nonresident pe-
riod. Also see Form 1-NR/PY, line 13 instruction for
those nonresidents eligible to apportion income.

If you received income from a business/profession
reported on a Schedule C, while a Massachusetts
resident and from Massachusetts sources while a
nonresident, you must complete a separate Mass-
achusetts Schedule C for each period.

Column E
Add column B and column D. This is your total in-
come received while a Massachusetts resident and
received from Massachusetts sources while a non-
resident. Enter the amount from column E in each
applicable line on Form 1-NR/PY (see separate in-
struction for Schedule D). Subtract the total of col-
umn D from column C and enter the result in line
14e of Form 1-NR/PY. This is the additional in-
come that you received from non-Massachusetts
sources that would have been reported by you if
you had been a Massachusetts resident.

Add Form 1-NR/PY lines 5 through 12 and com-
plete Form 1-NR/PY line 14 before completing the
rest of this worksheet.

Schedule D
Enter in column A the amount from Schedule D,
line 8. Enter in column B the amount of income
from column A that you received while a Mass-
achusetts resident. Enter in column C the amount
of income from column A from both Massachu-
setts and non-Massachusetts sources that you re-

ceived while a nonresident. Enter the amount of
income from column C from Massachusetts
sources that you received while nonresident. Sub-
tract column D from column C and enter the result
(plus any other applicable adjustments) in Sched-
ule D, line 9. Complete Schedule D as otherwise
instructed.

Part 2. Deduction and Exemption
Adjustments
Note: Schedule Y, line 5 is adjusted both in Sec-
tions A and B. See Schedule R/NR to determine
which amounts are adjusted in Section A and
Section B.

Section A
Lines 15a and 15b
The amounts reported in column A must be re-
lated to income reported in Part 1, column B. The
amounts reported in column B must be related to
income reported in Part 1, column D. The column
C total cannot exceed $2,000.

Schedule Y, line 1
The amounts reported in column A must be re-
lated to income reported in Part 1, column B. The
amounts reported in column B must be related to
income reported in Part 1, column D. Complete
separate worksheets for columns A and B.

Schedule Y, line 2
The amounts reported in column A must be re-
lated to income reported in Part 1, column B or on
a previous Massachusetts return. The amounts
reported in column B must be related to income
reported in Part 1, column D or on a previous
Massachusetts return.

Schedule Y, line 4
The amounts reported in column A must be related
to income reported in Part 1, line 5, column B. The
amounts reported in column B must be related to
income reported in Part 1, line 5, column D.

Schedule Y, line 5
The amounts reported in column A must be re-
lated to income reported in Part 1, column B. The
amounts reported in column B must be related to
income reported in Part 1, column D.

Schedule Y, line 6
The amounts reported in column A must be related
to income reported in Part 1, line 6, column B. The
amounts reported in column B must be related to
income reported in Part 1, line 6, column D.

Column C
Add column A and column B and enter the total
in each applicable line of Form 1-NR/PY or Sched-
ule Y.

32 Schedule Instructions



Section B
Note: You may claim only a deduction for either
line 16 or line 17. Refer to the Form 1-NR/PY in-
structions to determine which deduction is better
for you.

Line 16
Complete the worksheet in Form 1-NR/PY instruc-
tions through number 3 and enter that amount in
column A. In column B enter the amount from
column A that is related to your Massachusetts
resident period. Subtract column B from column
A and enter the result in column C. Multiply the
amount from column C by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g
and enter the result in column D. Add columns B
and D and enter the result in column E and Form
1-NR/PY, line 16.

Line 17
If you have a dependent member(s) of household
under age 12, or dependents age 65 or over as of
December 31, 2004, or disabled dependents and
you are not claiming an amount in line 16, enter
$3,600, or $7,200 for two or more such depen-
dents, in column A. Multiply the column A amount
by Form 1-NR/PY, line 2 and enter the result in
column B. Subtract the amount in column B from
column A and enter the result in column C. Multi-
ply the column C amount by Form 1-NR/PY, line
14g and enter the result in column D. Add column
B and column D and enter the result in column E
and in Form 1-NR/PY, line 17.

Line 22
In column A enter the amount from Form 1-
NR/PY, line 4f. Multiply the column A amount by
Form 1-NR/PY, line 2 and enter the result in col-
umn B. Subtract the amount in column B from
column A and enter the result in column C. Multi-
ply the column C amount by Form 1-NR/PY, line
14g and enter the result in column D. Add column
B and column D and enter the result in column E
and in Form 1-NR/PY, line 22.

Line 43
Multiply the earned income credit amount from
your U.S. Form 1040, line 65a; Form 1040A, line
41a; Form 1040EZ, line 8a; or U.S. Telefile Tax
Record, item L by .15 (15%). Enter the result in
column A. If you choose to have the IRS compute
your federal earned income credit, wait until the
IRS notifies you of your federal earned income
credit amount before entering an amount in col-
umn A. If you have not received your earned in-
come credit amount as computed by the IRS by
April 15, 2005, you may file Massachusetts Form
M-4868, Application for Automatic Six-Month Ex-
tension of Time to File Massachusetts Income Tax
Return. Multiply the amount in column A by Form
1-NR/PY, line 2 and enter the result in column B.

Subtract the amount in column B from column A
and enter the result in column C. Multiply the
amount in column C by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g
and enter the result in column D. Add column B and
column D and enter the result in column E and in
Form 1-NR/PY, line 43.

Schedule Y, line 3
In column A enter the total alimony paid from U.S.
Form 1040, line 34a. In column B enter the amount
from column A paid while you were a Massachu-
setts resident. Subtract the column B amount from
the column A amount and enter the result in col-
umn C. Multiply the column C amount by Form
1-NR/PY, line 14g and enter the result in column D.
Add column B and column D and enter the total in
column E and in Form 1-NR/PY, Schedule Y, line 3.

Schedule Y, line 5
In column A enter the total of U.S. Form 1040,
lines 26, 29 and any amount included in line 35 for
clean fuel vehicle deduction. Multiply the column
A amount by Form 1-NR/PY, line 2. Subtract the
column B amount from the column A amount and
enter the result in column C. Multiply the column
C amount by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g and enter
the result in column D. Add column B and column
D and enter the total in column E and in Form
1-NR/PY, Schedule Y, line 5.

Schedule Y, line 7
Complete the worksheet in Form 1-NR/PY instruc-
tions through item 6 and enter that amount in col-
umn A. Multiply the amount in column A by Form
1-NR/PY, line 2 and enter the result in column B.
Subtract the amount in column B from column A
and enter the result in column C. Multiply the col-
umn C amount by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g and
enter the result in column D. Add column B and
column D and enter the result in column E and in
Schedule Y, line 7.

Schedule Y, Line 8
In column A enter the amount of interest paid on
an undergraduate student loan(s) (see Schedule
Y, line 8 instructions). Multiply the amount in col-
umn A by Form 1-NR/PY, line 2 and enter the re-
sult in column B. Subtract the amount in column
B from column A and enter the result in column C.
Multiply the column C amount by Form 1-NR/PY,
line 14g and enter the result in column D. Add col-
umn B and column D and enter the result in col-
umn E and in Schedule Y, line 8.

Schedule Y, Line 9
Complete the worksheet in Form 1-NR/PY instruc-
tions through item 6 and enter that amount in col-
umn A (see Schedule Y, line 9 instructions). Multi-
ply the amount in column A by Form 1-NR/PY, line
2 and enter the result in column B. Subtract the
amount in column B from column A and enter the
result in column C. Multiply the column C amount
by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g and enter the result in
column D. Add column B and column D and enter
the result in column E and in Schedule Y, line 9.

Completing Form 1-NR/PY
After entering the amounts from this worksheet in
the applicable lines of Form 1-NR/PY, complete
Form 1-NR/PY, lines 28 through 50.

Note: In Form 1-NR/PY, line 40, only enter amounts
listed as Massachusetts withholding.

Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY
If completing Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY, enter the
amount from Form 1-NR/PY line 14e in line 7 of
Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY.

Schedule F
You may only claim a Credit for Income Taxes Paid
to Another State or Jurisdictions on income re-
ceived while a Massachusetts resident. Complete
Schedule F based on income received during your
Massachusetts resident period only.
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34 2004 Massachusetts Income Tax Table at the 5.3% Rate
Use this table to calculate tax for taxable 5.3% income (line 25) of not more than $24,000.

Line 26 Instructions: To find your Tax on 5.3% Income (line 26), read down the tax table income column to the line containing the amount you en-
tered in line 25. Then read across to the TAX column and enter this amount in line 26. If your taxable 5.3% income in line 25 is greater than $24,000,
multiply the amount by .053. Enter the result in line 26.

Note: If choosing the optional 5.85% tax rate, multiply line 25 and the amount in Schedule D, line 20 by .0585.

INCOME
More But not
than more than

TAX

INCOME
More But not
than more than

TAX

INCOME
More But not
than more than

TAX

INCOME
More But not
than more than

TAX

INCOME
More But not
than more than

TAX

INCOME
More But not
than more than

TAX

$ 1 – $ 50 $ 1
50 – 100 4

100 – 150 7
150 – 200 9
200 – 250 12

250 – 300 15
300 – 350 17
350 – 400 20
400 – 450 23
450 – 500 25

500 – 550 28
550 – 600 30
600 – 650 33
650 – 700 36
700 – 750 38

750 – 800 41
800 – 850 44
850 – 900 46
900 – 950 49
950 – 1,000 52

1,000 – 1,050 54
1,050 – 1,100 57
1,100 – 1,150 60
1,150 – 1,200 62
1,200 – 1,250 65

1,250 – 1,300 68
1,300 – 1,350 70
1,350 – 1,400 73
1,400 – 1,450 76
1,450 – 1,500 78

1,500 – 1,550 81
1,550 – 1,600 83
1,600 – 1,650 86
1,650 – 1,700 89
1,700 – 1,750 91

1,750 – 1,800 94
1,800 – 1,850 97
1,850 – 1,900 99
1,900 – 1,950 102
1,950 – 2,000 105

2,000 – 2,050 107
2,050 – 2,100 110
2,100 – 2,150 113
2,150 – 2,200 115
2,200 – 2,250 118

2,250 – 2,300 121
2,300 – 2,350 123
2,350 – 2,400 126
2,400 – 2,450 129
2,450 – 2,500 131

2,500 – 2,550 134
2,550 – 2,600 136
2,600 – 2,650 139
2,650 – 2,700 142
2,700 – 2,750 144

2,750 – 2,800 147
2,800 – 2,850 150
2,850 – 2,900 152
2,900 – 2,950 155
2,950 – 3,000 158

3,000 – 3,050 160
3,050 – 3,100 163
3,100 – 3,150 166
3,150 – 3,200 168
3,200 – 3,250 171

3,250 – 3,300 174
3,300 – 3,350 176
3,350 – 3,400 179
3,400 – 3,450 182
3,450 – 3,500 184

3,500 – 3,550 187
3,550 – 3,600 189
3,600 – 3,650 192
3,650 – 3,700 195
3,700 – 3,750 197

3,750 – 3,800 200
3,800 – 3,850 203
3,850 – 3,900 205
3,900 – 3,950 208
3,950 – 4,000 211

$ 4,000 – $ 4,050 $ 213
4,050 – 4,100 216
4,100 – 4,150 219
4,150 – 4,200 221
4,200 – 4,250 224

4,250 – 4,300 227
4,300 – 4,350 229
4,350 – 4,400 232
4,400 – 4,450 235
4,450 – 4,500 237

4,500 – 4,550 240
4,550 – 4,600 242
4,600 – 4,650 245
4,650 – 4,700 248
4,700 – 4,750 250

4,750 – 4,800 253
4,800 – 4,850 256
4,850 – 4,900 258
4,900 – 4,950 261
4,950 – 5,000 264

5,000 – 5,050 266
5,050 – 5,100 269
5,100 – 5,150 272
5,150 – 5,200 274
5,200 – 5,250 277

5,250 – 5,300 280
5,300 – 5,350 282
5,350 – 5,400 285
5,400 – 5,450 288
5,450 – 5,500 290

5,500 – 5,550 293
5,550 – 5,600 295
5,600 – 5,650 298
5,650 – 5,700 301
5,700 – 5,750 303

5,750 – 5,800 306
5,800 – 5,850 309
5,850 – 5,900 311
5,900 – 5,950 314
5,950 – 6,000 317

6,000 – 6,050 319
6,050 – 6,100 322
6,100 – 6,150 325
6,150 – 6,200 327
6,200 – 6,250 330

6,250 – 6,300 333
6,300 – 6,350 335
6,350 – 6,400 338
6,400 – 6,450 341
6,450 – 6,500 343

6,500 – 6,550 346
6,550 – 6,600 348
6,600 – 6,650 351
6,650 – 6,700 354
6,700 – 6,750 356

6,750 – 6,800 359
6,800 – 6,850 362
6,850 – 6,900 364
6,900 – 6,950 367
6,950 – 7,000 370

7,000 – 7,050 372
7,050 – 7,100 375
7,100 – 7,150 378
7,150 – 7,200 380
7,200 – 7,250 383

7,250 – 7,300 386
7,300 – 7,350 388
7,350 – 7,400 391
7,400 – 7,450 394
7,450 – 7,500 396

7,500 – 7,550 399
7,550 – 7,600 401
7,600 – 7,650 404
7,650 – 7,700 407
7,700 – 7,750 409

7,750 – 7,800 412
7,800 – 7,850 415
7,850 – 7,900 417
7,900 – 7,950 420
7,950 – 8,000 423

$ 8,000 – $ 8,050 $ 425
8,050 – 8,100 428
8,100 – 8,150 431
8,150 – 8,200 433
8,200 – 8,250 436

8,250 – 8,300 439
8,300 – 8,350 441
8,350 – 8,400 444
8,400 – 8,450 447
8,450 – 8,500 449

8,500 – 8,550 452
8,550 – 8,600 454
8,600 – 8,650 457
8,650 – 8,700 460
8,700 – 8,750 462

8,750 – 8,800 465
8,800 – 8,850 468
8,850 – 8,900 470
8,900 – 8,950 473
8,950 – 9,000 476

9,000 – 9,050 478
9,050 – 9,100 481
9,100 – 9,150 484
9,150 – 9,200 486
9,200 – 9,250 489

9,250 – 9,300 492
9,300 – 9,350 494
9,350 – 9,400 497
9,400 – 9,450 500
9,450 – 9,500 502

9,500 – 9,550 505
9,550 – 9,600 507
9,600 – 9,650 510
9,650 – 9,700 513
9,700 – 9,750 515

9,750 – 9,800 518
9,800 – 9,850 521
9,850 – 9,900 523
9,900 – 9,950 526
9,950 – 10,000 529

10,000 – 10,050 531
10,050 – 10,100 534
10,100 – 10,150 537
10,150 – 10,200 539
10,200 – 10,250 542

10,250 – 10,300 545
10,300 – 10,350 547
10,350 – 10,400 550
10,400 – 10,450 553
10,450 – 10,500 555

10,500 – 10,550 558
10,550 – 10,600 560
10,600 – 10,650 563
10,650 – 10,700 566
10,700 – 10,750 568

10,750 – 10,800 571
10,800 – 10,850 574
10,850 – 10,900 576
10,900 – 10,950 579
10,950 – 11,000 582

11,000 – 11,050 584
11,050 – 11,100 587
11,100 – 11,150 590
11,150 – 11,200 592
11,200 – 11,250 595

11,250 – 11,300 598
11,300 – 11,350 600
11,350 – 11,400 603
11,400 – 11,450 606
11,450 – 11,500 608

11,500 – 11,550 611
11,550 – 11,600 613
11,600 – 11,650 616
11,650 – 11,700 619
11,700 – 11,750 621

11,750 – 11,800 624
11,800 – 11,850 627
11,850 – 11,900 629
11,900 – 11,950 632
11,950 – 12,000 635

$12,000 – $12,050 $ 637
12,050 – 12,100 640
12,100 – 12,150 643
12,150 – 12,200 645
12,200 – 12,250 648

12,250 – 12,300 651
12,300 – 12,350 653
12,350 – 12,400 656
12,400 – 12,450 659
12,450 – 12,500 661

12,500 – 12,550 664
12,550 – 12,600 666
12,600 – 12,650 669
12,650 – 12,700 672
12,700 – 12,750 674

12,750 – 12,800 677
12,800 – 12,850 680
12,850 – 12,900 682
12,900 – 12,950 685
12,950 – 13,000 688

13,000 – 13,050 690
13,050 – 13,100 693
13,100 – 13,150 696
13,150 – 13,200 698
13,200 – 13,250 701

13,250 – 13,300 704
13,300 – 13,350 706
13,350 – 13,400 709
13,400 – 13,450 712
13,450 – 13,500 714

13,500 – 13,550 717
13,550 – 13,600 719
13,600 – 13,650 722
13,650 – 13,700 725
13,700 – 13,750 727

13,750 – 13,800 730
13,800 – 13,850 733
13,850 – 13,900 735
13,900 – 13,950 738
13,950 – 14,000 741

14,000 – 14,050 743
14,050 – 14,100 746
14,100 – 14,150 749
14,150 – 14,200 751
14,200 – 14,250 754

14,250 – 14,300 757
14,300 – 14,350 759
14,350 – 14,400 762
14,400 – 14,450 765
14,450 – 14,500 767

14,500 – 14,550 770
14,550 – 14,600 772
14,600 – 14,650 775
14,650 – 14,700 778
14,700 – 14,750 780

14,750 – 14,800 783
14,800 – 14,850 786
14,850 – 14,900 788
14,900 – 14,950 791
14,950 – 15,000 794

15,000 – 15,050 796
15,050 – 15,100 799
15,100 – 15,150 802
15,150 – 15,200 804
15,200 – 15,250 807

15,250 – 15,300 810
15,300 – 15,350 812
15,350 – 15,400 815
15,400 – 15,450 818
15,450 – 15,500 820

15,500 – 15,550 823
15,550 – 15,600 825
15,600 – 15,650 828
15,650 – 15,700 831
15,700 – 15,750 833

15,750 – 15,800 836
15,800 – 15,850 839
15,850 – 15,900 841
15,900 – 15,950 844
15,950 – 16,000 847

$16,000 – $16,050 $ 849
16,050 – 16,100 852
16,100 – 16,150 855
16,150 – 16,200 857
16,200 – 16,250 860

16,250 – 16,300 863
16,300 – 16,350 865
16,350 – 16,400 868
16,400 – 16,450 871
16,450 – 16,500 873

16,500 – 16,550 876
16,550 – 16,600 878
16,600 – 16,650 881
16,650 – 16,700 884
16,700 – 16,750 886

16,750 – 16,800 889
16,800 – 16,850 892
16,850 – 16,900 894
16,900 – 16,950 897
16,950 – 17,000 900

17,000 – 17,050 902
17,050 – 17,100 905
17,100 – 17,150 908
17,150 – 17,200 910
17,200 – 17,250 913

17,250 – 17,300 916
17,300 – 17,350 918
17,350 – 17,400 921
17,400 – 17,450 924
17,450 – 17,500 926

17,500 – 17,550 929
17,550 – 17,600 931
17,600 – 17,650 934
17,650 – 17,700 937
17,700 – 17,750 939

17,750 – 17,800 942
17,800 – 17,850 945
17,850 – 17,900 947
17,900 – 17,950 950
17,950 – 18,000 953

18,000 – 18,050 955
18,050 – 18,100 958
18,100 – 18,150 961
18,150 – 18,200 963
18,200 – 18,250 966

18,250 – 18,300 969
18,300 – 18,350 971
18,350 – 18,400 974
18,400 – 18,450 977
18,450 – 18,500 979

18,500 – 18,550 982
18,550 – 18,600 984
18,600 – 18,650 987
18,650 – 18,700 990
18,700 – 18,750 992

18,750 – 18,800 995
18,800 – 18,850 998
18,850 – 18,900 1,000
18,900 – 18,950 1,003
18,950 – 19,000 1,006

19,000 – 19,050 1,008
19,050 – 19,100 1,011
19,100 – 19,150 1,014
19,150 – 19,200 1,016
19,200 – 19,250 1,019

19,250 – 19,300 1,022
19,300 – 19,350 1,024
19,350 – 19,400 1,027
19,400 – 19,450 1,030
19,450 – 19,500 1,032

19,500 – 19,550 1,035
19,550 – 19,600 1,037
19,600 – 19,650 1,040
19,650 – 19,700 1,043
19,700 – 19,750 1,045

19,750 – 19,800 1,048
19,800 – 19,850 1,051
19,850 – 19,900 1,053
19,900 – 19,950 1,056
19,950 – 20,000 1,059

$20,000 – $20,050 $1,061
20,050 – 20,100 1,064
20,100 – 20,150 1,067
20,150 – 20,200 1,069
20,200 – 20,250 1,072

20,250 – 20,300 1,075
20,300 – 20,350 1,077
20,350 – 20,400 1,080
20,400 – 20,450 1,083
20,450 – 20,500 1,085

20,500 – 20,550 1,088
20,550 – 20,600 1,090
20,600 – 20,650 1,093
20,650 – 20,700 1,096
20,700 – 20,750 1,098

20,750 – 20,800 1,101
20,800 – 20,850 1,104
20,850 – 20,900 1,106
20,900 – 20,950 1,109
20,950 – 21,000 1,112

21,000 – 21,050 1,114
21,050 – 21,100 1,117
21,100 – 21,150 1,120
21,150 – 21,200 1,122
21,200 – 21,250 1,125

21,250 – 21,300 1,128
21,300 – 21,350 1,130
21,350 – 21,400 1,133
21,400 – 21,450 1,136
21,450 – 21,500 1,138

21,500 – 21,550 1,141
21,550 – 21,600 1,143
21,600 – 21,650 1,146
21,650 – 21,700 1,149
21,700 – 21,750 1,151

21,750 – 21,800 1,154
21,800 – 21,850 1,157
21,850 – 21,900 1,159
21,900 – 21,950 1,162
21,950 – 22,000 1,165

22,000 – 22,050 1,167
22,050 – 22,100 1,170
22,100 – 22,150 1,173
22,150 – 22,200 1,175
22,200 – 22,250 1,178

22,250 – 22,300 1,181
22,300 – 22,350 1,183
22,350 – 22,400 1,186
22,400 – 22,450 1,189
22,450 – 22,500 1,191

22,500 – 22,550 1,194
22,550 – 22,600 1,196
22,600 – 22,650 1,199
22,650 – 22,700 1,202
22,700 – 22,750 1,204

22,750 – 22,800 1,207
22,800 – 22,850 1,210
22,850 – 22,900 1,212
22,900 – 22,950 1,215
22,950 – 23,000 1,218

23,000 – 23,050 1,220
23,050 – 23,100 1,223
23,100 – 23,150 1,226
23,150 – 23,200 1,228
23,200 – 23,250 1,231

23,250 – 23,300 1,234
23,300 – 23,350 1,236
23,350 – 23,400 1,239
23,400 – 23,450 1,242
23,450 – 23,500 1,244

23,500 – 23,550 1,247
23,550 – 23,600 1,249
23,600 – 23,650 1,252
23,650 – 23,700 1,255
23,700 – 23,750 1,257

23,750 – 23,800 1,260
23,800 – 23,850 1,263
23,850 – 23,900 1,265
23,900 – 23,950 1,268
23,950 – 24,000 1,271

If your 5.3% income for the Tax Table is less than $9, your tax is “0.”



Department of Revenue Resources

What kind of help is available
The instructions in the Department of Revenue’s tax forms should provide answers to most taxpayer questions.
If you have questions about completing your Massachusetts tax form, you can call us at (617) 887-MDOR or
toll-free in Massachusetts at 1-800-392-6089 Monday through Friday, between 8:45 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. DOR’s
website at www.mass.gov/dor is also a valuable resource for tax information 24 hours a day. Thousands of
tapayers use DOR’s website to e-mail and receive prompt answers to their general tax inquiries. Interactive
applications that allow taxpayers to check the status of their refunds and review their quarterly estimated
tax payment histories are available through our website or by calling our main information lines listed above.

Where to get forms and publications
Most Massachusetts tax forms and publications are available via the DOR website. The address for the
Department’s website is www.mass.gov/dor.

To obtain Massachusetts forms and publications by phone, call the Department’s main information lines
at (617) 887-MDOR or toll-free in Massachusetts at 1-800-392-6089. Please note that many forms and

publications are available 24 hours a day by calling the Department’s automated forms request system at the
numbers listed above.

During the income tax filing season, you can pick up Massachusetts personal income tax forms at
your local library or at IRS district offices across the state.

Certain forms and publications can be obtained through DOR’s Fax on Demand system. For a com-
plete Fax on Demand menu, please call (617) 887-1900 using the handset and the keypad on your

fax machine.

For help in one of the following specific areas
◗ Certificates of Good Standing (617) 887-6550 ◗ Installment Sales (617) 887-6950
◗ Teletype (TTY) (617) 887-6140 ◗ Small Business Workshop (617) 887-5660
◗ Vision-impaired taxpayers can contact DOR by calling one of the phone numbers listed above to receive
assistance.
◗ Upon request, this publication is available in an alternative format. Please send your request to: Office 
of Affirmative Action, PO Box 9550, Boston, MA 02114-9550 or call (617) 626-3410.

To report allegations of suspected misconduct or impropriety involving Department of Revenue employees,
call the Inspectional Services Division’s Integrity Hot Line at 1-800-568-0085 or write to PO Box 9568, Boston,
MA 02114-9568.
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Dear Taxpayer,
The Department of Revenue (DOR) encourages you to file your state income tax return electronically
this year. More than one million taxpayers took advantage of e-filing last year and received their re-
funds, on average, in three days – one of the fastest turnaround times in the country. E-filing is a safe
and proven alternative, and DOR is committed to using technology to make filing your state income
taxes easier than ever this year.

Whether you use Telefile, DOR-approved commercial software products or a tax preparer, the best
way to guarantee a rapid refund is to e-file your state income tax return. Each e-file method is easy
to use, secure and convenient. You will receive confirmation that your state income tax return was
received. In addition to saving time, you will significantly reduce the chance of error. If you are due
a refund, you may have it deposited directly into your bank account. In cases where a payment is
required, funds can be directly debited from your bank account and scheduled for withdrawal as late
as April 15, 2005. A number of software vendors also offer free e-filing for eligible taxpayers. Please
visit our website, www.mass.gov/dor for details on the Massachusetts Free File Alliance.

If you use third party software and do not file a return electronically, you are required to submit
the paper return with the required 2-Dimensional (2-D) bar coding. Returns submitted to DOR
without the required 2-D bar codes will be rejected and returned to you for proper re-filing to avoid
penalties. Please visit our website to learn more about 2-D bar coding and for a list of authorized
software providers.

This year, we are also enhancing our online assistance. Now, you can use our website to check on the
status of your tax refund, make an estimated income or regular tax payment through Web Services
for Income, file an abatement/amended return, update your address and review your estimated tax
payment history. You can also find information concerning the new commuter tax deduction for those
who use the Turnpike and MBTA, the Massachusetts Turnpike Fuels Tax Refund Program and other
frequently asked questions. There is a wealth of information available to you, and it’s only a click away.

DOR is committed to making this tax season as efficient as possible. For information or assistance,
please visit our website or call our Customer Service Bureau at (617) 887-MDOR or toll-free in
Massachusetts at (800) 392-6089.

Sincerely,

Alan LeBovidge
Commissioner
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Important Mailing Information!

When mailing a return generated from a 2-D 

software product, be sure to use one 

of the special 2-D PO boxes 

listed on page 3.


