

CHARLES D. BAKER GOVERNOR

> KARYN E. POLITO LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

MIKE KENNEALY SECRETARY OF HOUSING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Occupational Licensure Board of Registration in Optometry

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710 Boston, Massachusetts 02118 EDWARD A. PALLESCHI UNDERSECRETARY OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS AND BUSINESS REGULATION

LAYLA R. D'EMILIA COMMISSIONER, DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE

October 21, 2020

## EXTENDED POLICY ON ONLINE CONTINUING EDUCATION DURING COVID-19 PANDEMIC

At its March 25, 2020 meeting, the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Optometry ("Board") voted to waive the 6 hour limitation on the number of distance-based continuing education ("CE") courses a licensee may count towards their 2020 calendar year requirement, due to the shift of many previously approved CE courses from an in-person classroom format to a distance-based format resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. Thus for CE completed between January 1, 2020 and December 31, 2020, an optometrist may receive credit for up to 18 hours of distance-based CE courses completed that are Board-approved and meet all other regulatory requirements.

At its October 21, 2020 meeting, the Board voted to extend the waiver of the six-hour limit through calendar year 2021, so that distance-based CE completed during 2021 will be credited for up to 18 hours of CE, provided that each course completed is Board-approved and meets all other regulatory requirements.

As a reminder, the Board has approved courses that are: (a) approved by the Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (C.O.P.E), (b) specifically approved by the Board, or (c) are offered by a Continuing Education Entity. The Board will continue to accept live courses that meet all regulatory requirements. Board regulations may be accessed through the following link: <u>https://www.mass.gov/lists/statutes-and-regulationsoptometry#rules-and-regulations-governing-optometrists</u>

###