
 

 

 

 

 

Massachusetts Assistance for Student Success Program 

XIV. Paraprofessional Teacher Preparation Grant 



  

BOARD OF HIGHER EDUCATION 
PARAPROFESSIONALS TEACHER PREPARATION GRANT PROGRAM 

DEFINITIONS: 

 

INSTITUTION: 

Any regionally accredited public or independent college or university in the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts that offers a teacher preparation program leading to licensure, approved by the 
Massachusetts Department of Education (MDOE); or a two-year college that has a signed articulation or 
joint admissions agreement with a four-year college or university for a teacher preparation program. 

ELIGIBLE PROGRAM: 

Any undergraduate baccalaureate degree program, offered by an eligible institution, with a 
teacher preparation program approved by the Massachusetts Department of Education or a program 
at a two-year college with a signed articulation or joint admissions agreement with an institution 
offering an MDOE approved program. 

ELIGIBLE STUDENT: 

An eligible student is an undergraduate student enrolled full- or part-time and meeting the 
following requirements: 

a) Is a permanent legal resident of Massachusetts for at least one year prior to the start of 
the academic year and who is a U.S. citizen or a non-citizen eligible under Federal 
Title IV regulations. 

b) Is in compliance with applicable law regarding Selective Service Registration. 

c) Is not in default with applicable law regarding any federal or state student education loans 
for attendance at any institution or owes a refund for any previous financial aid 
received. 

d) Is enrolled full-time (12 semester credits or the equivalent) or part-time (3 to 11 credits or the 
equivalent) in a traditional academic semester. 

e) Has worked, and continues to work, as a paraprofessional in a public school in the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts for a minimum of two years or is employed as a 
paraprofessional and is enrolled in and pursuing courses of study that will lead to 
certification as a teacher in bilingual education, special education, math, science, or 
foreign language, while working as a paraprofessional in a public school in the 
Commonwealth. 

f) Maintains eligible employment for a minimum of twenty hours per week, while enrolled in 
an eligible program of study   

g) Maintains satisfactory academic progress in accordance with institutional standards.  

h) Annually files the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and completes 
a minimum of credits each academic year as part of the application for renewal of the 
grant. 



  

i) Provides documentation to the Office of Student Financial Assistance of compliance 
with required program of study and academic progress, as requested. 

j) Signs an agreement to teach in a public school in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 
upon graduation and certification in accordance with section 38G of Chapter 71 M.G.L.  

k) Has not earned a baccalaureate or professional degree or the equivalent.  

 
STUDENT AWARD VALUES 
 
The award under this program shall be as follows: 

a) up to $625 per credit at an independent college or public university, not to exceed $7,500 per 
academic year, or $3,750 per semester. 

b) up to $450 per credit at a public four-year college, not to exceed a maximum of $6,000 per 
academic year, or $3,000 per semester 

c) up to $250 per credit for public two-year colleges, not to exceed a maximum of $4,000 per 
academic year, or $2,000 per semester 

Awards may not exceed the recipient’s cost of attendance for any academic term of study. 

The Board of Higher Education will annually review the public university and college tuition and fee 
charges and adjust the program award values, as it deems necessary. 

TEACHING OBLIGATION 

Recipients of the Paraprofessional Teacher Preparation Grant must sign a Terms and Conditions Statement 
acknowledging their obligation to provide service as a full-time teacher in a Massachusetts public school 
(K12). The service commitment will range from a minimum of two and a maximum of four years, 
depending on the number of semesters of grant assistance received. 

Failure to provide the required service may result in a repayment of funds received, prorated on the length 
of service, as defined in the Terms and Conditions Statement and as determined by the Massachusetts 
Office of Student Financial Assistance. 

INSTITUTIONAL DISBURSEMENT OF GRANTS: 

Each participating institution must certify that the recipient is eligible in accordance with guidelines 
established for the Paraprofessional Teacher Preparation Grant Program. Academic year awards will 
be disbursed in equal payments for the fall and spring semesters. 

Grants may be awarded for summer terms only if funds are available, and to students who 
indicated summer credits on the annual PTPG application. All funds must be disbursed by June 
30. 

PARTICIPATION AGREEMENT: 

All institutions participating in the Paraprofessional Teacher Preparation Grant Program must file a 
State Financial Aid Program Participation Agreement to be maintained on file in the Office of Student 
Financial Assistance. 

 



  

AUDIT REQUIREMENTS: 

a) It shall be the responsibility of each college and university to maintain adequate documentation of 
a recipient student’s eligibility for the Paraprofessional Teacher Preparation Grant Program. 

b) The Commissioner shall require each campus to furnish annually to the Board of Higher Education 
a report detailing specific information regarding recipients of the Paraprofessional Teacher 
Preparation Grant Program. The Office of Student Financial Assistance will coordinate 
specifications and procedures for this report.  

c) All financial books, records and documents pertaining to this program shall at all times be open to 
inspection, review and audit by the Commissioner, the State Auditor or their authorized 
representatives who shall have access to the premises wherever such books, records and 
documents are located. The institution shall retain such financial books, records and documents 
for seven years. An institution may retain such records for a period of five years if approval is 
received from the Records Conservation Board in accordance with General Laws, Chapter 30, 
Section 42. 


