PERMITTED TIMES AND REQUIREMENTS WITH AN APPROVED ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRY WAIVER¹

0 to 15 days	Minors aged 0-15 days are not permitted to work in Massachusetts
15 days to 6 months	 time of day restrictions: one period of two consecutive hours in any one day, and such period must be either between 9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. or between 2:30 p.m. and 4:30 p.m. actual work must not exceed 20 minutes a nurse must be employed for each 3 or fewer babies
6 months to 2 years	 time of day restrictions: may only work between the hours of 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. may work no more than 2 hours/day full shift(s), (including travel from the studio to the location and meal and rest breaks) may not exceed 4.5 hours/day may work no more than 6 days/week
2 years to 5 years	 time of day restrictions: may only work between the hours of 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. may work no more than 3 hours/day full shift(s), (including travel from the studio to the location and meal and rest breaks) may not exceed 6.5 hours/day may work no more than 6 days/week
6 years to 8 years	 time of day restrictions: Nights preceding a school day: 6am-10pm Nights not preceding a school day: 6am-12:30am may work no more than 5 hours/day full shift(s), (including travel from the studio to the location and meal and rest breaks) may not exceed 8.5 hours may work no more than 6 days/week
9 years to 15 years	 time of day restrictions: Nights preceding a school day: 6am-10pm Nights not preceding a school day: 6am-12:30am may work no more than 7 hours/day full shift(s), (including travel from the studio to the location and meal and rest breaks) may not exceed 9 hours may work no more than 6 days/week
16 to 17 years	No waivers are issued for minors in this age bracket. The AGO does not have statutory authority to waive the time of day restrictions contained in the Massachusetts Child Labor Laws, however the AGO will not take enforcement action as a result of a 16 or 17-year-old child working on a play, movie or production between the hours of 6am and 12:30am as long as the child's parent or guardian has provided written consent to the employer that the work schedule is reasonable given the child's educational and health needs. Note that there are no exceptions or waiver options for the following daily/weekly cumulative hours for minors

¹ Employers of minors must comply with other requirements set forth in the Massachusetts Child Labor Laws. A waiver is not the same as a youth employment work permit; a work permit is required for all minors aged 14-17, pursuant to M.G.L. c. 149, §§86-89.