
1. Know the child labor laws and make sure  
     your teen knows them (see reverse). 
 
2. Talk with your teen about his or her job. 

Ask your teen about:  
♦ Tasks - what your teen is asked to do. 
♦ Training - whether your teen has been trained to 

do assigned tasks safely. 
♦ The workplace itself - if there are hazards like     

slippery floors or machines without safety 
guards. 

♦ The supervisor - where the supervisor is while 
your teen is working, how receptive he or she is 
to listening to employees’ concerns. 

♦ Safety equipment - if your teen is provided with 
goggles, gloves, special shoes, or other safety  
equipment. 

 
3. Set limits on hours. 

Studies have shown that teens who work more than 
20 hours a week do not do as well in school as those 
who work fewer hours. 

Teachers report that teens who work late at night are 
less alert in class and less prepared. 

Protecting Your Working Teen 

A Guide for Parents 

4. Help your teen talk about his or her concerns. 
Encourage your teen to answer the following 
questions: 
What do you want your supervisor to do or change? 

Examples: 
“I only want to work 3 hours on school days.” 
“I want help lifting heavy boxes.” 

Why do you want your supervisor to make this 
change? 

Examples: 
“So I can keep up with my schoolwork.” 
“So I won’t get hurt.” 

Whose help do you want? 
Examples: 
“I’d feel more comfortable approaching the boss 
with some of my coworkers.” 
“I’d like my parents to come with me when I meet 
with the boss.” 

How will you talk to your supervisor about this? 
Examples: 
“Can I make an appointment to talk with you about 
a problem I’m having?” 
“Lifting boxes is hurting my back, and I’d like to 
work out another way to get the job done.” 

Work is a valuable experience for many teenagers. It can provide needed money, skills, and self-confidence.  
At the same time, working teens also face risks, even in places that seem safe. Teens are more likely than 
adults to get hurt at work. An estimated 179,000 U.S. teens are injured at work every year, and many are 
killed. In Massachusetts, hundreds of teens visit hospital emergency rooms each year for work-related injuries. 
 
Injuries at work should not be considered “part of the job.” Most injuries can and should be prevented.  
Employers, young workers, and parents all have roles to play in ensuring positive, safe work experiences. 

Contact any of the agencies listed below if you need additional help: 
MA Office of the Attorney General, Fair Labor Division (enforces state child labor laws)..………...(617) 727-3465 
US Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (enforces federal child labor laws)……………..(617) 624-6700 
MA Department of Labor Standards (oversees the work permit process)………………………….…(617) 626-6952 
MA Department of Industrial Accidents (oversees the workers’ compensation system)……………..(800) 323-3249   

For more information, contact the Massachusetts Department of Public Health Teens at Work Project 
(617) 624-5632  |  teens.atwork@state.ma.us  |  www.mass.gov/dph/teensatwork 

Steps you can take to help your teen stay safe at work: 



Workers’ Compensation 
If your child is injured at work, they may be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits.  Contact the Massachusetts     
Department of Industrial Accidents at 800-323-3249 or www.mass.gov/dia for more information. 

The Child Labor Laws in Massachusetts 

After 8 pm, all minors must be directly supervised by an adult who is located in the workplace and 
who is reasonably accessible. (With the exception of minors who work at kiosks in the common areas of some malls.) 

Child labor laws exist to protect teenagers in the workplace.  They limit the number of hours 
teens are legally able to work.  The legal work hours for minors are: 

16 & 17 Year-Olds 
♦ Only between 6 am and 10 pm on nights preceding a      

regularly scheduled school day 
♦ If the establishment stops serving customers at 10 pm, 

the minor may be employed until 10:15 pm 
♦ Only between 6 am and 11:30 pm on nights not       

preceding a regularly scheduled school day, except in 
restaurants and race tracks until midnight 

♦ Maximum of 48 hours per week, 9 hours per day, and 6 
days per week 

14 & 15 Year-Olds 
♦ Only between 7 am and 7 pm (9 pm during summer) 
♦ Not during school hours 
♦ Maximum of 18 hours per week (40 during school   

vacation), 3 hours a day (8 hours on weekends and  
during school vacation), and 6 days per week 

Persons UNDER 14 may NOT WORK! 
There are a few exceptions to this, such as babysitting, 
working as news carriers, on farms, and in entertainment 
(with a special permit). 

•  Operate or load power-driven balers, compactors, or paper 
processing machines  

•  Work slaughtering, packing, or processing meat and poultry 
•  Work in roofing or on or about a roof 
•  Work where they are exposed to radioactive substances 
•  Oil or clean hazardous machinery in motion 
•  Work in any job requiring the possession or use of a firearm 

•  Drive a vehicle, forklift, or work assist vehicle (except golf 
carts in certain circumstances)  

•  Ride as a passenger on a forklift 
•  Operate, clean, or repair power-driven meat slicers, grinders or 

choppers 
•  Operate, clean, or repair power-driven bakery machines (except 

for certain countertop models and pizza dough rollers) 
•  Work 30 feet or more above ground or water 
•  Handle, serve, or sell alcoholic beverages 
•  Use circular, chain or band saws; guillotine shears; wood 

chippers; and abrasive cutting discs  
•  Use power-driven woodworking machines 
•  Use, service, drive, or work from hoisting machines 

Persons under 18 years-old may NOT: 

Persons UNDER 18 must have WORK PERMITS 
All teens under 18 must get a work permit from the school 
district where they live or go to school.  For more 
information, visit the website of the Department of Labor 
Standards: www.mass.gov/dols/youth 

Child labor laws also protect teens’ health and safety by prohibiting them from working in     
hazardous jobs or doing dangerous tasks.  The following is a list of some of these tasks: 

A complete summary of prohibited tasks is available online: www.mass.gov/dols/youth  

•  Cook (except on electric or gas grills that do not have open 
flames)  

•  Operate fryolators, rotisseries, NEICO broilers, or pressure  
cookers 

•  Operate, clean, or repair power-driven food slicers, grinders, 
choppers, processors, cutters, or mixers 

•  Perform any baking activities 
•  Operate microwave ovens (except to heat food in microwave 

ovens with a maximum capacity of 140 degrees Fahrenheit)  
•  Clean kitchen surfaces that are hotter than 100 degrees         

Fahrenheit 
•  Filter, transport, or dispose of cooking oil or grease hotter than 

100 degrees Fahrenheit 
•  Work in freezers or meat coolers 

Persons under 16 years-old may NOT: 
•  Operate, clean or repair power-driven machinery (except office 

machines or  machines for retail, cleanup or kitchen work not 
otherwise prohibited) 

•  Work in a manufacturing facility (e.g. a factory) 
•  Work on or use ladders, scaffolds, or their substitutes 
•  Work in amusement places (e.g., pool or billiard room, or    

bowling alley) 
•  Work in door-to-door street sales, including work as a sign 

waiver (except directly outside of employer establishment) 
•  Ride in or on a motor vehicle (except in passenger seat if 

wearing a seatbelt 
•  Work with dangerous electrical machinery or appliances 
•  Work in any of the occupations or tasks prohibited for     

persons under age 18 
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