
 

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts 
Division of Professional Licensure 

Board of Registration of  
Real Estate Appraisers 

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710 
Boston, MA 02118-6100 

617-727-3055 
 

INFORMATION FOR RECIPROCAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER APPLICANTS 
(Revised 10-8-15) 

Licensure Requirements:  
Massachusetts General Law Chapter 112, section 178, provides for the licensure of real estate appraisers. Under 264 Code 
of Massachusetts Regulation (CMR) 8.00, an applicant holding a current state-license real estate appraiser license, state-
certified residential real estate appraiser license or state-certified general real estate appraiser license issued by another State 
may be eligible for a Massachusetts appraiser license or certificate provided that:  

 
(1) The applicant is coming from a State that is currently in compliance with the requirements of the Appraisal 

Subcommittee per 12 U.S.C. 3347; and 
(2) The licensing or credentialing requirements of that State meet or exceed the requirements for licensure in 

Massachusetts.   
 

The Board may, upon review of the application and accompanying submissions, allow an individual who does not meet the 
above requirements to obtain licensure after the successful completion of a Massachusetts examination, additional 
experience, and/or completion of Massachusetts approved course(s).   
 
Please be advised that Appraisal Trainees are not eligible for a reciprocal appraisal license.  
 
Continuing Education:  
The initial license is valid for a period of two (2) years from the next occurring birthday following the issue date. Therefore, 
the first license will be valid for a period of two (2) to three (3) years. Licenses are renewed every two (2) years. An 
applicant issued a Massachusetts reciprocal license may complete the requisite continuing education of either Massachusetts 
or from the state in which reciprocity was granted. A reciprocal licensee who does not hold a current license in the State 
where the continuing education was satisfied on the exact date of renewal will not get credit for the out-of-state continuing 
education. Therefore, in the case where the licensee of another State completes their State's continuing education 
requirement but chooses not to renew their State's license, they may not use the continuing education to renew their 
Massachusetts license and thus must satisfy Massachusetts’ approved continuing education requirements located at 264 
CMR 4.00. 
 
Criminal Convictions:  
If you have been convicted of a criminal offense, please review the Board’s Criminal Conviction and Discipline Review 
policy on the Board’s website prior to completing this application. 
 
Applications: 
You must fully and correctly complete the attached application. The initial application fee is $338.00 and a separate check 
for a license fee of $390.00 must be submitted together with the application.  Make both checks payable to Commonwealth 
of Massachusetts. The application fee is non-refundable.  
 
If you have any questions, the Board’s mailing address and telephone number are listed above. 
 
Note: If your name is not listed on the Federal Registry, your application will be returned as incomplete. Please 
check with your State Board for verification of this before mailing the application. 
 
All appraisers are urged to procure their own copy of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) 
from the Appraisal Foundation. Also, all appraisers issued a Massachusetts appraiser license are required to be familiar with 
the Massachusetts real estate appraisal license law and regulations. They may be obtained from the State House Book Store 
at 617-727-2834 or the Board’s website www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/ra . 

http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/ra


 

 

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts 
Division of Professional Licensure 

Board of Registration of  
Real Estate Appraisers 

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710 
Boston, MA 02118-6110 

617-727-3055 
 

RECIPROCAL APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE AS A MASSACHUSETTS REAL ESTATE APPRAISER  
(Revised 10-8-15) 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 

Please read all instructions before completing the application. Fill out the application 
carefully and completely. A $338.00 non-refundable application fee and $390.00 license 
fee must be submitted together with this application and must be on two (2) separate checks.  
The fees must be paid by checks or money orders payable to the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts. Mail the completed application and fee to the address listed above. 
 

PLEASE COMPLETE IN INK OR TYPEWRITE 
 

1. I am applying for (check one): 
 
_____ State-Certified Residential      _____ State-Certified General      _____ State-Licensed  
 
2. Affix passport size photograph (2 inches X 2 inches) above. 
 
3. Name of applicant: _______________________________________________________________ 
                                         (First)                (Middle)                  (Last)                     (Generation) 
     
    Maiden name of applicant: _________________________________________________________ 
 
4. Sex: M ___ F ___                          
 
5. Date of birth  _____/______/______                           6. Place of birth _______________________ 
                               mm/dd/yy 
 
7. Telephone:   Day: (____) _____-_________                                Evening: (____) _____-__________ 
 
8. Mailing address:  
 
__________________________________   ____________________    ______     _______________ 
          (Street and P0 Box/Apt number)                    (City )                           (ST)           (Zip Code) 
 
9. Have you ever changed your name?   Yes      No 
If yes, state previous name(s):__________________________   
   

Affix photo here 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
License Number: ___________________________________ 
Issue Date: ________________________________________ 
Expiration Date: ___________________________________ 
Reciprocal State: ___________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 



10. Have you ever held a real estate appraiser license or certification in 
Massachusetts? 

  
 Yes      No 

If yes, provide the license or certification number(s). _____________________   
   
11. Are you the subject of pending disciplinary actions by a 
licensing/certification board located in the United States or any country or 
foreign jurisdiction? 

  
 
 Yes      No 

 
If yes, attach a statement containing the nature of complaint(s) and name(s) of 
licensing authority(ies). 

  

   
12. Have you ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in the United 
States or any country or foreign jurisdiction, other than a traffic violation for 
which a fine of less than $100.00 was assessed? 

  
 
Yes     No 

 
If yes, attach statement containing the name of court(s) and jurisdiction(s) 
where conviction(s) occurred, the nature of the conviction(s), the date(s) of 
conviction and a description of any events in connection with the conviction 
that you feel are relevant to the Board’s understanding of the conviction. Also 
provide three (3) letters of reference and, if probation was served, a letter from 
the probation officer.  

  

   
13. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered or resigned a professional license to 
a license/certification board in the United States or Foreign jurisdiction? 
If yes, provide details on a separate sheet. 

  
 
 Yes      No 

   
14. Have you ever applied for and been denied a professional license in the 
United States or any country or foreign jurisdiction? 
If yes, provide details on a separate sheet. 

  
 
 Yes      No 

   
15. Has any disciplinary action been taken against you by a 
licensing/certification board located in the United States or any country or 
foreign jurisdiction? 
If yes, please attach details. 

  
 
 Yes      No 

 
16. Please indicate from which state or jurisdiction that you seek to obtain a reciprocal Massachusetts 
appraiser certification or license: _______________________. Also, please attach an original 
Certified Record of License History issued by that state or jurisdiction indicating the status of your 
license and any relevant disciplinary information. Once the Board issues you a reciprocal license 
from your named State, you cannot change your named State.   
 
17. List ALL current professional license(s)/certification(s) you hold in the United States or any 
country or foreign jurisdiction and the state/jurisdiction from which the license/certification was 
originally issued (including any appraiser license or certification). Also, please attach an original 
Certified Record of License History issued by that state or jurisdiction indicating the status of your 
license and any relevant disciplinary information. You do not need to remit a license history for any 
appraiser license or certification (except for the State identified above) as the Board will review the 
National Registry database.  
 
__________________________________________________________________________________ 



 
__________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
18. This application must be SIGNED by one reference that is not a relative and is personally known to 
the applicant. 
 
I, the undersigned, certify that the applicant, who is known to me, has a good reputation for honesty 
and fair dealing and is of good moral character. I will be willing to interpret or substantiate to the 
Board my endorsement, should the Board desire to contact me at a later date. 
 

NAME ADDRESS PHONE 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Signature of reference: __________________________________ 
 
19. I, ____________________________________________ (the applicant), hereby certifies, under the 
pains and penalties of perjury, that I am the applicant named herein and that the statements contained in 
this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief and any omission, failure to 
disclose or inaccuracy may be sufficient to deny licensure or certification. Further, I have not withheld 
any information that may affect my eligibility of licensure or certification.  
 
I further attest that, pursuant to M.G.L. 62C, s.49A, to the best of my knowledge and belief, I have filed 
all state tax returns and paid all state taxes required by law.   
 
I attest that I have read and understand the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
(USPAP) and the Massachusetts real estate appraiser rules and regulations, 264 Code of Massachusetts 
Regulation (CMR). 
 
Also, if at any time my mailing address changes to an address outside the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts, I consent that service of process or notice of suits and legal actions may be served on 
the Secretary of State of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 
 
The Board is certified by the Criminal History Systems Board [ID# MAREG G] to access data about 
convictions and pending criminal cases. Those records—and other Federal and professional records—
may be checked as part of your licensing process. No records are automatic disqualifiers; you will be 
given an opportunity to discuss any issues with the Board. 
 
______________________________                  ________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant                                          Date 
 
_____________________________                   My commission expires on: 
Signature of Notary 



 
CRIMINAL OFFENDER RECORD INFORMATION (CORI)  

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FORM 
 
The Division of Professional Licensure by itself and on behalf of boards of registration pursuant to M.G.L. c. 13, §9 
[hereinafter, “Division of Professional Licensure” ] is registered under the provisions of M.G.L. c. 6, § 172 to receive CORI 
for the purpose of screening current and otherwise qualified prospective license applicants and current licensees.  
 
As a license applicant or current licensee, I understand that a CORI check will be submitted for my personal information to 
the Department of Criminal Justice Information Services (“DCJIS”). I hereby acknowledge and provide permission to the 
Division of Professional Licensure to submit a CORI check for my information to the DCJIS.  This authorization is valid for 
one year from the date of my signature. I may withdraw this authorization at any time by providing the Division of 
Professional Licensure written notice of my intent to withdraw consent to a CORI check. 
 
FOR LICENSING PURPOSES ONLY: 
 
The Division of Professional Licensure may conduct subsequent CORI checks within one year of the date this Form was 
signed by me provided, however, that the Division of Professional Licensure must first provide me with written notice of 
this check. 
 
By signing below, I provide my consent to a CORI check and acknowledge that the information provided on Page 2 of this 
Acknowledgement Form is true and accurate. 
 
 
 
_________________________________  _________________________________ 
Signature      Date 
 
 
 
NOTE:  DPL cannot accept this two-page CORI acknowledgment form unless it is signed in the presence of a notary public 
who has likewise verified identity. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



SUBJECT INFORMATION: (An asterisk (*) denotes a required field) 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
*Last Name   *First Name   Middle Name   Suffix 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
*Maiden Name (or other name(s) by which you have been known) 
 
___________________  ____________________________ 
*Date of Birth   Place of Birth 
 
*Last Six Digits of Your Social Security Number: ________ - ___________    
 
Sex: ______    Height: ____ ft. ____ in.   Eye Color: _________  
 
Driver’s License or ID Number: ___________________ State of Issue: __________________ 
 
Current and Former Addresses: 
 __________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Street Number & Name   City/Town   State  Zip 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Street Number & Name   City/Town   State  Zip 
 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
IDENTITY VERIFICATION SECTION:  
 
VERIFICATION BY NOTARY:   
On this ______ day of _____________, 20____, before me, the undersigned notary public, personally appeared 
_________________________________ (name of document signer), and proved to me through satisfactory evidence of 
identification, which was the following:   
 
               �  Passport  �  State-issued driver’s license  �  Military identification  �  State-issued identification card 
 
 to be the person whose name is signed on the preceding or attached document, and acknowledged to me that (he) (she) 
signed it voluntarily for its stated purpose.  

 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Notary Public:       Notary Commission Expires On  
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



RECIPROCITY APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
 

INCLUDE WITH YOUR APPLICATION 
 
 

♦ The application is fully completed and signed by the applicant. 
 
♦ Enclosed is a non-refundable application fee of $338.00 made payable by check or money order to 

the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  
 
♦ Enclosed is a license fee of $390.00 made payable by check or money order to the Commonwealth 

of Massachusetts.  
 

♦ The character reference is completed and signed. 
 

♦ The application and two (2) pages of the CORI form is notarized. 
 

♦ All documents concerning criminal or disciplinary proceedings are attached. 
 

♦ The original certified record of my appraiser license from the state through which I seek reciprocity 
is attached.  
 

 
IMPORTANT:  A letter will be mailed to you when you are approved. You may also check the 
web page [www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/ra] for your license information. You can insert your name 
and if you have been approved the information will appear. The actual license will be mailed 
within three (3) to five (5) weeks after the license is listed in current © status on the web page. 
 
 
MANDATORY 
My social security number is: 
 
 
  ____   ____   ____   -   ____   ____   -   ____   ____   ____   ____ 
 
 
Pursuant to G.L. c. 62C, § 49A, the Division of Professional Licensure is required to obtain your  
social security number and forward it to the Department of Revenue. The Department of 
Revenue will use your social security number to ascertain whether you are in compliance with 
the tax laws of the Commonwealth. 

 
ApplicationsForms/Recipapp 
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