Commonwealth of Massachusetts

DEPARTMENT oF HOUSING &
COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Charles D. Baker, Governor 4 Karyn E. Polito, Lieutenant Governor 4 Jennifer D. Maddox, Undersecretary

April 30, 2020

To all Local Housing Authorities

Re: Waiver of Late Fees and Interest in State-Aided Public Housing

The Department of Housing & Community Development (DHCD) is hereby waiving its regulation at 760
CMR 6.04(3)(b) to suspend those provisions which require or allow Local Housing Authorities to charge
tenants late fees and interest due to their late payment or nonpayment of rent.

The reason for this regulatory waiver is to avoid any potential conflict with or administrative burdens due
to Chapter 65 of the Acts of 2020, “An Act providing for a Moratorium on Evictions and Foreclosures
during the COVID-19 Emergency” which became effective on April 20, 2020. The Act prohibits all
landlords from charging penalties for nonpayment to tenants who have been economically impacted by the
COVID-19 emergency.

This waiver will remain in effect for 120 days from the effective date of the Act or for so long as the Act
may be extended by the Governor, but for no longer than 45 days after the end of the COVID-19
emergency.

If you have questions, please contact your DHCD Housing Management Specialist.

Sincerely,

Jennifer D. Maddox

Undersecretary
100 Cambridge Street, Suite 300 P www.mass.gov/dhcd
Boston, Massachusetts 02114 617.573.1100



