
Report on Commissioner of Revenue’s Use of Additional Reporting Requirements 

___________________________________________________________________ 

Introduction 

In 2017, the Massachusetts Legislature amended M.G.L. c. 62C, § 8 to allow the Commissioner of 

Revenue (Commissioner) to impose reporting requirements that differ from those required by the 

Internal Revenue Code (IRC).  See St. 2017, c. 47, § 34.  Pursuant to St. 2017, c. 47, § 125, the 

Commissioner is issuing this report on the use of that authority.  The report provides an explanation for 

the change made and the financial impact of an additional reporting requirement. 

 

Explanation of Change 

Following the amendment of M.G.L. c. 62C, § 8, the Commissioner issued TIR 17-11 announcing an 

additional reporting requirement for third party settlement organizations (TPSOs).  TPSOs are generally 

online payment intermediaries, such as PayPal, that transmit payments between buyers and sellers of 

goods and services.  Current federal law requires a TPSO to report the gross amount it pays in settlement 

to a payee only when such payments exceed $20,000 in over 200 transactions during a calendar year.1  

See IRC § 6050W(e).  A TPSO is required to report these amounts using Form 1099-K.   

In TIR 17-11, the Commissioner announced that TPSOs must report the gross amount paid in settlement 

to a payee when such amount is $600 or greater and is subject to taxation under M.G.L. c. 62, regardless 

of the number of transactions between the TPSO and the payee.  In 2020, the Commissioner promulgated 

830 CMR 62C.8.1, “Massachusetts Reporting Requirements for Third Party Settlement Organizations,” 

which codified this requirement and provided compliance rules specific to payees.   

The Commissioner lowered the reporting threshold for gross payments in settlement made by TPSOs to 

increase transparency and tax compliance principally among individuals selling goods and services who 

receive such payments from TPSOs.  Taxpayer compliance in reporting taxable income is significantly 

higher when such income is subject to an information reporting requirement.2  In recent years, “gig 

economy” platforms, where a TPSO generally serves as a payment intermediary connecting buyers and 

sellers of services and goods, have grown substantially.  The use of TPSOs to transmit payments more 

generally has also increased.  Under the federal TPSO reporting threshold, gross payments in settlement 

by a TPSO to an individual selling goods or services would not be subject to an information reporting 

requirement unless such payments exceeded $20,000 effectuated through at least 200 transactions.  This 

threshold resulted in a reporting gap whereby much of the income earned by these individuals would not 

be subject to an information reporting requirement.     

 
1 The American Rescue Plan Act, P.L. 117-2, lowers the federal TPSO reporting threshold to gross payments in 
settlement to a payee exceeding $600 in a calendar year, regardless of the number of transactions, starting with 
payments in settlement made during the 2022 calendar year.  
2 See Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration’s “Expansion of the Gig Economy Warrants Focus on 
Improving Self-Employment Tax Compliance” report at 

https://www.treasury.gov/tigta/auditreports/2019reports/201930016fr.pdf, which explains that taxpayer 
compliance is at 93% when amounts are subject to information reporting.  In contrast, taxpayer compliance is at 
37% when amounts are not subject to an information reporting requirement.   

https://www.mass.gov/technical-information-release/tir-17-11-new-massachusetts-reporting-requirements-for-third-party
https://www.mass.gov/regulations/830-CMR-62c81-massachusetts-reporting-requirements-for-third-party-settlement#:~:text=a%20calendar%20year.-,830%20CMR%2062C.,of%20the%20number%20of%20transactions.
https://www.treasury.gov/tigta/auditreports/2019reports/201930016fr.pdf


In evaluating where to set the TPSO reporting threshold, the Department of Revenue (DOR) looked to the 

rules for reporting payments to independent contractors on Form 1099-MISC. Payments to independent 

contractors are required to be reported on Form 1099-MISC when such payments equal or exceed $600 

in a calendar year.  DOR ultimately concluded that gig economy workers and other independent 

contractors should be subject to the same reporting threshold.  This modification is the only additional 

reporting requirement the Commissioner has imposed to date under M.G.L. c. 62C, § 8.  

 

Financial Impact to the Commonwealth of the Changes 

DOR conservatively estimates that the change to the TPSO reporting requirement has increased reported 

net income by a total of roughly $137M for 2017, the first year to which the TPSO threshold changes 

applied, and 2018. This estimate is based on the lower of taxpayers’ gross receipts reported on Form 

1099-K and the sum of their net profits reported on schedules C, E, and X and allowed for deductions. 

Applying the Part B personal income tax rate in effect for each year to the reported $137M in additional 

net income, DOR estimates a revenue increase of approximately $7M for each of the 2017 and 2018 tax 

years. 

This estimate is based on income reported that DOR was able to match with a Form 1099-K. Because of 

the large amount of 1099-K data that is either missing or deficient, the actual financial impact of the 

lower reporting threshold could be significantly higher.   

 

 


