

THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS **EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND SECURITY**

Department of Criminal Justice Information Services

200 Arlington Street, Suite 2200, Chelsea, Massachusetts 02150 TEL: 617-660-4600 • TTY: 617-660-4606 • FAX: 617-660-4613 MASS.GOV/CJIS

Charles D. Baker | Karen E. Polito

Thomas A. Turco, III Lieutenant Governor Secretary of Public Safety and Security Commissioner

James F. Slater, III

IMPORTANT NOTICE

As of April 30, 2012, all lawful permanent resident aliens (green card holders) are eligible to apply for a Massachusetts resident license to carry (LTC) firearms or firearms identification (FID) card.

Massachusetts LTCs and FID cards are issued through the applicant's local police department and are valid for up to six years. A LTC allows the holder to possess and purchase firearms, rifles, shotguns, and ammunition. A FID card allows the holder to possess and purchase non-large capacity rifles, shotguns, and ammunition.

Massachusetts resident LTC and FID card applications can be found on the Firearms Record Bureau's website (https://www.mass.gov/firearms-services).

The Firearms Records Bureau will continue to process all other resident alien permit applications submitted in accordance with G.L. c. 140 § 131H.



THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS **EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND SECURITY**

Department of Criminal Justice Information Services

200 Arlington Street, Suite 2200, Chelsea, Massachusetts 02150 TEL: 617-660-4600 • TTY: 617-660-4606 • FAX: 617-660-4613 MASS.GOV/CJIS

Charles D. Baker | Karen E. Polito Lieutenant Governor

Thomas A. Turco, III Secretary of Public Safety and Security

James F. Slater, III Commissioner

RE: Application for Resident Alien Permit to Possess Rifles or Shotguns

Dear Applicant:

All new and renewal resident alien permits to possess rifles or shotguns in Massachusetts are issued through the Massachusetts Instant Record Check System (MIRCS). MIRCS is a computer based application used to manage, process, and monitor firearms licensing statewide.

Effective January 1, 2017, The Department of Criminal Justice Information Services (DCJIS) implemented a procedural change to the application process. Specifically, the requirement for an in-person appearance at the Firearms Records Bureau (FRB) will only be required once every six years. You will still need to renew your license annually, however the application will be processed solely by mail until the next required inperson appearance.

All first time applicants and certain renewal applicants must appear in-person at: Massachusetts Department of Criminal Justice Information Services, Firearms Records Bureau, 200 Arlington Street, Chelsea, MA 02150.

If an in-person appearance is required, you will receive a notice by mail or email with your scheduled date and time to appear at this office. Appointments will be scheduled in the order that completed applications are received.

Please apply for renewal at least 90 days in advance to allow time for processing.

Pay close attention to the updated application instructions and complete the application accurately. A mistake on the application or omission of required documentation will result in a delay in the application process or a denial of the application.

Thank you,

Manager of Law Enforcement & Justice Services

Resident Alien Permit Application Instructions

Non-Refundable Application Fee: \$100.00 Expires: December 31st of the year of issue

The following items must be received and applications must be complete to be processed:

1. **Fee:** The **non-refundable** application fee is \$100.00. Only bank or postal money orders and certified bank checks made payable to "Commonwealth of Massachusetts" will be accepted as payment. *Cash, personal checks, or business checks are not accepted.*

2. **Firearms Safety Course:** First time applicants must submit a copy of a certificate showing completion of a Massachusetts Basic Firearms Safety Course. <u>This course must have been taken</u> <u>with an instructor who is certified by the Colonel of the Massachusetts State Police</u> (ask your instructor prior to taking the course if he is certified in Massachusetts).

A current list of acceptable courses and a roster of certified instructors are available by searching here: https://www.mass.gov/firearms-services

A Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife hunter education course is a valid substitute for the Firearms Safety Certificate.

- 2. **Immigration Card and Passport**: Resident aliens must enclose a photocopy of their immigration card or VISA (containing the alien registration number) and passport (containing passport number), and, if applicable, a photocopy of other documents allowing for lawful entry into the United States.
- 3. **Home Address:** All applicants must complete the information for street, city/town, state, and zip code. *P.O. Box numbers are not accepted for residential address*.
- 3. **Self-addressed, stamped envelope**: Used to mail the completed license.

Applications must be complete and accurate

Inaccurate or false information will result in a denial of the application

Mail the completed package to:

Massachusetts Department of Criminal Justice Information Services Firearms Records Bureau 200 Arlington Street Chelsea, MA 02150

Note:

- All applications are initially processed through the mail; walk-in service is *not* available.
- If you are a first time applicant or a renewal applicant that requires an in-person appearance, you will be contacted by mail or email in 2-3 weeks with your scheduled appointment date.
- If you are a renewal applicant and do not require an in person appearance, your application will be processed solely through the mail.
- The Firearms Records Bureau does not provide interpreting services. If English is not your first language, you may bring a family member or friend for assistance.



THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND SECURITY

Department of Criminal Justice Information Services

200 Arlington Street, Suite 2200, Chelsea, MA 02150 TEL: 617-660-4600 | TTY: 617-660-4606 | mass.gov/cjis

FTN: _	FRB USE ONLY
LIC#:	

MASSACHUSETTS RESIDENT ALIEN PERMIT TO POSSESS A RIFLE OR SHOTGUN APPLICATION (M.G.L c. 140, § 131H)

CHECK ONE: New Applicant (you must attach a copy of your Massachusetts Rifle and Shotgun Safety Course certificate) Renewal - Previous Permit Number: ___ IF AN IN PERSON APPEARANCE IS REQUIRED, INDICATE IF YOU WOULD LIKE YOUR **APPOINTMENT DATE EMAILED:** YES (email address): ___ NO (you will receive a notice in the mail) **EXCEPT FOR SIGNATURE, PRINT OR TYPE ALL REQUESTED INFORMATION:** Year permit is requested for: _ Last Name First Name Middle Name Suffix Zip Code Telephone Number Residential Address City State Mailing Address Telephone Number City State Zip Code Date of Birth Place of Birth (City, State, Country) Mother's First Name Mother's Maiden Name Father's First Name Father's Last Name Height Complexion Hair Color Weight Build Eye Color Occupation Social Security Number (Optional) **Drivers License Number Employed By Business Address** City/Town State Telephone Number Zip

ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS COMPLETELY AND ACCURATELY:

1.	Are you a citizen of the United States?	☐ YES	$\square \ NO$				
	If no, what is your Alien Registration Number?						
	If none, state type of lawful authorization and provide description of documents and identifying number on documents which allowed lawful entry into the United States. You must include a photocopy of these documents:						
	Entry into the United States: Port of Entry Date of E	ntry					
2.	Have you ever renounced your U.S. citizenship?	□ YES	□ NO				
3.	What is your age? (You must be 21 to apply for this permit)						
4.	Have you ever been arrested or appeared in court as a defendant for any criminal offense?	□ YES	□ NC				
5.	Are you the subject of any pending criminal charges?	□ YES					
6.	Have you ever been convicted of a felony?	□ YES	□ NC				
7.	Have you ever been convicted of the unlawful use, possession, or sale of controlled substances as defined in M.G.L. c. 94C, § 1?	□ YES	□ NC				
8.	Have you ever been convicted of a violent crime or a crime of domestic violence?	□ YES	□ NC				
9.	Have you ever been convicted as an adult or adjudicated a youthful offender or delinquent child in any state or federal jurisdiction?		□ NO				
10.	Are you now, or have you ever been the subject of a restraining order issued pursuant to M.G.L. c. 209A, or a similar order issued by another jurisdiction?	□ YES	□NC				
11.	Are you currently the subject of any outstanding arrest warrant in any state or federal jurisdiction?	□ YES	□ NC				
12.	Have you ever been committed to any hospital or institution for mental illness, or alcohol or substance abuse?	□ YES	□ NC				
13.	Has any firearms license issued under the laws of any state or territory ever been suspended, revoked, or denied?	□ YES	□ NC				
14.	Have you been discharged from the armed forces of the United States under dishonorable conditions?	□ YES	□ NC				
15.	Have you been the subject of an order of the probate court appointing a guardian or conservator?	□ YES	□ NC				
	ou answered "YES" to any of the questions 2-14, give details which must include datumstances and location; use a separate sheet of paper if necessary.	es,					

Have you ever used or been known by anot	her name?		☐ YES ☐ NO
If "YES", provide name and explain:			_
Other than Massachusetts, in what state(s),	territory(ies), or jurisdiction(s) have	you lived?	□ NONE
Have you ever held a firearms license in any	y other state, territory or jurisdiction?	?	☐ YES ☐ NO
If "YES", when, where, and license number?			
Reason(s) for requesting the issuance of a	card or license:		
☐ Target & Hunting ☐ Sporting ☐ €	Other		
Use the lines below to indicate why you are red	questing the issuance of the permit		
WARNING* Any person who knowingly files an \$500 nor more than \$1,000 or by imprisonment to such fine and imprisonment (M.G.L c.140, §§ 12	for not less than 6 months nor more tha	n shall be punished b n 2 years in a house	of correction, or by both
declare the above facts are true and complete be just cause for denial or revocation of my licen of ormation is a criminal offense.	to the best of my knowledge and belief se to carry firearms. I understand that f	and I understand tha illing an application the	nt any false answer(s) will nat contains false
Signed under the penalties of perjury this	day of		
	date day of	month	year
Signature of Applicant:			
ngriature of Applicant.			

NOTE CHANGE OF ADDRESS REQUIREMENT:

FAILURE BY A HOLDER OF A LTC TO NOTIFY THIS OFFICE OF ANY CHANGE IN HIS/HER ADDRESS, BY CERTIFIED MAIL, WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS OF ITS OCCURRENCE MAY RESULT IN REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION.

EXPIRATION:

PERMITS EXPIRE ON DECEMBER 31 OF THE YEAR IN WHICH THE PERMIT IS ISSUED. A RENEWAL OF THIS PERMIT MAY ONLY BE OBTAINED BY THE HOLDER COMPLETING AND SUBMITTING A NEW APPLICATION WITH ALL THE REQUIRED INFORMATION.